FRS Energy Drink - The Complaint!

FRS Energy Complaint

Before I shelled out the cash to get started on the FRS Healthy Energy Drink, I did my research.

I reviewed their website, read reviews on blogs, and I checked customer review sections on websites such as gigantic retailer Amazon.com (they have everything, including all the FRS products.)

What really stood out was a customer complaint in the reviews on Amazon.com. The complaint was somewhat legitimate, although I was kind of annoyed someone posted it in a review at Amazon...

See, I was reading the FRS reviews, and most people were rating them 4 or 5 stars based on a great taste and energy boost. But then I saw the health chews with just a 1 or 2 star rating...

So I read the rating and it had nothing to do with the product. The reviewer just gave the product a negative review because they weren't happy with the free trial.

Why did it annoy me? Amazon.com has nothing to do with the free trial, just the product. So you'd think people would contribute reviews about the product instead of screw with the ratings by complaining about different issues.

Oh well, someone has a complaint with FRS about the energy drink free trial and had to vent somewhere. (I can't blame theme, I'm venting right here!)

(P.S. The complaint is that they got the free trial but continued receiving the product afterwards and had to pay for it. Duh. If companies didn't do that they'd go out of business. It's the same deal with free issues of magazines, Columbia House starting with 12 free CDs, etc.  I think it's lame that companies do this, but if you just go to Amazon.com and buy products there, you don't have to deal with a free trial offer.)

Add Your Comments 37 comments

Bob 8 years ago

Nowhere on the FRS home page or ads does it say they will continue shipping the product and charging high prices. It is only when you order that they offer the disclaimer. I am very dissatisfied with FRS and disappointed that Lance Armstrong would be associated with them.


VIP 8 years ago

I am very disappointed that Lance is associated with this product. Everything about it looks like a class act UNTIL you try to cancel the auto ship program. If they would just process your request and let you go without leaning on you sooooo hard to stay enrolled it wouldn't leave such a bad taste. I will NEVER go back to their product simply because of the customer service reps pressure. I feel bad for all the pushovers who can't say no and will inevitably get roped in.


SWH 8 years ago

This is a scam. The product makes me sick and I am having a terribly time canceling. The "Free Trail" anything but free. My next call will be to the Texas Attorney Generals office.


Luther 8 years ago

This is unadulterated, unforgivable, exploitive, manipulative, devious marketing of an overpriced, overhyped product (there's no evidence connecting quercetin with increased energy, only antioxidant activity--moreover, the primary ingredients are sugar, hi fructose corn syrup, sucralose, caffeine, ginseng, the usual ingredients). But the unconscionable part is the "gotcha" treatment of the consumer, who thinks he's purchasing primarily a "free offer" endorsed by Lance Armstrong. Mention of prices and terms is carefully concealed in a submenu way down in the fine print. The product comes without any explanations about uses of the product, and without prices about even postage let alone the products. Only when the consumer receives a 2nd box along with notice of a charge of $60+ postage and handling is he likely to discover that he needed to "cancel" membership within 2 weeks and that he's exposed himself to this charge for life. It's the worst scam I've seen on the internet, an apparently generous, good-faith offer that turns out to be a raping of the unwary consumer. Armstrong, of course, owns a piece of the company. We can only hope Yahoo, Amazon and other sites soon realize how damaging this sort of merchandising can be to their reputable businesses. My guess is that FRS offers their product on Amazon and other websites separate from "membership" primarily as a "cover" for what is really an insidious, unethical duping of the public--simply a variation on getting access to a consumer's credit card whatever it takes. American capitalism (but more Pavlovian than free enterprise) at it's worst (or best, if we choose to applaud greed run amok).


