Book Review: The Sneetches By Dr. Seuss

The Story of the Sneetches

The Sneetches are a group of yellow bird-like creatures that live on a beach in a far away land. And on this beach there are two types of Sneetches: One type with green stars on their bellies and one type without. The Sneetches that do not have green stars on their bellies were always looked down upon by the Green-Star-Bellied Sneetches, as it was very fashionable to have green stars on one's belly. The Sneetches without green stars on their bellies were very saddened by this as they very much wanted to be a part of the "in-crowd" and wanted to be liked by everyone, especially by the Green-Star-Bellied Sneetches, but it was just not possible...

That was until one day, a "fix-it-up chappie" named Sylvester McMonkey McBean shows up and offers to the discontented star-less Sneetches a solution: For only three-dollars he will allow each of them to venture through his "Star-On" machine. Sylvester McMonkey McBean's "Star-On" machine was quickly a huge success and in no time at all, the star-less Sneetches were no longer star-less, because they were finally happy with how they looked! But this did not go over so well with the original Green-Star-Bellied Sneetches because they could no longer discriminate against the once star-less Sneetches who were now looked exactly like them! So just when they were stumped on what to do, Sylvester McMonkey McBean offers to go through his "Star-Off" machine for a paltry ten dollars and so, the Sneetches who originally had green stars on their bellies comply and venture through McBean's second and newer machine.

However, here arose another problem: Being that McBean had no problem letting any of the Sneetches through his newest machine--originally starred Sneetches or not--so long as they paid him. In essence, McBean allows even the recently starred Sneetches through and this further escalates more and more as all the Sneetches are running back and forth between his first machine to his second, newer machine:

Sylvester McMonkey McBean's Star-On Machine

"...until neither the Plain nor Star-Bellies knew

whether this one was that one or that one was this one

or which one was what one...or what one was who."

This goes on until all of the Sneetches on the beach are flat-broke and Sylvester McMonkey McBean is rich and so leaves while laughing at the absolute silliness he observed by all the Sneetches. McBean shakes his head and concedes, "You can't teach a Sneetch." But in spite of this, the Sneetches do learn from this experience and all the Sneetches come to realize that neither green-starred bellied Sneetches nor star-less bellied Sneetches were superior and so were all the same as they were ALL SNEETCHES, no matter what. It is because of this that they are all able to become friends and coexist peacefully with one another.

The Moral of the Story

I absolutely enjoyed this book as a kid and as an adult. It is my firm belief that this is truly one of the most important books to ever be published, including Shel Silverstein's The Giving Tree because of the valuable lessons it continually teaches us. I'm overwhelmed by the power of what just a few colorful pictures and letters bound together by cardboard can do...By the way, did I mention that I like books? Please take the time to look at my other review of The Giving Tree at your convenience!

There are many factors involved when reading The Sneetches. Obviously, an adult should read this book with a broader view on certain topics not up to but including racism, materialism, imperialism and diplomacy. What Seuss' Sneetches teach us is that whether or not green stars are on their bellies or not is rather a silly reason to mistreat or disenfranchise other Sneetches who don't have such things. The way in which the Green-starred Sneetches carried themselves with their chins in the air and their uppity-attitude is the much the same way in which those who think they are more "privileged" than others carry themselves.

What Seuss is teaching us is that it is silly to make such irrelevant fusses about trivial things because we are all components of the human race. Think of the period of the New Immigrants in America that bought over the massive wave of Irish, or the Jim Crow laws of the Twentieth Century and the Japanese Internment Camps during the Second World War. Speaking of which, what about the Holocaust? In my religion, I learned that "Hate only breeds more Hate and that Love only breeds more Love. So since The Sneetches is in fact a children's book that normally should be read to and given to children by parents, doesn't it make sense that parents should share this book with their children? Shouldn't Dr. Seuss' message be conveyed to the tender minds of children? I believe so and I hope you do too. Thank you so much for letting me share this with you.

