Review of Jillian Michaels' 6 Week Six-Pack DVD

Source

You want to get ripped abs? Me too.

Jillian Michaels's latest fitness DVD, 6 Week Six-Pack, is a workout video for getting a flat, chiseled midsection in 6 weeks. It follows in the footsteps of the earlier Jillian Michaels videos, such as 30 Day Shred, No More Trouble Zones, and Banish Fat Boost Metabolism, with the same, no-nonsense, tough-love motivational style that she brings to the hit TV show The Biggest Loser.

Overview

The 6 Week Six-Pack DVD contains 2 workouts, Level 1 and Level 2. Each exercise routine is 35 minutes, including warmup and cooldown.

Jillian recommends that you stick with Level 1 for three weeks, and then move on to Level 2 for three weeks, working out 5 times a week. Sticking to a healthy diet is also suggested - customized plans are available at www.jillianmichaels.com.

You'll need a single hand weight (from 3 to 8 pounds, for kettlebell-style moves) and a mat.

Buy 30 Day Shred - One of the Top 5 Bestselling Fitness DVDs at amazon.com

Jillian Michaels - 30 Day Shred
Jillian Michaels - 30 Day Shred

One of the top 5 bestsellers in Fitness DVDs at amazon.com, with over 3200 happy reviews!

 

A Great Followup to The 30 Day Shred

I'd been using level 1 of Jillian Michaels' 30 Day Shred DVD as maintenance, to keep that last 5 pounds from returning, after having completed the full 30 Day Shred program last year (10 days at each of Levels 1, 2, and 3).

To change things up a bit, I recently decided to give 6 Week Six-Pack a try.

 

 

 

High-Intensity Interval Training (HIIT)

As with several other Jillian Michaels workout videos, this video uses High-Intensity Interval Training. Be prepared for intense 20- to 30-second cardio intervals to burn fat and help reveal those ab muscles. Burpees, plank jacks, and mountain climbers will leave you breathless.

Level 1 Overview

As with the previous Jillian Michaels DVDs, there are two trainers in the background - Maddie to demonstrate the beginner modifications, and Basheerah to demonstrate the advanced versions of the exercises. You'll recognize Maddie and Basheerah from Jillian's Yoga Meltdown and Shred-It With Weights DVDs.

This workout starts out fast, with a warmup consisting of dynamic stretching and cardio intervals that start to work your core immediately.

After the warmup, it's time for the main workout, which consists of one 15-minute circuit, that is completed twice. This circuit contains core-focused cardio intervals with squats, twists, and lunges, interspersed with ab-toning matwork, including a variety of crunches that work your abs from every angle. Both the cardio and strength moves make use of the plank position. Intermediate and advanced exercisers will need the hand weight for some of the cardio moves.

For the cooldown, you get to stay on the mat - no need to stand up for this one.

You'll recognize some of the exercises from Levels 2 and 3 of the 30 Day Shred, such as supermans, plank jacks, and mountain climbers.

This is also the first time I've heard Jillian huffing and puffing on her own DVDs. Jillian also really enjoys pushing Basheerah, who's demonstrating the advanced moves, illustrating that you can always kick it up a notch by adding weights, even to the matwork.


Buy 6 Week Six-Pack - One of the Top 10 Bestselling Fitness DVDs at amazon.com

Jillian Michaels: 6 Week Six-Pack
Jillian Michaels: 6 Week Six-Pack

One of the top 10 bestselling fitness DVDs at amazon.com!

 

My Review of 6 Week Six-Pack, Level 1

This is quite a fun DVD to work out to.

I feel that my core has been getting a serious workout, as my abs are on fire at certain points during the workout. I'd never realized that there are that many kinds of crunches. For some of the exercises, I'm able to try out the advanced versions instead of the intermediate or beginner versions. By the time the last side plank exercise comes along, however, I feel like I'm a goner.

The morning after I first tried Level 1, it hurt to get out of bed, laugh, or sneeze. Muscles I didn't know I had were in agony! I had to ice my abs before I could proceed with the rest of my day, but it felt totally worth it.

My shoulders, arms, glutes, and thighs have also gotten a workout, albeit a lighter one than the 30 Day Shred. Once I've added the hand weight to the cardio circuits, I may be revising that comparison with the Shred.

(Update: I was right about the hand weight - the cardio moves that look and feel relatively simple with no weights certainly feel more challenging with just a single 3-pound hand weight.)

The variety of moves keeps things interesting. As the circuit is a 15-minute circuit performed twice, it feels less repetitive than the 30 Day Shred, which consists of 90- and 60-second circuits performed twice.


Level 2 Overview

Level 2 really kicks it up a notch - even beginners will need their hand weight.

