jump to last post 1-8 of 8 discussions (11 posts)

What is your favorite hot sauce? Have you ever made your own?

1. crazyhorsesghost profile image86
    crazyhorsesghostposted 4 years ago

What do you think makes a great hot sauce. I myself like a little bit of fire with a bit of sweet thrown in. I have been making my own hot sauces for over 40 years and one of my favorites is made with mango and habanero peppers. It has just the right amount of hot and just the right amount of sweet and its perfect on chicken. Use this sauce on chicken wings for a delightful taste. Below is my recipe for the sauce.

Cross Section Of A Mango

1. Three Fresh Habanero Peppers with the seeds and stems removed and diced. *See Note
    2. Eight Cups of Ripe Mango cut up small.
    3. Two Thirds Cup Purple Or Red Sweet Onion cut up into small pieces.
    4. One Half Cup White Vinegar.
    5. One Cup Tomato Sauce.
    6. One Half Cup White Granulated Sugar.
    7. Two Tablespoons Vegetable Oil.
    8. One Teaspoon Ground Sea Salt.
    9. One Teaspoon Ground Black Pepper.

Put your oil in a large skillet and then add your onions, peppers,and the  mango to the pan. Cook until the onions are cooked but not brown. Add your vinegar next and when the ingredients in the pan are almost at a boil stir in the rest of your ingredients.

Turn the heat down to a low simmer and cook for thirty minutes.

Turn the heat off and let the ingredients cool to room temperature. In small batches use your blender to puree the sauce smooth. One you have all your sauce pureed smooth put it into a covered container in the refrigerator and chill over night before you use.

It will keep well in the refrigerator for a month but I bet the sauce doesn't last that long. I know I and my family and friends just love it.

Habanero Chile Pepper