jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (12 posts)

New runner!!

1. chrissie123 profile image60
    chrissie123posted 7 years ago

I'm taking up running. I started not to long ago. I am really likeing it. I want to get myself to running 3 miles a day any advice?

1. hubby7 profile image81
      hubby7posted 7 years ago in reply to this

I've been running for over 25 years. It's my favorite form of exercise together with biking. My advice to you is that you let your running come to you and not you to your running. In other words, listen to your body. Increase your speed when your body tells you to increase your speed. Increase your distance when your body tells you to do so. Break your goal up into smaller parts. Strive to run only a half or a single mile at a comfortable pace at first. As you become comfortable running a mile with no problem, move on to set your next goal at 1.5 or 2 miles. Once you are comfortable running 2 miles, set your goal at 2.5 or 3 miles. Always listen to your body! It will tell you when to run faster or how far to run. My point is that your goals should not be made in concrete. They are mere general guidelines that are subordinate to what your body tells you to do or what you are capable of.

One thing more: Since you LIKE running, you are already ahead of the ball game. You are doing something you like. No one has to spur you on. Before you know it, you will be running 3 miles. I have absolute CONFIDENCE in your achieving your goal! Good luck!

chrissie123posted 7 years ago in reply to this

Thanks this helps alot!!!!! I really appreciate your advice! I can do this!

2. Drew Breezzy profile image79
      Drew Breezzyposted 7 years ago in reply to this

don't over do it speed wise  take it easy and slowly increase distance and speed.

Are you planning to race? or get in shape? what are your goals?