Best Grocery Store Review--What is Aldi or Aldi's Like?

My Aldi store
My Aldi store | Source

Why I love Aldi's Grocery Store

It's cheap. It's efficient. Its quality. Heck--sometimes it's even fun. What is it? My favorite grocery store, that's what. Aldi. (You'll hear it often referred to as Aldi's.) Aldi is a Germany-based grocery store that offers the best grocery shopping experience there is. They sell interesting, quality products at the lowest prices around. Aldi is always getting new and different items, which makes for a fun--yes, fun--shopping experience.

And all the money I save! It would be astonishing to have a total of all the money I've saved over the years by shopping at Aldi. Aldi is the store I shop at most. I only visit other grocery stores or super centers for items I can't find at Aldi.

There is no need to clip coupons when you shop at Aldi. Their prices are generally less than are products at other stores even with coupons.

Aldi used to have a reputation--a misconception--of having low quality, cheap foods, but that isn't the case. The products aren't name brand; they are just a different brand. Any product I've tried that I didn't like was simply a matter of taste. For example, their spaghetti sauce is a bit sweet for my taste, (probably because I usually make my own), but I don't care too much for the much more expensive Prego brand, either.

Aldi's sliced hamburger dill pickles, on the other hand, are the best I've tasted anywhere. Of all the products I've tasted from their store, there have been very few things that I haven't liked.


Some of the countries that have Aldi stores

show route and directions
A markerGermany -
Germany
[get directions]

B markerFrance -
France
[get directions]

C markerAustria -
Austria
[get directions]

D markerDenmark -
Denmark
[get directions]

E markerUnited Kingdom -
United Kingdom
[get directions]

F markerSpain -
Spain
[get directions]

G markerPortugal -
Portugal
[get directions]

H markerUnited States -
United States
[get directions]

I markerBelgium -
Belgium
[get directions]

J markerHungary -
Hungary
[get directions]

Efficiently stacked items on either side of the aisles. Our local Aldi recently built a bigger store with wider aisles in a larger than normal Aldi store.
Efficiently stacked items on either side of the aisles. Our local Aldi recently built a bigger store with wider aisles in a larger than normal Aldi store. | Source

Things you can buy at Aldi

Aldi sells the bulk of groceries needed. Breads and pastas, sauces, and canned goods are plentiful. Frozen goods boast an assortment of vegetables, meats, ice cream, and individual as well as family meals. Aldi has an impressive spread of fresh fruit and vegetables. The dairy section is stocked with milk, sour cream, yogurt, numerous kinds of cheeses, and more.

Toilet paper, paper towels, and laundry supplies--they're all there. While maybe not your normal brand, dog food and cat food are available for purchase if you're in a pinch. You can also pick up some toiletries, which includes cosmetics, vitamins, shampoo, and more.


I love Aldi!

5 stars for Aldi Grocery Store

What I buy elsewhere

There are certain things that I can't buy at Aldi, but I figure that situation is true with any store. Aldi doesn't have green onions, and I really like green onions and I also must have my Diet Coke, which I must get elsewhere. There are certain toiletries and household cleaners and other items for the home that I buy at other places, such as the local super center. Thanks to Aldi, though, those dreaded trips to the bigger stores are farther apart than what they used to be before I discovered Aldi.


Price Comparison of sample items

Item
Aldi
Other grocery store or supercenter
Savings per item
8 oz grape tomatoes
99 cents
$2.69
$1.70
100% whole wheat bread
$1.69
$2.50
.81
cream of mushroom soup
59 cents
$1.12
.53
avocado
39 cents (varies)
$1.29
.90
8 oz block cheddar cheese
$1.49
$2.29
.80
4 quarters butter
$1.99
$2.86
.87
1 gallon milk
$2.78
$3.78
$1.00
Prices vary. These prices reflect the usual price or an average of what I have seen in stores.
Click thumbnail to view full-size
A fine assortment of fruitLots of broccoli and green bell peppers--must be a special deal today!
A fine assortment of fruit
A fine assortment of fruit | Source
Lots of broccoli and green bell peppers--must be a special deal today!
Lots of broccoli and green bell peppers--must be a special deal today! | Source

Aldi's Special and Seasonal Buys

Something I really love about Aldi are their special and seasonal buys. At times they have special products, such as foods with a Mexican or Italian theme. Special and seasonal items are ones that aren't stocked on a regular basis. These items usually come back from time to time. I stock up on the ones I really like when I see them. Sometimes other big name brand products are brought in for a time.

