Review on getting a Pedicure

Feet before a Pedicure
Feet before a Pedicure | Source
Feet after a Pedicure
Feet after a Pedicure | Source

My feet were screaming to get some pampering, and they were justified since it had been over 3 months since I gave them attention.

Why pamper your feet?

Our feet are crucial to us. They withstand our body’s weight and take us around. We should give some credit to them via a personal or a professional pedicure.

Pedicure is like servicing of one’s feet since; they happen to carry extra weight of our frame. We usually take about 10,000 steps a day, which could add up to about 115,000 miles in a lifetime. That is all the more reason; our feet need maintenance just like a car goes for servicing every quarter.

Looking at the importance of one’s feet. A pedicure is recommended for a man and a woman.

Health benefits

Cleaning your feet by cutting, and clipping off the nails prevents them to grow inward and cause infection. Helping to keep one’s feet clean from dirt and bacteria and exfoliating it from dead skin cells will help eliminate foot odors, prevent nail diseases, and encourages new skin cells to grow, which helps create a smooth skin for the feet.

Main attraction of getting a Pedicure

A pedicure can be done by oneself or we could go into a spa where they pamper your feet and massage your legs by giving the right pressure and pressing all the right points to relieve the toxins accumulated over time. Main attraction of getting a pedicure in a salon is the massage. The lotions used in the massage moisturize the skin and the massage promotes circulation in the calves and feet. It has also helped in reducing the pain in the foot, and this kind of pampering can also help reduce stress.

Going to a Pedicurist

Usually no appointments are necessary if getting a pedicure in a salon. Just make sure the pedicurist is licensed and accredited and makes you feel comfortable. If you don’t get good vibes from that professional, you could just walk out.

Types of Pedicures
Regular
French
Margarita
Unusual pedicures:Chocolate, Wine,Fish
Regular Pedicure
Regular Pedicure | Source
French Pedicure
French Pedicure | Source
Fish Pedicure
Fish Pedicure | Source

Video on Fish Pedicure

The process

You step in store for a pedicure and they usually have many kinds of pedicures that a customer can indulge their feet in.

Prices of each pedicure varies from city to city. But they usually start from a basic of $20 and above.

  • A Regular Pedicure is the most common type where the customer soaks her/his feet in warm-scented water for some time. Hardened skin is sloughed away with a pumice stone and toe nails are timed and filed. Feet are dipped into paraffin wax, and after the wax dries off, it is peeled away from the feet. This paraffin procedure is highly moisturizing to the dry feet. The pedicurist applies a moisturizer to the feet and gives a good foot massage. Nail polish is applied to the toe nails depending on the choice of the customer. This kind of pedicure is also referred to as a mini-pedi or a miniature pedicure and is less time consuming for people on the run.

Note: Nail color is optional if a man is getting a pedicure. However, the fun associated with getting your toenails colored is exceptional.

  • A French Pedicure is also immensely popular where the customer nails are trimmed and dead cells are peeled off either using a pumice stone or a scrubber. Feet and legs are moisturized and massaged with a lotion. A natural shade or a light pink color of nail polish is applied. White polish is applied to the tip of the toe nails.
  • Margarita pedicures also available where the feet are scrubbed with salt scrub and limes are added to the soaking water for the skin of the feet to be toned and boost its circulation by removing its toxins.
  • Some unusual pedicures

Chocolate and wine pedicures are somewhat unusual where the customer’s feet are soaked in chocolate or wine respectively prior to getting their toenails trimmed and cleaned.

Scientifically proven pedicures, which are proven to treat people suffering from psoriasis and eczema. Customer’s feet are dipped in a fish tank. These fishes are referred to as nibbler fish and are supposed to eat dead skin. These are a specific kind of fishes and are usually native to the rivers of parts of the Middle East.

4.9 out of 5 stars from 9 ratings of Would you like to get a pedicure?

A word of Caution

A person going in for a pedicure is to be aware of the instruments used in the salon. Make sure the instruments are sterilized prior to usage.

