Bring It: P90X Plyometrics Workout Review

Plyometrics is the second workout you will encounter in the 12 DVD program.
Plyometrics is the second workout you will encounter in the 12 DVD program. | Source

P90X was created by Tony Horton. It is a 90 day workout program broken up into three different phases. The first two phases includes three weeks of grueling training follwed by a recovery week. The final phase is 4 weeks of grueling training followed by your final recovery. P90X was built like this on purpose; it is intended to confuse your body so you can continue to push to the extremes. This is otherwise known as muscle confusion.

I have personally just finished my first round of P90X and have now started on round 2, and have dragged a few victims with me along the way. However, after completing the full 90 days, I have enough knowledge of each workout to give a true and honest opinion. If you would like to follow my journey with P90X, click here to start at the beginning. This is my own personal documentation of the struggles I have encountered along the way. However, I continued to Bring It and I have become stronger because of it.

Plyometrics

Plyometrics is probably one of the most extreme out of all the workouts. You will be introduced to it on your second day of doing the program, and with the exception of recovery week, you will never get away from this workout. However, this workout does have an alternative. If you are not ready for Plyometrics (and believe me, after 90 days I sometimes feel I am not ready!) you can always substitute if for CardioX, still a very difficult workout, but not as intense.

This workout lasts for 58 minutes and 36 seconds. This is a dynamic cardio, high impact workout that will have you in the air for majority of the time. After all, it is called jump training, and as Tony Horton has clearly stated, "Nobody said it was going to be easy!" And easy doesn't even come close.

There are more than 30 explosive moves throught the hour. However, it is broken up into segments. You do 3 exercises for 30 seconds and follow with a fourth exercise for one minute. Then you repeat. By the time you have finished, the sweat will be pouring off of you and your legs will feel like jello. But, if you can keep up, not only will this workout get you in great shape, but it will also help your performance in all sports.

The Workout

Just like all other workouts in P90X, it starts off with a warm-up and ends with the cool down. It is filled with drills that "are designed to connect strength with speed to produce power," according to the guidebook. By the time you are done, you will run faster, jump higher and be able to move and change directions much faster than you ever thought possible. This is definitely the workout to complete if you are looking to improve your game!

The nice thing about this workout is you are not required to track any of the moves. You just need to do it. Which might be a good thing because by the time you have finished each move, you are going to be exhausted.

So keep pushing play, drink your water (not too much though), and remember do not eat at least an hour before Plyometrics. This is extreme and if you aren't used to it, it will have you crawling to the bathroom.

The exercises

This is a whole lot of jumping. All of the moves are high impact, however they do show you how to modify. The key is to keep on going. Modify if you need to and eventually you will get through the entire workout without a problem. And whatever you do, don't try to keep up with Tony Horton. It just won't happen when you first start out.

These workouts are done in groups of four. Once completed they get repeated before you get a break. So get on your shoes and let's jump to it!

There is a total of 20 exercises that are repeated twice. That means you are doing 40 different moves. This is followed by a bonus sports round, each exercise lasting on full minute.

While I could list the moves, I don't feel it would be beneficial at all. The names of the moves will not show you how to do the moves. But I will tell you that there is a lot of squating and jumping. You will burn a lot of calories and you should make sure to protect all of your joints by landing softly and wearing good, shock-absorbing footwear!

Reading Suggestions

Working Out - The Best Form of Self Torture - When it comes to torturous workouts, Plyometrics might be right on top of the list. However, while it may be painful today, the benefits you receive from any workout will far outweight the negatives.

Sneaky Subliminal Messages - Subliminal Messages is a way to communicate with others by sending messages that pass below the threshold of our conscious mind. Can you imagine what the world would be like if your workout sent you subliminal messages saying, "You can do it?"; "Keep pushing Play!"

The Art of Balancing Life - Life gets busy. Sometimes it is hard to determine where all our time goes. When it comes to working out, it is a necessity to balance life with your workouts. That being said, make sure you get that workout in.

What do I think of Plyometrics

Plyometrics is something that never seems to go away. The first time you push play, I can guarantee you will hate it. After having done the workout for one full round of P90X, I can say it has grown on me a little bit. While I do enjoy the cardio, I am not a big fan of high impact and I definitely feel a little uncoordinated while trying to do the jumping. However, it doesn't stop the fact that this is a killer workout and will put a hurt on those calories.

This workout is beyond extreme and really hard to get used to. I still struggle with this one and I still modify the moves so they aren't all high impact. The high impact hurts my knees and hurts the bottom of my feet. Yet, the moves aren't anything that you need to be coordinated through and if you are persistent enough, you will make it through.

When it comes to favorites, this is right down near the bottom. However, the more I do it, and the more I see the benefits of it, the more it is starting to climb up. I am a big fan of cardio and even though I dread this workout, I wish there was more like this in the program. It will put you to the test, so just keep in mind... you can do anything for 30 seconds!

