CONFESSIONS OF A SURLY BARBER: What Is A Barber? By Mara Stewart: A Book Review

5 stars for Confessions of a Surly Barber

Book Cover

What Is A Barber?

What is a barber? This book answers that question and many more.

This book is a small easy-read book of 108 pages, stuffed with good information about Barbering. It includes advice on how to get (or not to get) a good haircut.



About The Author

Mara Stewart's barbering career has spanned 25 years. She attended barber school at the tender age of 16 in 1980. She has worked her craft in many barber shops. She also was a barber school instructor at Roffler School of Hair Design. Mara has owned and operated several barber shops. She is presently an owner of her Barber Shop.

After dealing with the public for all those years, she has found herself becoming "surly" at times. She writes with wit, yet manages to get her point across when she gives advice on how to get a good haircut.


About The Illustrator

Ellen Lyons Harris has been drawing since she could hold a pencil. She has been a freelance artist for over twenty years and her work includes portraits, logos, and label design. She has filled this book with many illustrations that make the book come to life.

The Author's Objective

One of the aims the Author has in writing this book is to raise awareness, and help to preserve the role of the traditional barber as a respected tradesman in our society. She would like the public to know the difference between a barber and a cosmetologist. Each of these professionals has their own field of expertise.

This book is also written to help the customer increase their odds of getting the haircut and service they want, and to have a more pleasant experience at the barber shop or salon. The author admits this book is her rant. It is her personal “confessions” of the situations that make her “surly”. It is about all the little things she has always wanted to say to the customer, but didn't, for fear of hurting their feelings.

She says that at times this book may sound as though she dislikes barbering, but it is quite the opposite. The book is also meant to help barbers make their customers aware of certain situations so their barber can enjoy their work more, and go home at the end of the day happy instead of being physically and mentally worn out.

Haircuts And The Tools Of The Trade

An Education in Haircuts and the Tools That Are Used:

One chapter is devoted to different haircuts and the tools that are used in performing these cuts. This chapter is illustrated very well by using drawings of the haircuts and the different razors and scissors used to achieve these cuts.

Mara says the art of hair-cutting is built on the principle of geometry. She goes into the types of haircuts: Basic, Traditional, and Fad. Most grown men prefer a Traditional haircut (or regular). This hair is cut above the ears, above the collar, and blended in together. Young men who like their hair longer have a “layer cut”, or a “scissor cut”. There are some men who like a “buzz cut” or a “flat top”.

The History Of Barbering

The History of Barbering:

Many people are unaware that barbers were once surgeons and dentists, and clergymen. The traditional barber pole is a symbol that comes from the bloody bandages blowing in the wind.

Barbering is becoming a lost art. There are fewer and fewer barber schools now. The first barber school was established in 1893 by A. B. Moler of Chicago. If a person wants to become a barber today, they have to attend a School of Cosmetology, where they learn all the cosmetology services in addition to barbering. They learn permanent waves, hair coloring, and rolling the hair. Over the years, there have been more women becoming barbers, where in the past, only men were barbers.

Suggestions On How To Get A Good Haircut

There are situations that tend to make a barber “surly”. If a barber likes you, and is comfortable working on you, they will look forward to you coming back time after time. Mara says that when she has a person in her chair and they sit crooked, or won’t hold still, she tries to correct them. Sometimes they become offended, and they shouldn't. It is not possible to give a good haircut when the customer sits cross-legged. The body tends to lean to one side, and one shoulder is lower than the other. She says that it seems to be a natural instinct for the customer to lean their head away from the barber. The head has to be held perfectly straight unless the barber gently pushes it the way they want the head.

Mara’s Pet Peeves As A Barber:

Don’t change your mind after telling the barber the hair cut you want. It may be too late!

Don’t run your fingers through your hair. Wait until the hair cut is finished and THEN you can check it with your fingers.

Don’t chew gum. Your ears go up and down!

Don’t ask your barber to decide what kind of haircut you want.

Don’t slouch over. Sit tall.

Don’t expect your barber to remember the exact cut you got the last time you came in.

Don’t discuss politics or religion.

Be still, don’t wiggle.

Don’t tell your barber which tools to use on your hair.

Don’t come in with dirty or greasy hair.

Don’t cut your own hair, mess it up, and expect a miracle from your barber.

Don’t talk on your cell phone.

Don’t come in for a haircut if you are ill: bad cold, flu, etc.


A Baby's First Haircut

Mara devotes one chapter on young children getting haircuts. Children are naturally afraid of a barber. They hear the word “cut”, and they want no part of it. She recommends having the child go with the Father, and watch his hair being cut before it’s time for the little one to have a haircut. It takes a lot of patience on the part of the barber, and chances are the first haircut is not going to be perfect. Mara feels that one of the parents should hold the child in their lap for the first few times they get a haircut.

