Cutco Knives Review

My personal review of Cutco knives

This is my personal review of Cutco knives, I do not sell Cutco knives and I am not a rep, I am an owner and I happen to love my knives. My nephew was starting out with Cutco to make a few extra bucks in college and I happened to be the first person he showed his demonstration to, I was also his first buyer. I admit, it was tough shelling out $450 for a knife set, but after 12 years of use, it was one of my best investments. I bought the small set, there are sets that will cost you over $1500 like Cutco's ultimate set, but I personally didn't need a set that big.

Looking for the Best Cutlery

I was always searching for a knife that would cut my steak instead of ripping it apart; my Cutco knives are just as sharp today as they were 12 years ago. None of my knives have ever fallen apart and I have never had to have them sharpened. The knife blade continues through the entire handle and is riveted to the handle on both sides, which is a great feature for adding strength to the knife. I have always washed the knives in the dishwasher and none of my handles have ever cracked or broken.

Customer Reviews on Cutco Knives

I have read some other customer reviews that have knocked the type of metal used for the Cutco knife blades, but I personally have never had a problem with them rusting or breaking, but I have never abused them either. The only problems I have with my Cutco knife set is I can never find my scissors because the kids are always taking them and never putting them back, and I have had one knife missing for about 2 months, I'm still waiting for it to show up but I think I will have to break down and buy a new one.

The Reason I bought Cutco Knives

First of all, I had no intention of buying anything the day my nephew came to do his demonstration, but I was impressed with the longevity of the company, or maybe it was the demo of the scissors cutting the penny into a corkscrew... Anyway, I bought the knife set because of the unconditional money back guarantee and because they're guaranteed for life. I figured since the Cutco Company has been around since 1948 they will probably be around for a few more years to fulfill their lifetime guarantee to me if I had a problem. The only stipulation is you have to pay shipping charges to and from the company if you ever need to have your knives sharpened, I can handle that. I have never had the knife set sharpened yet, so I doing well.

Source

Cutco's Patented Double D Edge

Cutco steak knives have a cutting edge called the Double D edge, this is not a serrated edge, it is a cutting edge that has 3 cutting points, the cutting points are not on the edge of the blade, they are cut into the side of the blade, this is why the blade stays sharp, you can even cut on a granite or marble counter top without damaging the blades cutting points, hence, the steak knives stay sharp for a long time.

Cutco vs. Henckels (Opinion)

I own a few individual Henckels, but in my personal opinion, Cutco has them beat. Henckel makes a great knife too, but I have to sharpen them every few months and I hate having to sharpen my knives, I just want to use them and throw them in the dishwasher, if you know what I mean. I remember years ago buying a knife set and getting a sharpener with it, I thought that was cool, now that I look back, I realize that's not a good selling point for someone who knows nothing about sharpening knives.

Cutco Cutting a Penny

I Review for You

I'm a tool guy, and I love to put tools through the test, when I find a tool that can make life's every day projects easier, I like to share my findings. I don't care if it's a tool for cooking, fixing a car, or repairing Christmas lights, if it works well; I'm going to let you know, if it doesn't work well, I'll still let you know my opinion, unfortunately Henckel fell within those guidelines, I know I will have some of you who disagree with me when it come to comparing the knives, my wife is always trying to push Henckels on me, that's why I have a few single Henckel knives hanging around, so it's ok, I still want your opinion, everyone's opinion should be heard, plus I'm not an expert on cutlery, I'm just an owner of a very good knife set. Everything I review on Hubpages is something I own and use, I write about these tools with no fluff or exaggeration, just my personal experience.

Steak Knife Demo

Nobody Can Teach You Experience

When I was just starting out in the automotive field, I use to buy Craftsman tools, they make a good tool, and they have a lifetime warrantee. Then I bought my first set of Snap-on wrenches, it was then I realized the difference between good and awesome. The tool worked better, felt better, and lasted longer without breaking, I no longer was wasting money buying inferior tools and started investing in quality not quantity, in other words don't let the knife sharpener fool you, especially if you don't know how to sharpen knives.

Please leave a comment in the box below, I definitely want people's opinions, we learn by listening, not by talking, lol. If you liked my article, please share it with your friends and followers on Facebook and Twitter, there is a little button over the comment box which makes it super easy to share. Thank you, I really appreciate it.

More by this Author


Comments 18 comments

Joe Macho profile image

Joe Macho 4 years ago from Colorado

Eddie,

Thanks for the review. I'm sure that other's will find this hub very helpful. I ran across this and decided to read because I also own a set of Cutco knives. Since you wanted some opinions, I thought I'd drop my two cents on the matter. The sheers, trimmers, steak, bread and any serrated edge blade for that matter are great! After four years of use, they are still very sharp and cut perfectly.