More by this Author


Comments 22 comments

mythicalstorm273 profile image

mythicalstorm273 4 years ago

I actually enjoyed this workout... although i didn't follow it with the time limit. I just did like 15 seconds for all of them :-) So I cut it down a bit, but I need to otherwise I wouldn't be able to do it. I can't remember the name of the one I liked best... i could look it up, but I'm too lazy :-) I really enjoyed the end with the sports moves though... probably the basketball one was my favorite! I think you need to write more hubs though ;-) lol. Keep up the great work... I know you will see how worth it it has all been soon (by means of coming to Wisconsin and seeing all the looks you get of absolute awesomeness that you have embodied) Anyway... off to do some homework and MoH stuff. Another interesting and good review!


Daffy Duck profile image

Daffy Duck 4 years ago from Cornelius, Oregon

I like the way you break these days down. Before you helped people understand what someone goes thru mentally. Now you show us what you went thru physically.

You can crank out over 100 hubs on P90X alone and we'll keep reading'em.


TheManWithNoPants profile image

TheManWithNoPants 4 years ago from Tucson, Az.

Damn right this stuff's tuff! Plyometrics is used in professional football training. I've got a friend who was a linebacker for the Dallas Cowboys and the New York Giants. Can't mention his name, but you can probably figure it out. He owns a gym now down in South Carolina. He talked about plyometrics when he played with Dallas, and talked about what an ass kicker it was then. biometrics has been around for a while, but as far as I know, it's new to anyone except professional athletes. You darn sure got my respect girl. I work out every day,and I think it would put me out of business.You're very close to replacing Superman, Mohammed Ali, and George Patton as my heroes!

Good luck and keep up the good work my friend. :)

Jim


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Myth - Plyometrics is tough... I won't lie. I have done this what seems like a million times and I still feel it day after day. I now have 2 people joining me. If you really want to know how tough it is all you have to do is ask them. They haven't stopped grumbling about it yet! LOL My favorite move on this is definitely the Airborne Heisman and double Airborne Heisman. I don't know why - but I think they are fun. And the sports addition - that is my favorite part. It isn't too bad and it really lets you know you are almost done! :)

And yes - I can't wait to see the reactions of everybody when I come home. That is why I have avoided posting any kind of full-body pics on facebook. Slight glimpse with the Christmas cards but that is about it! The reaction will be priceless! LOL BTW - I also started doing Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred on top of P90X. I am a glutton for punishment I guess. Feeling it pretty good now! :)


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Daffy Duck - I figured after I had grasped a full understanding of each workout I would be able to give a great review. But that can't happen until after I can officially say that I am a P90X graduate. The nice thing is, this is also a great way for me to keep on check with writing regularly. I am still doing it and I am now in Round 2 Week 2 of P90X. Surprisingly, it is just as tough as it was before. I can't wait to see what happens at the 30 day mark.


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

Thanks Jim - I have to tell you, this round I am going kind of nuts. I have brought two additional people with so now I have some workout buddies. My husband and his friend have decided that the results are awesome and they want to see some for themselves. So, they are keeping me on track to make sure I keep this up. On top of it, I am also working out with another friend after P90X now. So I am doubling up my workouts. I tell you, it isn't just the workout that makes me feel good, but it feels great to motivate and push others so they not only feel better about themselves, but can feel the same thing I have been feeling from doing these workouts. I am almost starting to feel like a trainer! :)


mythicalstorm273 profile image

mythicalstorm273 4 years ago

That is so awesome that you got both Eli and Paul into it :-) I had Darrel doing a few days with me, but because of multiple reasons he is not keeping up with me the way he could. I think I need to bring it harder because today was chest and back and I don't even feel it anymore... I did it this morning. Of course I also have to be careful with this one with both bad wrists and bad shoulders! I don't know how you do pushups with your wrists! I'm doing decent though... I cranked out a few more pushups than I did last week. Next week I might try a few up on my toes because I am feeling strong enough to try! I felt plyometrics last week though so I will see how it makes me feel this week! I might start substituting different workouts in though... for example the Yoga was pretty bad for me. I enjoyed the moves and stuff, but because I am reading the next move off of the computer screen I couldn't really get into it which is a major downfall. I might be more successful if I just use one of my many tapes. The important thing is that I am still moving :-) Oh and I'm starting to get so many compliments as well!! I'm not sure why. I didn't realize I had lost that much weight but it feels nice. I can't imagine what everybody is going to say to you! Anyway... I have a few more things to do before bed. Great job and keep pushing those boys ;-)


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Myth - good for you! Obviously the changes you have made have made a big difference. Of course, it would be best to actually have the vidoes... probably would make it easier, but I am glad that you have accomplished what you have in the first place. The fact that you went from calling work your workout to actually doing a workout is amazing. And getting Darrel involved. I know getting others involved can sometimes hinder a workout if you are always the one pushing. But whatever you do... keep it up!


