jump to last post 1-8 of 8 discussions (19 posts)

Is stripping an art form?

1. Stevennix2001 profile image83
    Stevennix2001posted 7 years ago

A while back, someone told me they firmly believed that stripteasing was an art form.  not sure, I quite agree, as I always viewed it as playful banter for  lovers in the bedroom, or something you'd see at certain clubs.  lol.  however, i just thought i'd get your take on it.

1. tony0724 profile image61
      tony0724posted 7 years ago in reply to this

On behalf of you hubbers I might be willing to Investigate this ! smile

2. Faybe Bay profile image84
    Faybe Bayposted 7 years ago

A movie man, have you ever seen the original Gypsy, with Natalie Wood? There's a scene where the strippers explain about the art. I'll see if I can hunt it up for you. I worked as a bar maid in a club, and yes it is an art.

Stevennix2001posted 7 years ago in reply to this

that's cool.  i don't think i've seen thaat movie. however, i will definitely check it out though.  thanks for the tip.  smile

1. Faybe Bay profile image84
        Faybe Bayposted 7 years ago in reply to this

This is before your time, this seen is the burlesque strippers trying to explain how You Gotta Get A Gimmick. Very campy. smile

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFRSawe33sA

Stevennix2001posted 7 years ago in reply to this

lol.  it looks campy.  although the style of that one scene you showed me seems to have the same comedic flair as "singin in the rain."  thanks for telling me about it faybe. i love watching old movies, so i'll definitely be sure to check it out next time i rent out a video. smile

Oh my gosh. I have to say this was a total pick me up. I was blue all day, headache, lousy weather. Now I have inspiration for a hub, and maybe even a short series of hubs, almost a book? Thank you! smile

2. profile image0
      Iðunnposted 7 years ago in reply to this