I'm Doing It For Hub Love, Love (Hub 1/30)

Sneetches Are Now On Sale!

More by this Author

  • Book Review: Danny, Champion of the World by Roald Dahl
    37

    General Overview When reading Road Dahl’s, Danny, Champion of the World as a child, I was drawn into the idea of a tight-knit family consisting of simply a father and his son. The closeness between Danny and...

  • Harry Potter: Dark Vs. Light
    54

    To celebrate the opening of the sixth installment of the Harry Potter movie Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, I thought it sensible to write a HUB on Harry Potter. The release date was July 17th, 2009. So, just in...

  • Deal or No Deal Model Ursula Mayes
    91

    Okay, so if you've been following me as of late, you're probably wondering whether or not this "Ursula Mayes" is also Lao or Thai after having checked out Amy Chanthaphavong: Miss Asian America 2009, Alexandra...


Comments 125 comments

Uninvited Writer profile image

Uninvited Writer 7 years ago from Kitchener, Ontario

This is an excellent hub. What a great story that is; I'm ashamed to say I've never read it. I love Dr. Seuss.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, UW. Yeah, you're not the only one! Hopefully I'll change that though, right? Thanks for the love!


flavorofair profile image

flavorofair 7 years ago from California

I've never seen that one. Definitely will check it out next time I go to the book store :) Thank you!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

You better. Your daughter will love it, and let's not forget the bun in the oven too!


KCC Big Country profile image

KCC Big Country 7 years ago from Central Texas

As I mentioned in the forum, this is my favorite Dr.Seuss book for exactly the reason you mentioned. It is such a powerful tale the demonstrates an even more powerful lesson. Thanks for sharing this great hub!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Not a problem. Thank you for reading it. I got a few more Ideas on the horizon. Hopefully I'll be able to pull it off! Just 1 hub per day and I'll reach my goal!


Ultimate Hubber profile image

Ultimate Hubber 7 years ago

Seems like a very interesting story. I shall bookmark it so that when I come back online I will read this in detail.

Thanx for posting it though.


shamelabboush profile image

shamelabboush 7 years ago

True, this is a nice symbolic story. I read it all and applied it to many situations in life.


wesleycox profile image

wesleycox 7 years ago from Back in Texas, at least until August 2012

Great morallay based story by Dr. Suess. That dude was a genious I think.


Tom Cornett profile image

Tom Cornett 7 years ago from Ohio

Great hub john...my favorite Seuss story. It reminds me of what the McBean banks have done to us now. Thanks! :)


ralwus 7 years ago

Yeah the Dr was pretty slick at getting sublime messages across. Great hub


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

UH-Please do. One of my goals when writing book reviews is to remind others of the valuable lessons books can teach us. Thanks.

shamelabboush-I gotta find the link, but NATO shipped something in the neighborhood of 50,000 copies of the Sneetches to a third country that was in racial turmoil to quell a conflict believe or not...I'll have to find the article. Thanks again.

wesleycox-Seuss was definitely a genius! Literally masters today are still deconstructing his books that were meant for 4 year olds! I appreciate your comment.

Tom-Mine too, as it's also one of his most important. And yeah, McBean is definitely live and kicking! I use to think you put money in the bank to make money! Thanks.

ralwus-Yes, he was. His messages although simple should never be taken lightly. His books will forever continue praise and will continue to sell. Think about all of the high school and college grads that receive the book, "Oh, the Places You'll Go!" Thank you for reading!


hubpageswriter 7 years ago

Awesome..

I was entertained reading this..


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks as always, HP Writer, as I had a great deal of fun writing this too!


\Brenda Scully 7 years ago

hey that hit a note with me, it is 5a.m. and I think this is a good time for me to read hubs.... concentration good.


Chris Eddy111 profile image

Chris Eddy111 7 years ago from Ontario, Canada

I enjoyed reading your hub a lot. Lessons and experiences for all.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Chris and I enjoyed reading yours. Isn't it amazing how such a small book can have convey such a significant message?


