Movie Review and Summary: Precious

Precious Movie


I just finished watching the movie Precious, and I just had to come into the office and write a review! It affected me more than any movie has in a long, long time. You must see this film. It’s based on the novel Push, by Sapphire. It’s one of the most powerful movies I’ve ever seen. The plot is painfully raw, and the acting is so real that it’s almost like watching a documentary instead of a Hollywood creation.


Untrained actress Gabourey Sidibe shines in the title role of Claireece Precious Jones, a morbidly obese black teen from a Welfare home. Precious has been abused her entire life, by both her father and her mother. He father’s abuse was sexual. Because of his rapes, Precious has two children by him.


Precious’ mother constantly abuses her, also – verbally, emotionally, and physically. She uses the girl as a servant and as a meal ticket for her Welfare checks. The only stability in Precious’ life at this point is the grandmother, whose fear of her daughter prevents her from aiding her granddaughter.


Because of all the abuse, poor Precious has absolutely no self esteem. The two people in her life who should have been her protectors, her parents, served as her tormentors, instead. She describes herself as “ugly black grease to be washed from the street.” That's just so sad to me - that anyone could describe herself in those words.


Precious’ mother, Mary, is played by Mo’Nique. Who knew she was such an amazing actress? The scene with Mary and the social worker is truly unforgettable. In fact, it’s some of the best acting I’ve ever witnessed. As I was watching the scene, spellbound, I was wondering where Mo’Nique found all the razor-sharp emotion. There really are no words to describe it. You’ll just have to see it for yourself.


And speaking of the social worker, Mrs. Weiss – that part is played by Mariah Carey, whom I didn’t even recognize without all her glitter and makeup. She does an admirable job, also. I think it playing the part was a big step out of Ms. Carey's "comfort zone," if you know what I mean.


Precious is practically illiterate, yet in her inner city Harlem school, she’s considered a good student because she’s quiet and rarely causes any trouble. Obviously, her teachers don't care about learning - they seem to care only about classroom behavior. Because she doesn't cause the teachers problems, she receives little attention from the educators. Her life changes, however, when school officials discover that she’s pregnant and is subsequently kicked out of school. Her only option is to attend an alternative school.


The alternative class is taught by Ms. Rain, played by Paula Patton. Rain is a truly dedicated teacher who cares deeply about her students. Once Precious learns to trust and believe in Ms. Rain, she begins to believe in herself and starts to turn her life around. This really hit home with me and with many other viewers: It's amazing how one person can have such a profound impact on someone else's life.


This movie touched me on several levels, probably because of my years teaching at the high school level. Precious reminded me of several students I’ve known – lost souls searching for a way to assuage the pain in their lives. And I taught in a small town, so I can’t imagine how many teens in the crime-ridden public schools of the inner cities are suffering a similar fate to Precious. Unfortunately, far too many of these youth simply fall through the cracks. They don’t all have a Ms. Rain to catch them.


The only parts of the movie that didn’t completely work for me were Precious’ fantasies. She often daydreams about being a movie star or some other celebrity, where crowds of fans adore her. I suppose they fit in a way, however, since Precious’ ultimate goal was finding love and acceptance. I suppose one reason this was hard for me to relate to is because I had a very happy childhood, with two wonderful parents.


Precious is an inspirational story of an improbable heroine overcoming almost insurmountable obstacles. The film will shock and anger you, but in the end, you’re sure to find it uplifting.

More by this Author


Comments 59 comments

carolina muscle profile image

carolina muscle 6 years ago from Charlotte, North Carolina

Habee: Great review.. I really got a feel for the pic!


lorlie6 profile image

lorlie6 6 years ago from Bishop, Ca

I'm not sure if Precious will find it's way to our small town, Habee, but given your review, I'll definitely look for it on DVD.

Thanks,

Laurel


Robwrite profile image

Robwrite 6 years ago from Bay Ridge Brooklyn NY

Very nice review. I liked it a lot, too. I did my own review of it on my weekly movie review site, if you want to take a look.


GoGranny profile image

GoGranny 6 years ago from Southeastern PA

I think you did well on this review. Your comment about this movie having the feel of a documentary was good and I agree.


Unchained Grace profile image

Unchained Grace 6 years ago from Baltimore, MD

Habee, I've seen this and it hits. Hits hard. From a different perspective you and I both have seeen children who bear the scars of this disgusting but often silenced behavior of those who prey upon children. You've seen it in the classroom. I've seen it in the streets of Baltimore.


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Glad to see you here, Chris!


Hello, hello, profile image

Hello, hello, 6 years ago from London, UK

Thank you, habee for giving such a great review. It really gives the longing to see it. You were great.


ethel smith profile image

ethel smith 6 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

I shall have to check this one out. Thanks


breakfastpop profile image

breakfastpop 6 years ago

Dear habee,

This is a terrific review. I have to see this movie.


Granny's House profile image

Granny's House 6 years ago from Older and Hopefully Wiser Time

As always a great hub. I love the way you write!


theherbivorehippi profile image

theherbivorehippi 6 years ago from Holly, MI

I have been dying to see this movie! My mom wanted me to go with her to see it when it was in the theater and I refused, knowing it would be one to make me cry and I hate sitting in a movie theater crying. lol Thanks for the review!


Duchess OBlunt 6 years ago

sounds like one I need to watch at home so I can blubber without anyone watching me. Thanks for the review


Pamela99 profile image

Pamela99 6 years ago from United States

Habee, This definitely sounds like a movie I would like to see. Great review.