Aldi has weekly buys that are fun to see. I love going down the miscellaneous aisle of different, often seasonal items. In the spring, you might find bird feeders and tulip and other bulbs in the fall. You can purchase grills, heaters, even generators. Often there are toys and electronics, and numerous household items, many of which are gadgets and small appliances for the kitchen.

I look forward to looking over the weekly ad, which I get via email. These special buys, which are always lower than anywhere else, even when they are the same brand, actually make shopping at Aldi fun. I usually do enjoy looking around in the store for special deals and even mark downs, which makes an already reasonable price really cheap, making the item impossible to pass up.


They say this brand of laundry detergent is equal to the brand, Tide--at half the price.
They say this brand of laundry detergent is equal to the brand, Tide--at half the price. | Source

Aldi is efficient

I love Aldi's efficiency. When in a long line at another store, you might continually check your watch. At Aldi, though, cashiers are fast, and your biggest worry is whether or not you'll get all the grocery items onto the conveyor belt before your checker is finished!

Time is not wasted, as shelves are stocked with items in the boxes in which they are shipped, with the tops just pulled off. These boxes are recycled when customers use the empty ones to carry out their groceries, as Aldi does not provide free bags for customers.

After you whiz through the line, you'll be pleased to whisk off your cart to the side counter to sack those groceries as the checker waits on the next customer. And so it moves . . . .

The line isn't slowed down, either, by customers writing checks. In fact, many Aldi stores accept only cash and debit cards. My local Aldi does accept Discover credit cards, which is my most common form of payment there.


Aldi has no hidden costs

Aldi's efficiency saves money and allows the store to offer lower prices. This efficiency goes hand in hand with the lack of hidden costs. There are no costs in the "free" bags for groceries. Customers have the option to purchase bags for five or ten cents, or they can bring their own bags or grab some empty boxes from the store. I can always find a box or two if I've forgotten to bring my own bags.

Checkers are efficient, as they do other things, such as stocking, in the store, if no customers are in line. No employee sits and waits. If the line gets long, another employee is called to the next register. As mentioned earlier, time isn't wasted by taking products completely out of boxes. Employees also don't have to spend their time returning carts from the parking lots, as customers get their carts for a quarter and return them to get that quarter back.

Aldi has a model that works. Their no frills practices make it possible to pass along significant--sometimes mind-blowing--savings to customers. For that, I am very grateful!


That's my store!
That's my store! | Source

Update on Aldi Products

My local Aldi store, in early 2013, started carrying the green onions I love! And near mid-year, they started selling fresh cilantro. These are two items I would have to go to other stores for, since I love both items. I trust that, as time goes on, Aldi will carry more and more of the items I want and need!

And they are! My local store now carries Coke and Diet Coke soft drinks. The store is also carrying more and more organic products, both fresh and packaged. Aldi continues to expand in their offerings.

More by this Author


Comments 50 comments

billybuc profile image

billybuc 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

Pretty awesome prices. Our milk is $2.00 but other than that this store has all of our prices beat. Good review Vicki!


Mhatter99 profile image

Mhatter99 4 years ago from San Francisco

Good review. Thank you. In SF we have the "Chinese markets". Their only problem is: different stores have different prices.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Bill--$2.00 milk--wow! Glad you appreciated my review! :-)


Patty Inglish, MS profile image

Patty Inglish, MS 4 years ago from North America

I like Aldi's as well - cheaper than WalMart, which is as expensive as Kroger now. The only thing I had bad luck with at Aldi's was celery, but it has improved 500%. I'm happy.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Mhatter--Interesting about the Chinese markets. Those would be neat to shop! :-)


RTalloni profile image

RTalloni 4 years ago from the short journey

The Aldi model really does work for a lot of people--they do a great business in our area!


AudraLeigh 4 years ago

I had no idea Aldi was worldwide! Good prices...good read!


Ghaelach 4 years ago

Morning Victoria.

I live in the home of Aldi.

Along with their competitors Lidl, REWE, Edeka, and a few others they do a good job with their prices.

Over here in Germany Aldi generally build their new stores across from a competitor, so what we can't/don't get from Aldi we can normally get from the other store cutting down on the travelling.

I would think that each area or country has it's own specialities which they would push a bit more and get the better price.

Great hub Victoria.

LOL Ghaelach


carol7777 profile image

carol7777 4 years ago from Arizona

Now I just need to find one of these stores close by. Thanks for a great review.