Carla Soho profile image

Carla Soho 7 years ago

Great hub, I love Dr. Seuss!!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks Carla. I'm just glad that I've beaten everyone else to the punch, at least at Hubpages to write a hub on this amazingly simple yet profound work!


wannabwestern profile image

wannabwestern 7 years ago from The Land of Tractors

This was a great book review. I want to read the book now! When was this book published? I'm thinking there's some World War II symbolism going on in this story, since the Jews in Germany, Poland, France, and other places occupied by the Nazis were required to wear stars as a symbol of their supposed "inferiority." It was just like Dr. Seuss to go beyond the straightforward story and make a stand. I'll be sure to read this to my kids.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hi, wannabwestern. Don't hesitate, please read this to you children and/or better yet, buy this book for them. It should be an heirloom for years to come (and don't let them color it in like I used to with some of my books when I was a kid). Thanks for reading!


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 7 years ago from India

Great review - Dr Seuss is one of my favourites and I've read and re-read this to my daughter so many times when she was young. Yes, I agree with you - we need to pay attention as adults as well to the lessons books like these teach.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, shalini for the comment. I look forward to the day when I have children just so I can teach to them everything that I've learned.


Carla Soho profile image

Carla Soho 7 years ago

I gave another point up...this is my favourite!!!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Carla. I'm glad that you enjoyed it! I believe this to be a "Must Have" for every parent to give to their child.


דיני עבודה 7 years ago

This is such a great story! I agree it must be read by all children and adults. In fact it should be part of the obligations in schools. It teaches kids how to respect all human beings equally and not judge them by their appearance, or religoun. Unfortunatly, we live in a crazy world, full of wars based on descrimination, racism and lots of hate. The one important thing we ought to teach our children, and our selves, is how to heal our world from this kind of hatered. How to love and respect all sneetches, even if some have stars on, or not. We are all people. I think this book can explain this issue in a fun and exciting way, not to mention- very coloful, like humans are! So, even if u dont like sneetchers- remember- Never judge a book by its cover!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

This is one of the best comments I've heard yet. Being of Asian descent, I actually experience (notice I'm not referring this experience in the past tense) reverse-racism in which some people simply assume that I'm good at math, know martial arts or can speak either Chinese and/or Japanese (Some people think that there are only two or three countries in Asia, Korea being the probable third). But reverse-racism is racism nevertheless. It is ignorant to really assume anything about a person. It's much better to get to know a person first before making any preconceived notions.

Thank you for your comment.


kirstenblog profile image

kirstenblog 7 years ago from London UK

OMG! I love Dr Seuss, this book is totally awsome. You are very clever to write about it. Have you read 'oh the places you'll go'. Maybe I should do a review later today when I need a bit of fun, so again thanks for the idea. You have helped to create an impression on me that this site has a wonderful community, you really do add to the friendliness of the community making this site what it is, addictive!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Kirsten. Yes, this place definitely has a wonderful community of writers. I read "Oh, the Places You'll Go" a long time ago, but I think I remember it. It's one of those books almost every college graduate receives as a gift for Commencement. I for one did not receive it:( But that is a great idea for a hub! Go for it! I promise that it'll be "one of the places I will go" if you do, ha ha ha.


WildEyes profile image

WildEyes 7 years ago

Very well done!!

I've always enjoyed Dr. Seuss. I think he's smarter than most folks. :)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks for the comment, WildEyes. Yes, he certainly was. I don't think any of his books should be taken lightly as they all send a powerful and provocative message in a profound way. All adults should take the time to do a close reading of his works and relay what they've learned to their children.


k@ri profile image

k@ri 7 years ago from Sunny Southern California

The Sneetches is my all-time favorite Dr. Seuss book! You have captured the essence of it exactly. When my children were young we had a VHS that had this story as a cartoon. We wore it out! I can't remember reading this as a child, but when I first got it for my daughter, I fell in love with it as an adult! :D


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you K@ri! The Sneetches was one of my favorites too, as it taught me the magic and power of storytelling. Seuss did a remarkable job of teaching us to love each others' similarities rather than despise each others' differences. He's certainly one of the best authors of all time in any genre.


