Movie Reviews: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2 premiere & Green Lantern

So I decided to start doing movie reviews of recent movies I have seen. Here is the first one for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 1 and 2. (since I saw them back to back in the theater Thurs. July 14, 2011.

Source

I'm glad we didn't try to sneak in because security was tighter than an airport at the premier of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. You had to have your ticket and the wrist band they gave you, yes they gave out wrist bands. I definitely underestimated it. Shows were selling out by the minute. I was lucky to get my tickets for the part 1 and 2 showing back to back at the Manhattan Palace 16 theater, which is no where near as nice as the Elmwood Palace 20 theater but they were accommodating. We got there an hour early to get good seats. People were dressed up as their fave characters, of course. and we got these cool Harry Potter style 3D glasses. I thought that was really neat. Part 1 was not in 3D though. There was about a 30 minute break between movies. Everyone applauded when the movies started and the room was silent. Not a phone went off, not a baby cried. And as the motto for the movie says, "It All Ends"...well, it really did. It was everything you would have expected from the HP movies, with a little bit more. I personally only read the first book, "The Sorcerer's Stone" and I've heard the movies miss a few things from the books,(only because there's no way you can fit every little detail from a book into a film) but I couldn't have asked for a better ending. Parts made you cry, parts made you laugh, and parts made you reminisce back to when they were younger. It was a beautiful ending. For any HP fan, you won't regret it. I say they should start a TV series with the way it ended(hint hint to TV Producers) and I don't want to spoil it by saying anything else. Catch Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows at a theater near you.

© Copyright NMJ 2011

Movie Review #2: Green Lantern

I so want to go back and see it in 3D. It was definitely a movie made for 3D. The graphics were AMAZING. and in your face even on a regular screening. The plot overall was good. Ryan Reynolds played his part, and as always, hot as hell doing it. It was nice seeing Blake Lively in something other than Gossip Girls, and it was your same old super hero gets the girl type ordeal. I was happy that for once the girl saw through the mask, which in most movies its totally obvious who the hero really is...The villian(s) were superb. and the line between comic and drama was thin. Its Ryan Reynolds so you can imagine. But it was well laid out, not once was I bored. Its not overly comic, not overly dramatic, and the action is fit for a Green Lantern, there's a reason it chose him, and the ring is never wrong. Another great installment to the super hero movie genre.

More by this Author

  • "The Zombie Apocalypse" a poem
    18

    Cell phones and technology have come a long way and mostly for the better, but it kills our social nature. We become texters rather than talkers. We become anti-social and shy. Lazy, and rather hide behind our...

  • "A Dark Faery Tale" (a collection of poems)
    46

    photobucket.com Amidst a darkened night, lay a horrid sight. Inside a pumpkin, fresh, she made her home, a nest. Adandoned by her family. An orphan to society. A regular, Raggedy Ann, named Bella, whom, we like to call...


Comments 34 comments

bbnix profile image

bbnix 5 years ago from Southern California

Wow, nice reviews Nikki..Can't wait to see all three...and yes, I do live under a rock...


Paradise7 profile image

Paradise7 5 years ago from Upstate New York

Yeah, good reviews...the line for the Harry Potter Deathly Hollows Part II is around the block in our town--I just imagine MAHATTAN!!! Thanks for the hub.


Alma Cabase profile image

Alma Cabase 5 years ago from Philippines

The movie green lantern is pretty cool.I can't wait to see all super hero movies pile up to form Justice League..XD

Good review btw.

Regards,

Alma


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

oh haha not Manhattan as in New York, its just the name of the street the theater is on I live in Louisiana. I can only imagine how that was though, new york is always packed. Thanks for commenting though paradise. Thanks alma and bb as well, bb get from under that rock, you are missing the world out here... Alma yea me too, and The Avengers.


slmorgan profile image

slmorgan 5 years ago from San Francisco

I can't wait to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. Good review.


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

Thanks slmorgan! Glad you liked it!! :)


Cheeky Girl profile image

Cheeky Girl 5 years ago from UK and Nerujenia

This is a great Review Duo! (Like Batman and Robin kind of thing!) LOL! Green Lantern was good, but Harry Potter was knockout Awesome! Astra Nomik and me...we love these movies! And Kewl review! Cheers Nikki!


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

thanks cassy!! thanks for reading them. As soon as I watch some more movies I'll be posting more of these.


Aka Professor M 5 years ago

@Nikkij504gurl:Now that is the way to do reviews, Nikki! Bravo Nikki, Bravo!! You built up your readers expectations and the drama without being a spoiler!

Too often in the reviews the reviewer gets too engrossed in the story and then reveals too many details spoiling it for those who haven't yet seen either the show or movie in this case.

Excellently done ,Nikki! Voted this hub Up and pushed all the right buttons as well!

Regards Mike (Aka Professor M!) ;D


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

yea i definitely dont want to be a spoiler. Thanks Professor!


MrDSpade2 5 years ago

Wassup nikki, yeah saw green lantern it was an alright movie the ending made it seem that it will be a sequel, never been a harry pot pot potter fan, lol, personally i think dude would get his ass kicked if he didn't have that wand, can't believe how many people r hyped on puff puff pass potter, hahaha...


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

yep yep i saw the ending bit. good guy going bad. tsk tsk. I like harry potter. not as much as the bf but they are good movies. they are fun and funny to watch and the plot and acting and story its all good, the effects. yes he would definitely get his ass kicked without that wand, and he gets it kicked plenty with the wand lol but the movies are all about good moral standing and what not, and the characters are great. people were seriously hyped about it and hey at least they hyped on a good thing.


