Movie Reviews: The Fourth Kind

The Fourth Kind

The Fourth Kind Movie Review.    The fourth kind is when aliens abduct people...so scary!
The Fourth Kind Movie Review. The fourth kind is when aliens abduct people...so scary!

The Fourth Kind Movie Review

The fourth kind is a film that is in the spirit of Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity, were the story is played for real, with either archive footage that looks almost authentic or some stuff that is loosely based on real happenings and quite often that's what makes it scary, often in this film there are some disturbing things going on with supposed alien abductions.

The story begins with an interview starting of a Dr Tyler, who is introduced as being played by the actor Milla Jovich and the camera cuts in between the two through out the film as the real Dr Tyler retells the story of what happened, whilst Milla plays the scenes of the character, it's a clever mix of real reality and fiction, although even the real stuff is more than likely fiction, but it is believable, to such an extent that you sympathize for Dr Tyler.

Now as the story unfolds we learn that one night her husband was murdered and they never found out who did it, but as the story goes on things play out and we found out the truth, as well as some real life under hypnosis accounts of alien abductions and a couple of freaky ones towards the end when a man laying on a bed sits up screaming this Sumerian language as it's described in the film, almost gave me a heart attack and you can see for a split second he's floating off the bed and in pain, whilst the camera goes all blurry with some kind of interference.

This was a sad film, especially since the story is a true story, but in the context of realising it's a true story, you do think yeah and what parts are true and what are fiction? the edges of the truth and the Hollywood movie blurs together as one, and so it's a case of just watching the damn thing and deciding for yourself.

The film had enough interest and intrigue to keep me entertained and the haunting voice of the Real Dr Tyler at the end will stay with me forever.

Buy The Fourth Kind On DVD And Blu-Ray From Amazon

More by this Author


The Fourth Kind Film Review 10 comments

waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

Yeah it was an ok movie and quite disturbing in a few places.


Susana S profile image

Susana S 6 years ago

I was thinking about watching the fourth kind the other night, but went for something else instead. Based on your review I think I'd like it! Good job :)


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

Yeah on reflection it wasn't as good as others, but worth a look for it's good effort.

Checked out your review of a dire film indeed and Sabrina the teenage witch was just annoying and just a totally bad film, so I do agree!


MojoJojo49 profile image

MojoJojo49 6 years ago

Terrible Movie...absolutely terrible. Good review though man.

Im new to this. So could you check out my first review at...

http://hubpages.com/entertainment/49-Movies

and provide some feedback. It'd be much appreciated. Cheers :)


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

Cheers there Mr Voodoo!

It was a good film and one that made me think, real or fiction, who cares, movies are there to be watched and examined by whomever!

Cheers now!

Easter eggs!!


Mrvoodoo profile image

Mrvoodoo 6 years ago from ?

I really enjoyed this movie and rank it up with District 9 as one of the best Alien type films to have come out in a long time (although both are very different).

Lots of easter eggs too, what is the significance of the owl? What does Zimabu Eter mean? Why do the clocks stop at 3:33?

I almost enjoyed this movie more for the questions it didn't answer.

Good review, fair and neutral.


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

Yeah it was ok, but not really my type of film, I like my horror films! although I did find it an entertaining film, it was one I wouldn't buy, but I would recommend others to watch it.


ladyjane1 profile image

ladyjane1 6 years ago from Texas

hey waynet thanks for the review. I did a review of this movie as well and it drew me in at the beginning and then it started getting real cheesy so I didn't particulary like it. If it had been true then it would have been more interesting to me but after some research I have found that this story is very loosely based on some events but that the Dr. doesn't even exist or no one has been able to find evidence of it. Some parts made me jump because the thought of alien abduction is so freakin scary and thats why I was attracted to the movie in the first place but it did leave me saying Bull***. Cheers.


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

Yeah I liked it, but not my typical film that I really do enjoy! Drag me to Hell was a good one too!

Cheers Suzie!


suziecat7 profile image

suziecat7 6 years ago from Asheville, NC

I didn't like this movie. It seemed far-fetched despite the live footage. Watched a good one the other night (total fiction) called "Drag Me To Hell". I enjoy your reviews.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working