Gluten free diet for celiac disease
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, oats, and food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent. Gluten may cause health problems for some people. Gluten is mainly found in foods, medicines, lip balms and vitamins. Gluten free diet is essential for gluten allergies and celiac disease.
Celiac disease is a autoimmune disorder triggered by eating gluten. It is a digestive disease that damages the small intestine and interferes with absorption of nutrients from food. Celiac disease is also known as celiac sprue, nontropical sprue, and gluten-sensitive enteropathy. People who have celiac disease cannot tolerate gluten. Many health stores and super markets now carry gluten free foods. These stores make foods with rice flour, potato flour instead of wheat flour.
Symptoms of celiac disease:
Some of the common symptoms include:
- Abdominal bloating
- Pain in abdomen
- Chronic diarrhea
- Foul smelling stool
- Weight loss
More serious problems include bone and joint pains, dermatitis herpetiforms, infertility problems, seizures, missed periods and depression.
List of foods and grains to avoid on a gluten free diet:
Grains to avoid on a gluten free diet:
Some of the grains to avoid on a gluten free diet are barley, wheat, rye, commercial oats, malt, and malt extract, couscous, semolina, bulgar, durum, spelt, farina, kamut, farro, and einkorn. Avoid all breads, cereals, baking items, pastas and mixes that contain these garins.
Foods to avoid on a gluten free diet:
Bread crumbs, pretzels, crackers, packaged rice and noodle mixes, chocolate drinks, hot cocoa mixes, processed cheeses, wheat tortillas, breaded vegetables, canned baked beans, flavored yogurts, flavored vegeatbles, breaded meat, imitation seafood, fish, poultry. Avoid foods containing hydrolyzed vegetable protein and soy sauce. Hydrolyzed vegetable protein contain gluten
Beers: Beer contain gluten. Most of the beers are brewed with malted barley or wheat. You can buy gluten free beers. It is made with sorghum and buckwheat.
Grains allowed on a gluten free diet:
Several grains are acceptable for a gluten free diet. You can eat grains such as rice, potato, corn, uncontaminated oats, buckwheat, quinoa, tapoca, yam, amaranth, arrowroot flour, guar gum, gelatin, and sorghum.
More by this Author
Here are some of the foods to avoid while trying to lose weight including refined sugars, condiments, refined flours, cheeses, starchy vegetables, popcorn, fried foods, artificial sweetners, caffeine and junk foods. ...
Some simple yet delicious sugarless Christmas cake recipes for diabetics. You will find a variety of tasty sugarless Christmas cake recipes in this hub for easy and fast homemade preparations. These cakes are perfect...
Wondering what you can and can't eat if you have H. Pylori? Read on for a list of foods to avoid and foods you should make a point to eat.