GiblinGirl profile image

GiblinGirl 4 years ago from New Jersey

I'm always looking for ways to cut costs at the grocery store (I'm continually amazed at how much I can spend) and I'm constantly passing by an Aldi on the highway near where I live - maybe next time I'll make a point to stop in and check it out.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Patty--Glad your celery has improved. LOL! I just bought some at Aldi for 59 cents. I love their weekly specials.:-)


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

It does, RTalloni! Thanks for commenting!


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Yep, Audra. Aldi is growing! :-)


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Thanks, Ghaelach, for weighing in! The home of Aldi--very cool. I've never heard of the other stores. What I can't get at Aldi, I can also go across the street the the Wal-Mart super center. Thanks for the input! :-)


novascotiamiss profile image

novascotiamiss 4 years ago from Nova Scotia, Canada

Victoria: Aldi is also very popular in Switzerland and Australia. They don't have the greatest variety and the shops are extremely basic but the prices are definitely unbeatable. Since Aldi and Lidl (another German grocery shop chain) moved into Switzerland the 2 main supermarket chains who had the monopoly had to drop their prices considerably, making shopping cheaper for everybody. There are still many snobs who wouldn't be seen dead going to Aldi as they think it's only for the poor plebs.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Carol, is there one anywhere around where you live? I'm not sure as many are in the western US. Maybe in time . ...


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

GiblinGirl--You MUST stop and check out Aldi next time you drive by it! :-)


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

novascotiamiss--Yes, I saw that Aldi is popular in Switzerland and Australia, but the map wouldn't let me put more than ten. Perhaps I should replace mention of two other countries, or at least mention these. I agree with you that some people won't go to Aldi as they think it's just for poor people. Thanks for your input!


fpherj48 profile image

fpherj48 4 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

Vee....and of course, you could probably guess that I love Aldi's too. I go there before I go to any other food store....stock up on most of our groceries.....and then what they don't have, I will pick up elsewhere. My husband does the big grocery shopping.....and he's very good at being frugal, using coupons, catching sales, etc....

We also have a "Save-Rite" which is similar to Aldi's.....so we will go to one or the other and always know we're being very financially wise!!...UP+++


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Well, yeah, Effer, I figured if there were an Aldi near you, you would be going there, my like-minded girlfriend! I, too, get everything there that I can. I love the prices AND the products. Good for your husband, too! That's neat. We don't have a Save-Rite, but the name tell me it's a great store, too. Thanks for the validation, girl!!! Glad to know we shop the same grocery store!


teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 4 years ago

Aldi sounds like a great store. I would love those pickles! The prices are reasonable as well.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Oh, teaches, I love the store. And the pickles! :-)


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA

I really like Aldi. I go there for specific things that are either name brands or really good off brands and much lower prices. Definitely the lowest milk and eggs prices too.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Hey, Sharyn, I go there for everything I can. I then go to other stores later for what I can't get. Glad you can cash in for the savings. It's a great store. Thanks for the input!


vespawoolf profile image

vespawoolf 4 years ago from Peru, South America

I also love Aldi and shopped there when we lived in the U.S. The comparison chart is amazing! I really miss it. I agree, there are some awesome products to be found, as well. Thanks for sharing!


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

vespawoolf--I would have a hard time living somewhere without an Aldi now that I'm sold on it. Thanks for your input!


Monis Mas profile image

Monis Mas 3 years ago

I like Aldi in general. What I don't like about it is that they don't bag your items, and that you have to have change in order to get a cart (like in Europe).


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Monis Mas--Yes, sometimes it's a pain to bag my groceries when I have a lot. I don't mind much, though, as those things are what keep the prices down. :-)


Monis Mas profile image

Monis Mas 3 years ago

That's true. I don't have Aldi near by, so when I shop there only from time to time, I never remember to bring a bag with me!


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Monis Mas--Sometimes I forget to take a bag to Aldi, but I can always find a box or two there! :-)


Melovy profile image

Melovy 3 years ago from UK

What a great idea for a hub! We don't tend to buy groceries at Aldi because we buy mostly organic and they don't have much of that (in the UK anyway) but my husband is addicted to hunting out bargains in both Aldi and Lidl. We've had winter boots for the girls, plants, clothes, tissues and a whole host of other things.

