Bring It: P90X Shoulders and Arms Workout Review

P90X consists of 12 DVDs. Shoulders and Arms is the third DVD in the series.
P90X consists of 12 DVDs. Shoulders and Arms is the third DVD in the series. | Source

P90X is a 90 day program that consists of 12 DVDs. It was created by Tony Horton and is a step up from the original P90 workout program. In addition to this workout, there is also a P90X2, which is another step up and even more intense and extreme than the previous workouts created by Tony Horton.

Tony Horton created this workout as a way to help people get in shape. The system is based off three phases, each phase ending with a recovery week. There is a schedule to follow to achieve optimum results. The reason it works is because of muscle confusion.

The concept behind muscle confusion is to push as hard as you can and change it up frequently. That is why it is important to follow the schedule. After the 90 days are complete, you will see the difference, not only physically, but mentally as well.

P90X is an entire program. Not only is it about the workouts, but it is about healthy eating as well. Throughout each DVD, Tony Horton will spout of tips. This will help keep you motivated and help you be as successful as you can be.

Personally, I have completed the full 90 days of P90X. Currently, I am getting ready to finish my second round with the program. If you would like to follow my journey with P90X, click here to start at the beginning. This is my own personal documentation of what I went through during the 90 days. I continued to Bring It and didn't skip a single workout for the first round. I have become stronger because of it and even started a second round.

Pump it!

Want to get that upper body looking glamourous. This is the workout to do!
Want to get that upper body looking glamourous. This is the workout to do! | Source

Shoulders and Arms

The Shoulders and Arms workout is the third workout you will be introduced to during your journey with P90X. It is also one of the longer workouts, counting in at 59 minutes and 53 seconds. However, the time flies by and the hour will be gone before you know it. You will do this throughout phase 1 and then you will see it a couple of times in phase 3 as well.

This entire workout is based purely off weight training. So yes, it is time to break out the dumbbells. This is for your glamour muscles, so if you want to show off those sexy arms this summer, this is the workout you want to push the hardest during.

It is a combination of flys that work the shoulders, curls for the biceps and extensions for the triceps. You will be pressing, curling and flying to amazing muscles!

While this one may seem like one of the most enjoyable workouts, it is not one to slack on. This isn't a break. During each exercise, you want to feel the burn for the last 3 reps. For guys, this might mean heavier weights and to max out betweeen 8 to 10 reps; for girls, this might mean lighter weights with 12 to 15 reps.

Your arms will be burnt out by the end, but don't worry, you will get a few breaks in between. Just remember to keep your water bottle filled and a towel handy to wipe the sweat out of your eyes.

The Workout

Like any workout in P90X, it starts with a warm-up and a cool down. From there it is all weights. The sets are grouped to target three areas - the shoulders, the biceps and the tricep muscles.

The workout consists of 5 rounds. After each round you will get a quick break to wipe off the sweat, do a little stretching and sip some water. During each round you will do three exercises and then repeat them. Yes, it really is that simple.

This workout comes with the handy workout sheet that is recommended by Tony Horton and is used with the majority of P90X workouts. These can be printed off the BeachBody website to track your progress. This is a very important step, as it will show you how much you have improved over the 90 days.

Reading suggestions

Introducing the Shrek Smoothie - Need something healthy to fuel your body. This smoothie is definately filled with good for you ingredients that will keep you going.

Bring It: P90X Day 1 - Want to start the journey from the beginning. Start with Day 1 which will lead you through each day.

Need Support - click here. After completing my journey I decided to take this one step further. I became a BeachBody Coach. If you are inspired by my transformation or you are interested in the programs offered feel free to contact me.

What do I think of the Shoulders and Arms Workout

Personally, this is one of my favorite workouts throughout the entire program. I have never fallen out, even though I usually leave the workout with my arms feeling shakey. I know it is working because I definately feel much stronger each and every time.

What amazes me most about this workout is how fast it seems to go. This is the one workout where Tony actually goes too fast for me. During some of the other DVDs, I am usually waiting for the timer to finish. On this one, I run out of time before I am finished with my reps.

If I had to have any complaints about this workout, it is that while I am sore at the end, I still feel like something is missing. This workout, if you have the time, would be great to do with additional cardio. However, even with out it, you will still burn about 300 calories (rough estimate based off what I burn with a heart rate monitor. Each individual will be different.)

Even as I come to a close with my second round of P90X, this workout still stands as one of my top favorites. I enjoy this one each and every time and pushing play has never been an issue. That is a good thing, because if you don't enjoy your workouts, you will eventually stop your workouts.

More by this Author


Comments 14 comments

Turtlewoman profile image

Turtlewoman 4 years ago from California

Hmmm I was wondering where you've been, Barbergirl. Now I know you've been busy with the second round of P90x! I love the look on your face in that picture. It's like saying, "yeah, you know it. My arms look gooood!" Keep up the good work! I thought about joining beachbody awhile back too but felt discouraged at the time. Maybe I'll revisit it again...I know who to go to now! Voted up


sam209 profile image

sam209 4 years ago

Hey there Barbergirl! Very informative hub! I've definitely been slacking up on my workout routine! Certainly taking this program into serious consideration! Thanks for sharing!