Heidi 8 years ago

I haven't had a bad experience with the product yet but I also havne't felt any noticable energy gains. I've spoken with their customer service reps and they have assured me that I could cancel at any time. I was also concerned about the small print and what my obligation would be if I didn't cancel within the 2 weeks of the free trial offer. I hope I have not been scamed. I have found it difficult to find any good information on the product though. I've found Coach Levi's reviews, but frankly, he seems like a shill. Reading his reviews sounds like he is marketing for the company. Also, he started this thread, and all of the links to what he woudl call "useful" links, go to his reviews. Not exactly unbiased.


Dale 8 years ago

If FRS were a reputable company, they would be more up front about the "subscription" model. They are intentionally deceptive -- the only e-mail you get is a confirmation when you sign up for the free trial. There is no communication before the next package arrives. There is also no way to cancel or change your status on their website. Very disappointing...


Scammed in CA 8 years ago

I actually processed my free order over the phone and was told they needed a credit card to "pay for shipping" no mention of the subscription program. The company did refund my money but I also filed a BBB complaint anyways. Sad to see Lance's image alongside such a desceptive product; but does he really care since it is pretty apparent he doped during his majical 7 anyways.


Richard 8 years ago

Total scam . . . they keep sending the product and you have to pay for return postage . . .I am out $12 and time lost !!!!!


John 7 years ago

I too was scammed by FRS. I ordered the free sample, did not find it of value and did not order anything else. But since they had my credit card number they keep shipping very expensive products. I have spent a lot of time with my credit card company fighting this but fortunately I printed out every transaction.


tctrek 7 years ago

Whew... I was just about to sign up for the free trial and found this discussion and a few others that let me know this is just another internet "free offer" scam. I'm just shocked that Lance Armstrong would allow his name to be tied to this.


cindy 7 years ago

i was looking for an FRS coupon as it is kind of expensive, when I saw these comments. Is FRS the first company to offer free trials & then hook us up with a subscription. I am sorry they are doing that as their product has really been beneficial to me. I didn't read anything in these posts about the product.

What I have to say is about the product itself. I use the chews & yes they have sugar in them, but what doesn't? They taste good & I was eating a little more than the recommended dosage & my hair stopped falling out. My hair has been falling out for ten years at an above average rate & the only difference in what I was doing was taking FRS. So, for me the price is worth it & I hope the company works out it's offer policies because they are losing customers who might like this product.


Coach Levi 7 years ago from Boston Author

@Cindy

I agree with you. I hate to see the FRS company screw up like this when they have a good product.

As for the coupons, take a look at http://www.retailmenot.com/view/frs.com

And if you get on FRS' email list, you'll get more coupons, some of which are for 50% off.


Sam 7 years ago

I have the same beef as most with FRS for several reasons. First, and foremost, they charged $54,95 to my credit card after the free trial. They don't give you any indication that they are going to crush you on shipping and handling charges. Second, they tell you you have an account setup, but never give you the information to login to manage the account or CANCEL! Third, I feel the product did absolutely nothing as claimed. I can take a few cheap vitamins bought at Wally World and feel more energetic.

FRS endorsement defiinitely tarnishes Lance's reputation and he should pedal away from this company like he's time trialing up the Alpe d'Huez.


You complainers need a life 7 years ago

I love the stuff, call me crazy... It says SO clearly when you sign up for free trial you will be on "autoship" plan... You people should blame yourselves occasionally for being stupid. The irony is I thought i would be clever and order free trial then IMMEDIATELY cancel to get free product... only after two weeks I was addicted and needed more! So I then had to re-sign up (no problem) and now order like $100 worth each month (but I get 50% off so it's like $50) -- but I use *SO* much of it, I'm like a crack addict. Gee whiz, $6.50 for shipping... you people act like you've been raped or something. I rarely order anything online etc. but this is one product I'm addicted to. People joke a lot about me at work downing this stuff 2-3x a day but it's really great. But it's subtle, after a few days you'll see, it's more about focus and zero-fatigue while exercising... not like those 5-hour energy drinks where you wanna climb the walls... YOU PEOPLE MAKE ME NUTS WITH YOUR COMPLAINING WHEN FINALLY THERE IS A DECENT PRODUCT. I bet you all call Amazon.com scammers too!