You are right, it is a very efficient chain.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Melovy--No, I don't think Aldi has organic foods, but they do have a lot of bargains, that's for sure! thanks for reading!


btrbell profile image

btrbell 3 years ago from Mesa, AZ

Wow, this makes me miss my Aldi store. :( It was also one of my favorite places to shop but since I have moved, there isn't one! Thank you for the walk down memory lane! Up+


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

btrbell--I love my Aldi store. Maybe one will pop up one day where you are. Glad you enjoyed the hub. :-)


Serendipity7 profile image

Serendipity7 3 years ago from Chicago

I too am now an Aldi shopper. I shopped a variety of stores until I found Aldi and so glad I did. I'm now in the habit of keeping shopping bags in the back of my car so I'm prepared when I shop there. This hub was very helpful to let others know of a store that offers not only value, but high quality products as well.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Serendipity--Glad you discovered Aldi! I love it! It's a store I don't actually dread going into! :-)


Hyphenbird profile image

Hyphenbird 3 years ago from America-Broken But Still Beautiful

We love Alsi. It really is great to see a good review of the Aldi stores. Some folks are snobby and think Aldi is just poor quality but as you pointed out, that is not the case. A friend shopped there and her daughter threw away all the food, demanding she never shop there again. I was shocked. As for me, I love to save money!


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Hyphenbird--I agree totally! I can't imagine why anybody would throw out the food. That's outrageous! If I've ever not liked something, it was rare, just as I might not like something of any brand. I love Aldi!!!


caseymel profile image

caseymel 3 years ago from Indiana

I agree! I love Aldi! It is so quick and convenient. I like that there are less options. It is also a great place for parents to shop with their kids since there are not as many extras that they may want.

Thanks for reviewing my Hub!


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

caseymel--Aldi is great, too, for getting in and out, since it's not so big.

And, you're welcome. I should have checked out some of your hubs long ago! :-)


Kathleen Cochran profile image

Kathleen Cochran 3 years ago from Atlanta, Georgia

I passed Aldi for months because I thought it was for food stamp customers or something. I had no idea it was a small, German grocery. I love their cheap wines (some are better than others - love the Malbec!) They have unique deserts and salad dressings. I never drive past any more.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Kathleen--Aldi does have unique products--often! Ours doesn't carry wine. I wish they did. I'd like to try it!


Riviera Rose profile image

Riviera Rose 3 years ago from South of France

I had no idea Aldi had travelled to the US - lucky you! I love it in the UK, where its skincare range Lacura has won rave reviews. Sadly don't have one where I am in France, but good old Lidl, another German chain, does the same job! Never thought I'd get so excited about German supermarkets...


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Riviera--I do feel lucky that I have an Aldi so close. It's my favorite store. I have heard that Lacura is a comparable store and very good! I guess the German supermarkets are doing something right. Thanks for reading!


Glenn Stok profile image

Glenn Stok 3 years ago from Long Island, NY

I was surprised to find that you wrote a hub about Aldi. I recently discovered this store near me. A friend told me about it. Since then I told two other people and they are both shopping there regularly now.

I can see how they keep their costs down. As you mentioned, they put the items on the shelves in the delivery boxes. This keeps the cost of personnel stocking shelves down to a minimum. They also don't have the cost of accepting credit cards. As you had mentioned, they only accept cash and debit cards. It's interesting that the Aldi near you excepts the Discover credit card. Mine doesn't.

I am also quite happy with the quality of their products. I still shop at my regular supermarket, but I find many things with great quality and better pricing at Aldi. I just have to remember to bring my own shopping bags.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Glenn, I have been so impressed with Aldi and have saved so much money over the years that I just had to write this review! I got my brother to shop there, too. Yes, the shelving saves money, as does the efficiency of the cashiers. Yes, mine accepts Discover but charges a 25 cent fee. That's fine with me. When I forget my shopping bags, I take some of the store's empty boxes. That probably saves on work and helps them be more efficient, too! Thanks for reading!


sgbrown profile image

sgbrown 3 years ago from Southern Oklahoma

We just had an Aldi open here where I live. I haven't been in yet, but now I am really anxious to check them out. I think it is very efficient of them to use the boxes themselves, instead of shelving. I don't mind as long as the store is clean. I can bring my own shopping bags or use their empty boxes, whatever it takes to keep their prices low, works for me! So glad to find this hub! Voted up, useful and sharing! :)


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Thanks, sgbrown, for the input. Our Aldi store is bright and clean. I love it! You should check out yours!


Gypsy48 profile image

Gypsy48 3 years ago

Just moved to Dallas and I noticed the Aldi stores. I was wondering what they were. I will definitely give them a try. Great review. Things are more expensive here than where we lived before so this will help in cutting grocery costs. Voted up.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Gypsy--You will be amazed at how much you can save at Aldi over any other store around! Have fun!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working