Restaurant Review: Surf Bagel & Deli, Lewes DE

The Surf Bagel & Deli is popular with Delaware locals and tourists and offers delicious bagels, pastries, subs, wraps and salads in a surf themed, casual eatery.
The Surf Bagel & Deli is popular with Delaware locals and tourists and offers delicious bagels, pastries, subs, wraps and salads in a surf themed, casual eatery. | Source

Assortment of Bagels

Flavors: Plain, Sesame, Poppy, Onion, Salt, Sun-Dried Tomato, Blueberry, Multi-Grain, Cinnamon Raisin, Everything, "Strider" Bar, Pumpernickel, Whole Wheat, Whole Wheat Everything, Spinach, Seasonal, Egg, Jalapeño and Garlic.
Flavors: Plain, Sesame, Poppy, Onion, Salt, Sun-Dried Tomato, Blueberry, Multi-Grain, Cinnamon Raisin, Everything, "Strider" Bar, Pumpernickel, Whole Wheat, Whole Wheat Everything, Spinach, Seasonal, Egg, Jalapeño and Garlic.

Delaware's Most Popular Beach Bagel & Deli Restaurant

The Surf Bagel & Deli in Lewes, Delaware, is a favorite of locals and tourists. It's a family business run by Dave and Tom Vitella, two brothers who have combined their love of surfing and bagels and created a unique eatery serving an assortment of fresh bagels, sandwiches and pastries.

In addition to the 19 flavors of bagels (see photo caption for a complete listing of them), you can choose a variety of toppings including: butter, peanut butter, grilled cheese and 10 different types of cream cheese from plain to more flavorful, raisin-apple-cinnamon.

Those who have a sweet tooth can order baked treats including: an assortment of muffins, pastries, scones, cinnamon buns, coffee cakes, cookies and a whole lot more!

Brightly colored murals line the walls giving it a casual, surf themed décor but you don't have to be a surfer to enjoy the delicious assault on your senses when you walk through the door. Baking is done throughout the morning, and the aroma of mouth watering hot bagels, cinnamon, and other heavenly scents waft through the air. That heavenly scent, combined with the colorful booths and tables, makes you feel like you're already at the ocean, even though the sea is a couple of miles away.

Surf Bagel Meets the Deli Lama

So Many Choices....

Appetizing display cases filled with bagels and pastries.
Appetizing display cases filled with bagels and pastries. | Source
The restaurant is kid friendly and also brings out the inner child of the adults who eat there.
The restaurant is kid friendly and also brings out the inner child of the adults who eat there. | Source

The whimsical mural above, illustrates the fact that the Surf Bagel also specializes in a wide offering of deli items. There are many breakfast sandwiches available, including the popular and hearty breafast burrito which consists of your choice of meat, 2 eggs, cheese, fried red & green peppers, onions and salsa.

Lunch items include Longboards (subs served on a 10" roll), tubular wraps with Hawaiian, Mexican and classic sounding names, bagel sandwiches and killer cheese steak sandwiches.

Those wishing to eat salads can build their own salad and top it with grilled chicken or tuna.

Daily selections of homemade soups are served with homemade bagel crisps. I recently savored a hot bowl of Chix Corn Tortilla, a hearty soup, on a crisp fall day and enjoyed dunking the bagel crisps into it.

Kids also have some fun items, like Jellyfish (peanut butter and jelly), pizza bagel or a classic grilled cheese sandwich.

Adults and kids enjoy real fruit smoothies with names like Hawaiian Quest, Tibetan Blend, Mango Madness and The Skimmer.

Bright & Sunny Decor

Colorful outdoor seating.
Colorful outdoor seating. | Source
Beach themed murals cover the interior walls.
Beach themed murals cover the interior walls. | Source
Source
What's better than a cute mural of a surfing bagel? Biting into a warm, yummy cinnamon raisin bagel.
What's better than a cute mural of a surfing bagel? Biting into a warm, yummy cinnamon raisin bagel.

