Compost Stew Children's Book Review - A Fun A to Z Guide to Teaching Kids How to Make Compost

Compost Stew - A must read for the 3-6 year old

"Apple cores

Bananas, bruised

Coffee grounds with filters, used"

"Just add to the pot

and let it all rot

into Compost Stew !".......

So begins the perfect recipe for making a great batch of compost, according to the children's book, Compost Stew - An A to Z Recipe for the Earth .

Being a mother of two toddlers who absolutely adore books, I have read my share of children's stories and can honestly say that it is pretty rare when a children's book catches my attention the way this one has.

Written by Mary McKenna Siddals , and illustrated by Ashley Wolff, this charmingly unique children's book is the perfect compost making how-to-guide for both children and adults alike.

However, Compost Stew - An A to Z Recipe for the Earth , is much more than just a compost making instruction manual for young compost making beginners. Incorporating a unique and simple way to address a vital environmental issue is this books main appeal.

The author, Mary McKenna Siddals, uses catchy rhyme and flowing rhythm to convey an important message of reusing everyday items to help enrich the soil; provide nontoxic, organic, fertilizer for gardens; as well as help materials break down naturally without contributing to the already overflowing landfills.

Even the colorful illustrations are in keeping with the timely message that engenders the need to reduce, reuse, and recycle. Every page of this book is filled with vibrant collage illustrations that make use of found and recycled materials - which tells a story on their own as well.

In addition to what is needed to make the perfect batch of compost, a short note is written in the back of the book that provides a list of items that should never be added to any "compost stew" (i.e. meat, dairy, and non biodegradable items such as packing foam and metal).

Perfect for children ages 3-6, this unique 32 page book is a great way to introduce both young and older audiences to the world of composting, as well as raise awareness of important environmental issues among small children.

Hands down, Compost Stew - An A to Z Recipe for the Earth , has become one of mine and my little ones favorite children's book thus far.

This eco-conscious children's book will make a great addition to any children's library.

* A little bit about the author : Mary McKenna Siddals is a former teacher who resides in British Columbia, Canada . In addition to making her own batch of Compost Stew, she has still found the time to compose dozens of children's stories, activities, articles, and poems in a variety of magazines, as well as write several picture books for very young, up and coming readers.

To find an extensive list of other great children's books that encourage environmental awareness, check out my fellow hubber wannabewestern's list of children's picture books in celebration of arbor and earth day.

copyright © 2010

More by this Author


Comments 16 comments

creativeone59 profile image

creativeone59 6 years ago from Gold Canyon, Arizona

Thank you Veronica, for this wonderful children hub on compost, sound like a great compost for gardening. Thank you for sharing. Godspeed. creativeone59


Veronica Allen profile image

Veronica Allen 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thanks for stopping by creativeone. It is so good to hear from you. I hope things are well.


daisyjae profile image

daisyjae 6 years ago from Canada

This looks like a good one, thanks for sharing this.


Veronica Allen profile image

Veronica Allen 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thanks daisyjae for stopping by. This is a really good book. I know my two little ones really enjoyed, so did I.


Paige Masters profile image

Paige Masters 6 years ago

How awesome! Not only a great message, but it seems like a cool book. It's one I've not hear of. Thanks for sharing!


wannabwestern profile image

wannabwestern 6 years ago from The Land of Tractors

What an excellent, well-written book review. I'll have to get this one to read to my own children, now almost 2 and almost 4. We have a little garden and it is always a delight to find a book that has a lasting appeal, like this one. I'll be reading your other book reviews soon. Regards!


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia

Another one for the grands! Thanks!


Hello, hello, profile image

Hello, hello, 6 years ago from London, UK

You have really discovered a gem here. Well done. Very informative and inspiring for young children.


CassidyS profile image

CassidyS 6 years ago from OK

I'm going to look for this book at the library! I also have a friend who's wants to start a compost so I'll pass this along.


Veronica Allen profile image

Veronica Allen 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thank you guys for taking the time to stop by and read my little book review.

Paige Masters - I love the fact that this book offers a vital message in such a simple and exciting way. The copyright for the book is 2010 so it is new to publication. When I checked it out from the library, it was the first time I had ever heard of the book as well.

Wannabwestern - thank you for your lovely compliment. I hope your kids enjoy this book as much as mine have - I have a 2 and 5 year old. I think I enjoyed it more than they did :). I hope you like my other book reviews as well.

Habee - you are so sweet to stop by, even though you are so busy at this contest. Thank you. I tell you, your grands will love this book.

Hello, hello - yes, this book is a true gem in my opinon. Thank you for stopping by. I always look forward to hearing from you.

CassisyS - I found this book in the library on a whim and I am so glad I did not pass it up. My girls and I loved it so much that I ordered it through Amazon.com.

Thank you all again for stopping by.


billyaustindillon profile image

billyaustindillon 6 years ago

I wasn't familiar with this book -we do compost and we do have our children involved in our garden and planting and choosing this certainly adds more and what fun!


Veronica Allen profile image

Veronica Allen 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thank you billyaustindillon for stopping by. The book is new to the shelves and I tell you, it is worth the read. It is fun and educational - so you get the best of both worlds.


TheListLady profile image

TheListLady 6 years ago from New York City

This just makes so much sense. Children can learn so much and never forget it when it comes in handy - as adults. What great knowledge is garnered here! Living healthy and green can start so early.

I always give books as gifts and this will make a great one.

Rated up - and thanks!


Veronica Allen profile image

Veronica Allen 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thanks TheListLady: this is really a great book that teaches all that you mentioned. It will make a great gift. I plan to gift it to many of my friends children.


wannabwestern profile image

wannabwestern 6 years ago from The Land of Tractors

Hi Veronica, I remembered your review of this book and am linking to it from an article I'm writing. Just wanted to let you know. It's not published yet but on the way. Have a great day!


Veronica Allen profile image

Veronica Allen 6 years ago from Georgia Author

Thanks wannabwestern for the heads up. I look forward to reading your hub.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working