List of Gluten Free Cereals by Kellogg's, General Mills and Other Companies
Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, as you are breaking the fast from not eating all night long, and setting the path for the rest of the day.
According to the General Mills website,
When you consider the benefits of cereal, you’ll see why it is a great breakfast choice.
Ready-to-eat cereals are rich in important vitamins and minerals, yet lower in calories than many other breakfast options.
Cereal eaters also consume less fat, less cholesterol and more fiber than noncereal eaters.
Eating Breakfast Cereal
For this and many other reasons, I regularly eat cereal each morning for breakfast. It is quick, convenient, and limits my food choices so I can stay away from pastries and other less healthy choices.
When I found out that I had gluten intolerance, I thought it would be simply a matter of checking food labels, and making sure that I stop buying things that have wheat in them. If the label doesn't have a warning that it has wheat or was made in a facility that also made wheat products, I would be just fine. I wanted to be able to eat normal food, and simply avoid the products that have gluten in them.
This morning, I called the major cereal manufacturers, Kellogg’s and General Mills, to expand my list of available cereal choices. It turned out, however, that instead of being expanded, my list was dramatically reduced. I then did some additional research to increase my list of cereal choices yet again. It turns out that I will need to look for the gluten-free label on my cereals that I buy in the future.
Kellogg's Gluten Free Cereal
My first call was to Kellogg's. They make a lot of different cereals, including Corn Flakes and Rice Krispies, neither of which have wheat. The last time I had gone to the grocery store, I had noticed that they sold Gluten Free Rice Krispies, which is made with brown rice.
The customer service representative told me that the only gluten free cereal they made was the Gluten Free Rice Krispies. I asked her about Corn Flakes and Rice Krispies, and she told me that they were not gluten free, because there is barley in the malt flavoring.
I looked it up on the internet. Besides wheat, there is a big list of ingredients we need to watch out for, such as barley and malt flavoring.
Update: On March 28, 2015, Kellogg's announced that they had discontinued Rice Krispies Gluten Free Cereals. There are a few boxes left at Amazon today. Their list of gluten free products now include Special K Touch of Brown Sugar Gluten Free cereal, other Special K products, Eggo waffles, Fruit Flavored Snacks and To Go Breakfast Shakes
Gluten Free Chex
General Mills Gluten Free Cereal
My next call was to General Mills. I have tried their Gluten Free Bisquik and found the flavor and texture to be wonderful.
General Mills has a series of products that are specifically made to be gluten free, and has a website called Gluten Freely that lists all of them. They offer Chex in a variety of gluten free flavors, including Cinnamon, Chocolate, Honey Nut, Corn, and Rice.
The site also offers other products which are not made by General Mills. There are a variety of instant oatmeals made by Gluten Freeda oatmeals, including Variety Pack Instant Oatmeal, Apple Cinnamon with Flax, Maple Raisin with Flax, Banana Maple with Flax, and Natural, Other cereals by Gluten Freeda including Apple Almond Honey Granola, Cranberry Cashew Honey Granola, and Raisin Almond Honey Granola. The cereal page also includes Mountain Mambo Nut Free Trail Mix by Enjoy Life and Multigrain Os cereal with quinoa made by Orgran.
If you would like to have a warm breakfast, Chex now has three different flavors of oatmeal that are gluten free. These are Original, Maple Brown Sugar and Apple Cinnamon. They come in individual packages as well as a mix of all three varieties. Glutino makes toaster pastries that are also gluten-free.
Right now, it is not clear whether the Cheerios offered on Amazon is gluten-free, so I am not including a direct link. Wherever you buy the cereal, be sure to check the label so that you are getting the new formulation and not the old one.
Gluten Free Cheerios
The company has announced that Cheerios will be made gluten-free.
"Yellow Box Cheerios™, Honey Nut Cheerios™, MultiGrain Cheerios™, Apple Cinnamon Cheerios™ and Frosted Cheerios™ will all be going gluten-free by early September. Packages that are gluten-free will be labeled with a seal."
Cheerios is made with oats, which is naturally gluten-free, but when it comes from the farm, it normally is tainted with small amounts of wheat, rye and barley. The company has come up with a process to remove these to make the cereal gluten0-free.
Post's Gluten Free Cereal
Post Cereals also has a lineup of gluten free cereals. Their Fruity Pebbles, Cocoa Pebbles, Cupcake Pebbles, and Marshmallow Pebbles naturally do not have any gluten in them, but originally they were manufactured in a facility that also manufactured cereals with gluten in them, so cross-contamination was possible.
Since then, they must have revamped their facilities and their boxes now proclaim that they are Gluten Free.
My last stop was at Amazon. I did a search for gluten free cereals, and found that they carry most of the brands listed on this page, and a few more, including Glutino, Nature's Path, Arrowhead Mills, Envirokidz, Erewhon, Barbara's Bakery, Udi, If you want to save money, you may want to compare prices between Amazon, and the Gluten Free Mall, and Gluten Freely sites I mentioned earlier.
Be careful to make sure you buy only cereals that state that they are gluten free from Amazon. My search also pulled up Crackling Oat Bran, which has wheat and is not gluten free.
Wheat Free Gluten Free Cereals
Gluten-free cereals tend to be dramatically more expensive than their counterparts. However, for people with Celiac disease, it is important to avoid any gluten, since a small amount of gluten can cause serious damage.
As we have seen, in order to make a cereal that is free of gluten, a manufacturer has to do much more than simply make products that are not made out of wheat. There is a list of ingredients that have gluten in them that also need to be avoided. In addition, the manufacturing processes have to be changed so that the equipment that is used to make gluten free products is not also used to make products that do have gluten in them.
There is a greater demand for gluten-free products, and there are manufacturers who have risen up to the challenge to make them. As we buy more and more of these, hopefully we will find that we can have normal foods like cereal that are gluten free.
© 2012 Shasta Matova
More by this Author
Azodiacarbonamide is a chemical used in yoga mats and shoe soles to add elasticity. It's also used in breads sold in restaurants and grocery stores. Here's a list of breads without azodiacarbonamide.
Authentic Indian Potluck Curry Recipe is a great tasting main dish that is adaptable to the ingredients you have available on hand. It is quick, easy, and convenient since it only uses one pot, includes time saving...
Good deeds are very powerful, not only for the giver and the recipient of the favor, but also for society as a whole. This list explains the many benefits of performing good deeds, random acts of kindness and other...