Michael Shane profile image

Michael Shane 6 years ago from Gadsden, Alabama

It sounds precious! I went & put it in my que...


Veronica Allen profile image

Veronica Allen 6 years ago from Georgia

You know habee - I haven't worked up the courage yet to see this movie.

A survivor of sexual abuse by the hands of my stepbrothers; movies like these tend to be extremely hard for me to watch.

I fortunately, had a mother who was truly my life-support then and now, in addition to friends and other family memebers that supported me. (I know that that is what contributes to my fearlessness and almost lionesses like approach when it comes down to protecting my own children) I think the rawness of the film is what will effect me the most.

The fact that both her parents - the ones who she should have been able to trust the most - abused her is so unsettling, especially since we know that these things do actually happen.

I can attest to her daydreaming however - it's a way to remove yourself out of an upleasent situation, a coping mechanism.

Although I haven't seen the movie and probably never will, I think you did a great job at reviewing it.


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Laurel, I rented it last night.


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thanks, Rob. I'll check it out now!


prasetio30 profile image

prasetio30 6 years ago from malang-indonesia

good review Habee, IT looks interesting movie. I try to rent the DVD and watch it with my family. Thank you for this information. good work


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thanks, GoGranny!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Sadly, James, you're right. Glad you stopped by.


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thanks, HH! I think you'll like this film!


Nemingha profile image

Nemingha 6 years ago

Sounds like a movie that big softies like me would find too hard to watch. Glad you enjoyed it though.


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Ethel and Bpop, it's def worth a watch!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Oh, Granny, you are too kind!


Sandyspider profile image

Sandyspider 6 years ago from Wisconsin, USA

Great review. This movie is on my list.


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Actually, Herbi, it didn't make me cry - and I cry at commercials!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Duchess, refer to comment I made to Herbi!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Pam and Michael, I hope you like it, and many thanks for reading!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Veronica, there's just a snippet of the actual sexual abuse, but I understand how such a movie would be difficult for you. You turned into a wonderful adult!!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Prasetio, you probably don't want to watch it with kids - BAD language!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Good, Sandy! Hope you like it!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Nemi - I am a super softie! I cry at commercials!


Iðunn 6 years ago

great review, I so want to see this movie. Mo'Nique got the Oscar for it, I think the movie ended up with 4 Oscars actually.

It's not out for rent yet, so I haven't had a chance, but it's on my list.

You sound like me. I cry at everything. Sad movies, scary movies, happy movies, even boring movies. :p


Angela Blair profile image

Angela Blair 6 years ago from Central Texas

Superb review, Habee. I had planned on seeing the movie and after your review I'm definitely gonna see it. Thanks so much. Best, Sis


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Idunn, it's already out on video here, so maybe you can get it soon!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thanks, Sis! LEt me know how you like the movie!


Iðunn 6 years ago

Yeah I just caught the ad for selling them yesterday. I am going to get. :)


msannec profile image

msannec 6 years ago from Mississippi (The Delta)

Awesome review! I just saw the movie, and it is spectacular. Monique gave an interview, and in it she revealed that she was able to play that part and put so much into it because she was sexually abused by her brother when she was younger. She was incredible! So were Gabby and Mariah. I loved this movie, although it made me want to cry. Thanks for sharing your view!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Great, Idunn!

I'm tellin' ya, Msannec, Mo'Nique blew me away! She was unbelievable!


lorlie6 profile image

lorlie6 6 years ago from Bishop, Ca

I thought it was only in theaters now...duh!

Bye!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Okie dokey, Laurel!


JOE BARNETT profile image

JOE BARNETT 6 years ago

whew! i just saw it and. . . whew! it's really raw;a must see! great hub!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Joe, isn't it awesome?? Thanks for reading!


sneakorocksolid 6 years ago

Is it a crying movie? I hate to cry at the movies! Great Hub!


Don Simkovich profile image

Don Simkovich 6 years ago from Pasadena, CA

My daughter is wanting to go see Precious . . . sounds like it's worthwhile and thought provoking.


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Sneak, I didn't cry - I was inspired!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Don, how old is your daughter? The language is rough.


genny2000 profile image

genny2000 6 years ago

good review i think i might watch the movie i was thinkin of seeing it and now i will !!!!!!!!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Genny, hope you enjoy it!


Sarah Masson profile image

Sarah Masson 6 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

I understand what you mean about the fantasies, I didn't really like that either. Great Review :)


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thanks, Sarah!


Cheryl J. profile image

Cheryl J. 5 years ago from Houston, TX

Habee,

A great review and summary. I was amazed. I learned so much from watching the movie. Great hub.


habee profile image

habee 5 years ago from Georgia Author

cheryl, Precious was an awesome movie. I think I'm ready to watch it again!


Nicky Smart profile image

Nicky Smart 5 years ago from United Kingdom

sounds like one I need to watch at home so I can blubber without anyone watching me. Thanks for the review


habee profile image

habee 5 years ago from Georgia Author

Nicky, get out the tissues, girl!


lovelypaper profile image

lovelypaper 5 years ago from Virginia

It sounds like a very touching movie. I love tear-jerkers. Hope you're doing well, Habee. It's been a while since I've been active on here.


habee profile image

habee 5 years ago from Georgia Author

Lovely, I haven't been here much, either. Good to see ya!


silentwolf profile image

silentwolf 5 years ago

Great job on the summary and review. I myself blog on here too, so I was wondering do you mind looking at my page. and letting me know what you think? and if you dont mind leaving comments.thankyou for your time.


guest 4 years ago

It was not a good film, based on the agenda and promotion.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working