Conclusion

A pedicure will leave you feeling pampered, and healthy, as it is intensely therapeutic and healing to the feet.

Indulge in it now, so that your feet are strong and recharged to do the walking for the shopping during the festival time.

More by this Author


Comments 42 comments

lovedoctor926 4 years ago

Great hub.. spa pedicures are awesome. I prefer french because they last about three weeks. red and wicked by opi are hot colors.

margarita pedicures seem refreshing. I don't think any salon offers them yet.


billybuc profile image

billybuc 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

Ruchira, I have never had one, and I am feeling quite left-out right now. :) I'm sure they feel heavenly; not sure I can talk myself into getting one. It just doesn't seem "manly." LOL Great review my friend, and have a great weekend.


SommerDalton profile image

SommerDalton 4 years ago

Great hub, I take care of my feet year around because I like to go barefoot alot. Voted up!


Just Ask Susan profile image

Just Ask Susan 4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

I've never had a professional pedicure but it looks so relaxing .


Joy56 profile image

Joy56 4 years ago

i absolutely love having a pedicure, and recently when funds have been low, i have been teaching my husband how to give me a perfect pedicure. Every time he grumbles i tell him how much money we are saving, and he just keeps removing the hard skin..... ha ah


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida

My children are already asking me what I want for Christmas. A pedicure has been requested. I am too frugal to pay for one myself, but what a nice gift that would be!

I voted this UP, etc.


fpherj48 profile image

fpherj48 4 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

Ruchira....LOL....Tickle, Tickle...."This little piggy went to market...." I LOVE having a pedicure. Such luxury. It's what I do for me when I think I really deserve it! So relaxing..not to mention how pretty our feet look when it's done! This is an enjoyable hub, Ruchira....UP+++


Sunshine625 profile image

Sunshine625 4 years ago from Orlando, FL

I've always done my own pedicures and I am due for one. Thank you for the reminder. I think those fish nibblers are cool, but heard the horror stories about getting bacterial infections from them so I will opt out of the fishies.


shiningirisheyes profile image

shiningirisheyes 4 years ago from Upstate, New York

I give myself regular pedicures although I've always wanted to try the fish pedicures.


always exploring profile image

always exploring 4 years ago from Southern Illinois

It's been a long time since i've had a pedicure. I usually do my own. I love the French, maybe i'll have one. Greay hub. Thank's


teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 4 years ago

I would love a pedicure right now. They are so wonderful and love the way my feet feel and look afterwards. What a great post and enjoyed learning about the different kinds of peds.


ChristyWrites profile image

ChristyWrites 4 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

I have to admit I have never had a professional pedicure. I once had a manicure :) Thanks for the info!


Lipnancy profile image

Lipnancy 4 years ago from Hamburg, New York

This sound like heaven to me. I have never had a pedicure at a store.


midget38 profile image

midget38 4 years ago from Singapore

Pedicures do make one feel refreshed after they are done! Thanks for sharing the benefits with us too. Great work, Ruchira! Sharing!


Vellur profile image

Vellur 4 years ago from Dubai

A pedicure is awesome!! Never heard of chocolate and wine pedcure, I wonder how that would be. You are right the place where we get our pedicure done must be clean. The better option is to carry our own nail kit.


Alecia Murphy profile image

Alecia Murphy 4 years ago from Wilmington, North Carolina

A fish pedicure? I'm not so sure about that one. Chocolate and wine does sound luxurious. I've never had a professional pedicure but it sounds like something worth trying. Voted up and interesting!


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA

My younger brother, an army captain, swears by pedicures. If ever I decided to get one, your hub provides a good overview. Voting this Up and Useful.


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 4 years ago from South Carolina

Informative and comprehensive review of the different kinds of pedicures and also the health benefits in getting a pedicure.

Rated up across the board except for funny. This definitely made me want to run out and get my feet pampered!


