Krusteaz Cookie Mix Review and Recipes

Double Chocolate Chunk Cookie Recipe

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies. Easy to make in 20 minutes using Krusteaz Chocolate Chip Cookie mix and extra chocolate chips.
Double Chocolate Chip Cookies. Easy to make in 20 minutes using Krusteaz Chocolate Chip Cookie mix and extra chocolate chips. | Source

Krusteaz is Best Cookie Mix

Looking for fast, easy homemade tasting cookies? Here is my review and some recipes for using Krusteaz Bakery Cookie Mixes. Here is why I like them:

  • 20 Minutes to Make: As a mom of 5, cookies go fast in my house and I'm always looking for cookies that can be ready to go in 20 minutes.
  • Tastes Like Scratch: The best cookie mix I've found for cookies that taste like I made them from scratch are Krusteaz Cookies.
  • Cheaper than Homemade: Better yet, these are often on sale at my local grocery store for under a dollar, which makes them cheaper than from scratch, especially the chocolate chip mix.

Krusteaz Cookie Mixes

Krusteaz Cookie Mixes
Krusteaz Cookie Mixes | Source

Tips for Best Cookies from Mix

One web review complained that the sugar cookies spread too much. That is true if you are trying cut outs. However, there are some things that make any cookie mix work better:

  • Margarine: Use margarine in the mix if you want a crispy cookie taste.
  • Butter: Butter does taste better but it makes a softer cookie. So for a softer cookie with a deep butter taste use real butter.
  • Flour: If you want sugar cookies or other cookies to be mounded up or firmer, add 1/2 cup of flour to the mix, or even up to 1 cup if the mix still isn't very stiff.

Sugar Cookies

Krustez Sugar Cookies: taste great but spread out a bit too much to make great cut out cookies.
Krustez Sugar Cookies: taste great but spread out a bit too much to make great cut out cookies. | Source

Krusteaz Sugar Cookie Mix

The sugar cookie mix tastes sweet and makes great crispy drop sugar cookies. If you are making rolled shaped cookies, you may want to add extra flour so they don't spread out as much. Like most regular sugar cookies, these will still spread out, however. If you really want crisp shapes, try my shortbread cookie recipe in my Christmas Cookies Recipes.

Peanut Butter Cookies

Krusteaz Peanut Butter Cookies.
Krusteaz Peanut Butter Cookies. | Source

Krusteaz Peanut Butter Cookie Mix

I can't tell the difference between this mix and homemade, so I generally don't make peanut butter cookies except with this mix. The Krusteaz mix has a wonderful deep peanut taste and the cookies are very crispy. The mix uses oil rather than butter or margarine, which makes them even cheaper to make. The dough is stiff and makes it easy to do the traditional fork marks. Krusteaz Peanut Butter Cookies are so popular in my household that I've come up with lots of variations below. My husband devoured the Peanut Butter Mini-Chocolate chip ones I made just this week. Here are some ideas:

  1. Peanut Butter Cup Cookies: Press dough into mini-muffin cups and put in a Reeses Peanut Butter Cup. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
  2. Kiss Peanut Butter Cookies: Press dough into mini-muffin cups and put a kiss (regular or caramel) in. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
  3. Peanut, Peanut Butter: Pile on the peanut flavor by adding 1 cup of Reeses chips and 1/2 cup of peanuts. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
  4. Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies: Mix 1 cup of regular or mini chocolate chips into the dough. Mound up on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
  5. Peanut Butter Chocolate Frosted Cookies: Mound cookies on baking sheet, press down with hand to flatten. When they come out of the oven, frost using canned chocolate frosting or homemade gauche made by putting 1 cup chocolate chips, 1 TB butter and 1 TB milk in the microwave for 1 minute. Mix and add some powdered sugar if it is too liquid (some chocolates require the powdered sugar, others don't). Frost the cooled cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Gingerbread Men.  Make red and green for Christmas and other colors for different holidays.
Gingerbread Men. Make red and green for Christmas and other colors for different holidays. | Source
Gingerbread men and cookies
Gingerbread men and cookies | Source

Krusteaz Gingerbread Cookie Mix

I love making gingerbread men and houses at Christmas time and have always made my own recipe until I discovered the Krusteaz Gingerbread Cookie Mix. This mix is so easy to make and has just the right amount of spices for my kids. So now I just look for sales at Christmas time. It ends up being much cheaper and I can make a small batch when friends come over.

