How much do you know about STD's?

Jump to Last Post 1-8 of 8 discussions (14 posts)
  1. Davinagirl3 profile image60
    Davinagirl3posted 14 years ago

I have noticed that some of my younger classes have some serious misconceptions about the transmission of sexually transmitted diseases.  Any insights, or questions that you need cleared up?  I am not a doctor.  I am a health educator who teaches adult classes on HIV/AIDS and STD's.  I can give general information on the basic facts and transmission of these diseases.  I am interested in hearing your thoughts about these diseases and the state of sex education in the US.  I shudder at what our children will be exposed to because of ignorance on our government's part.

1. Lady_E profile image63
      Lady_Eposted 14 years agoin reply to this

From experience (not experience of STD's) I would suggest you get a very good DVD (obviously related to STD's) for them to watch.  Let them discuss it with each other in groups after watching and be ready to answer their questions.  Good Luck smile

2. Ambition profile image60
      Ambitionposted 14 years agoin reply to this

STD spread by having sex with a person already affected from that disease. i think AIDS is a kind of STD

2. Colebabie profile image59
    Colebabieposted 14 years ago

I work in health promotions and teach sexual health to our students. The STI presentation is our most requested. But it's good to know I'm not the only educated one out there smile Sex education wasn't too bad when I was in high school, but it wasn't great either. sad

Davinagirl3posted 14 years agoin reply to this

I got the rare opportunity to teach a group of 10th grade girls in my area.  The amount of information they didn't have was overwhelming.  I went to high school 15 years ago, and we had sex ed.  Nowadays, it is forbidden in most public high schools in the states.

1. Maddie Ruud profile image72
        Maddie Ruudposted 14 years agoin reply to this