Hi marg22 and thank you for your question.
As with all grains (corn, rice, millet, sorghum, wheat, rye, barley), a prolamin is present in oats.
Firstly (in terms of prolamins), the 'avenins' present in oats occupy a much smaller percentage of the respective grain than that of the 'gliadins' present in wheat; 'secalins' present in rye and 'hordeins' present in barley (the gluten-containing cereals known to be harmful to individuals with celiac/coeliac disease).
Secondly (according to most recent statistic data), numerous studies conducted have shown that at least 1 in 7 individuals with coeliac disease experience significant damage to the gastrointestinal tract (in a similar manner to that of wheat, rye and barley) following the consumption of pure (uncontaminated) oats.
Thirdly, oats (or derivative thereof) are fully excluded from any product labelled 'gluten free' if and when sold in Australia and New Zealand (as identified in Standard 1.2.8 - FSANZ). For a product to marked 'gluten free' within Australia or New Zealand, it must contain:
- no detectable gluten
--- cereals containing gluten that have been malted
Therefore, under the perspective of the Australian/New Zealand food law (which was the perspective of the relevant hub composed by myself), Nairn's oats contain gluten and cannot be marketed as 'gluten free'. Coeliac Societies in this part of the world advise coeliacs against the consumption of any products containing oats (regardless of their purity).