Nairn's Pure Oats? NOT gluten free!

Nairn's 'so-called' gluten free pure oats?  Gluten Free?  No WAY are they safe on a gluten free diet!
Nairn's 'so-called' gluten free pure oats? Gluten Free? No WAY are they safe on a gluten free diet! | Source
infonolan's impression of Coeliac UK
infonolan's impression of Coeliac UK | Source

False Claims from Nairn's in the UK

It appears, after having been involved in recent discussions regarding the gluten free status of oats, that some companies just do not seem to be aware of some of the issues they could be thrusting upon individuals with Coeliac Disease. Nairn's is only one of many more I shall be taking on as it is clear that, within the 'gluten free' definitions and laws of labelling in Australia (where I come from), oats are to be excluded from the gluten free diet no matter what!

Much has taken place in the investigation of the suitability of oats within one's gluten free diet. Some say that individuals only react to oats that have been contaminated by wheat, rye or barley. However, it is also clear that much scientific evidence shows that there are other concerns that lie within oats and their products with regard to their 'gluten free' status.

As I often mention, 'Gluten Free' is one term, however the statement 'Suitable for Coeliacs' couldn't be further from the truth with regard to being safe for individuals with coeliac disease. In fact this latter term shouldn't even be mentioned when describing a product AT ALL! The 'suitable for...'... term, in my opinion, should NOT exist and I think the research of Coeliac UK with regard to this issue has been flawed.

Because you know why?!

--

  1. When on a gluten free diet, all gluten must be avoided. There is no known safe level (i.e. a level at which gluten can be 'safely' consumed without aggravating the symptoms of coeliac disease). Even if one with coeliac disease does not experience any signs or symptoms of discomfort after ingesting gluten, it is highly likely that damage is still occurring in the small intestine (let's not even MENTION the long-term implications!!). This is the main one I take
  2. Many individuals with coeliac disease (assuming they have no additional intolerances) have been adversely affected by products labelled as 'suitable for coeliacs' in many instances, particularly in the UK. These include Walker's Chips.
  3. THIS PRODUCT IS NOT EVEN GLUTEN FREE, LET ALONE ANYTHING ELSE IN RELATION TO THE PRODUCT'S SUITABILITY FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH COELIAC DISEASE!
  4. {and finally, but not least of all}, It is a false term (unrelated to gluten)! You cannot gather all the coeliacs around the world and distribute a particular product to each person at a grandstand and assume that it will be edible by every coeliac consumer! For there are many other numerous food intolerances and allergies that a significant population face in today's society(partly due to GM foods, however that's a whole other story). Saying that a product is 'Suitable for Coeliacs' is plain outright LYING and DISHONESTY! Manufacturers need to STOP using this term ALTOGETHER!

Back to the topic, now. Consumers are only doing themselves a disservice in the long term by trusting brands like Nairn's, especially when products of theirs contain a possible gluten source. WHO DO THEY THINK THEY ARE?! Money-Grubby Capitalists would be my answer to that question!

HERE ARE THE GLUTEN FREE LABELLING LAWS THAT EXIST WITHIN AUSTRALIA. BE ASSURED, THERE IS A REASON FOR THEIR EXISTENCE AS SUCH (laws surrounding oats are identified in bold type below under Statement (2(b(i))))!

Excerpt from FSANZ (page 15) http://www.foodstandards.gov.au/_srcfiles/ACF2A90.pdf

Gluten Free Labelling Laws

Claims in relation to gluten content of food

(1) Claims in relation to the gluten content of food are prohibited unless expressly permitted by this code.

(2) A claim to the effect that a food is gluten free must not be made in relation to a food unless the food contains –
-- (a) no detectable gluten; and
-- (b) no –
-- -- (i) oats or their products; or
-- -- (ii) cereals containing gluten that have been malted/their products.

Leave your perspective below, as I am furious about such marketing ploys aimed at 'niche target groups' like this. Though I may not fully know about the labelling laws surrounding 'gluten free' outside of Australia, I can certainly vouch for the fact that many individuals HAVE reacted to so called 'gluten free' oats and I think it absolutely STINKS that these issues are NOT being addressed appropriately!

More by this Author


Comments 9 comments

cwarden profile image

cwarden 6 years ago from USA

I agree that manufacturers need to be stopped if their labels are deceptive. It can be life threatening for many people if labels have incorrect information.


Cheeky Girl profile image

Cheeky Girl 6 years ago from UK and Nerujenia

Wow, a problem with labelling of pure oats. Guess they are not so pure after all. Wow, amazing story here. This is a good hub and informative. I am rating this up!


infonolan profile image

infonolan 6 years ago from Australia Author

Hey Cheeky Girl,

Thanks for dropping by. These oats are labelled gluten free as they are 'pure' in that they are free of contamination from wheat, rye and barley. However there is much debate over the issue. One interesting point to note is that AVENIN, the main protein found in oats and oat products is harmful to a significant number of coeliac patients as it contains a similar (if not the same) form of gluten to that found in wheat, rye and barley. I have written more about this at http://hubpages.com/food/food-testing

While some individuals avoiding gluten find they can eat them without experiencing any reaction or discomfort, many are unable to consume any oats at all (including myself)!


Nairn's Oatcakes Ltd 6 years ago

Thank you for contacting Nairn's Oatcakes Ltd.

Many people with coeliac disease are still unsure about whether they can include oats in their gluten-free diet and this issue has been debated for a number of years.

Coeliac Society research suggests that 19 out of 20 people with coeliac disease can include oats that have not been contamininated in their diet with no ill effects. However, there are a very small number of people with Coeliac disease who will be sensitive to the protien avenin that's found in oats. If you are unsure or feel you have had a reaction to the protien avenin we would recommend you speak to you healthcare team (Doctor, Dietitian or Gastroenterologist) for individual guidance.

Regards,

Nairn's Oatcakes Ltd


Emma R. 5 years ago

Kelly, Please please please learn and educate yourself about the subjects you approach with utter confidence. You are not correct in ANY of the statements in this blog post and it's worrying that some people take what you write as the given truth. You are damaging yourself and all celiacs who cross your blog with your misleading an ill educated comments.


infonolan profile image

infonolan 5 years ago from Australia Author

Emma R., the concern with regard to that of Nairn's pure oats is a legitimate one! Although most of us know, here in Australia, that oats are not gluten free. They are entirely excluded from 'gluten free' labelling even if products may contain 'traces' of pure oats. Nairn's was totally ignorant toward the Australian Labelling laws before I took them to task on the matter.


Emma R. 5 years ago

In this instance you seem to have confused gluten protein with avenin protein. As I have said in previous comments to you, please educate yourself properly before you start shouting out 'facts' all over the place. You're making things worse for all celiacs by spitting out false and mis guided information all over the internet.


infonolan profile image

infonolan 5 years ago from Australia Author

The avenin protein may well contain a certain amount of gluten. There are many conflicting studies on this front. I think it is better to be safe than sorry.


Larry Rankin profile image

Larry Rankin 16 months ago from Oklahoma

You are quite the watchdog. Great work!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working