This workout really takes off with a warmup containing high-impact core-focused cardio intervals, including jogging and skaters.

The main workout consists of high-energy cardio intervals with twists and lunges, mixed in with a smaller amount of matwork than in Level 1. Twists and lunges are frequently combined, all while keeping the hand weight in motion, sometimes kettlebell-style. On the mat, only a few types of crunches will be performed. Instead, the most noteworthy matwork will be the plank work, consisting of plank twists, moguls (similar to plank jacks), T-stands with a kick out to the side, and mountain climbers. As with Level 1, the entire main circuit is performed twice, with the second pass-through at double-time, before moving on to the same cooldown as Level 1.

In contrast to Level 1, ALL three trainers look winded at various points during the workout. It's rare to see Basheerah with a grimace rather than a smile, but I spotted it briefly.

 

Buy 6 Week Six-Pack - One of the Top 10 Bestselling Fitness DVDs at amazon.com

Jillian Michaels: 6 Week Six-Pack
Jillian Michaels: 6 Week Six-Pack

One of the top 10 bestselling fitness DVDs at amazon.com!

 

My Review of 6 Week Six-Pack, Level 2

This was a brutal workout. You'll need Jillian's tough-love motivational style to see you through to the end of Level 2.

Though both levels are 35 minutes, Level 2 seems to fly by much faster than Level 1, as you're moving at a very fast pace for a greater proportion of the time, due to the increased proportion of cardio. If you're uncoordinated, it may take a few sessions to keep up with the many twisting moves that work on those obliques. If you have knee problems, you may need to take it easy during the more high-impact intervals or the lunge segments. I can't seem to perform the T-stands with a kick without falling - rolling from side plank to side plank is difficult enough without adding in a cheery kick.

On my first day of Level 2, sweat dripped off my face during cooldown. I haven't sweated this much since 30 Day Shred Level 3! The day after I first tried Level 2, I could barely walk or sit down, as my glutes were killing me. My shoulders are still feeling it every day. Three weeks of this is unimaginable!


Buy 30 Day Shred - A Top 5 Bestselling Fitness DVD at amazon.com

Jillian Michaels - 30 Day Shred
Jillian Michaels - 30 Day Shred

One of the top 5 bestsellers in Fitness DVDs at amazon.com, with over 3200 happy reviews!

 

Buy Killer Buns & Thighs - A Top 10 Bestselling Fitness DVD at amazon.com

Jillian Michaels Killer Buns & Thighs
Jillian Michaels Killer Buns & Thighs

Killer Buns & Thighs will get you ready to wear skinny jeans and sexy shorts! Currently one of the top 10 bestselling fitness DVDs at amazon.com!

 

Buy Ripped in 30 - A Top 10 Bestselling Fitness DVD at amazon.com

Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30
Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30

This DVD promises to rip you up! Currently one of the top 10 bestselling fitness DVDs at amazon.com!

 

Buy Jillian Michaels Workout Videos from amazon.com

Comments 46 comments

Jacky 5 years ago

Is it recommended to do the 6 week ab workout twice a day? I am looking for really fast results.


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 5 years ago from Canada Author

Jacky, these workouts are designed to be done once a day. I haven't tried doing this workout twice a day myself - once daily was strenuous enough for me.

If you manage to get fast results doing this workout twice a day, please let us know!


Chris Crow profile image

Chris Crow 5 years ago

That's an epic 6-pack. Puts mine to shame :)


mommyloves2write 4 years ago

This is my favorite ab workout! I am in my late forties and have never had such fab abs! It works!


lucy hardgrave 4 years ago

How many days a week are you supposed to do this and by how long constantly doing this does any signs of detention come?

Also does it matter how much you have to lose? i have a little bit to lose but thought id get and give this a go


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 4 years ago from Canada Author

Hi Lucy - it is recommended that you do this 5 days a week to see results. Given the nature of the workout, you should definitely see improvement no matter how much you have to lose, so keep us posted on your results!


Ale 4 years ago

do you really see a difference?


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 4 years ago from Canada Author

Yep - it's a pretty intense workout, so that amount of fat-burning activity coupled with muscle building definitely helps to reveal those abs!


Karla 3 years ago

I usually eat healthy and I'm 56 kg, I have being doing this workout for 4 weeks now 6 days a week and I can see my abs, I'm sooo exaited, I love popcorn and chips and I still eat them once in a while and I still see my abs :)


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 3 years ago from Canada Author

Karla, congrats on the great work!!!


KGB 3 years ago

How did your abs look like before and how much did it change after? I'm sure it differs for every person but I just wanted to know what a realistic expectation is after 6 weeks.


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 3 years ago from Canada Author

Hi KGB - I started out with no ab definition, but finished up with a definite 2-pack, and was certainly on my way to a 4-pack! I would definitely have gotten even better results by paying closer attention to my diet and if I hadn't taken some breaks due to illness!


