Tarantino Movie Reviews: Deathproof

Deathproof A Tarantino Movie Review

 Quentin Tarantino's films have become cult must watch cinema, what with Pulp Fiction and Reservior Dogs which are regarded his most popular films, although his recent efforts such as Kill Bill really brought home that Tarantino edge that is apparent in all of his films with the punchy dialogue and the characters.

Deathproof is another great example of the characters that speak with realistic and down to earth character driven speech that just seems so real among friends that it just made me believe that the actors in the film were actually best friends and that's why in the first half of the film, you are drawn in to care about the first set of girls before they all die horrifically at the wheel of Stuntman Mike played by Kurt Russel, of course you are shown a test run of the characters and who they were so that you know when Stuntman Mike tries to do the same again, you just know it can't end up the same way, because movies just don't work that way.

The story starts off with 3 girls going on a trip to one of the girls fathers lodge and on the way they meet up with some friends and then happen to meet Stuntman Mike who has been stalking the 3 girls really as he is a sick sociopath serial killer who uses his car to kill women, later on that night the girls and another woman are driving to the lodge but Stuntman Mike runs head on into their car with his Deathproof car and what has to be a spectacular mix of stunt, crash effects and a severed leg flung from the car, all four of the girls are killed.

Forward 14 months later and Stuntman Mike picks his next victims, who just happen to be 3 more girls in a car, but the Stuntman has picked the wrong chicks to mess with as they look like his previous victims, but as he finds out, first impressions don't mean a thing as he quite rightly becomes the victim, goodbye Stuntman Mike!

I liked this film and it was a bit slow in parts, but it equalled this out by making you think about the characters and care about them, as a character driven movie you would expect all of this anyway and then the nastiness of Kurt Russels character really brings things to a great closing 20 minutes with a car chase that gets it's roles reversed as Stuntman Mike Bites off more than he can chew.

This was a classic car movie that had a definite feel of the old grindhouse movies of the 70's with it's authentic scratched lensing just like it's other half of the double feature which came out the same time as this Planet Terror.

I highly recommend watching this to see Stuntman Mike get a bitch slapping.

 

Buy Quentin Tarantinos Deathproof From Amazon Now!

Deathproof

Deathproof A Tarantino film.
Deathproof A Tarantino film.

More by this Author


Deathproof Film Review 18 comments

M A Williams profile image

M A Williams 6 years ago from New Hampshire

I liked Deathproof. However, I just ranked it last on my list of Tarantino Movies ( http://hubpages.com/entertainment/Tarantino-Movies ) because while it's good, it doesn't measure up with his other films. As you say, the dialogue does stand out as with any Tarantino film, but I think he loses his discipline in Deathproof and it crosses into the self-indulgent.

I agree with the previous commenter, Eli, that the dialogue isn't relevent to the plot. However, that is what is so good about Tarantino movies - he captures small talk so well.


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

I suppose they had to build up the characters in the first half so that they killed them off in style and you felt bad for the characters or something like that.

I liked Kill Bill vol 1, just volume 2 dragged a little for me, vol 1 was ace with the fight with the crazy 88 and I prefer the unedited scenes of the fights in color better!

Cheers now Eli


eli grey profile image

eli grey 6 years ago from Philadelphia, Pa

Tarantino is the best worst director in my opinion. I'm speaking mostly because of the last film I saw of his which was Deathproof. The film was complete nonsense. Less than half of what was said was relavent to the plot.It turned me off completely from him for a while, but I was turned back on after I watched Kill Bill Vol. 1. That too was sluggish. Good post dude.


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

Yeah it's crazy when the director(in this case Tatrantino!) leaves out important parts of the story to trim it down, but then it makes no sense to have included half of the scenes, I liked this movie as it's not often you see Kurt Russel as a pyscho car driving ex stuntman freaky bastard!


film critic profile image

film critic 6 years ago

I think the movie... Death Proof... would have been less slow in places if he wasn't cutting down the time to fit it into the double feature, "Grindhouse." Even the director's cut, which was released afterwards, was missing what I thought were pretty important scenes from the script. I think he must have had to cut some scenes during production, but some stuff simply doesn't make sense without it.

For example, Jungle Julia and her friend from the Bronx (Brooklyn?) had a little tiff. We see them making up, but the sequence that caused it didn't make it to the movie.

I of course liked the movie anyway...


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

It certainly is worth a try M.T.


M. T. Dremer profile image

M. T. Dremer 6 years ago from United States

Back when this movie and planet terror came out, I had no idea what either of them were about. They were advertised as a double feature, so it didn't really tell us the story of either movie. By the sound of your review, I might actually find it interesting. I really liked the Kill Bill movies, so I'm thinking I should give some more Tarantino movies a try.


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

Yeah Jay, I quite liked that one too it had all the ingredients of a classic world war 2 film, y'know like the old ones, I'll have to do a review of it here too.


jaytech profile image

jaytech 6 years ago from Cardiff

Did you like Inglorious Bastards? A lot of people seem to dislike it but I actually think it's pretty good. Christoper Waltz was especially incredible as Hanz Landa, really sinister.


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

Yeah I bought it for my birthday and the double bill feature Planet Terror and Blood the last Vampire both of which I'll be reviewing here at hubpages, because I'm a hubpages junkie now lol!


jaytech profile image

jaytech 6 years ago from Cardiff

I just bought deathproof for my collection seeing it's only £4.99 at play.com, there was a hole in my collection :)


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

Cheers there Jay!

That's good to know, because his films are always worth a viewing I just wish he would direct a good horror film.


xunlei profile image

xunlei 6 years ago

I have watched it,yeah,great, I like ,thanks for your sharing.


jaytech profile image

jaytech 6 years ago from Cardiff

I'm a massive Tarantino fan & I really liked Death Proof, although I don't think it's on par with Pulp Fiction or Kill Bill. According to IMDB he has 3 movies in development at the moment, he's a busy lad huh....

# Come Drink with Me

# The Man with the Iron Fist

# Faster, Pussycat Kill Kill

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000233/


waynet profile image

waynet 6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom Author

Hahaha yeah tis a bit late!


ryankett 6 years ago

Get to bed you crazy northerner!


amandaD profile image

amandaD 6 years ago from Hull UK

I watched this with you and yeah it was a good film, I thought it was going to be poo, like the kill bill volume 2, I liked the first kill bill film, especially when Uma goes up against the crazy 88 and kills them all.

You only watched it to see some women botty!


easybusinesslinks profile image

easybusinesslinks 6 years ago from UK

Saw this one too and found it was slow at the start, but worth watching for it's ending as the bitches got their own back on Kurt Russel.

Nice review!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working