Burgers of Marlow The Best Bakery In Town!

Source

There are not many shops left in Marlow that have been there all my life. Large supermarkets come and go, local sweet shops close down. Each and every place that was so familiar to me has gone. Apart from Burgers. To me, Marlow wouldn't be Marlow without this top bakery sitting on the corner of the high street.

Times change, but Burgers stays the same. And thank goodness for that. Burgers bakery started in 1942 when Marie and Eric Burger opened a 'Continental Confectioners'.

The origin of the Burger name (pronounced bur-jer soft g) and family came from Neuchatel Switzerland. And now all these years later, Bernhard, the son of Marie and Eric, manages the business with his daughter Rachel. The bakery continues to make delicious bread, chocolate, pastries even home made soup.

Burgers Counter
Burgers Counter | Source
howtospendit.ft.com
howtospendit.ft.com

Patisserie.


So what makes it so special?

Well, for a start the cakes are to die for! Burgers have their own Pastry chefs and believe me when I say they can cook and create a work of art in a pastry. I go into Burgers at least two or three times a week, and I have to drag myself away from the counter. The trouble is, I go in for a cake, and come out with everything else.

You can buy to take away, or go and sit down in the small restaurant area or tea room. Order a pot of tea or coffee then sit a while reading the newspaper and eating some of these delicious pastries. Or try the Chocolate Eclairs, macaroons, meringues, and so many more.

Burgers Tea Room

Burgers of Marlow public domain
Burgers of Marlow public domain

The Tea Room

There's just something so English about a tea room. Just those magic words cream scones, is enough to send me out of my house and down to Burgers. I love coming here. I always find that to escape the day, especially in the Winter, I need to find a cosy place that makes me feel relaxed.

Burgers Tea room does that. Its so familiar to me. Over the years my family have probably spent more time in there than anywhere else in Marlow. The great thing about the sit down area is that you can spend a lovely hour just drinking tea, eating a full breakfast or just nibbling at scones while watching the world go by. Burgers is situated opposite Higginson Park and Marlow Bridge. And the views are perfect to people watch.

Lovely chocolate made in Burgers
Lovely chocolate made in Burgers | Source

Chocolate

The Burger family have been making chocolate here ever since the 1940s. Having trained in Switzerland they obviously come from the home of chocolatiers.

Each chocolate is handcrafted, and comes in a variety of cute little gift boxes. I have often just stood there staring at the chocolates in their various packaging wondering who I can buy some for, and then ending up buying it for me. Can't resist it, they just look so yummy!

Wedding Cakes at Burgers Marlow
Wedding Cakes at Burgers Marlow | Source

They Even Do Wedding Cakes!

Getting married is probably one of the most stressful days in our lives. So we want to make sure that at least one thing goes right. The Wedding cake. By putting your trust in Burgers you know it will turn out just fine.

The cakes are baked by specialty bakers, each and every detail is a work of art. Whether you want a theme or the traditional wedding cake, each and every detail is perfect.

The Service

I have been visiting Burgers ever since I was a child, and the one thing that I have always noticed is the polite and prompt service. Every cup of tea is given with a smile, and you know you won't have to wait very long to receive your order. The great thing about Burgers is that its quite a local thing.

These days, what with the arrival of Starbucks along with loads of other coffee shops, and believe me when I say there are loads in Marlow, its nice to know that the one thing that does not change is Burgers.

Its Marlows little secret. And hopefully it will stay here for many more years to come. Where else would I go to buy my hot sausage rolls? Then again I could eat my way through their selection of cornish pasties, scones, chocolate and well you get the idea!

copyright nell rose Nell Rose connoisseur of Cakes, Pastries and all things Yummy!
copyright nell rose Nell Rose connoisseur of Cakes, Pastries and all things Yummy! | Source

My Opinion?


Well, my opinion is probably biased, but hey, who cares? I love Burgers! And I love the fact here is a place that hasn't changed. Neither has it compromised its original plan of supplying Marlow town with great quality food. Whether its sausage rolls, cornish pasties, cakes or chocolates, the quality is still the best. The reason?

Because it doesn't hurry. There isn't any need to keep up with the ultra fast modern world. Some of the staff have been there longer than I have been around. And believe me that's a long time! Burgers recently did a bit of refurbishing. Nothing drastic, nothing to send it screaming into the modern world. No, just a bit of flooring, a dash of paint and a couple of new counters.

And that's all it needed. The staff are friendly, the baking is extraordinary, and the location? Well, lets just say its nearly darn perfect!

Anything to complain about?

To be fair I am trying to find a negative aspect of Burgers. So far I can't find any fault. But if I find one I will let you know!

