Applying for a Gun License in Alabama
Acquiring a Gun Permit
In the Alabama Constitution, it states that "every citizen has a right to bear arms in defense of himself and the state," and keeping this noted, the state is considered one of the most lenient in gun laws.
In the state of Alabama, you do not need a permit or license to purchase a firearm, but you do need a license to carry a handgun or any concealed weapon.
Below, you'll find the basic information needed to acquire a gun permit in Alabama.
Applying for a Gun Permit
Per Alabama code 13A-11-75, you may or may not be issued a license to carry a pistol on your body or concealed in your vehicle. The text from the Alabama Firearms and Weapons law states that the sheriff of the county may issue a qualified or unlimited license for a person to carry a pistol in a vehicle or concealed on the person.
When applying for a gun permit in Alabama, you must fill out the "Alabama Concealed Weapon Permit" form.
In order to be considered for eligibility for the gun license, you will need to qualify for the following factors:
- Be at least 18 years old (although the county sheriff may set the minimum age to anywhere of 18 and older)
- Be a resident of Alabama
- By law, you must have a good reason for carrying a firearm, but for the most part, anyone who is qualified
- Training may be required by some counties
The country sheriff's office may issue a local, state, and federal criminal history check to determine whether possession of firearms would be in violation to any state or federal laws. This check is not required when issuing a firearm permit, but most sheriff's offices will perform the check when issuing the concealed weapon license.
How Much Will the license Cost?
Depending on what type of gun license you are trying to apply for, the cost will vary, but for a basic firearm license, the cost will be $20. Any renewal fees will vary per county.
Where do I go to apply for a license?
When applying for the permit, you will need to go to your local county sheriff's office.
What do I need to bring when applying for my license?
When applying for your gun license, you'll want to bring a photo identification, such as a drivers license. You may also need to bring other documentation depending on your county sheriff.
How long is the license good for?
The Alabama gun permit is good for 1 year. You will need to renew the permit before it expires, and in order to do that, you'll need to contact your local county sheriff's office for renewal. You may or may not receive a renewal notice in the mail, so you'll want to make sure to keep watch on the expiration date of your permit.
More by this Author
Although, many people may find that owning a pistol only creates and adds to the current crime in the country, I find that they are a means for self protection. I personally, have and carry a gun with me, especially...
Firearms can be a very dangerous tool in the hands of the wrong person. Every state has their own gun laws and regulations. For the state of Georgia, the laws are pretty straight forward and easy to abide by. Before you...
You may refer to a truss as the rafter, but it's basically the skeleton of the roof, carrying the weight of the frame and supporting the walls of the building. Trusses are very important to preventing the walls from...