jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (9 posts)

is there a good cook? I wonder how to be a good cook

1. somedress2011 profile image60
    somedress2011posted 4 years ago

Hi, i like cooking ,but i am not good at cooking ,when there someond come to my home ,my mother always the cook,she is a great cook , i want to be someone like her,but i am far away from her ,I want when i come back home ,i can make a delicious dinner for her ,so ,can somebody help me? thank you.

1. Hollie Thomas profile image61
      Hollie Thomasposted 4 years ago in reply to this

Keep it simple to begin with. Don't try anything to ambitious, something like a one pot dish is a good start. Once you have decided what you'd like to make for your mother, practice making it in advance.

2. 0
    Emile Rposted 4 years ago

I agree with Hollie. But, serve something you enjoy. Don't tinker with the recipe in an attempt to please another person's palate. That's the worst mistake I see most cooks making. The recipe always suffers.

3. WriteAngled profile image91
    WriteAngledposted 4 years ago

In some cases, the cooking part can be very easy, but the recipe needs a specific thing to make it work. If you provide that, the dish will be a success and you will be seen as a good cook.

For example:

Presentation is very important for some dishes. These are good to make if you are happy cutting things into precise shapes, like arranging items artistically etc. Personally, I'm useless at these sort of dishes!

Other recipes, especially most cakes need to be followed very, very precisely, with accurate weighing/measuring out of the ingredients.

Some of the simplest recipes depend massively on the quality of the ingredients. If you choose such a recipe, you need to be prepared to spend extra to buy the best quality of food available.

Writeangled, you've just given me a fabulous idea for a hub. Garnishing food! Thank you big_smile

1. WriteAngled profile image91