jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (5 posts)

Foster Care-Is it Always the Best Solution?

1. debbiepinkston profile image85
    debbiepinkstonposted 3 years ago

I work in the field of Human Services and I have been thinking about the thousands of children in foster care.  I realize that some children are in imminent danger due to severe abuse and neglect, but there are thousands who are removed from their homes because of parents' substance abuse or other issues.

It would be extremely traumatic for a child to be suddenly jerked out of their home, no matter what their home situation had been.  Having no choice in the matter and being sent to live with complete strangers, sometimes one foster family after another, can't be healthy for a child.

Are there other options? Could our foster care program be complimented by another program that would help parents gain the parenting skills they lack, get into substance abuse treatment, learn job skills, attend parental support groups, learn how to budget their money, and learn what their children need?  Could our communities come together to address the basic problems in so many homes, with federal, state and local governments partnering with non-profits and church organizations partnering together to help at-risk families?  Instead of taking children out of their homes, could we help their families function better?

What do you think?

2. psycheskinner profile image82
    psycheskinnerposted 3 years ago

I think most social workers know foster care is risky, and only permanently remove kids in imminent and serious danger. It is not as if these issues have never occurred to them. But the other side of the coin is the kids who get left in the home, and are murdered.

3. Dame Scribe profile image61
    Dame Scribeposted 3 years ago