Tired of complainers 7 years ago

Also, their phone support is really good, they pick up quickly etc. So if any of you complainers wanted to stop shipments or cancel or anything all you had to do was CALL. But it's clear you never tried to or your problems would've been solved immediately. But I guess it's better to just complain to the world for hours and hours on end. Pick up the damn phone! Oh a quick tip too, if you wait a few weeks etc. you might run across offers like 50% off on all future orders (or 30% whatever)... definitely makes the product worthwhile and much cheaper even than the RedBulls or the Monsters etc. (But it's different too, so don't expect that kind of caffeine blast... but you will feel it, give it a few days)


anonymous 7 years ago

I love how every comment that states this product is a scam is always the same old "they took money and didn't tell me." hahahaha it makes it so easy to laugh because all you have to do is READ. It states it three times throughout the trial and gives you a username and password. Don't keep saying the same old because you didn't read....


TDF 7 years ago

I tried the FRS drink that I bought at the market and It does give you energy. So far satisfied. I did consider the Free trial, but didn't get it. And the FRS website does say that after the 14 day supply Free Trial, you will be charged for future shipments. I would say READ before you order.


Dee 7 years ago

If you have any vascular medical conditions, you should be very careful about using this product. After reading the different herbs used, I realized this had a vaso-constricter, which would severly damage my system. If you have celiac disease, be careful for the corn syrup and fructose. Caffeine will wipe out a bad stomach. Just like everything else in life, what works for one person may not be good for another. Do your homework. P.S. Everyone gets you with auto shipping anymore. I also hate that.


Holly LeClair 7 years ago

I love FRS. It gives me more energy to play tennis and doesn't make me jittery. I don't agree with the auto shipping but I know many companies that do the same deceptive trick. I ordered Proactive for my daughter for an introductory price and next thing I knew I was getting it monthly. They were very rude on the phone and acted like I was stupid. I would never use that product again.


David in Florida 7 years ago

Get yourself a new credit card - low limit ($300). Start your "free trial" on new card. Cancel credit card after 10 days so they can't bill you for more product.


FRITZ 7 years ago

I do like f.r.s. products, and i did try the on-line free trial offer, and i was retroactvely charged with more product to my credit card, and as the perfect person said, just call them and they WILL take care of your"auto-ships"....but dont try and email them as they tell you, because they DO NOT answer emails or warm up to suggestions....Buy it elsewhere and you wont be disappointed! Forget amazon


Another subscription model scam 7 years ago

Their line is always busy when you try to cancel. Rings once and it goes to a busy signal. So "Tired of Complainers", what is your helpful suggestion for that?


Robert 7 years ago

If you don't like auto ship then buy the product at GNC or even better at The Vitamin Shoppe. I live in a small city and both are available to me. And The Vitamin Shoppe had a great promotion (cheap) in October. Great product!


Matthew 6 years ago

If you are not responsible enough to cancel the membership that you agreed to (and all its caveats) then don't get the product. As TDF says, read before signing. Maybe you all lost your house too . . .


wayneswork 6 years ago

i would rather pay my bank the $25 odd dollars to reverse their stop order, and pay $12 to ship the product back to them than support this bunch of criminals!-FRS enjoy your scam while it lasts-kalma has a funny way of sorting guys like you out!


Bob W. 6 years ago

Some how I must be smarter than everyone else here. I knew that my free sample was also subscribing me to an auto ship program. Oh yea! I can read. You should all try it too. Reading that is. The auto ship, if you stick with it, will save you 60% compared to buying this stuff in the health food store. I love the product and I'm not a cry baby that doesn't read the agreement for the thing he is signing up for.


