A Romantic Movie Review: 'Playing for Keeps'

Looking for a Romantic Movie-Look no Further

Main characters played by Gerard Butler and Jessica Biel
Main characters played by Gerard Butler and Jessica Biel | Source

Cast of the Romantic Comedy

Playing for keeps has an all star cast:

  • Gerard Butler
  • Dennis Quaid
  • Jessica Biel
  • Uma Thurman
  • Judy Greer
  • Catherine Zeta-Jones
  • James Tupper




My Top 11 Romantic Movies

  1. The Notebook
  2. Sleepless in Seattle
  3. Pretty Woman
  4. Gone with the Wind
  5. The Wedding Singer
  6. Dirty Dancing
  7. Titanic
  8. You've Got Mail
  9. Love, Actually
  10. 10 Things I Hate About You
  11. When Harry met Sally

Plot of the Movie

The leads in this romantic comedy are played by Jessica Biel (Stacie) and Gerard Butler (George); a divorced couple with a young son played by Noah Lomax. The story line goes like this: Ultra handsome and charming Ex-husband George Dryer is a washed up soccer pro who comes back home to the Virginia suburbs. He's broke and down on his luck but desperately wants to re-build the relationship with his adolescent son Lewis. In order to spend time with his boy, he agrees to coach his losing soccer team. George's attempts at growing up and shedding his bad ways are hindered from a group of soccer mom's who want a piece of the handsome, retired soccer star.

Pro's and Cons of my Review

Unfortunately, the movie doesn't provide many surprises. It plays out like your typical clich'e romantic comedy. After watching dysfunctional drama's and trists play out, in the end, the family unit prevails. Mom, dad and son get back together despite many near misses due to George's blunders.

On the bright side of my review, I shamelessly admit it's a 'feel good' movie. It's December, a time of seeing the positive side of things. This all star cast is captivating to watch and I'm a sucker for a good romance. How can you not like a movie that ends with the family back together. If your looking for a romantic comedy; albeit predictable, this is a 'must see' holiday movie.


Movie Review

4 stars for 'Playing for Keeps'

Playing for Keeps-Good Romantic Movie

Romantic Comedies

Are you a Fan of Romantic Comedies

See results without voting

© 2012 Linda Rogers

More by this Author


Comments 27 comments

billybuc profile image

billybuc 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

I love romantic comedies, but I am not a fan of Biel or Butler, so this one would be a tough sell for me. Thanks for the review; maybe if I see it on sale someday I'll give it a try.

I hope you are well my friend; sending holiday best wishes to you and your sister.

bill


KoffeeKlatch Gals profile image

KoffeeKlatch Gals 4 years ago from Sunny Florida

Thanks for the review. I still think I might want to catch it, maybe when it is available to rent.


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 4 years ago from Minnesota Author

Hi Bill and of course your the first to comment on my review-you are such a good friend to me and so supportive of my writing. I actually enjoyed the movie even though it was very predictable. I hope your enjoying the holidays thus far-We did some Christmas shopping today and I ended up getting one thing for myself-LOL


drbj profile image

drbj 4 years ago from south Florida

I have been planning to see that film, Linda, since I enjoy Gerard and Catherine in any movie they appear in. So thanks for the advance review.


always exploring profile image

always exploring 4 years ago from Southern Illinois

This is a movie i will definitely see, if not in the theater, for sure a home movie. Romantic comedies are my favorite movies. Thank's for the review. Best wishes..Merry Christmas..


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 4 years ago from Minnesota Author

Hi there KKgirl-I am a sucker for a romantic comedy. I actually enjoyed the movie very much. If your alright with happy endings that are predictable, then see this movie. There were a couple of sexy scenes if younger viewers want to see it but nothing too bad. It was rated PG13. Happy Holidays my friend :-)


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 4 years ago from Minnesota Author

Hi drbj-Gerard Butler is sooo handsome and I thought he did a pretty nice acting job in this movie. The movie could have been written better but for me, all the celebs and the nice love story ending made it a fun out for me and a good way to start the holidays. Hope all is well :-)


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 4 years ago from Minnesota Author

Dear Ruby-you will definitely enjoy this romantic comedy. It's an all star cast that's fun to look at, especially the handsome Gerard Butler-Hubba Hubba! I think it's a nice holiday movie for the family but there are a couple scenes that are suggestive but no more than that. Merry Christmas my friend and I hope things are well in your life.


catgypsy profile image

catgypsy 4 years ago from the South

Great review Minnetonka. I haven't seen that movie and you just helped me decide about it. Thanks.