Ebony 3 years ago

Hi VCG,

Will I lose weight doing this workout? I am trying to pack on pounds and also have a toned stomach. So far I have gained 13 lbs , and want to gain 20 more, but it goes to my stomach before the places I want it to go (booty, and legs). I really want to try the dvd, but if it will make me lose weight than I will just have to wait...


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 3 years ago from Canada Author

You will lose weight and tone up your stomach by doing this workout. If you are already very lean & you are trying to gain weight in your booty and legs, I suggest that you try a workout that builds up those muscles, while eating more protein. Good luck!


Nina 3 years ago

Hello.... i have been doing this work out ( level one for beginning) 10 days in a row and i don't see any changes, my body is already muscular ( i used to work out a lot years age ) but i have a belly problem :/ so i decided to try this 6 week 6 pack workout. I'm looking forward to seeing ANY results in the next 10 days. also i'm thinking to start level 2 after 2 weeks ( 3 weeks level 1 and another 3 weeks level 2) BUT at the same time i'm starting to having a little back ache and neck problems. should i continue the workout or do it less ( like 5 days a week only) ?


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 3 years ago from Canada Author

If you're experiencing back and neck problems, you may wish to cut back on your workout frequency. To lose fat more quickly, pay closer attention to maintaining a healthy diet & cutting your calorie intake. Best of luck!


Nina 3 years ago

Thanks

can please tell me which diet goes best with this workouts ? do you know any good diets ?


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 3 years ago from Canada Author

I try to stick with the recommendations in Jillian's books Master Your Metabolism, and Slim For Life. Additionally, ensure to calculate your basal metabolic rate (you can find the formula online) to determine the appropriate daily calorie intake for you.


thevoodoogirl profile image

thevoodoogirl 3 years ago from Chicago

I could see a bit of packs at the top even after a couple of days of exercising. Don't stop!


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 3 years ago from Canada Author

Amazing work, thevoodoogirl!


Meg 3 years ago

Hey , do you lose fat with this , I want to lose 10 lbs and get toned , is this a good workout for me to :)


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 3 years ago from Canada Author

As this is a 35-minute fast-paced workout where you can add weights, you will definitely lose fat and tone up.


Cmays1994 3 years ago

I've done this for two days but I feel nothing in my abs. I know I am doing something wrong so what is it? I'm sweating but I don't feel like my abs are on fire?


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 3 years ago from Canada Author

If you're following the advanced version & are using weights, but you're not feeling any burn during the workout, you may need to step up to level 2, or use heavier weights.


Shred 1t profile image

Shred 1t 3 years ago

Ms VancouverGal,

I'm Liz and am 15 I weigh 95Ibs and I want to have a sixs pack so I've been doing Jullians 6w 6p and I've been wondering do the same rules apply to me of working out 5 times a week, and eating? What changes? Will a 6p show on me as well as an older woman?

And just doing her work out once a day is all the working out I need to do in a day as well? How many calories will I be burning?

Thank you :)

Liz


Shred 1t profile image

Shred 1t 3 years ago

Vancouver,

I'm 15 years old and 95 pounds, 5"3

I was wondering if its alright to still work out 5 times a week as adults do? How many calories will I be burning? And should I still follow the same diet plan? I'm already in good shape, I have a visible 2 pack and a starting to come out 4 pack, and I eat really, really healthy, and stay very active.

Would that be all I would have to work out in a day?

Thank you for listening to my questions! :)


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 3 years ago from Canada Author

Thanks for your queries, Shred 1t!

Unfortunately, I'm not familiar with what's appropriate for teenagers in terms of health and fitness. However, you should definitely ask Jillian Michaels herself - I'm sure she'll be happy to answer your questions during her podcast. You can find more information about her podcast from following Jillian on Twitter or Facebook!

Best of luck!


Shred !t 3 years ago

Thank you :)


Louise 2 years ago

Hey I'm currently 15 stone 2 lbs I have just done

Day 1 on this DVD level one with 3kg weight..: usually doing beginniners but managed a couple of the advanced. I had to miss side planks as because of my obesity my wrists won't hold my weight I at least attempted the others :/ careful

Of my bulging disks in my back. I'm 5ft 5in and I have been dietin seriously since October I lose 2lbs gain 3 lbs lose 1

Lb gain 1lb lose 2lbs. Taking all kinds of supplements

To lose weight and give me energy and nothing is working! Sticking to 1200 a day calories and I'm a single parent to a 5 year old and 21 month old had a

Section 21 months ago I can't get my overhang up enough to let the wound heal! No one is helping me and the gp is USELESS. Will this help me lose weight and begin feeling my stomach again? I've recently been working out on the wii fit ( 5 weeks) at least 5 times per week and last week began muscle workouts including jack knives I feel muscles I haven't felt for 21 months! Thanks for any help


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 2 years ago from Canada Author

Hi Louise! All of the workouts you have mentioned should help you build muscle and burn fat off! Stick to a clean, healthy diet, remember to take it easy to avoid injury, and keep at it! Best of your luck with your journey and keep us posted!