JTO500 6 years ago

one above writes.''.... you should be very careful about using this product. ....... severly damage my system. If you have celiac disease, be careful for the corn syrup and fructose. Caffeine will wipe out a bad stomach. Just like everything else in life, what works for one person may not be good for another. Do your homework.'' My friend and I have had werid feelings and Diarrhea and vomiting from this product


KH 6 years ago

I cancelled my order for the automatic shipments a month ago and was just charged again yesterday! i think the product is horrible, and I didn't feel the energy it is supposed to provide.


cd 6 years ago

Read the terms and conditions, all of you whiners. Let me repeat, in case you do not understand READ THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS. Stop blaming others for your stupidity. Grow up and take responsibility for your yourself. This is a life rule that has been taught since kindergarten. Were you there that day?


ashok pai 6 years ago

@cd, nope, not everyone reads the terms and conditions on every single product, ALL the time. the terms and conditions arent meant to be read everyday to dodge every act of purchase of any and every product. terms and conditions offer a company some kind of an indemnity against abuse. certainly not the kind FRS is doing. FRS is shoddy, and they are a scam act. if not, they'd already be quelling the fire. they are a PR disaster already


Terrence C. Harp 6 years ago

If you don't know what you are ordering, and you are unwilling to read the conditions of your "free" trial, perhaps you should refrain from accepting such offers. It will save you a lot of headaches in the future.

Personally, I ordered the free trial and immediately went and stopped the autoship order. No problem what-so-ever. Now that I have tried the product, and I like it, I've ordered more. It's very simple really.

TC Harp


Cracked 6 years ago

After complaining to these bastards several time I just disputed charges and stopped any future transactions from them in the future. Lance should be ashamed to have his name associated with these greedy people. Love the fact you have to go into another screen to read the "FREE TRIAL" agreement. This is proof that nothing is for free!


Kevin 6 years ago

This company is a fraud.

Spent the better part of the afternoon, trying to: 1) cancel a membership that I never knew I agreed to; 2) return product I never ordered or agreed to accept; and, 3) yes, get a refund for charges billed to my credit card, also requesting that FRS assume return shipping charges for the untouched products.

Bogus CSRs continue to give you the runaround about their "policies". which is a load of crap. I would like to start a class action against FRS to teach them a lesson about taking advantage of the company.

I would love to take Lance's deposition to see if he knows how his image is being misused.


CLAYTON 6 years ago

I TRIED THE FREE SAMPLE AND RECEIVED IT WITHOUT ANY FUTURE CHARGE PROBLEMS. WHEN I ORDERED MORE I WAS CHARGED FOR WHAT I ORDERED. MAYBE THEY CHANGED THE POLICY. ALSO IT DOES TASTE GOOD IF YOU MIX IT WITH ORANGE SODA (THATS ASSUMING THAT YOU CAN HAVE SODA IN YOUR SUPER HEALTHY LIFESTYLE) (I PREFER SUNKIST SOLAR FUSION AS MY FRS MIX)


Amit Goswami 6 years ago

we want to organised a drawing compitition,in Barrackpur at ward no 9.Last competition was sponsored by Horlics, if this time if you sponsored it ,we will greatfull to you.


Jon 5 years ago

I also requested a free trial of this product and it was shipped to the address I entered into the on-line form. I was not charged anything for the trial and was sent numerous emails to the (accurate) email address I gave for correspondence. I was instructed to visit the website and give my opinion, wherein I could also adjust the auto shipments or cancel them altogether. I’ve been using the product, mostly the concentrate and cans, for over a year now and have never experienced any of the issues I am reading above. My guess is that most the negative reviews are from morons who don’t know how to conduct themselves in a simple on-line transaction. You need the read people. Open the email and read it like a good boy or girl. Oh, and if this product is causing you gastronomical issues you need to see a doctor. Like, immediately.


sportsgirl 5 years ago

Horrible customer service experience - when I tried canceling my account the service reps asked if there was anything else they could do to help...I asked them to send me an email notification that the account would be canceled. The guy said no, and that I'd need to go to the FRS website and look a it myself.......

Tells you a lot about what this company is all about.....and its not you or me!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working