10 Reasons to Love the Surf Bagel & Deli

  1. Mouth watering bagels. As my husband, Fred Sobotkin, who grew up in New York says, "They are the closest thing I've ever found to a Brooklyn, NY bagel, crisp on the outside and soft on the inside."
  2. Fast, friendly service. As you can imagine, the lines can be long during the busy summer months, but staff processes orders quickly and always with a smile.
  3. The bright murals with surf theme are fun, especially if you're a tourist just starting your vacation or returning for an annual vacation. This is the type of place that will become a family favorite and its highway location is an ideal first stop that gets you in vacation mode.
  4. The bagels freeze well. This makes them an economical treat to be savored at home or in your vacation rental when you purchase a half-dozen for $5.50, or a baker's dozen for $10.00.
  5. There is local delivery service for orders over $30.
  6. There is catering service to help make your party or event special.
  7. The coffee is fresh brewed, Gourmet Green Mountain Coffee, which assures excellent quality and taste.
  8. There is indoor and outdoor seating.
  9. There is a wide assortment of menu items.
  10. Beach music and surfing video shown on a large screen is fun to watch and listen to.

Rate it by Clicking on the Stars

5 out of 5 stars from 10 ratings of Surf Bagel and Deli

Give Your Rating of the Surf Bagel

Whether you're looking for take-out that can be eaten at the beach, condo or home, or want to eat in the colorful, surf themed restaurant, you'll find a delicious assortment of breakfast and lunch items on the Surf Bagel & Deli menu.

The only draw backs about this restaurant are that during the summer season, the parking lot and on-site seating is crowded, but as previously stated, staff does an excellent job of keeping the line moving and at that time of year it's fun to bring take-out to your condo or drive directly to the beach with it.

I personally rated it 5 stars, but am interested in what your rating is so please cast your vote by clicking on the stars above.

For information about Surf Bagel & Deli hours of operation and menu items and prices click on their website at:

"All dividers used in this hub are used with permission granted on hub, Creating Dividers to Use on Your Hubs."

Fresh Bagel Poll

Do you love fresh baked bagels?

See results without voting

Surf Bagel and Deli in Lewes, DE

A markerSurf Bagel & Deli -
17382 Coastal Hwy, Lewes, DE 19958, USA
[get directions]

More by this Author


Comments 41 comments

craiglyn profile image

craiglyn 4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

Love this hub - it reminds me of our local Bagel Cafe, Locke Street Bakery in Hamilton. I am tempted to do a review hub on that too. Thank you for this. If I am ever in Delaware I would be sure to look it up - looks like a fun place to be as well as a great place to eat.


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Craiglyn,

So glad you liked the hub and found it inspirational. Look forward to reading your review of the Locke St. Bakery near your home.

I greatly appreciate your feedback and support.

Hub Hugs,

Gail


ktrapp profile image

ktrapp 4 years ago from Illinois

I love fresh bagels, especially a toasted plain bagel with butter and a hot cup of tea. It never would have occurred to me to have a surf-themed bagel shop, but it looks like a lot of fun.


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Ktrapp,

The owners lived and breathed surfing before opening the bagel deli, and they've done a great job giving the place a unique and fun décor and theme.

Thanks so much for your lovely comment and support. It's greatly appreciated.


Denise Handlon profile image

Denise Handlon 4 years ago from North Carolina

Yum...what a colorful and fun review, Gail. I love the cute animated figures, especially the 'Deli Lama'. Rated this one UP/Yummy/Awesome


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Denise,

I love the murals too, especially the Deli Lama section. So cute!

Thanks so much for the rate up and your support.

Hub Hugs,

Gail


Faith Reaper profile image

Faith Reaper 4 years ago from southern USA

What a great review. Such a delightful atmosphere to enjoy all those wonderful bagels. I had my very first real bagel when I was 19, way back in the day, in Tampa, Florda, where my husband was stationed in the Air Force. My boss, then, would buy fresh bagels and cream cheese from a local bakery, and they were just awesome. I was hooked from then on out.

Voted Way Up

God bless dear one. In His Love, Faith Reaper


billybuc profile image

billybuc 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

I swear, if I'm ever in Delaware I'm hiring you to be my tour guide. You give the greatest reviews of places there; the Chamber of Commerce should be paying you.

Great review Gail; I hope you win the contest!

