Book Review Making It Home by Liz Moore

Liz Moore's first novel...an amazing adventure
Liz Moore's first novel...an amazing adventure | Source
My fun friends in SE Kansas celebrating Patsy's b'day (sitting)...there's LIZ MOORE on the far left as you view the picture...she wrote this GREAT book!!!  then Donna, me, Becky and Val  9.16.11
My fun friends in SE Kansas celebrating Patsy's b'day (sitting)...there's LIZ MOORE on the far left as you view the picture...she wrote this GREAT book!!! then Donna, me, Becky and Val 9.16.11 | Source

First time non fiction writer and good friend Liz Moore releases hard copy version



MAKING IT HOME...a novel by Liz Moore

"A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step..." Lao Tsu

I read and reviewed Making It Home, immediately upon reading her fantastic journey. Rushing off to Amazon.com, I wrote my glowing review of my friend's book. I had expectations that the writing would be good; afterall, Liz spent part of her adult career as a writer. Knowing the soft spoken Liz, I thought her novel would be demure .. well, was I surprised. Liz has shared a big part of herself that isn't immediately obvious. This polite, gentile woman has let it all out as she chronicles her travels from small town to small town, finding temporary home withing the lives of others; either in individual residences or as part of a quaint, homey Bed and Breakfast in the hills of the West Coast. I wish I could share my entire Amazon review but it is not avilable for this site. Please check out Amazon.com to find more information, helpful reviews and comments. In the meantime, I have a bit more to share about Liz and her great story:

Available now on Amazon. com and Barnes and Noble online, my good friend has just notified friends and family that the hardcopy edition of her delightful book is now ready for our eager hands to hold a real life bound edition of her excellent story.

I met Liz when I moved to SE Kansas almost 5 years ago. An engaging, thoughtful and soft spoken woman, I quickly discovered how much I could learn from Liz's life experiences including her lengthy career in the field of writing as well as being instrumental in altruistic endeavors as represented in her work with The March of Dimes.

Liz is from a small farming community in America's heartland. She attended grade school, middle and high school in the area before venturing off to college and career. Having resided in Washington D.C., Virginia, and Texa while following her career opportunities, Liz was able to sample a wide variety of life and style within these United States. Along with her many and varied "homes away from home," Liz has been a world traveler, having visited such sought after locals as the beautiful Mediterranean coast of Italy and environs, among others. She once shared the story of having seen the play Cats in Europe in a grand theatre with all the accoutrements which make such an experience heightened beyond one's greatest expectation.

Somewhere along the way, Liz came upon the idea of visiting different parts of America, on her own and with no particular time frame except that she hoped to complete her check list of the 'new and untried' within a year's time. Contributing to this amazing decision was the fact that Liz had reached 'middle age,' a time when most are slowing down and making every attempt to create a predictable, secure, routine existence....not Liz!

Her book, Making It Home, is quite an adventure. I downloaded it immediately upon hearing that it was available, initially, only on Kindle...I truly did "devour" each and every word." Here, within the very well written pages of her journey, was a story with which I related in so many ways. Along with the sheer enjoyment of reading such a well told story were many emotions and thoughts including, "I wish I'd done this," "what a beautiful and brave concept," "no wonder everyone loves Liz so," "this crazy woman put herself in some pretty risky places," "how could she possibly have done THAT," and more.

I am very pleased that, today, on my FB page, I discovered that Liz had completed her final edit and the book is now available in local SE Kansas bookstores, online and in some libraries. With demand comes a wider choice of purchase points so, I am officially 'putting out the word!"

Making It Home is a fun, fantastic and fabulous romp through America by one very brave and gutsy lady who had the vision and gumption to get out there and do it!!! This, alone, is worth going out and picking up a copy ASAP! (Lucky me, I've been told by my friend Al that a hardback, autographed copy is waiting for me when I return to SE Kansas!!)

Congratulations, Liz Moore, on a job well done!









More by this Author


Comments 26 comments

A.A. Zavala profile image

A.A. Zavala 5 years ago from Texas

Sounds like there are many parallels between your life and the authors! An interesting review, I'm sure that it's an awesome read. Thank you for sharing. Should I ever write my autobiography, I would be honored if you did my review. How to describe me? A mix between George Clooney, Eric Estrada, and the incredible hulk. OH, and with a heart of gold.


marellen 5 years ago

@A.A. LOL

Lucky....this sounds like my kind of read. Can't wait to buy it....thanks for the review..