My biggest issue is with the chef's knives. In my opinion, the handle on the regular chef's knife is not positioned for maximum control. This knife feels sloppy in my hand and produces less than clean looking cuts. I prefer the Santoku Version as this knife feels better and maintains consistent control while cutting and slicing. An issue relating to both chef's knives is that they do not keep their sharpness for extended periods. I know it's probably a result of the amount of work I push these blades to do, but for an "ever-sharp" guarantee, they don't live up to it. The positive news is that with a quick sharpen, they're back up to where they used to be!

Overall, I'd say that I probably need to move forward to professional chef's knives, but the rest can stay!


eddiecarrara profile image

eddiecarrara 4 years ago from New Hampshire Author

Hey Joe, thanks for the input, I don't work my knives to much, just the steak knives,lol. The only time I use the chef's knife is when I'm cutting veggies, so for the minimal use of them, they works great. By looking at your hubs, I can see that you like to cook, so you input is very important. I'm going to stop by and check out some new recipes, thanks for taking the time to comment. Happy New Year!!!


Claudia Tello profile image

Claudia Tello 4 years ago from Mexico

Thanks for this review. Cutco knives definitely sound like a very good investment and an excellent kitchen product for me. My knives never last more than 2 months sharp!!!!


eddiecarrara profile image

eddiecarrara 4 years ago from New Hampshire Author

Hi Claudia, I really never expected to drop $450 into a knife set but it was the best investment I have ever made for the kitchen. Thank you for taking the time to comment.


Cutter66 3 years ago

I dig my cutcos. I was sucked into 'em just like you but they have changed my approach to cooking and I have gained respect for my kitchen. The knives look and feel awesome. Especially the trimmers, carvers, paring and the NEW steak knives. They have a totally American muscle car look and feel. I've got a Japanese Chef knife called a Shun, which is an awesome knife, but very finicky and even fragile with it's harder steel. Cutco's, like you said, are a low maintenance workhorse. Most of the comments I've seen from chefs dissing cutcos are missing this important distinction. Not everyone wants to baby their little china doll of a knife. They want to use it. The 440A steel used is equivalent to the German knives, they just have a different name for it, but the "rockwell hardness" is equivalent. This softer steel is actually what makes them tough. The harder steels stay sharper but are more fragile. So if someone tells you cutco steel is inferior..eh, not so much. It is stronger, just not as hard as the Japanese. What makes them better than the equivalent German knives is that they are American, last longer and look way cooler.


eddiecarrara profile image

eddiecarrara 3 years ago from New Hampshire Author

Hey Cutter,

I couldn't agree more! I like your view on them, "American Muscle Car Look" that's pretty awesome,lol. I hated dishing out the money for them, now I realize it was an investment :) Thanks for the comment Cutter, it will give other readers some insight on Cutco Knives, especially the ones who are still on the fence, Ha!


Beth37 3 years ago

So funny. Cutco was my husbands first real job. He bought my engagement ring with the money he made from selling them... mostly to our parents. :)


eddiecarrara profile image

eddiecarrara 3 years ago from New Hampshire Author

Wow they must have bought a lot of knives, lol. Great knives tho. Thanks for the comment Beth :)


Beth37 3 years ago

It was a little ring. ;)


eddiecarrara profile image

eddiecarrara 3 years ago from New Hampshire Author

HaHa, size doesn't matter, or does it? lol.


Beth37 3 years ago

That's what I hear.


amitava 3 years ago

I would be surprised if this review was not pushed or sponsored by cutco. I have used the following five as paring knives in the last 8 years. Dexter Russel Sani safe, Vitorinox, mora carbon steel (mora classic 1095 without guard), cutco and good grips. I had to grind the mora on a stone to full convex grind to make it more suitable as a paring knife. Among them Mora was the best made knife. Mora needed regrinding and filling the handle with epoxy to fill the gap in the handle. It maintains its razor sharpness for 10 - 20 hours use before honing. Sani safe, cutco and vitoronox needs honing after 1-2 hours. Sani safe gets used the most and cutco the least (due to blade geometry, handle and steel type). For heavy duty, long hours or demanding tasks mora is the best. Other knives cost around 10 dollars and cutco paring ($70) . I cannot believe why vitorinox and cutco (only paring knives) is so highly rated on internet. Overall, I wont rate mora the best because I needed to change the blade geometry and fill the hole where the steel enters the handle with epoxy. My point is, for less money than cutco (1/7) you can get similar knife like cutco paring knife. For 1/7th the money and 30 min work (the time I took with mora) you can get a much better knife than cutco paring knife. I do not know about the other options. There could be many more brands that are much better than cutco at a much cheaper price. I looked at cutco reviews and they always compare with henckels and wusthof. I am making a stronger statement. I looked at much cheaper knives and they perform better than cutco at 1/7 the price. The way this cutco review is structured makes me look like an advertisement. My ranking, based on use in kitchen is sani safe, mora classic, vitorinox then cutco and good grips. Based on quality or extended use or demanding jobs, mora, sani safe, vitorinox, good grips and cutco last. I am making this statement about paring knives. For chefs knife I use a different maker and I did not try out other brands. I am not recommending any particular brand. I am saying you should check out your requirements and knife details before buying the knife. This cutco knives review is against ``my" experience and its structure is too similar to the company sales position. (We hand wash and wipe knives immediately, we cook for a family of 5, we use mainly 2 knives, chef and paring, cleaver is used rarely, currently we have 9inch chef, 3 paring and one cleaver).