Zsuzsy Bee profile image

Zsuzsy Bee 7 years ago from Ontario/Canada

I used to read all of Dr Seuss to my children and now I share them with my granddaughters. The Sneetches were always favorites.

Great hub

regards Zsuzsy


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks Zsuzsy Bee! There really aren't that many important children's books that I know of, but The Sneetches is definitely one of them! I hope that I'll be as lucky in life as you to be able to share this book with your grandchildren. I thank you for fanning me!


SweetiePie profile image

SweetiePie 7 years ago from Southern California, USA

You make many cogent points about how children's books can even teach adults lessons about greed, racism, and bigotry. Actually many of Doctor Seuss's stories were intially written for adult audiences, but later caught on with kids.

Seuss's use of a rhyming style made his writing popular with children, which is a big reason these stories are still beloved today. If I ask kids most of them do not know what the Sweet Valley Twins are, a popular kid's book of my day, but most know of the Dr. Seuss characters, which are timeless.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, SweetiePie. Nothing good ever came out of hate, and people must understand this before any blood can be spilled. I'm not sure if you noticed, but I added a link concerning the U.N. who sent thousands of "The Sneetches" books to war-torn Bosnia to heal them! It's absolutely incredible what just one little book can do!


SweetiePie profile image

SweetiePie 7 years ago from Southern California, USA

I will take a look at the link.


Susana S profile image

Susana S 7 years ago

Hi Dohn, I don't think I've read this one - how did I miss it?! I love Dr Seuss and I've so enjoyed sharing them with my children. My favourite is green eggs and ham, but I am going to have to buy this to add to my collection :)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Please do. It's my belief that it's one of the most important books you can buy for your kids. It's great as a gift for other young/old children too! Thanks for commenting.


cosette 7 years ago

OMGSH, LOVE The Sneetches! haha wonderful hub. I'm rating it "UP"!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes, I'd go as far as to say it's one of the most important children's books ever published and one of the best books to discourage racism. Thank you, cosette.


cosette 7 years ago

you know, i was going to write about harold and the purple crayon, another great! i think i just might now.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

No, don't think! DO IT! That's a great idea...You know I'll read it;)


Pamela Laird profile image

Pamela Laird 7 years ago

I love this book and enjoyed your review. Dr. Suess was a genius and there is such a less here--an important one. Look at all the response to a Dr. Suess book. So cool!!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you so much Pamela. The response has been pleasantly overwhelming. I'm happy that so many people have read this book and hope more and more parents will share it with their children. It's quite amazing the power within the subtext of this ingenious work!


Silverlining profile image

Silverlining 7 years ago from Port Elizabeth

Cool hub! Going to keep this book in mind for my son. Thanks


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

You definitely should, silverlining. Like I said, there are very few children's books out on the market today that are deemed "important" per se. I hope he enjoys it! Thank you.


Luciendasky profile image

Luciendasky 7 years ago from Florence, OR

This is really good! I love Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein!! YAY :D I should read this to Yortis ;)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you for taking my advice (or unsolicited link!) I'm glad that you enjoyed it! I left you some fan mail by the way and also posted another riddle...Hopefully this time, you won't solve it in a half a second!


