Does anyone have any experience or inside knowledge of Whitmore Publishing Company?
Nope Sorry ![]()
me neither,do you know much abut it
poetlorraine wrote:
me neither,do you know much abut it
No, I saw a link to it this morning & checked out the website. Seems legit. I am going to go ahead & submit my manuscript, simply because one always has to keep knocking on doors. :>)
Let us know how you go, we would all be interested.
Good Luck.
Any breakthrough yet?
Chad A Taylor wrote:
Any breakthrough yet?
No nothing yet, Chad.
An affirmation they'd received it & word that I can expect a reply in four to six weeks. That was a week & a half ago...but who's counting? :>)
No but I would be curious how it works out for you. I'm trying to get a book published and it sure hasn't been easy.
Ken R. Abell wrote:
Does anyone have any experience or inside knowledge of Whitmore Publishing Company?
You can try googling the name. More information should come up from other sites.
There is also a site called Absolute Writer which has forums on different companies and if they are scams. I saved myself a lot of problem with a literay agency that would have cost me time and money.
Song-Bird wrote:
No but I would be curious how it works out for you. I'm trying to get a book published and it sure hasn't been easy.
I will post here whenever I hear back from Whitmore.
Gemsong wrote:
Ken R. Abell wrote:
Does anyone have any experience or inside knowledge of Whitmore Publishing Company?
You can try googling the name. More information should come up from other sites.
There is also a site called Absolute Writer which has forums on different companies and if they are scams. I saved myself a lot of problem with a literay agency that would have cost me time and money.
Thanks. I will check out that Absolute Writer site.
I ran a search for Absolute writer and found that they had been shut down. I dont know if that is true or not, but here is another site that has similar information
http://www.sfwa.org/for-authors/writer-beware/
dave272727 wrote:
I ran a search for Absolute writer and found that they had been shut down. I dont know if that is true or not, but here is another site that has similar information
http://www.sfwa.org/for-authors/writer-beware/
It is AbsoluteWrite - http://www.absolutewrite.com
I am just checking it over now.
Ken R. Abell wrote:
Does anyone have any experience or inside knowledge of Whitmore Publishing Company?
They are not listed in the new 2010 Writer's Market but that doesn't eliminate them as a good publisher. Try searching online for other writer's who might know them. Also check out the Literary Market Place (LMP) at the library - if they are not in the LMP be careful of any dealings.
Song-Bird wrote:
No but I would be curious how it works out for you. I'm trying to get a book published and it sure hasn't been easy.
Really understand! Take heart, all you need to do is strengthen your "authors platform." I learned the hard way after my first non-fiction book was published and if you have an interest, my HUB is all about how to develop a platform.
dave272727 wrote:
I ran a search for Absolute writer and found that they had been shut down. I dont know if that is true or not, but here is another site that has similar information
http://www.sfwa.org/for-authors/writer-beware/
I mistyped. It's Absolute Write. The forums are called the Water Cooler.
http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/
Ken R. Abell wrote:
Does anyone have any experience or inside knowledge of Whitmore Publishing Company?
Ken, Look at P&E.com (preditors and editors) go to book publishers and click on W you'll see Whitmore publishing.
Then go to accrispin.blogspot.com (writers beware blog page) scroll down under the heading: Writers Beware Thumbs down
If at all possible, check out outskirts.com and booksurge.com
find email addresses of previous authors and write to them, try to pick out ones that have published books similar to yours.
Hope this helps and I wish you the best!
Ken R. Abell wrote:
Does anyone have any experience or inside knowledge of Whitmore Publishing Company?
Ken, correction on the previous web address: outskirtspress.com
janet331 wrote:
Ken R. Abell wrote:
Does anyone have any experience or inside knowledge of Whitmore Publishing Company?
Ken, Look at P&E.com (preditors and editors) go to book publishers and click on W you'll see Whitmore publishing.
Then go to accrispin.blogspot.com (writers beware blog page) scroll down under the heading: Writers Beware Thumbs down
If at all possible, check out outskirts.com and booksurge.com
find email addresses of previous authors and write to them, try to pick out ones that have published books similar to yours.
Hope this helps and I wish you the best!
Thank you for the information. Much appreciated.
I received a response from Whitmore this afternoon. Here's the opening paragraph:
"Thank you for submitting to Whitmore Publishing. We have completed our review of your submission. Unfortunately, the content of your work is not compatible with our current needs. We regret that we will not be able to publish it at this time."
Then there's some yada yada . . .
Ken R. Abell wrote:
janet331 wrote:
Ken R. Abell wrote:
Does anyone have any experience or inside knowledge of Whitmore Publishing Company?
Ken, Look at P&E.com (preditors and editors) go to book publishers and click on W you'll see Whitmore publishing.
Then go to accrispin.blogspot.com (writers beware blog page) scroll down under the heading: Writers Beware Thumbs down
If at all possible, check out outskirts.com and booksurge.com
find email addresses of previous authors and write to them, try to pick out ones that have published books similar to yours.
Hope this helps and I wish you the best!Thank you for the information. Much appreciated.
I received a response from Whitmore this afternoon. Here's the opening paragraph:
"Thank you for submitting to Whitmore Publishing. We have completed our review of your submission. Unfortunately, the content of your work is not compatible with our current needs. We regret that we will not be able to publish it at this time."
Then there's some yada yada . . .
Well, from what I saw of this publisher I think your better off. I am under the impression they are a vanity publishing company. That can cost! DON'T EVER GIVE UP! Keep on taking advantage of all your options. I just took the easy way out because I didn't even attempt traditional publishing. Fourstarpublishing.com is a means of getting your book published how you want it to be and very inexpensive, but all the marketing is on you. The book gets listed with amazon and barnes and noble on line and rest is up to you. They are very responsive to emails and try to contact previous authors if you choose to consider publishing with them.
Take care
Take care

working