eddiecarrara profile image

eddiecarrara 3 years ago from New Hampshire Author

Thanks for you professional opinion Amitava,

I can assure you that this is not in anyway an advertisement for Cutco. I have owned Cutco knives for over ten years and I absolutely love them. I may not use them a tenth of what you do because I do not cook like a chef, I'm just a guy who likes to share his experiences with fellow readers. I guess I was speaking mostly about the steak knives more then the paring or chefs knife because I use the steak knives the most, just about every night.

I guess I will have to go and reword my review to explain that it's the Double-D edge that never need sharpening not the paring or chefs knife. I really don't believe there is a knife in this would that would stay sharp with a single edge blade, especially if you cutting on a stone or metal surface, it's just not possible. Thanks for pointing out my poor review, I never meant it to be an advertisement, more of an opinion. Take care for now Amitava, and thanks again for your opinion, what's good for one person may not be good for the other :)


amitava 3 years ago

Dear Eddie,

By reading your review I really felt that it was written by the

company. It highlights the points made by the company and their sales

person. If you look at product reviews on bhphoto or amazon, you will

see that your review really stands out. It is extremely well origanised

and written with great clarity. I looked at some of your other reviews

few mins back. I wish I could write like that.

I tried to make one point. If you are willing to spend around

$500 on knives there are many options and you should choose based on

your needs. For me the best option (or even good) was not cutco or

vitorinox or other popular brands. They were much cheaper knives and not the most popular brands. I like the free market model because it gives you many choices and you can choose what suits you best. Current

advertisements and salesperson try to accomplish the opposite. One

should not buy if someone else (advertisement or salesperson) tell you

need something. One should list the features needed and then do a

product comparison to choose. I am surprised by the amount of impulse or ``casual" buying of expensive items. I felt that your current

review/experience is implying that with cutco you need not do your due

diligence.

I am not a chef (actually a mathematician). For my little experiment I

bought some paring knives and borrowed a few more. Then I selected what suited me most. Looking at set prices of ``high end" brands I realised I can have a custom made ``chef" knife in that price range. I spent less than $300 on knives (2 paring knives, 9in custom chef and a cleaver) and around $15 in 5 years on maintenance supplies. It serves me extremely well for my needs. I spend on average less than 2 mins/day to maintain knives and except the cleaver the knives are shaving sharp.

with regards

amitava


eddiecarrara profile image

eddiecarrara 3 years ago from New Hampshire Author

Hi Amitava,

Thanks, maybe I should move from the garage to the sales floor :) I'm not much of a writer, so I want to thank you for pointing out how well it was written, maybe I have a hidden talent that I not aware of, lol.

I had no intentions of even buying these knives because the price was more than a good set of Snap-on wrenches, my nephew was selling them and I was helping him out. To my surprise ten years later, the steak knives cut just as good as the day I bought them, so I think it's still a great investment, but I would have to say the paring knife could use a sharpening.

If I send it back to Cutco, they will either sharpen it for free or send me a new one, I thought that was pretty awesome! I have had good luck with some no name brands, but I really couldn't write a review on them, FYI, my wife hates my Cutco knives and she continues to buy off brands, she just bought another set of Calphalon which are pretty good, but it's only been 6 months so far so I'll let you know. It's funny, even my kids prefer the Cutco knife, so maybe I'm not crazy.

I love the input you bring to this review because it's really about personal preference, I know some people hate the handle of Cutco and I think it a valid point. The first comment here is from Joe Macho, he explains that the chefs knife feels sloppy in his hand and the cut is not perfect, but not everyone's hands are like Joe's, so you do have to do your due diligence.

Thanks again for all your input, it really give readers a chance to compare cutlery, that's why I ask for other readers opinions, I'm far from a master of cutlery and there is so much to choose from. Feedback from other readers is priceless, that's how I make most of my online buying choices now, reading customer reviews on Amazon, (the king of retail :) customers are blatantly honest and that's what I like.

Take care for now Amitava


Saiful 2 years ago

Since I have become the pamirry cook in the house, I've needed a decent storage place for my good knives. This fits the bill. It holds virtually all my long knives and some of the shorter ones, as well. Now every time I need a knife, it' handy and convenient. I love it.The only drawback is that my steak knives are too big for their slots in the block, but I am planning on getting some different ones very soon that will fit.


Taranwanderer profile image

Taranwanderer 17 months ago

Great review - I might actually consider plopping down several hundred dollars for a set of knives after this lol. Voted up!


eddiecarrara profile image

eddiecarrara 17 months ago from New Hampshire Author

Hi Taranwanderer,

I dropped $450 on my set and believe me it was painful, but I have had them for about 12 years and have not regretted it once, no buyers remorse here lol :)

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working