So, how would I rate it out of five for Food, Service, Value, Atmosphere? - 5/5 On all counts.

Do You Like The Sound Of Burgers? Please Rate It!

5 stars for Burgers Bakery

More by this Author


Comments 51 comments

alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA

What a strange name for a pastry shop. I was expecting reviews of delicious meat and instead, got sweets, which look just as good. Too bad the store is across the pond. Sounds like a place I'd like to visit. Voting this Up and Useful.


billybuc profile image

billybuc 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

Nell, if I entered that shop I would be able to leave. Show me a good bakery and I'll show you ten pounds just waiting to attach to my body. :)

Love the shop, and I love that they haven't changed and just keep doing their own thing.

Great review my friend; have a piece of chocolate for me, will you?


carol7777 profile image

carol7777 4 years ago from Arizona

I love traveling with you.. I always feel like I am there. Delightful hub and keep up this writing so I get to travel.


Emma Harvey profile image

Emma Harvey 4 years ago from Berkshire, UK

Well I'm sold! I was in Marlow the other week and suggested to my husband that we went to Burgers. We didn't go, but maybe this weekend! It looks delightful from the outside and judging by your hub even lovelier in! Might see you there one day Nell!

Up and awesome.


vespawoolf profile image

vespawoolf 4 years ago from Peru, South America

Oh my, this bakery sounds fabulous. Who doesn't love a good pastry? And they make chocolates, too? What's not to like about this place! There's something to be said about a long-time establishment who you can trust, as well. Thanks for a great review.


drbj profile image

drbj 4 years ago from south Florida

Burgers seems like a really neat place to get pastry and chocolates. But how many tourists do you think, Nell, drive by, see the inviting sign, and then visit thinking this is a genuine burger place?


AliciaC profile image

AliciaC 4 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

I love reading about bakeries and shops that sell desserts, even if they're located far away from me! Thanks for this delicious hub, Nell. I enjoyed reading about the mouth-watering food and looking at the photos. The pastries sound wonderful!


Life Iz Beautiful profile image

Life Iz Beautiful 4 years ago from India

It is a mouth watering hub....:)


GoodLady profile image

GoodLady 4 years ago from Rome, Italy

Just my cup of tea. I search out these beautiful tea rooms and cake places when I'm home in England. Oh those delicious cakes ad CHOCOLATES!!! I will look for Burgers on my way home from London to Hereford and have an afternoon tea there with lots of cakes. Thank you.

Pinned and voted.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi Goodlady, thanks for reading, I am trying out the review hubs, I have done a couple but wanted to give this one a go as I love that shop! lol! thanks nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi Life, thanks so much for reading, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi Alicia, yes those pastries, I have put on 10 pounds! arghh! must go on a diet, must go on a diet....lol!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi drbj, yes you got a point there, its a shame that they are called burgers, but I do believe they say patisserie on the side, so hopefully people will know it makes scrummy cakes! lol! thanks for reading, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi vespawoolf, thanks so much, that's so true. The longer running establishments are so much better than the newer and faster ones, thanks nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi Emma, oh yes! lol! forgot you came from 'up the road'! I am definitely going in, in about an hour, I have the workmen in and I am in dour need of a cake and sausage roll! Just yell Nell! haha!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi carol, aw thanks, glad you liked it, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi billy, yes I will, definitely, a large piece of chocolate cake coming up! lol! thanks billy, glad you liked it, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi alocsin, you are very welcome to come and have a cuppa with me, thanks as always, nell


Emma Harvey profile image

Emma Harvey 4 years ago from Berkshire, UK

Haha Nell - not sure we'll be up there today due to other commitments :( I will look out for you though when I'm next in Marlow!


always exploring profile image

always exploring 4 years ago from Southern Illinois

When i saw the word CHOCOLATE, i was hooked. My idea of a fun day is to have a cup of coffee and a chocolate ANYTHING with my friend Nell. Cheers.


IntegrityYes 4 years ago

That is great and funny. I voted up for sure.


aviannovice profile image

aviannovice 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

This sounds like a place where dreams are made. Starbucks will never win out, for their food is mass produced, not handcrafted like artwork. Wish I had a place to visit, just like this.


Sunshine625 profile image

Sunshine625 4 years ago from Orlando, FL

Yummilicious review Nell. I think you should be entitled to a lifetime discount because I'm sure you'll be bringing in a lot of customers! Well done.


prasetio30 profile image

prasetio30 4 years ago from malang-indonesia

Nice review, Nell. I hope I can visit Burgers of Marlow and taste the delicious cakes over there. Voted up!