Louise cruickshank 2 years ago

Hey I've been alternating this DVD and the 30 day shred DVD I have lost a total of 6 and a half inches in 5 days but I joined slimming world last night, therefore getting weighed and I've gained 2lbs! :( sooo upset! I'm now 15 stone 4lbs. I was soo physically sore yesterday I thought id done myself an injury felt sick all day and stomach cramps however it's gone today :) found 6w6p DVD easier also ! I won't be weighed until next week now but I do believe my muscles in my stomach actually exist!


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 2 years ago from Canada Author

Congrats, Louise! Remember, muscle weighs more than fat, so if you are losing inches, that's wonderful! The pounds will come off soon enough :)


Louise 2 years ago

Hey usually I wear size 20/22 clothes I went out for the first time in years last night, wearing size 16 top and 16 skinny jeans! I'm not saying it's no hard work ps I lost 3lbs last week at slimming world :)


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 2 years ago from Canada Author

Congratulations, Louise!!! As you build muscle from these workouts, the fit of your clothes counts more than the number on the scale!


Hi 2 years ago

Hey it's Louise I hurt myself doing level 2 some kind of spasm in my back ( I have musculoskeletal back disorder) the dr banned me from working out 2 weeks ago. I'm trying to get back on it tho! Not losing any weight :(


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 2 years ago from Canada Author

Better follow doctor's orders & take care of yourself! I hope you'd been noticing the fit if your clothes improving even if your weight did not change.


Emma 2 years ago

Is it better to focus on one goal right now like loose fat first then build muscle? I usually do strength training but have put on about 12lbs through taking time away from gym after bring ill, so hoped daily short bursts HIIT will boost my fitness, get all the muscles pumping and shed body fat, can I combine this workout with 1 day on 1 day strength train cycle? or better to stick to this 5 days a week - doing once a day wait to see results then focus on lifting again.... Circuits are great and enjoy more than doing the standard weight lifting routine but is this enough to build good muscle too? I understand it will define and shred as HIIT. Thanks for advice in advance. Emma


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 2 years ago from Canada Author

Hi Emma - seeing that you're already accustomed to strength training, you should be able to alternate this workout with your usual strength training, provided you don't become too sore. If you wish to build more muscle with this workout, use heavier weights during the moves where weights are called for, or consider adding wrist or ankle weights. Best of luck!


alizatabassum 2 years ago

Hello !

My weight is 160 pounds and waist is 33'', i wish to make it 26''. in how many days i can get these measurements with jillian micheals 6w6p ???

is there any special diet plan for it??


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 2 years ago from Canada Author

Sorry, but no diet plan is included with this video. However, Jillian provides easy-to-follow diet recommendations in her book "Slim For Life"!


Ana 2 years ago

Hey there! I just move to level 2 today and during the work out i got a lot of pain in my lower back, very stiff too. Is this normal or did i hurt myself. Thanks for your help


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 2 years ago from Canada Author

Ana, I haven't encountered this before, but it sounds like you should take it easy for a while & see a medical professional if things don't get better soon. Best of luck!


TBW1234 18 months ago

Hi. I am a mother of 2 little ones and I am overweight by 25 lbs and have a large bulging belly. Will I see significant results after 6 weeks in the abdomen area as well as the thigh area? My diet isn't great especially being around little ones. But, I try to make sure my portions are reasonable. Hope to see results with the 6 week 6 pack abs workout. Thanks in advance.


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 18 months ago from Canada Author

Hi TBW1234 - you will definitely increase muscle tone & burn off fat in those areas! Make sure to do your best with portion control! Best of luck!


TBW1234 17 months ago

Thank you VancouverGal for your comments. Couple more questions.. I've been doing the 6 pack for a couple weeks now with walking or riding my bike daily and have not seen results yet. When do you start seeing results? And, which of Jillian's DVD will you see weight come off? thanks again!


VancouverGal profile image

VancouverGal 17 months ago from Canada Author

Hi TBW1234 - if after a few weeks, you're not seeing results quite yet (either in the fit of your clothes or from stepping on the scale), you may need to keep a closer eye on your caloric intake. Although no meal plan is provided with this video, Jillian provides easy-to-follow diet recommendations in her book "Slim For Life". Best of luck!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    More by this Author


    Click to Rate This Article
    working