Have a great Sunday my friend.

bill


How to - Answers profile image

How to - Answers 4 years ago from Ireland

Wow what a great looking Deli, the décor is certainly fun and bright. Your review of the Surf Bagel & Deli is excellent.

Voted up and shared on Twitter


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Faith Reaper,

What a lovely comment about your first taste and experience of fresh baked bagels. Glad this hub brought back some good memories for you and thank you so much for sharing them with us.

Hub Hugs and May God Bless Continue to Bless You and Your Family,

Gail


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Billy,

You always make me laugh and smile when you write comments like this one.

Thanks for getting my Sunday off to a great start, and of course, thanks for your ongoing friendship and support which is very much appreciated.

Hub Hugs & Love to You & Bev,

Gail


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Welcome How to-Answers,

Thanks so much for your specific feedback, the vote up and the twitter share. It's greatly appreciated!


akirchner profile image

akirchner 4 years ago from Central Oregon

What a FUN place! Love the graphics and colors--I'm a sucker for bagels....I try the thin ones to keep from eating too many and end up eating 2 of them anyhow! Love, love, love bagel sandwiches too. If I had more time, I'd try to make my own and that is on my bucket list to do and do a hub on---in the meantime, I search out bagel shops--wish I was there!!!


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Audrey,

Wish you were here, too. You'd have a ball taking photos of DE.

My favorite bagels are the cinnamon raisin which are very yummy and smell soooo good.

Thanks for your fun comment. I've never made bagels either, but it would be fun to try. Can't imagine that they'd taste as good as the Surf Bagel varieties though.

Hub Hugs,

Gail


akirchner profile image

akirchner 4 years ago from Central Oregon

No kidding--there is the factor of letting someone else do the cooking with a delicious result~~ I definitely am a bagel lover though and did find a neat kosher recipe for them recently....added it to my notebook of things I would like to cook when I have a few minutes of breathing time...probably not in the foreseeable future but it's important to dream!


craiglyn profile image

craiglyn 4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

I came back and gave you a rating of 5 stars. Sorry I missed that before. : )


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Craiglyn,

Thanks. I appreciate that.


always exploring profile image

always exploring 4 years ago from Southern Illinois

Sounds like a great restaurant that i would love to visit. Thank you..


bearnmom profile image

bearnmom 4 years ago from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

I'm not a bagel lover but your review has tempted me to go look for one. You have a flair for capturing the atmosphere and I know I would definitely visit this deli if I were in Delaware.


Eiddwen profile image

Eiddwen 4 years ago from Wales

What a wonderful hub Gail but this is what I expect from you and not once have you disappointed. I share this one and /interesting/up.

Enjoy your day.

Eddy.


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Always exploring,

Hope you do get to go there in person one day.

Thanks for your feedback. I really appreciate it.

Hub Hugs,

Gail


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Bearnmom,

Thanks for your specific feedback. I was amazed that even though you're not a bagel lover, you still felt you would like to visit this restaurant and try their bagels.

Hope you do find a really good bagel shop near where you live. Don't know if you've ever eaten fresh baked bagels, but they definitely taste different than those that can be purchased at the supermarket. Also, different bagel flavors have very distinctive tastes. My favorite is cinnamon raisin which satisfies my sweet tooth.


SkeetyD profile image

SkeetyD 4 years ago from Barbados

I really enjoyed reading this hub. I love bagels and this restaurant sounds amazing!


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Eddy,

Thanks so much for the feedback, the share, and the vote up. It's greatly appreciated as is your wonderful comment.

Too bad you live across the ocean. I could definitely see you and your lovely family and grandchildren enjoying this fun bagel shop!

Hub Hugs,

Gail


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi SkeetyD,

So glad you enjoyed the hub and thank you for leaving feedback. It's greatly appreciated.


bearnmom profile image

bearnmom 4 years ago from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

YW, boomernurse, actually I do have a great bagel house near me. Panera Bread makes excellent bagels. Even though I'm not addicted to bagels, I do enjoy a good one from time to time.


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Bearnmom,

Thanks for the tip. I didn't realize Panera Bread makes excellent bagels and there are times when we're traveling that we're near a Panera Bread but not a bagel place.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 4 years ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

Hello Gail, this looks like a fun place to grab a snack. Very colorful décor and light snacks for those on the go. Hang-ten-man, and for those living without a California background, that is hanging your toes over the nose of the surfboard.