AEvans profile image

AEvans 7 years ago from SomeWhere Out There

Our son loved the story of the sneetches and it does have a great moral doesn't it? How about reviewing the cat in the hat that would be a fun one too!!!! :)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

You know, I might take you up on that request! We shall have to see...I'm glad you enjoyed this, Julianna and appreciate your comment! Thank you.


lisa42 profile image

lisa42 7 years ago from Sacramento

My favorite Dr. Seuss stories are the ones in which he subtly offers important life lessons. The Sneetches, The Lorax, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas, Horton Hears a Who and Yertle the Turtle are some of my favorites. There's also a great short story called "What Was I Afraid Of?" in the book we have that has the Sneetches story. Its message is similar to that of Sneetches - just because people are different, we don't need to be afraid.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

I haven't hear of,"What Was I Afraid Of?" I'll certainly take a look at it as it sounds interesting. He has such a broad range of stories that it's difficult to not long every single one of his books. Thank you for sharing that with me, Lisa. I appreciate your comment!


Skydweller profile image

Skydweller 7 years ago from Kathmandu

My favorite Dr. Seuss stories are the ones in which he subtly offers important life lessons.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yeah, mine too, Skydweller! I really do appreciate your comments! Thanks for all of your support!


fierycj profile image

fierycj 7 years ago from The Fiery Heart of Africa

For sure, Dr. Seuss was a genius in creating children's tales...and anyone can really enjoy them, as well...


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks Fiery! He certainly was one of the great literary lights of the 20th Century. The worst thing any of us can do is take his work for granted!


Dolores Monet profile image

Dolores Monet 7 years ago from East Coast, United States

Wow, dohn, it sounds like Dr. Suess was a communist! What with all that fairness and sharing at all. Haha, only kidding. One of the best thing about having kids is that you get to read all those great kids books and Dr. Suess was the master, handing out beautiful moral lessons while entertaining in a manner that keeps you coming back to read him over and over. This book was one of my boy's favorites.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Dolores. Even as an adult, I still enjoy reading his stories and enjoying the pictures almost as much as I did when I was a child. There are some things that we never forget nor should ever forget. Deep inside all of us is a child that still enjoys all the little, simpler things in life. Thanks again for your comment!


zadrobi profile image

zadrobi 7 years ago from Carbondale, IL

Alright, Dohn, I'm growing weary of all your good writing ;) This has to be one of the most necessary reviews--which I consider to be a tribute-- of an evanescent literary necessity. When I obtained my associates degree just last year, one of two things my parents gave to me was another Dr. Suess book, "Oh The Places You'll Go". Inspiration, especially in the case of Dr. Suess, knows no age. Kudos dohn.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, thanks for the compliment, zadrobi. I've always enjoyed this book and hope that its message does not go unheeded. We can delve into the advent of plastic surgery and materialistic wealth in addition to the race issue. "Oh The Places You'll Go" is one of the most gifted books given to recent grads and rightly so. Thank you again. I'll always look forward to your comments.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes, he's is by far one of my favorite children's authors too. Once we look past his silliness and analyze he seriousness, we see that he's much more than a rhyming artist, but a master scholar and benevolent intellectual. Thank you, Vicoria. I hope to hear from you again.


Song-Bird profile image

Song-Bird 6 years ago from Michigan

I love Dr. Seuss and you did such a great review!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you very much, Song-Bird. I'm glad that you enjoyed reading it. I enjoyed writing it as well!


Lissa Lynn profile image

Lissa Lynn 6 years ago from upstate NY

Great review of a wonderful book! I look forward to reading your review of The Giving Tree. :)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, thanks, Lissa Lynn. I really do appreciate your readership. Whenever the urge comes over me, I'll write a review on a book I deem worthy, I guess you could say.


Lissa Lynn profile image

Lissa Lynn 6 years ago from upstate NY

I understand, I do that with music sometimes, I've only published one hub on the subject so far, but feel free to check it out and let me know what you think. :)


Ladybird33 profile image

Ladybird33 6 years ago from Georgia USA

Dohn, you know I have to go buy this book now for my son (and me). Great review, loved it. You are very talented!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Lissa. I'll be sure to read your hub! My resolve since joining HubPages has not changed, as I still write what I love and have a passion for. Keep on hubbing!