MrDSpade2 5 years ago

Indeed nikki you make a good point, at least their not hyped on something negative.


blaise25 profile image

blaise25 5 years ago from close to you...

I loved the last Harry Potter movie. Sad to know it's the last one :c I'm a huge fan. LOL This is a very good review. Looking forward to watch the Green Lantern. Rating up!


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

Exactly MrD

Yep, but as the saying goes, all good things must come to an end. and we have finally reached the end of an era with the deathly hallows. lol glad you liked my review. Yes check out Green Lantern it was fun to watch. I love Ryan Reynolds!


Marina Lester 5 years ago

Cool, you're doing movie reviews Nikki :) I enjoyed the Harry Potter films too, have not seen Green Lantern but I imagine I will. Have you seen the trailer for The Lady in Black? I really want to see that as well, as my usual world concerned picks. But The Lady in Black looks like it embodies a lot of the good classic creepy scares I love. I love horror films that are about the 'haunting' quality rather than the gore factor. :) Cheers!


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

no have not heard or seen anything on the lady in black but i will definitely check it out. sounds like its right up my alley :)


Marina Lester 5 years ago

Here's the link for the trailer, it's called The Woman in Black http://www.imdb.com/video/imdb/vi35036185/ Give a watch, I'm eager to see it :) Take care!


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

ok thanx!


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

geeez that trailer gave me chills. and daniel radcliff is in it. bout time we see him in something other that HP. that looks really creepy. i will definitely be watching it. Check out the movie Dont Be Afraid of the Dark too. seems like it should be pretty scary. have you seen Insidious? and the Paranormal Activity movies, the 3rd one is coming out too.


Marina Lester 5 years ago

Sorry it has taken me so long to respond, my dog died... Anyhow, I have not seen any of those, except maybe one of the Paranormal Activity movies, I will definitely check it out :). Thanks Nikki, look forward to your review of The Woman in Black :).


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

Awww I am sorry to hear that. Hope you are ok now.


Marina Lester 5 years ago

Thank you Nikki, getting there. :) It's a lot harder when they go so much before their time. Thank you :).


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

what happened?


Marina Lester 5 years ago

My neighbor's dog killed him, he was three. He was such a sweet dog the very best kind, everyone who met him loved him, knew he was special, so it was a massive and terrible shock. It happened in seconds.

And my other dog is very sick, he has a severe cancer in his liver, so his time is limited. We are doing everything we can but there is next to nothing that can be done. It's been very hard, to think I might lose them both within a one month span... so early.

I have seen one of the Paranormal Activity, the newest one that was out. I liked it, I liked, can I say.. "realism". I enjoyed the build up and subtlety.

Thank you Nikki, you are a very great girl.


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

Aww, i can imagine how hard it must be. We lost a dog not that long ago, and I always said my mom loved that dog more than me, so she was heartbroken. I know I will feel the same if anything ever happened to my cat. I've lost many a pet growing up, and it sucks everytime, but life goes on, just remember the good times you had.

I havent seen the newest paranormal activity yet, but I liked the first 2. I like how they all connect. and though a bit slow at first it does get pretty creepy at the end and it it more of a realism to it. I agree.

No problem hun. Thanks, you are too. :)

Hey do you have facebook?


Marina Lester 5 years ago

Yes, life does go on... I have been very fortunate in that I haven't lost too many pets prematurely. Folks in the city lose far more than I ever have far in the woods, not until those dogs moved in on the property next to ours, we lost a cat to them as well.

I also have a cat, got her when I was ten, she was my best friend in high school :P and is still a great companion to me.

I think it was the newest one out, I know they were doing another one but I wasn't sure it came out yet. I saw the one with the demon force after the baby boy because an ancestor made a deal with the devil.

Yes, I am on facebook, there are only two Marina Lester's, I'm the one with the long copper hair :) Stay well!


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

I used to have 2 bunnies, they dont live very long. the first one i had, we were keeping it in a box because we didnt have a cage yet, and it kept trying to jump out and tried one day and broke its neck. i was so upset. and ive had several dogs over the years. a few we had to get rid of for housing reasons, and i remember one had a disease of some kind from the animal shelter. our last one had all kinds of problems as a lot of palmeranians do, and she passed away. and now we got Angel. she gets excited and pees everywhere lol. and I have Muse. My evil little bitch of a cat, but I love her and she can be really sweet when she wants to be lol.

Hmm that may be the 2nd one you are talking about. The 3rd one goes back to when the sisters are little, where it all started. i think it comes out in october.

and i will add you on fb!


Marina Lester 5 years ago

Sorry about your pets. Ever heard of Ceaser Millan the dog whisperer? I love him! He's amazing.

I think you're right about it being the second one.

As for fb, cool! :)


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

um if thats the guy that does that show The Dog Whisperer well i've heard of the show. lol


meow48 profile image

meow48 5 years ago from usa

you know, i really need to check my favs more often, i love this, and i read all but the last book of harry potter, just couldn't get myself to say goodbye, i guess. but the movies were good and as you say, rather nostalgic looking back at how the actors grew up. thankyou for writing this, take care.


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

thanks L. haha i mean meow48. dont think of it as saying goodbye but the long awaited end of a journey/adventure. you can always go back and re-watch them. the last 2 parts are a must see for any Harry Potter fan.


jfay2011 profile image

jfay2011 5 years ago

Very good review. I haven't seen the last one yet.


Nikkij504gurl profile image

Nikkij504gurl 5 years ago from Louisiana Author

well get to it lady! lol thanks for stopping by.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working