jump to last post 1-9 of 9 discussions (12 posts)

Do You Enjoy Rock Hunting?

1. figment profile image72
    figmentposted 6 years ago

I've been hunting agates for almost ten years.  It is not only a hobby of mine, it is also a time of relaxation, and a time I spend speaking to my higher power.  Please check out my Hubpage.  What do you do to relax?

1. vicki goodwin profile image81
      vicki goodwinposted 6 years ago in reply to this

My grandfather was a rock hound. We always loved going with him. It was the relaxation of the hunt and the thrill of finding something beautiful.

2. johnsams profile image63
      johnsamsposted 6 years ago in reply to this

Rock collecting is awesome! I've managed to collect a few, mainly minerals and fossils—quartz, amethyst, petrified wood and crinoid stems

3. RNMSN profile image89
      RNMSNposted 6 years ago in reply to this

cannot really call it collecting...if a rock hoollers at me "Pick me up" I pick it up...hubby may have sold everything we have owned fifty times over in the course of 19 moves but he has personally moved every one of my rocks big and small that I have had since I was a teenager! hes a good guy

2. IzzyM profile image84
    IzzyMposted 6 years ago

How fascinating!
    I've always been interested in semi-precious stones. Unfortunately I'm not good at recognising them.

3. pddm67 profile image79
    pddm67posted 6 years ago

Sounds like a very interesting hobby. I've seen something about it on tv and looked pretty cool. I love rocks, crystals and gemstones.

To relax? Probably hanging out at HP when I get the chance smile

4. 0
    Brenda Durhamposted 6 years ago

I like to hunt for geodes (I think that's the right spelling)....

When we were kids, my brothers and I would find big rocks like that and break them open to see the sparkly "diamonds" inside....It was like finding hidden treasure.  haha

5. DevLin profile image61
    DevLinposted 6 years ago