Best wishes, Prasetio


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi pras nice to see you, and thanks for reading, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi Linda, lol! fingers crossed! thanks as always, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi avian, I spend a lot if time there! lol! thanks for reading, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi ruby, you are welcome to pop over anytime, let me know and I will go back down to marlow and have a tea! lol! mind you it takes me ages to get back there, but hey, I visit most weekends, thanks nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Thank you Integrity.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi Emma, I will be back in Marlow at the weekends to visit people so hopefully we will bump into each other at some stage, thanks!


girishpuri profile image

girishpuri 4 years ago from NCR , INDIA

Very interesting hub and yes i also felt like, i should visit burgers of Marlow and taste the delicious pastries, awesome hub, thank you so much, God bless.


teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 4 years ago

This is one place I would love to visit. I was expecting hamburgers, but the pastry is much better! Very well done.


Glimmer Twin Fan profile image

Glimmer Twin Fan 4 years ago

Voted up and interesting and shared too. I love these small local bakeries here in the U.S. and all over the world. I always find it sad when they close up and go away. Burgers looks lovely and the goodies look delicious too. Nice hub!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Thanks girishpuri, I visit it every time I go to see my brother, its a long trek but hey very worth it! lol! thanks!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi teaches, lol! yes its a bit confusing isn't it? thanks as always, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi Glimmer, yes over here in England they seem to be dwindling away too, so I am glad Burgers is still there, thanks for reading, nell


kittythedreamer profile image

kittythedreamer 4 years ago from the Ether

This place looks BEYOND delicious and exciting. Too bad I'm across the ocean. :( I can dream though, right? Voted up, useful, and awesome.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi kitty, lol! I will send you a yummy eclair! thanks as always, nell


AudraLeigh 4 years ago

This bakery sonds lovely! I used to work in a grocery store bakery, but they are not the same. This old favorite looks like a true mom and pops should be! Love this hub and something chocolaty :)


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi Audra, that's what is so lovely about it, its so old and traditional, they seem to have disapeared lately, so its lovely to still have it in the town, thanks so much for reading, nell


Gordon Hamilton profile image

Gordon Hamilton 4 years ago from Wishaw, Lanarkshire, United Kingdom

Hi, Nell

I think I may have been in this shop! As soon as I saw the name, I knew the correct pronounciation and when I saw the photo of people in the tearoom, it looked so familiar. When I lived in Middlesex, my ex and I used to travel extensively in counties like Bucks and Berks on her weekends off if the weather was good, so the chances are my memories are genuine :)

I love these small time food shops and producers. The produce is not only usually better than the mass produced supermarket stuff, they afford a personal touch that Tesco, Sainsbury's and the likes can never provide. I always support them wherever and whenever I can and love to read of others doing likewise.

Great review and I hope your favourite tearoom is around for many more years to come.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi Gordon, thanks so much. Yes it does sound as though you have probably been here, small world! lol!


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina

I am soooo....hungry after reading this fabulous review of your favorite bakery.

I love everything about this place and am voting it up across the board except for funny.

Good luck in the Rigorous Review Contest with this awesome entry.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi Happy, Aw thanks so much! I am actually eating a sausage roll from there as we speak! lol! thanks for reading, nell


JamaGenee profile image

JamaGenee 4 years ago from Central Oklahoma

Nell, I've bookmarked this hub for my "Places to Visit in England". Burgers sounds delightful! However, your hub was also a reminder that I haven't eaten since lunch, and that on this side of the Pond, B-U-R-G-E-R does NOT mean pastries. So I'm off now to fix a hamburger. Bon appetit! ;D


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi JamaGenee, long time no see! lol! nice to see you, yes Burger over here means a lovely hamburger too, its just an unfortunate name of the family! lol! thanks for reading, nell


Eiddwen profile image

Eiddwen 4 years ago from Wales

Brilliant Nell you are an amazing tour guide and here's to so many more to follow. Eddy.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Thanks so much Eddy, glad you liked it, nell


bethperry profile image

bethperry 4 years ago from Tennesee

There are few under Valhalla as delightful as Northern European pastries. Mmmm, you've made me hungry Nell. Voted up and hope I get to visit them some day. And how awesome they've not changed over the years. A rare thing.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi beth, thanks for reading, yes they make the most yummy pastries! and its nice to still see the old signs and the way they do the cooking etc, to modern these days, I love all the old stuff, thanks!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi beth, thanks for reading, yes they make the most yummy pastries! and its nice to still see the old signs and the way they do the cooking etc, to modern these days, I love all the old stuff, thanks!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working