Jane Austen themed gifts

Looking for a gift for someone who loves Jane Austen? If you know someone who is in love with Mr Darcy perhaps, or maybe just thinks men look better in breeches, then a Jane Austen themed gift will be perfect.

I've compiled a few ideas here for gifts that Austen fans are sure to love, whether it's for Christmas, birthday or just because.

Pride and Prejudice- BBC Adaptation

For me this is still the definitive Pride and Prejudice, though it is seventeen years old now. Everyone is perfectly cast; not only can I not imagine anyone but Jennifer Ehle as Lizzie or Colin Firth as Darcy, the supporting characters are all absolutely perfect as well. It's my favorite Pride and Prejudice and the best Austen adaptation.

Pocket Posh: Jane Austen

One-hundred Austen themed puzzles and quizzes to keep the cogs in your brain turning. If the lucky recipient of your gift loves puzzles and Austen, then this is perfect.

Jane Austen's Guide to Good Manners- Josephine Ross

A book or Regency etiquette for Austen fans, this little guide will explain what a lady ought to wear on her morning walk, how to return a call and, most importantly, how to refuse an offer of marriage.

The Darcy's of Pemberley- Shannon Winslow

There's an enormous amount of Jane Austen fan-fiction out there and this is just one of the many on offer. The Darcy's of Pemberley picks up after Pride and Prejudice ends and is the author's take on what happens next. It's perfect for anyone who ever wondered how their marriage fared, and whether or not Mr Wickham really could turnover a new leaf.

Jane Austen: A Life- Claire Tomalin

As her brother Henry said, "My dear sister's life was not a life of events," but this biography is no less interesting. With such a large family and many acquaintances, she knew lots of people unusual people who enriched her life and influenced her work. This is a great book for anyone trying to get to know Jane Austen and understand her writings.

Jane Austen Entertains: Music From Her Own Library

Austen copied many manuscripts to play herself and this is a CD of recordings of songs that she had enjoyed. It's lovely, light, background music and really sets the atmosphere for the party scenes in her novels.

More by this Author


Comments 4 comments

The Fastionista 4 years ago

Hi Hayley! Thanks for a great hub - I absolutely love the Pocket Posh gift idea - how perfect for the Austen fan - really a unique gift! I'm filing these ideas away for bithdays and Christmas this year - voted up and awesome!


Hayley Richardson profile image

Hayley Richardson 4 years ago from London, UK Author

Thanks!


VendettaVixen profile image

VendettaVixen 4 years ago from Ireland

Very entertaining hub. While I don't know anyone who's a big Jane Austen fan, I did enjoy the read. I'm going to bookmark it just in case I discover one of my friends is a fan.

Thanks for the unique and thoughtful gift ideas.


Annette R. Smith profile image

Annette R. Smith 4 years ago from Orlando, Florida

Hello, Hayley! Thank you for these great gift ideas. I love Jane Austen's books and the films that are based on them. By the way, the BBC adaptation of "Pride and Prejudice" is my favorite version, too -- although I think the classic movie with Greer Garson and Laurence Olivier is fun to watch.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working