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 4 years ago from Minnesota Author

Tis a pleasure catgypsy-I thought it was entertaining albeit predictable but who cares-Gerard Butler is a babe :-)


catgypsy profile image

catgypsy 4 years ago from the South

Haha...that makes it worthwhile!


teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 3 years ago

I love romantic comedy. There are many on TV for the holiday celebration. However, as you mentioned, they have predictable endings. I love it when it has some mystery as to how it will end.


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 3 years ago from Minnesota Author

Hi teaches-my family and I have been watching all those holiday romantic comedy's. I just love them. Some of them have some big stars in them too. Thanks for coming by and I hope your doing well.


Seeker7 profile image

Seeker7 3 years ago from Fife, Scotland

This is a great review for me as I haven't seen the movie yet - despite always enjoying watching Gerard Butler! I was in two minds whether or not to see it or just wait - think I'll wait, even although I do love 'feel good movies' especially in January as it's such a dreary month!!

I think some of the modern romantic comedies could even learn a thing or two from old classics such as the Doris Day and Rock Hudson, 'Pyjama Games' and other movies of the 60's - I know my tastes are very old at times, but I love these old movies!!!

An excellent, fair and well balanced review!! + Voted up!


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 3 years ago from Minnesota Author

Thanks for reading the review Seeker. I like the old movies too. I use to watch them with my father when he was still alive. The old ones are so much better. Although this wasn't the best movie and was quite predictable, it was a feel good movie and like you said, always fun to watch the charming and good looking Gerard Butler.


Monis Mas profile image

Monis Mas 3 years ago

Very useful review! I like "feel good" movies, and I was planning to rent this one at some point. Gerard Butler is one of my husband's favorite actors, so maybe we will see it together.


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 3 years ago from Minnesota Author

Well, if the husband is cool with the handsome Butler, you're good to go. LOL Have a great movie night :-)


acaetnna profile image

acaetnna 3 years ago from Guildford

Romantic comedies I think are my favourite. Must definitely watch this one, especially after your great review.


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 3 years ago from Minnesota Author

Hi acaetnna-I know you'll like this romantic comedy, especially when Gerard Butler is one of the leads. It's a great chick flick.


Kathryn Stratford profile image

Kathryn Stratford 3 years ago from Manchester, Connecticut

Romantic comedies can be incredibly corny at times, but there are many that I find heart-warming and worth it. It depends on how good the acting is, and how funny.

This sounds like a decent plot, although now I know how it ends!


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 3 years ago from Minnesota Author

It was pretty predictable but I did think the acting was pretty good. I especially liked looking at the handsome Gerard Butler. It's a chick flick to be sure. My sister and I enjoyed it.


Ingenira profile image

Ingenira 3 years ago

I watched this movie while on the plane, flying to somewhere. Maybe I was sleepy, I felt the movie was quite slow, so I did not watch the movie till the end.

But I am glad that someone else enjoyed it. Great review !


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 3 years ago from Minnesota Author

Not the best movie like you said, but I just enjoy romantic comedies, especially when the leading man is so darn handsome.


Lady_E profile image

Lady_E 3 years ago from London, UK

Thanks. I would love to see it. I like the Cast too.


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 3 years ago from Minnesota Author

You'll like it. It's definitely a chick flick and nothing that will excite the man in your life. You can't go wrong with the handsome leading man. I just love romantic comedies. Hope you enjoy it.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England

Great review minnetonka, I am useless with romantic comedies, I hate them! lol! just too lovey for me, I am a horror fanatic, I love all those sort of things, maybe its because I don't have romance in my life I can't bear to see others happy in these films! LOL!


Minnetonka Twin profile image

Minnetonka Twin 2 years ago from Minnesota Author

You are so funny Nell. I don't have a romantic love either but I still love watching those movies. I like to pretend I'm the girl in the movie. LOL

I have always been a hopeless romantic. Good to see you Nell.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working