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Thanks lovedoctor. I am glad you found the above useful. Margarita pedicures usually offered in high scale spas but never been there, just heard of them :)


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Haha...bill.

Actually it is not at all manly. I have seen men get it done :) good luck.


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

I am glad you take care of your feet, sommerdalton. Cheers!

Susan, you should go cause the massages are to die for...very relaxing and feet feel very light


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

That's hilarious joy56. I am glad your hubby does it even if with cribbing...lol


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Mary, I am glad you grabbed the opportunity. I am sure you will enjoy it and feel light by the removal of toxins. Happy holidays Mary.


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Exactly Paula. I love it as well cause feet get all worn out and my toes are screaming for attention. The oil massages rejuvenate the feet and they start to sing...this little piggy stayed at home ;)


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Hi Linda

I have never tried the fish pedicure and yes I fear about that kinda infection too.

Enjoy your pedicure ;)


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

I am glad you are a fan of pedicures shiningirisheyes

Cheers!


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Hi ruby,

French pedicure looks good. Go for it, my friend :)

Hi dianna

I agree the after pedi feeling is good. Thanks for stopping by.


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Christy you should try it. I am sure you will enjoy it.

Lipnancy, you should try it as well.

I am glad you enjoy it, Michelle.

Hi nithya, I am glad you enjoy it as well. Cheers!


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Alecia, you should try it. It's a good feeling.

Alocsin, I am sure you will love it. It takes the stress out of your feet and feet have all the good acupressure points for relief.

Happyboomernurse, you should get one. Feel the difference. Good luck :)


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England

Love the idea of the pedicure Ruchira, but I think I will pass on the fish one! lol! they actually started doing it in my town, but I was thinking that it can't be very hygenic, and slightly creepy! great review, and voted up and tweeted!


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Hi Nell,

Personally even I would opt out of the fish pedi but the remaining sound rejuvenating.

Good luck for yours :)


Dexter Yarbrough profile image

Dexter Yarbrough 4 years ago from United States

Great hub! I think pedicures are a wonderful and necessary treat!


rajan jolly profile image

rajan jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

I didn't know men too went in for pedicures. Now I know better Ruchira. Thanks for sharing this info. Voted up and interesting.


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 4 years ago from Houston, Texas

I think that I have only had 2 professional pedicures in my entire life and just a few more professional manicures than that. Mostly I just tackle caring for my own nails. It sounds like a great indulgence and would be a treat. Wine, chocolate and fish...think I will keep those for eating and drinking instead of applying them to my feet. Ha! Voted interesting and will share.


Frank Atanacio profile image

Frank Atanacio 4 years ago from Shelton

i dont think ill get a pedicure but thanks for the review Ruch.. you write it so well..:)


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Thanks Dexter and Rajan.

Yes, Pedicures are done by men too. Get yourself pampered especially you will love the massages :)


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Thanks Peggy. I am glad you got to experience it.

haha..Frank. No problemo, my friend. but you should get your feet massaged and you will love it :)


azure_sky profile image

azure_sky 4 years ago from Somewhere on the Beach, if I am lucky :)

Wow, Up'd plus more!! Great hub that I learned a lot from! I've only done regular and french pedi's, but for the most part, I do my own....but the Margarita one sounds very invigorating! Thanks for sharing!

Blessings from Texas


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States Author

Thanks.

I am glad I could entice you with it :)


thumbi7 profile image

thumbi7 4 years ago from India

The thought of getting a pedicure itself is so relaxing.

I think it is time to attend my feet

Thanks for sharing


Imogen French profile image

Imogen French 4 years ago from Southwest England

what a lovely idea for a christmas present, or even as a present to myself! great hub, thanks for the idea :)


ishwaryaa22 profile image

ishwaryaa22 4 years ago from Chennai, India

A well-written and detailed review! I have done pedicure at home but I would like to have one at a spa as it would be a more enjoyable and luxurious experience. Your engaging review made me want to try it soon. Way to go!

Thanks for SHARING. Useful & Interesting. Voted up & shared

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working