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Turtlewoman - Yeah... I have been busy working out.... and for some reason I got out of the habit of writing! I am still working my way back into it. Thanks for stopping by and if you need any additional information BeachBody wise - programs, support, whatever, just contact me. My next workout is going to be Turbo Fire - I have tried a few of the workouts just to get the choreography down and it is killer - but effective! And I have been doing that along with P90X... yes yes, total insanity!


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@sam209 - Sometimes it just takes realize that you have been slacking to get back in to the habit. If you have any questions about the program don't hesitate to ask. Within the next couple weeks I hope to finish the reviews for the rest of the workouts as in I will be finishing my second round of P90X. Thanks for stopping by!


Brett.Tesol profile image

Brett.Tesol 4 years ago from Somewhere in Asia

From what I have read of your reviews, this does seem like it is a good program. Varying the exercises allow you muscles to rebuild, while you continue to burn calories with other muscles. If you are shaking after the work out, then you have definitely pushed! Good effort ;-).

Thanks for SHARING.


RealHousewife profile image

RealHousewife 4 years ago from St. Louis, MO

BBG - you da man! Lol. I am so proud of you for pushing and pushing play again and again! I love the way you summed it up and gave a review for the process maybe it will help others not be afraid to use that magic finger to push play every day - for the betterment of self:).

Up and everything!


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Brett - I will definately say that this is a good workout. However, with most people, the will notice that some work better than others. This workout I believe is gonna be geared more towards males who have a tendency to build muscle faster. However, it does still work for women as well. It is just missing the cardio aspect which depending on the person will either need to be added in as extra or just forgotten about. But, I can't complain... other than a recent illness that has had me out for awhile now... I am healthier than I have ever been! :) thanks for stopping by and reading!


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Real - I love it... the magic finger. Yes - we all have that ability to push play and just do it. But it does take a little bit of magic. After all, the DVD isn't gonna play itself and even if it did, watching it from the couch isn't going to do much for anybody! :) Now hopefully I can inspire others to get off their butt and get moving! Unless of course they would rather read all my hubs ;)


mythicalstorm273 profile image

mythicalstorm273 4 years ago

I have a hard time doing shoulder workouts (as you probably remember). My shoulders lock up and hurt so badly if I put them in a bad position, which is usually the most common positions in exercises like the fly. Still I love doing some simple work with weights to help keep those 'glam' muscles tight and not too flabby! lol.


What Is Q profile image

What Is Q 4 years ago from Tennessee

I don't do P90X, but I did join the YMCA a few months ago and I think I've gained a little bit of muscle since then. I have muscle confusion down pat, because when I pick up a weight, my muscles don't know what to do with it. I didn't even know what a tricep was before I joined a gym. I thought it was a dinosaur. I've been working on my core a lot, trying to master that dragon flag exercise as done by Bruce Lee. When he was alive, of course. Anyway, I like your photo, although I'm kind of intimidated by it. =P Maybe one day I'll have big biceps.


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@Myth - Yep - I remember all the problems that you have with your shoulder. I am not a doctor so I can't obviously advise you on what to do, but I wonder if you used smaller weights or none at all would you be able to strengthen your shoulder to do this types of exercises? Just a question out of curiousity... as the most important thing is obviously staying injury free!

I do have to say though - one of the things that is most vital is really using weights. It tones and makes us stronger helping us to burn fat faster and more regularly. I know for me - I have always pushed carido. When I add weight training, I am more successful! :)


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@What is Q - P90X... YMCA... they are both a bunch of jargon if you try to read them so I guess they are one in the same. I used to belong to the YMCA, enjoyed it alot... then I belonged to a different gym... and forgot to go. That always seems to be the problem. I forget to go to the gym. Now I am starting to wonder about muscle confusion... maybe I was confused as to where I was suppossed to go. Well, I got muscle confusion out of the way now. After all, no I say jump and they say how high. Ok- some of the times anyway! :)

Oh yeah - and don't be intimidated by my biceps... they really don't do much harm! ha ha


healthylife2 profile image

healthylife2 4 years ago from Connecticut, USA

I have P90x on a shelf in my basement which is my workout room when I am not at the gym. I will have to try it for something different. I did start it and wished Tony was a little more motivating but I know the motivation has to come from within. I worked out with him in a huge group of others and he is very motivating in person. So many people have had success with P90x. I love upper body workouts the best and I can see it worked well for you. Voted up and shared!


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca Author

@healthylife2 - If you are looking for someone who is super motivating during the videos you should check out Chalene Johnson. She tells you how proud she is of everybody in class and tells you that you aren't tired. I find I push harder with her videos. However, Tony Horton... I just love the guy. He makes me laugh and he is such a hero in my eyes. They are both such inspirations. Hope you get to dust of P90X soon! :)

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working