Thanks, Ladybird33. I really do believe that this is one of the most important books ever published and should be shared with everyone we love. I'm sure that he'll enjoy it in all phases of life like I still do.


Blogurl profile image

Blogurl 6 years ago from Connecticut

I loved this book as a kid also. In high school, I took a creative writing class where one of the assignments was to write our own version of this story based on our lives. It was a very interesting challenge! Thank you for reminding me of the book and that challenge.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

You're welcome, Blogurl. I'm glad I was able to bring you back to that time. I really do like this book and it is a treasured keepsake to me. I like the writing challenge that you were given by the way! Thanks for the comment!


Patty Inglish, MS profile image

Patty Inglish, MS 6 years ago from North America

Hey, I've bookmarked this one! - I've read all of Dr. Suess, including his political cartoons, seen his paintings, and such. Thanks!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, Patty. Thanks for doing that! I think the toughest thing to do is to pick a favorite by Dr. Seuss, as it's very much like picking which of your children you love most :) I appreciate that, Patty, thank you!


Jeffrey Neal profile image

Jeffrey Neal 6 years ago from Tennessee

As a kid I was very proud of my Dr. Seuss collection. Somehow, though, I never managed to read this one until just recently. I did get so much out of it, though, and now I see the McBeans all around. Good review!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, Jeffrey. Thank you for the comment. You're right, those pesky McBeans are everywhere, aren't they? This book just further argues why Dr. Seuss was a genius. It's funny. I was poor growing up and so didn't have much of a collection of anything, but as an adult, I finally went to Walt Disney World and have a sizable library!


The BEDBUG Blog 6 years ago

It seems that adults as well as children could learn from the Sneetches. Very good overview.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Bedbug. I really appreciate that.


katyzzz profile image

katyzzz 6 years ago from Sydney, Australia

A very popular theme, I see dohn


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Katyzzz. I enjoy it.


NaomiR profile image

NaomiR 6 years ago from New York

Great hub! My 2-year-old niece is just getting into Seuss. so I'm getting to relive all of my childhood favorites.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Naomi. I'm sure that you'll have the opportunity to spoil her the way I spoil my niece and nephews. As a child, I loved receiving books as gifts almost as much as I enjoyed receiving toys: They were never enough!


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 6 years ago from Houston, Texas

Like you dohn, I always loved receiving books as gifts. The Dr. Seuss books came later but I enjoyed them with my niece. This one was new to me and it certainly teaches good lessons. If all the children of the world could read and absorb its meaning.....we could have a much better world in the years ahead.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes, that would be something, wouldn't it? It really does bother me that there is so much hate in this world. Just today, I watch a special on CNN about the Mumbai Terrorist Attacks that occurred a year ago. It saddens me to learn of such hatred in this world, due to such differences and beliefs. Thank you, Peggy.


Truth From Truth profile image

Truth From Truth 6 years ago from Michigan

Very nice review. I read the Sneetches years ago I will now have to read it to my son.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

This is one of my favorite books. I'm surprised that there are many people out there that haven't even heard of it! Thanks as always, TFT!


Justine76 6 years ago

Ok, sorry about this..normally I read all the comemnts so as to not repeat anything...but Im too tired right now and I wanted to comment before I forget...first off, here where I live, I am the only person I know of who has heard of the Sneetches so its nice to find this online group of people who love them too. And I wanted to tell you of some other chidlhood stories I remember, but everyone around here thinks I am crazy.

The Arrow (I only ever say the TV version...Harry Nilson did the msuic...its a good story tho) similar in story line in that it shows the uslesness of judging a person based on appearnce..

"The Rainbow Goblins" wich has nothing to do with this topic but an amazing book that few people I know of have heard of

and "The Phantom Tollbooth" another book I remeber loving as a child, but everyone I know insits it doesn't exist. (our public library belongs to the next town over, and its small..) great hub. When you get to have kids, your going to be an amazing father!!