RealHousewife profile image

RealHousewife 4 years ago from St. Louis, MO

BBG - I love how you admit that people will just hate it after the first day:) lol But well - you kept going and you learned to love it! I think you are super awesome and I am so glad you are enjoying this. I really enjoy reading about it - you always have something funny or interesting along with the day of progress. I always laugh and learn:)


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Real - I will be the first one to admit that plyometrics and me are not friends... lol.... that being said, sometimes it is best to follow the advice of keep your friends close but keep your enemies closer! I will admit though, it has grown on me to the point that occasionally I sometimes look forward to it. I have only done the program a little more than a dozen times and it is still evil. Now I am looking into finishing this 90 days and seeing if I should buy the P90X2... if I think the P90X is tough... I can only imagine this is going to be much worse! :)

Glad you are enjoying them and finding something useful in the process throughout them. I find way to often reviews have a tendency to be slanted toward the program. yes... this will give you results... but if you aren't aware of how difficult it is... it can give you injuries as well. When it comes to healht and fitness, we have to play up our strenghts and work on our weaknesses. We can't just push in and expect to be a rockstar right off the bat. This is difficult and I won't tell anybody anything different. But then again - that is why you get results!


Daffy Duck profile image

Daffy Duck 4 years ago from Cornelius, Oregon

You didn't graduate? How many rounds do you have to go? Is it personal goals that dictate graduation for you?


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Daffy Duck - Did I say I didn't graduate? That must have been a typo or a mind slip. Yes - I did graduate. Now I am on my second round. So - going for the second degree.... lol I am assuming that to be a graduate you just need to make it through the program once. However, getting through once doesn't necessarily mean that it stops there. I am not at my goals yet and still have about 20 more pounds minimum that I want to go. (Give or take - I will know where I want to be at when I get there depending on the muscle and what not) But no - technically I am a graduate... thanks for pointing that out - it must have been a slip up cause I am still going at it! :)


Daffy Duck profile image

Daffy Duck 4 years ago from Cornelius, Oregon

Seeing as how part of the program is built around muscle building couldn't you skip it or take it easier during those exercises so you don't add on any more weight. Also you could do the cardio exercises more to burn more fat off.

I really don't know the program and the exercises well enough to say you should do that, but it was a thought floating around in my head.

As far as the graduation goes, for doing it during the holiday season you should get a MASTERS Degree. HA HA


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Daffy Duck - I like how you think... Masters Degree... yes... for insanity through the holidays.

As far as the muscle building goes, I try to stick to low weight and high reps. This keeps the muscles lean and is supposed to actually burn fat faster. I think my results for the first 30 days of round 2 will actually be much better because this time I am eating the amount of calories recommended for this hard of a program. Before I wasn't eating enough and I truly think it hurt my results. I have also added a few extra workouts in to actually burn the fat faster... but I got to be careful with my eating. If I don't eat enough my body will go into starvation mood. Although right now... I think I am actually exercising so much because I am trying to be supportive to others. But yeah - you definitely bring up a great point. Luckily though, weights are expensive so I have the light ones which probably won't bulk me up for at least a couple more rounds! LOL :)


Danette Watt profile image

Danette Watt 4 years ago from Illinois

Wow, good for you to go at it again! I know what you mean about plyometrics though. When our boot camp instructor first included these exercises, I hated them. I am getting used to them though. And they are good training for a fundraising event we've been doing a few years for the Am Lung Assoc where we "climb" (i.e., run) up 42 flights of stairs.


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Danette - The second round makes these workouts seem just a little bit easier. Although plyometrics will probably never be easy. I have just come to that conclusion.

That sounds like a great fundraising event. I can't imagine having to climb or run up 42 flights of stairs. Good luck with your training!


RealHousewife profile image

RealHousewife 4 years ago from St. Louis, MO

There are so many things to admire about you:) and this is one....even not doing the program...I have learned along the way...lots of info and you always give me a few good laughs. Now you have proven that even if things aren't all about fun you can do it and make it fun! Great job...I'm amazed every day by your strength to keep doing it.


Daffy Duck profile image

Daffy Duck 4 years ago from Cornelius, Oregon

A couple more rounds. Holy Crap! You're a machine!


tribook profile image

tribook 4 years ago

P90X can definitely give great results and I'm a fan of the muscle confusion training method...just be careful, I got a hernia from doing too much too soon!


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Real - I am glad that you have been able to learn a few things and laugh along the way with the P90X series. It is amazing what we can do when we put our mind to it. I never thought I would have come this far... and now look at me... I am beyond that point! :)


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Daffy Duck - Ha ha - I want to do one more round and hopefully by that time I can move on to P90X2. I am really curious about the second version and it is different. I like changing things up so we will see what happens! LOL


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@tribook - I love the muscle confusion training method. It has been the one thing that I found to really work. Sorry about your hernia. I am going to try to avoid injury by listening to my body. However, I just hurt my foot recently. Ironically not from P90X, but I stepped wrong. I guess I should stick to P90X and avoid walking. ;)

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working