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Augustine...hahalololhaha..for real! You are so funny and you make me laugh out loud. And, I bet you are, too!!! (what you said ;D )....thank you so much for the ...for the...uh...fun, cute, funny, hilarious and oh so clever comment!


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Hi there marellen! So glad you saw this one..because, I swear, I recommend this book to anyone, and particularly, any woman from the age of 30 to forever...and, while I am thinking about it; this is a great adventure story for anyone...of any age. Just truly fun, interesting...lots of introspection by Liz as she goes from place to place...experiences only placing oneself in such a possition would provide..just great. Thank you SO much for visiting and commenting..and, once you've had a chance to read this (kindle..now..hardcover online thru several outlets)...do, please, let me know your opinion. Kathy


Binaya.Ghimire 5 years ago

Your review is interesting. I will read the book and see if I could find any similarities between you and the author.


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Hello Binaya! Thank you for visiting this book review. Liz is a wonderful person and her adventure through new and different small towns as well as a few with larger populations is a joy to read. I particularly like the thoughts she has throughout the story. There might be some similarities in the adventurous spirit we share. Thank you, Binaya.


Chatkath profile image

Chatkath 5 years ago from California

Hi Kathy, I can't tell you how many times I have wanted to just hop in my car and drive.....no distinct plans, but rather a "learning" journey to further define who I am by the way I react and respond to ever changing surroundings. There are so many places that I have never experienced!

But of course, cats don't travel very well so I must check out this book, Liz sounds like a courageous and spirited woman who is actually doing what so many of us only imagine! Thank you for sharing - Hope you are settling in and your feline family is well!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

Hi, I would love to travel across my country, its not so big! lol but I would love to have the nerve to do it, this is a great review, and I really found it interesting, maybe it will be a good inspiration and get me out of the house! cheers nell


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Kathy! Hi my dear! Trust me, if you have unsatisfied wanderlust...this is the book to read. I related SO MUCH to Liz's story...she is very much like us; kitty lover and single (for the most part) independent woman... living vicariously through her words is a treat! I applaud her fortitude...really..she's a little woman with a big spirit and energy and fearless. You Will love the book. Thank you for checking this out.

Well, I am "catless" or 'cat-free' at the moment. All the kitties are still in SE Kansas...I'm working here trying to prepare several out buildings for their housing..they'll have lots of room it's just that I have had to have huge trees cut back off the roof of one cabin...it'll need a new roof...all kinds of expensive stuff...so, Al's in Kansas caring for the kits while I'm here taking care of this side. I'm headed back on Sat. though, for a month or so..then back here...yikes!


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Hi Nell...hey, just "do it." yeah, right..lol...anyway, you have such a beautiful, green country to explore..I've always dreamed of visiting but, alas, have not yet ventured to that part of the continent. I've actually dreamed of being downtown in London, in the dark night....entering a small, corner pub and walking down stairs to a lower level where it's somewhat dark and a little 'smoky,' and there's music in the background....a very vivid dream I've had several times. Anyway, I'm getting away w/myself...for a vicarious chance at travel...you must read this neat book...you really do feel as if you're in the seat w/Liz...seeing things or the first time; her thoughts, observations...all the really cool people she meets...very good. It is on Kindle as well as hard cover, now. thanks for the visit Nell! Kathy


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

Hi, this sounds as though you really should visit England! we have loads of those dark and smoky pubs! they are the best, the pubs today seem to be getting more modern, so I still love the old ones! you would love them, cheers nell


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

You know, Nell...one day I will...it's always been a dream....and a dream! I have always been so attracted to those 'out of the way' dark and mysterious havens of neer do wells! A little dangerous. thanks for getting back to me...Kathy


always exploring profile image

always exploring 5 years ago from Southern Illinois

Wouldn't it be wonderful to just get in your car and drive? Leaving all your worries behind. I definitely want to read this book. Thank you for info. about the book.....


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

I feel the same way, always....just get up and go without any constraints. And Liz did just that! How cool is this!?! And she lived to tell the story...you will love it...I sure enjoyed reading this book...on Kindle, too. Thank you for stopping by..so glad you did. Kathy


Alastar Packer profile image

Alastar Packer 5 years ago from North Carolina

Travel/adventure writing can be some of the best reading and with your fine review it appears Ms. Moore has just that. From 'Cats' done European style to looking for America must certainly make this a fantastic read. PS- That is awesome when you get a signed 1st edition, Lucky you!