Unlike the sugar cookie dough, this mix is great for cutting out with cookie cutters. It helps to chill the dough a while too. You can also just make it up and keep it in the refrigerator for making some quick cookies for guests. Here are some ideas:

  1. Whoopie Pies: Make dough and shape into a 2-inch diameter log (like refrigerated doughs you buy) and put in refrigerator overnight. Slice into 1/4 inch cookies. Bake in 350-degree oven for 10 minutes. Cool cookies. Put a dab of vanilla frosting in between two cookies to make Whoopee pie. These are a terrific snack for parties. You can also put ice cream in between for ice cream sandwiches
  2. Gingersnaps: Use the same log and cut very thin slices. Put slices on a baking sheet covered with foil or parchment. Sprinkle on a little sugar. Bake in 350 oven about 7-8 minutes or until lightly brown. These are great with coffee or tea.
  3. Christmas Gingerbread Men: My signature Christmas cookie is making Gingerbread Men and then frosting them with white frosting, red or green sprinkles and then using red and green M&Ms for eyes and buttons. My kids prefer this with sugar cookies, but I'm partial to gingerbread.

Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Double Chocolate Chunk Cookie.  These are really full of chocolate flavor.Krusteaz Bakery Style Chocolate Chunk Cookies original recipe.Double Chocolate Chunk Cookie dough on baking sheet covered with parchment.Chocolate Chip Cookies on a plate.
Double Chocolate Chunk Cookie.  These are really full of chocolate flavor.
Double Chocolate Chunk Cookie. These are really full of chocolate flavor. | Source
Krusteaz Bakery Style Chocolate Chunk Cookies original recipe.
Krusteaz Bakery Style Chocolate Chunk Cookies original recipe. | Source
Double Chocolate Chunk Cookie dough on baking sheet covered with parchment.
Double Chocolate Chunk Cookie dough on baking sheet covered with parchment. | Source
Chocolate Chip Cookies on a plate.
Chocolate Chip Cookies on a plate. | Source

Krusteaz Triple Chocolate Chunk Cookie Mix

Chocolate chips are not cheap, so this cookie mix ends up being the best bargain in the Krusteaz line up. Refrigerated doughs have a funny taste to them and so do the commercial chocolate chip cookies in packages. These cookies are so quick to make and they taste as good as my homemade recipe. I honestly can't really tell the difference and my picky family can't either. So why not choose the easiest and fastest way to make cookies?

Use my tips above to make the cookies crispier or softer. Or try my "accident" recipe below. I'd mistakenly heated my margarine 1 minute instead of 20 seconds and was in too much of a hurry to let it cool down. When it melted the chocolate chips in the mix, I added another cup. My family loved these double chocolate chunk chip cookies. Yours might too!

Update January 2016: See below for the reviews on problems with a new recipe for this mix. I've really appreciated the fact that other people have weighed in on this issue and one women even went so far as to call the Krusteaz company for information. I've had one box which didn't taste very good (July 2015) but thought it was just some problem with my other ingredients. Then I started getting complaints on the comments. From August to November 2015, my grocery store did not stock the chocolate cookies. Then in December 2015 they appeared again with a "New and Improved" label. I tried them in January 2016 and they seem to taste just fine, so whatever problem they might have had seems to be resolved.

Krusteaz Chocolate Chunk Cookie Mix Recipe

3.4 stars from 17 ratings of Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Cook Time

Prep time: 10 min
Cook time: 10 min
Ready in: 20 min
Yields: 36 two inch cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 box Krusteaz Chocolate Chunk Cookie Mix
  • 1 stick margarine, melted 1 minute
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Melt margarine in microwave 1 minute. It will be hot. Add mix and egg and stir. The chocolate chips in the mix will melt. Cool a couple of minutes.
  2. Add chocolate chips to mix and stir. Put spoonfuls of the mix on a baking sheet covered with parchment or foil. Bake at 350 degree oven for 10 minutes or until done.

Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Nutrition Facts
Serving size: 1 (2 inch cookie)
Calories 108
Calories from Fat18
% Daily Value *
Fat 2 g3%
Saturated fat 1 g5%
Unsaturated fat 1 g
Carbohydrates 17 g6%
Sugar 11 g
Fiber 1 g4%
Protein 1 g2%
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.

More by this Author


Comments 17 comments

Kales 12 months ago

VirginiaLynn-

Thank you for YOUR initiative and I am happy to have found your site to help figure out the Krusteaz dilemma. Not being a natural in the kitchen, as yourself, I was thrilled to discover a delicious brand like Krusteaz to help, and was crushed when they changed one of the favorites (triple choc chunk), and perhaps more. I do hope others will comment to the company so they might correct the changes. Meanwhile would like to know how to follow your blogs as I am committed to becoming a better cook since semi-retiring :) Thanks again-


VirginiaLynne profile image

VirginiaLynne 12 months ago from United States Author

Kales--I am very thankful for your initiative! I wrote this article based on the same experience. My grocery store regularly has coupons which let me buy these mixes at around $1.00 each, which is a real steal, and like you I've used them for quite a while. I had problems with one batch tasting bad and then started having comments from others. Our store is actually no longer carrying the Triple chocolate chunk. I've bought some of the new ones they are selling but haven't made them yet. I hope other people will call as well.