(ps..good at math? thats a stereotype? HAAHAAHA sorry...but ..isnt that weird?)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yeah, I've been known to make the claim that I stink at math, but I guess that I'm okay at it. I remember, "The Phantom Tollbooth" but I don't think I know of the other stories you've mentioned...Maybe you should try your pen/keyboard at those? It sounds like you like them and in the meantime, I'll make an attempt to check them out.

The Sneetches, as you can imagine, is one of my favorite Seussian stories and tried my best to convey that here as a hub. To see so many others know of it gives me reconciliation.

Thanks so much DM, for sharing these books with me. I'll be sure to have a look :D


apricot profile image

apricot 6 years ago from Italy

I love your book reviews so much!! Each time I sit down to read one I feel like I'm settling down to read the book itself - and in a way it's better because I love reading your interpretation afterwards! Yes, I can see this is definitely a deep book and you're right - it is amazing how powerful a few colourful pictures on paper can be! If I ever have to buy children's book I'll know who to consult! (I'll be having a look at the Giving Tree next..)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

That's wonderful to hear, apricot. I totally agree with you. As a kid, there was nothing like getting a new book as a gift. And now, as an adult, the words create the "pictures" I now look for. I'll be a consultant to you any old day! Let me know ;) Thanks again!


G Miah profile image

G Miah 6 years ago from Muslim Nation

You are right Dohn, 'Amazing!'. Thinking about the British National Party in UK, who are racist, stupid and illiterate, they should read that book and realise that we are all human, all of different or mixed races. Your review of the book is excellent, and i feel guilty to say i haven't read it, but i will do now! Thanks again!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes! Another book to add to your collection! I wouldn't recommend any books unless I thought they were worthy of such a status (including my own, mind you). Darn those guys from the British National Party! I'd recommend that they read this hub...If they weren't illiterate :P Thank you again, my friend.


GojiJuiceGoodness profile image

GojiJuiceGoodness 6 years ago from Roanoke, Virginia

excellent hub. I had never heard of this book, but it sounds very funny! Some very silly Sneetches, if you ask me... :D


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

I hope you get the opportunity to check it out. You'll certainly enjoy it. Thanks for the comment!


Ghost32 6 years ago

I've always appreciated The Sneetches (have read it many times, going wa-ay back) but keep coming back to my own maxim: "If you put three people together at dawn, each two will be plotting against the third by noon."

Need to work on my cynicism...ya think? :D


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

You got me laughing with that one, Fred! No, I don't think you're a cynic at all, just a good ol' realist in my opinion! That third guy/gal in turn will b be wondering how to kill two birds with one stone!

Thanks again :)


Gillian Cordova 6 years ago

awesome book I love Dr.Suess


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Gillian Cordova. I really appreciate it.


Ladybird33 profile image

Ladybird33 6 years ago from Georgia USA

Hey, I had to post this hub on my blog...because it's GREAT. Just an fyi :)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, Ladybird33. Thanks so much for doing that. This hub is one of my personal favorites for several reasons. I'm glad that you enjoyed it and are spreading the word!


scheng1 6 years ago

Remarkable. I think the total word count in this review exceeds the total word count in the book


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, thanks, scheng1. Haha, yes, I believe you're correct. But I enjoy writing every word of it!


susanlang profile image

susanlang 6 years ago

Wow..that was a good read. It helped me to remember all the Dr.Suess books I read to my son and so many children over the years. The books are a class act! Thanks.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you so much for commenting, susanlang. His books are timeless and should be enjoyed for hundreds of years to come. I can't wait to have children so I can share his work with them :D


electricsky profile image

electricsky 6 years ago from North Georgia

Was Dr. Seuss a man or a woman? I think it is a good book for anybody, child or adult. Thank you for telling us about it.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Dr. Seuss was definitely a man! And yes, he's book are timeless. I was always intrigued by his work and continue to buy his books as gifts for everyone. Thank you for reading this!


