Movie Review: "The Expendables 2" (2012).

Movie poster for "The Expendables 2".

Source

"The Expendables 2".

Coming into the year 2012, there were several movies that I knew I'd want to see. "Marvels: The Avengers", and "The Dark Knight Rises" were the two at the top of the list. My review on "The Dark Knight Rises" can be read here. After seeing the movie "The Expendables" on DVD back in 2010, I figured that a sequel would most likely happen. When I found out that the sequel would be released this year, "The Expendables 2" also made the list of must see movies for 2012. The film was released on August 17, 2012. I was finally able to make it to the theater this past Saturday to see the film. I'm going to give my thoughts on the movie in this article. For anyone who has yet to see the film, there aren't any spoilers. Feel free to read on, and I hope you enjoy.

Cast.

A good portion of the cast from the original movie returns for this highly anticipated sequel. Headlining the returning cast members include: Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham, Jet Li, Dolph Lundgren, Randy Couture, and Terry Crews. Action legends, Bruce Willis and Arnold Schwarzenegger -- whom both had cameos in the first film, return for bigger roles in this sequel. The film also features several new faces, with two of them being action movie legends. Both Chuck Norris and Jean Claude Van Damme make their return to the big screen in "The Expendables 2". Other newcomers to the series include: Yu Nan, and Liam Hemsworth. Sylvester Stallone co-wrote, co-produced, starred in, and directed the first film. He gives up his directorial duties in the sequel to Simon West.

Tagline: "Back for War".

Sylvester Stallone: Barney Ross, leader of The Expendables.

Jason Statham: Lee Christmas, The Expendables knife expert.

Jet Li: Ying Yang, The Expendables hand to hand combat expert.

Dolph Lungren: Gunner Jensen, sniper, and volatile member of The Expendables.

Chuck Norris: Booker, a retired military operative.

Jean-Claude Van Damme: Jean Vilain, leader of the mercenary team "Sangs".

Bruce Willis: Mr. Church: A secret CIA agent.

Arnold Schwarzenegger: Trench, Barney Ross's rival, and occasional ally.

Terry Crews: Hale Caeser, The Expendables barrel-weapons specialist.

Randy Couture: Toll Road, The Expendables demolitions expert.

Liam Hemsworth: Billy the Kid, newest member of The Expendables, and former military sniper.

Scott Adkins: Hector, Jean Vilain's right hand man.

Yu Nan: Maggie Chan, a CIA agent working under Mr. Church.

Plot.

The Expendables are a group of elite mercenaries for hire. In the movie "Expendables 2", the team takes a mission that initially appears to be fairly easy and painless. However, things go wrong during the mission, and one of their guys ends up getting brutally murdered by Jean Viliain(Jean-Claude Van Damme). Viliain is a member of a rival mercenary team called "Sangs". Following the tragic loss of their brother, Expendable group leader Barney Ross(Sylvester Stallone) decides that the team will avenge their fallen team member's death. When asked by Lee Christmas(Jason Statham); "What's the plan"? Ross replies; "Track em, find em, kill em". The Expendables search for and track Viliain and the Sangs through Bulgaria, and end up receiving much needed help along the way. There is non-stop action during their hunt, and it all leads up to a fierce and action packed showdown.

The Expendables are back for war.

Source

Personal thoughts on the movie.

Movie critics of "The Expendables 2" gave the movie much criticism based on it's plot and character dialogue. This didn't surprise me too much. I personally didn't expect the acting or the plot to be anything special or complicated. Most action movie lovers don't care much about acting or the plot. The action sequences and fight scenes are what people pay attention to, and this is where "The Expendables 2" shines at most. Like the original movie, this movie definitely brings back the vibe of the 80's action scene with all of these veteran action actors. Although I like the first film better, the action in the sequel was an upgrade from the original. This movie started out with an amazing action sequence that lasts 10 to 15 minutes. Another aspect of the film that impressed me, and even surprised me a bit was Jean-Claude Van Damme as the main villain in the movie. We're so used to seeing him as a good guy in his past films, so it was pretty cool to see him in a different kind of role. I personally thought he was convincing, and he done the character of Jean Vilain a lot of justice. Another thing that somewhat disappointed me was the limited screen time of a certain starring character. I will not name the actor I'm referring to in order to keep from spoiling anything. It was great to see some of the older action stars like Chuck Norris and Van Damme on the big screen again. Overall the comrade between most of the actors was great, and the added humor was a big help in keeping the film balanced.

Conclusion.

Now comes the important question; Would I recommend anyone to go spend an 8 dollar movie ticket to see "The Expendables 2"? Well, if you're an action movie junkie kinda like myself, then of course the answer is yes. A movie with this much action, fight sequences and explosions should definitely be experienced in a movie theater. Now if you're one of those people that prefer acting and a great plot, then this movie may not be for you. You may want to wait until it comes out on DVD. Then again, I'm writing this hub under the premise that readers have seen the first Expendables movie. If you can look past the acting and see this movie for what it's really worth, then it's definitely a fun watch. I hope you enjoyed this review, and thanks for reading.

References:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1764651/trivia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Expendables_(2010_film)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Expendables_2

More by this Author


Comments 23 comments

Der Meister profile image

Der Meister 4 years ago from Virgo Supercluster

I enjoyed it as well. I liked how Schwarzenegger ripped off the car door in the airport. Great scene!


