Do you feel that tattoos have become more acceptable in society?

Jump to Last Post 1-26 of 26 discussions (41 posts)
  1. InspiredHippy profile image70
    InspiredHippyposted 12 years ago

I still get stares from people due to my ink.  I have been under the tattoo gun 22 times.  As the years pass I have noticed that more often than not the people staring comment on my ink in a positive way.  Your thoughts?

1. thighhighchick profile image60
      thighhighchickposted 12 years agoin reply to this

Absolutely.  Almost everyone I know has at least one. I have two, a "tramp stamp" lower back that I love and another one just below my bikini line.

2. pmiles profile image61
      pmilesposted 12 years agoin reply to this

Very much so. When I lived in CA, everyone had them, so I got quite a few. Now that I'm in NC, they aren't as popular, but since I work in the beauty industry, they are much more acceptable. I do get a lot of compliments. Only one person has ever dared to say she hated it -- my (ex) boyfriend's mother.

3. A Troubled Man profile image57
      A Troubled Manposted 12 years agoin reply to this

Really? My son saw an old man with a tattoo that he said looked like a "faded grotesque smear" and wondered why considering the tattoos he saw on younger people. I told him that's what happens to tattoos over the years as the skin sheds cells and ages. I asked if he wanted to get one. Not a chance in hell, he said.

4. Hui (蕙) profile image61
      Hui (蕙)posted 12 years agoin reply to this

Yeah, society is changing, fashion is changing, and the way of thinking is also changing. There is no one fixed criterion to judge right or wrong in fashion world, only based on whether you like or not. Tattoo is an art. In old days, tough guys already had tattoo, but absolute a taboo for women. So, I think that tattoo so popular today to everyone reflects the innovation of modern society.

2. InspiredHippy profile image70
    InspiredHippyposted 12 years ago