Healthy Living Is profile image

Healthy Living Is 6 years ago from allergies, people, flowers. health, diet, art, medicine, mental health

Great Post great Writing


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you for that, Healthy Living Is. I'm glad you liked it.


deathmetaller profile image

deathmetaller 6 years ago

Sounds like something I should have in my library...


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you. You should definitely consider doing just that!


careerguidance` profile image

careerguidance` 6 years ago from chandigarh

I open your hubpage and i see your hubpage is very fabulous as compare

to other hubpages , It is attractive and fascinate blog your content

is very impressive. The origin lies in our childhood when our mind-set was

frozen into a conditioned attitude to advice from all elders. Not encouraged to

exercise independent choice then, we are scared to do it even now.

Understanding this fact with deep feeling and the havoc it plays with

our lives, is the first step we need to take to be self-possessed and

self assured. A beginning should be made with small things. The effort

should be kept up until we catch up with bigger things. Wisely has it

been said, “Take care of little things, big things will take cared of

themselves”. The crying need is to embark on this path right here and

now. career guidance


iloveBOOKS profile image

iloveBOOKS 6 years ago

I love it. I love Dr. Seuss. It has the obvious parallel real life racism and political divisions. Nice review :)http://bookcreak.com


Karen Wodke profile image

Karen Wodke 5 years ago from Midwest

Great post! I loved Dr. Seuss as a kid. And let's face it, even adults like him. Maybe they won't admit it. lol.


Docmo profile image

Docmo 5 years ago from UK

I love this book and your review really captures the inner meaning well. Our kids love Seuss and they are mad about the Dr Seussland in Universal Studios - we've been a few times - love the Sneetches train ride!


ron 4 years ago

good book review i hav ever seen


Stewart5 profile image

Stewart5 4 years ago from St. Louis, Missouri

Interesting book review. I've read a lot of Dr. Seuss but never "Sneetches." Sort of starts out like You Are Special, by Max Lucado.

Anyway, voted up.


Jean Bakula profile image

Jean Bakula 4 years ago from New Jersey

My love of Dr. Seuss continued into my adult life, so it's great to see I'm not the only one still enjoying his stuff and seeing how meaningful it is. I usually give, "Oh, the Places You'll Go!" as a graduation gift. Take care.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 4 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

career guidance-I thank you for the solid advice and I of course am in agreement with you. I don't think any of us can grow as a people unless we re-examine all that we have learned in our lives prior, including the teachings from our elders. Learning is growing and growing is learning. Thanks for the kind words.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 4 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

ilovebooks-Thanks for that! I really do think that Dr. Seuss nailed this one. I'll be sure to check out your site as well.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 4 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Karen Wodke-Thank you so much for reading and commenting! I think it safe to say that we are two adults that do enjoy him! And for those who think that Dr. Seuss books are just for kids are sadly mistaken :D


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 4 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Ron. What a nice thing to say!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 4 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Docmo-I don't have any kids that I know of :D But rest assured that as soon as I do, I'll be sure to visit Universal Studios. Thanks for the comment!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 4 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Jean Bakula--No, you are definitely not the only adult that enjoys Dr. Seuss! It was in college that one of my professors pointed out some very adult themes that Seuss himself had incorporated into his works--mere paradoxes than anything else. "Oh, the Places You'll Go" might be my next Seuss entry :D Thank you for reading and commenting!


Rachael 3 years ago

Kathy Austin (Granny) - Amanda! What a fabulous job of caitrupng each moment of Andrew Huckleberry Austin's birth!Did I say you are the BEST? YOU ARE THE BEST!!!Love you a bunches..KathyMomma 2Granny


Brahim 3 years ago

- As beautiful as heels are, most women wear a floor lgenth weddign dress, so nobody can see their feet; they arent impressing anybody accept themselves, and even that wont last long when their feet feel like fire.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working