Patty Kenyon profile image

Patty Kenyon 4 years ago from Ledyard, Connecticut

I just saw the first one last week and will see this one as well!! I like seeing the action guys cast in a movie together, it makes it fun to watch!!


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hey there Der Meister. Thanks for stopping by. Yea that was a pretty hilarious scene when Arnold ripped off the car door. Then when he said "My shoe is bigger than this car", everyone in the theater started laughing. Thanks for viewing my review of this movie. Much appreciated :)


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hey there Patty. Wow! You were late seeing the first one. It's okay though. Better late than never. If you liked the first, I'm pretty sure you will like this sequel. Be sure to stop by and let us know what you thought about it once you see it. Thanks for taking out the time to read my review. I appreciate it a lot :)


Kai0224liu profile image

Kai0224liu 4 years ago from TX

I added u as interesting, thanks for sharing.


Shelly Nun-Chucks profile image

Shelly Nun-Chucks 4 years ago from worldwide

One hell of a ride..of course I'm not a chick flick type of girl and ususally a Jackie Chan type of girl.

Jackie actually helped to coordiante somethings...and it might be possible for the 3rd one to have him in it.

Loved when Chuck Norris popped up.

Loved the fact that it shows, these guys still got it.

Heads up...Arnold and Sly have films coming out, so get ready for fun rides :)


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Thank you so much Kai0224liu for stopping by. I appreciate it a lot :)


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hey there Shelly Nun-Chucks. I love that name lol. It's funny that you mentioned Jackie Chan. Since seeing "The Expendables 2", I've seen a lot of people online campaigning for Jackie to be in the next movie. I personally think that would be great if he was able to do it. I read somewhere that he doesn't do action movies anymore, but maybe they can change his mind. People in the theater started clapping when Chuck Norris made his appearance. I gotta admit that it kinda gave me chills lol. I saw the previews for both Sly and Arnold's new films. They both look promising. Well thanks again for stopping by and giving your opinion on the film. I enjoyed reading your feedback.


Shelly Nun-Chucks profile image

Shelly Nun-Chucks 4 years ago from worldwide

yep they got films coming out can't wait.

Nope, Jackie didn't retire, he just got done doing the Chinese Zodiac and from what I know I heard a Rush Hour 4.

Jackie is still doing many films...he just wants to act in different type of films too.

I seen some good ones that weren't action, but there's alot of close minded people who won't give them a chance, so of course they probably wouldn't like them or bother watching them


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hello there again Shelly Nun-Chucks. Thanks a lot for clearing that up for me. The thought of a Rush Hour 4 sounds pretty good. Thanks again for stopping by and bringing that to my attention.


Shelly Nun-Chucks profile image

Shelly Nun-Chucks 4 years ago from worldwide

welcome


bigfoot141 profile image

bigfoot141 4 years ago from Australia

I think they should put either George Foreman, Bas Rutten or Oleg Taktarov in it.


Shelly Nun-Chucks profile image

Shelly Nun-Chucks 4 years ago from worldwide

oh my gosh...George Foreman, can you imagine? that would be cool..or others like you said....can you imagine it!! That would be awesome..quite frankly there are alot of great people that would be great in a 3rd, and I bet it would be a great ride!!


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hello bigfoot141. That would definitely be interesting if George Foreman ended up in "The Expendables". I know that big George is pretty up there in age now, so I couldn't see him doing much action. However, it would definitely be fun. Thanks for viewing and commenting.


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

I agree with you again Shelly Nun-Chucks!


Shelly Nun-Chucks profile image

Shelly Nun-Chucks 4 years ago from worldwide

:) just think of this...we need to help reprogram society...now all those guys, that are in their late 50's and 60's, maybe they can't do what they could do years ago, but they will give it their all, as much as they can.

Just remember, Jackie is 58 and he, himself, he can't do what he could do years ago.

He said something along the line, he may not be able to scale a 3 story building as fast, but can 1 story, but....he still does.

Oh if your interested, look up the EMC Monkeys, and Xin is the head monkey, he was one of Jackie Chan's disciples.

They do all these videos on youtube :) dont worry they have good quality to them and the crazy fights and how fast they are, is insane!!


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

That's pretty interesting Shelly Nun-Chucks. I just might have to go on Youtube and look that up.


LisaMarie724 profile image

LisaMarie724 3 years ago from Pittsburgh PA

This is a great review. I really enjoyed this movie and it was awesome to see all these great action stars together!


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 3 years ago from Texas Author

@LisaMarie724, Thanks a lot. Glad to know you enjoyed the movie. Thanks for your feedback.


beingwell profile image

beingwell 3 years ago from Bangkok

Hi brad!! I watched this movie with my hubby! I REALLY enjoyed it. Great review!


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 3 years ago from Texas Author

@beingwell, Hey there Rizza. Glad to hear you enjoyed it, and liked the review. Thanks for stopping by friend.


Thief12 profile image

Thief12 3 years ago from Puerto Rico

It's a silly, action film, but an effective one. Anyone that decides to watch it should know what he/she's getting into. I certainly enjoyed it more than the first one. I think Sly really learned from his mistakes and took more advantage of the comedic opportunities in this one, as well as surrendering the directing duties to someone more experienced.


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 3 years ago from Texas Author

@Thief12, Thanks for your feedback sir. As I mentioned in the article, I liked the first one a bit better. I think that the group in general was a bit too perfect in the sequel, but it was still a lot of fun and silly action. I think that Sly letting someone else direct was a wise move also. Thanks again for viewing and commenting.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working