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Good and wonderful morning to you Alastar ! I am a lucky lady, indeed, that a signed hardcover copy is waiting for me..and, here's the icing on the cake and cherry on top....there are three reviews on the vack covers and, a quote from me is ON TOP !! So, immortalized on glossy cover!! Her Cats experience isn't in the book but I used that as a little example to color her personality so others would be more inclined to read her story. She has seen much of this world...on her own for a good % of, too..which impresses me greatly.

Hey, I love the new photograph...very good looking, Mr. Packer. Thanks for your comment and visit!!


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

My hub about my friend's book Making It Home is back up on Hub Pages. I want to thank the HP team for acting quickly to republish this once I'd made the requisite changes. Kathy


marcoujor profile image

marcoujor 5 years ago from Jeffersonville PA

AAZ, I know someone you can see for your self-esteem problem! LOL, I will enjoy Kathy's review on your autobiography!

Kathy, as I "just barely" fit into the 30+ (hee-hee) age category, I will look forward to reading this wonderful book, based on your review. Thank you for sharing it with us! Voted UP & ABI, mar.


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Mar..you're a doll and a NUT!! i LOVE your comments and your emails and your great....GREAT sense of humor! You will love this book..it's fun and magical in many ways...Liz is a very cool woman! Love you my friend.!! BTW, the entro is a response to the fact that my original version of this hub contained my Amazon review of Liz's book...but HP pulled it after several days due to 'duplication' so I changed it ...Thank you , my dear....Me!


A.A. Zavala profile image

A.A. Zavala 5 years ago from Texas

I attempted to answer you response to the email setting question you asked, but hubpages wouldn't let me answer twice.

Whenever anyone questions hubpages actions or features, it's my contention that "they" mess with you and your profile. After my two week battle over "Narcissus Weeps," my hubscore never rose, and I had accolades badges missing. People were unable to vote on my hubs also. Seems like the dust settled, and they have forgotten about me.

Hupages better not mess with you or your profile. If they do, they will have to contend with your devious, deviant, and loyal followers. Epi is devious, I'm deviant, and your followers are loyal.


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Oh Augustine..you are really too much. I love it! A true warrior and protector of all things held dear..my! Well, I should have been able to figure it out..after all! But, you saved the day and my contact is up and active...I wonder, perhaps, if the same has happened to me because I DID react rather with ire when I first was notified about the 'duplication.' This is the second time I've had to redo...and, now..though I'm enjoying many visits to several hubs and lots of comments and I'm contributing, etc...my score dipped from 96 to 92..it matters not, thought...I believe it is totally arbitrary...it would be against the HP's greater good to mess w/writers who produce clicks ... they'd lose money if any one of us decided to exit this venue.

Oh..well...I so appreciate all the wonderful words and kind support from you Augustine...a true gentleman and "deviant" believer! (NOT!) Kathy


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 5 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA

Hi Kathy,

What a beautiful review and tribute to Liz. I have to check her book out. Sounds great! Best wishes on your trip back to Kansas. You are one busy girl!

Sharyn


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Good Morning Sharyn....you know, what I do understand and "know" about you....I am promising that you will LOVE this book..Liz is very bright, introspective, empathetic and vulnerable...and her story is one most of the women I know (through "real" life and through virtual avenues) will absolutely relate to this book. It's great fun to read, too. thanks for the visit...I really hope you do find time to read this book (Kindle or hardcopy)...can't wait to see what others think. Kathy


prasetio30 profile image

prasetio30 5 years ago from malang-indonesia

I love this book. It looks so interesting to read. Nice review and thanks for share with us. Vote up!


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Thank you Prasetio! You WILL enjoy the book and story...it is Universal and not limited to the sexual identity of the writer..I would say it is "unisex" in experience and response. A great read for ALL!! Very appreciated, Prasetio!!


Lucky Cats profile image

Lucky Cats 5 years ago from The beautiful Napa Valley, California Author

Just added a picture from our party last night celebrating Patsy's birthday and Liz's book...fun and crazy friends in Independence, Kansas. We had a great time.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working