Kales 12 months ago

Krusteaz update:

After seeing on this site that I was not the only one to notice negative changes in some Krusteaz recipes I called the company directly. I spoke to a customer relations representive to ask about the Triple Chocolate Chunk cookie and share my thoughts. We are not imagining things as Krusteaz did make changes to the flour and chocolate chips and I got a sense that they were starting to become aware of the problems. Prior to the recipe change there was an issue with the ink on the box creating a smell that might have affected the taste, but that was prior to the recipe change.

She was very interested in the feedback. Bottom line is Kruteaz is a nice small family owned company and she said they are responsive to customer feedback and want to know our thoughts - and the company is known to make changes based on feedback. Their number is: (800) 457-7744. I discovered this brand years ago through a chef/ friend, and quickly figured out after trying several products that their recipe mixes are some of the best secrets on the grocery store shelf; People don't believe I used a mix when I tell them. In addition to the choc chip cookies, the honey cornbread, pancakes and pecan bars are also amazing. Share your feedback with the company so they will know and hopefully restore the good recipes.


Kales 12 months ago

Our family used to LOVE Krusteaz Chocolate Chip Cookie mix- As others have found, Krusteaz recently changed the recipe and they are now terrible! Definitely a chemical taste, the chocolate chips aren't as smooth and the consistency is strange. I used to buy multiple boxes and baked for different group meetings, parties, etc. and they were consistently a big hit ! As someone else mentioned they were as good as, if not better than homemade. Sad that Krusteaz changed a PERFECT recipe and ruined it.


VirginiaLynne profile image

VirginiaLynne 13 months ago from United States Author

Thanks for the information. I noticed at my last trip that they had some different flavors. I've bought a few and will test them. I'll be very unhappy if they do not work out well.


bestcookinworld 13 months ago

Krusteaz recently changed their bakery style sugar cookies to some butter vanilla sugar cookies. I am very unhappy as I have used the bakery style for years. I made a batch and they tasted very weird...fake, chemical flavor. I will not use this mix for my holiday cookies any more. Betty Crocker bag sugar cookie mix is better than this new mix.


VirginiaLynne profile image

VirginiaLynne 22 months ago from United States Author

I actually made a batch last week and they tasted fine. I'm not sure if there is a quality control problem. I do think I will be cautious about this.


SAnderson 22 months ago

I tried the Triple Chocolate Chunk cookies tonight and they had a very strange taste. After reading the reviews, I will throw the cookie in the trash!


Sir Took profile image

Sir Took 23 months ago from Rowland NC/United States

thanks for the tips. I love trying new things when I bake.


VirginiaLynne profile image

VirginiaLynne 2 years ago from United States Author

I'm not sure I tasted a chemical in my last batch, but they did not taste very good. The chocolate chips were not the same. I have another box in my cupboard and I may try that, but I may have to revise this review.


Lisa 2 years ago

I just baked a batch of Krusteaz triple chocolate chunk tonight and the chips tasted like a chemical. I have baked these for years and never ran into this, so I went to computer to see if there was a recall. I saw that someone else posted something similar. I threw out the whole batch.


VirginiaLynne profile image

VirginiaLynne 2 years ago from United States Author

Actually Christine--I just made a batch myself this week which wasn't nearly as good. I used margarine instead of butter and thought maybe that was it. Maybe there has been a change in the formula. I have another box and will have to try that one.


Christine Bailiff 2 years ago

Hi, I generally agree about the Krustaez mixes, but recently I have had some bad experiences and wondered if anyone else has. I make the triple chocolate chunk cookies regularly, and the last two boxes I made have a terrible chemical taste that I have never before experienced. Anyone else? I am almost afraid to buy them again, but also curious to see if it was just a fluke or something has changed.


timber@aol.com 3 years ago

I chop up mini peanut butter cups roughly and add to chocolate chunk mix..they are delicious!


MsDora profile image

MsDora 3 years ago from The Caribbean

I find "chocolate" and "cookie mix" very appealing when it comes to desserts. Thanks for these valuable tips.


carol7777 profile image

carol7777 3 years ago from Arizona

I have used their keylime squares as well as lemon squares. I could not have baked any better. They were delicious. Thanks for a great review. GOing up and pinning.


RTalloni profile image

RTalloni 3 years ago from the short journey

Thanks for this look at Krusteaz cookie mixes. I've seen them and wondered about them. Now I'll take another look. :)

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working