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Mike,

You do make me smile! So glad you explained what Hang-ten-man meant cause being an East Coast Girl all my life, I never heard that term before!

I've never gone surfing either, but the TV show, "Gidget" was popular when I was a young girl and the surfers that Sally Field hung out with looked great! LOL

Hub Hugs,

Gail


Hyphenbird profile image

Hyphenbird 4 years ago from America-Broken But Still Beautiful

This place is so cool. It is like California on the East coast. I love your photos and how they show the atmosphere of the Surf Bagel. Also bagels are yummy food!


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Hyphenbird,

I hadn't really thought about it quite that way, but "California on the East Coast," is a great description. Mckbirdbks also got the west coast feel of it.

Thanks so much for your specific feedback and insightful comment. It's greatly appreciated.

Sending Hub Hugs & Love,

Gail


marcoujor profile image

marcoujor 4 years ago from Jeffersonville PA

OMG, with all this surf talk...I will take a Deli Lama for my zen...oh, sorry, Gail...this was such a fun, appetizing and appealing review that I thought I was at EWC.

The artwork and marketing is awesome and clever and you captured it perfectly with your photography skills.

Voted 5-star, UP and all across...even funny because of the adorable bagels in the pictures.

I am so happy you are participating in this contest. I immediately thought of you when I read the criteria. Best of luck! Hugs, Maria


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Maria,

Oh girl, you are really making my day today with all the lovely comments you've been leaving on my reviews!!!!

So thrilled to get your feedback, ratings and votes up and I thank you so much for all your support.

Funny thing is that I just learned this morning that one of my other reviews won the daily draw. I think you're my good luck charm! LOL

Sending you a Hub Bouquet of Love & Hugs,

Gail

PS: Got a good chuckle out of you taking a Deli Lama for your Zen. I could just see us meditating together as we waited for our order on a busy summer morning. "We need more Zen time," we'd chant when they called out our number too fast! LOL


marcoujor profile image

marcoujor 4 years ago from Jeffersonville PA

Oh yeah...this was a smile making comment from start to finish.

You have such a beautiful disposition and you are funny as heck...I happen to think heck is exceedingly funny!

Have a peaceful day and now you can treat that sweet hubby to a bagel...yummy! Congratulations again, my dear Gail.


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Thanks my beautiful friend.


vespawoolf profile image

vespawoolf 4 years ago from Peru, South America

Your mouth-watering description makes me want to jump on a plane headed for Surf Bagel & Deli! Depending upon my mood, I might order a cinnamon raisin bagel with peanut butter or a flavored cream cheese. What nice photos, too. Thank you for an interesting review!


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Vespawoolf,

Thanks for your fun review of my review! So thrilled that you enjoyed it and I appreciate your great comment.

Hub Hugs,

Gail


RTalloni profile image

RTalloni 4 years ago from the short journey

This sounds like a delightful place to eat, as well a yum. Anyone up for a road trip from the South to Lewes? (Your photos make me want to go paint a fun mural!)


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi RTalloni,

Loved your fun comment. This is a delightful place that smells as good as it looks. Those colorful murals do set a light and happy tone.

Thanks for your feedback. It's greatly appreciated.


brakel2 profile image

brakel2 2 years ago from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Hi BoomerNurse I love bagels, and this deli looks like a place that would pique my interests. In my area, there aren't too many delis like this one. My only problem with bagels is when they are huge and lots of calories. I don't need to eat it all, anyway. As I was reading the hubs of those I follow, I found this well written and picturesque hub. Thanks for sharing. A five star hub. Blessings, Audrey


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 2 years ago from South Carolina Author

Hi Audrey,

As you can tell by this hub, I love the Surf Bagel and Deli, but unfortunately, they serve the huge and lots of calories and different flavors kind of bagels with super delicious toppings! Therefore, it's a treat to go there once in a while.

Thanks for the feedback and 5 star rating. It's greatly appreciated, as is your taking time to look through my old hubs.

Blessings,

Gail

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working