Head Lice

Head lice tend to be a problem mostly in the preschool and elementary schools. They are not caused by dirty heads; on the contrary, they prefer clean hair. Head Lice are transferred from person to person on hair brushes, combs, hats, clothes, and direct contact. If you suspect your child has head lice, DO NOT bring them in for a haircut. By law, the barber is not allowed to cut hair if they suspect head lice. There are several treatments available for head lice, and can be found in drug stores.

My Opinion On This Book

This book was written by a seasoned barber who has a lot of wit, and can see humor in her work. Mara says that sometimes barbering is a trying occupation, but, for the most part , it is a very rewarding job. The book is very enjoyable, and light-hearted. Since we all have to have our hair cut, the reader will get a better haircut after reading "CONFESSIONS OF A SURLY BARBER"

The New Wave Of Barbershops

More by this Author


Comments 87 comments

Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

Gypsy Rose Lee 5 years ago from Riga, Latvia

Interesting hub. While I was growing up I loved seeing barber shops with their barber poles which reminded me of candy canes. My dad got his haircuts at a barber shop.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hi Gypsy, good to see you. This is my first book review, so I was a little nervous about it. Since I read so much, I thought I'd try to review some of the books. (Think I like writing poetry better, though). Thanks for reading! See you....


Movie Master profile image

Movie Master 5 years ago from United Kingdom

Hello Mary, an excellent book review and I see from your above comment it was your first!

I love the pet peeves and the history of barbery was so interesting.

Thank you for sharing, best wishes MM


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

Hi, I never realised about the chewing gum! lol in my town we have a lot of hairdressers mainly catering for women who want fancy haircuts, but the one I like is an old traditional barbers that has been there for as long as I can remember, and they have all the old pictures on the wall, and the original fittings, this sounds really interesting and funny, thanks nell


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hi there MM and Nell , Thanks for the compliment on my first attempt at reviewing a book! It really is a neat little book! Nell, I wear my hair very short, and I go to my neighborhool barber! Hair sylists never cut my hair the way I want, but my barber sure does. See you around....


kellymom1970 profile image

kellymom1970 5 years ago

Mary615, This is the best hub! As a barber myself I just love giving women, mens hairstyles. I have giving 30 plus women flat tops over my 20 years as a barber my mom has had one for over 10 years herself.

Mary615, I'm glad to see you go to a barber. I will tell others to come by.


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

Mary615, What a great hub. I got a flattop for my 50th birthday that was over 4 years ago. I love it and my husband does too. Very nice hub!


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hi kellymn1970, thanks for reading this. I don't let anyone touch my hair except one of my daughters! You've been a barber for a long time. It is a dying profession around here in S.Fl.

Susan54, I admire women who get this cut. I've been tempted to do the same. I just wear mine very short. No fuss, no muss! Thanks for the compliment on my review.


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

Mary615,You should try one you look like you could pull it off very well. Go for it! I get compliments all the time.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hey, susan54, you are tempting me. I have thought about it, but I think my hair is too thin. See you, Mary


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

mary615, my hair was so thin it was ugly. The flattop makes it look so much fuller now. From one women to another go for it!!! you will not regret it!!!


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

Mary615, Just remember it's only hair it will grow back. I bet you anything if you get one you will keep! I love you hubs!


LydieRVgirl profile image

LydieRVgirl 5 years ago from Pa in summer sebring fl winter

Mary615, I am so glad I found this. I have been wearing a flattop haircut for a year now. The funny thing is my good friend Mary talked me into gettting it because she and her husband have one and now I do too. I 100% love it!!!! I'm in my late 50's. SUPER HUB

I hear your ready for one also.

I spend my winters in sebring fl


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Keep talking, susan54! I just might do it!

LydieRVgirl, Glad you found this, too. You're another brave woman to get a flattop! I'm thinking about it! I know where Sebring is, pretty area. Thanks for reading this and your comment.


Linda1971 profile image

Linda1971 5 years ago

Mary615, What a great hub!! I just had my flattop haircut cut a little shorter today. I love it so much. I only have had one for around 3 weeks now. Thanks to all of wonderful ladies here for the advise best thing I have ever done to my hair! I say go for it Mary. Great hub once again.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hi Linda1971, thanks for reading my first book review. I thought this was such a clever book on barbering, I couldn't resist. Your hair is beautiful. It takes intestinal fortitude to cut your hair this way, and I admire you for it. I'm still thinking about it. I think I may be a little too old for that style, though!


kellymom1970 profile image

kellymom1970 5 years ago

mary615, I think you look very young. I just came back from my mom's house 2 hours ago. I went over to trim her flattop up 11 years she has had one now. She turned 70 last week. She has an all white almost military flattop,and loves it. I think your age is fine. Hope to see you with one, one day. Thanks! vote up!


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hi kellymom1970, I'd love to see your Mom. She is a brave lady; don't know if I'm that brave. I have 8 years on your Mom. Thanks for reading this. If and when I get brave enough to get a flattop, I'll sure let you know! Bye for now....


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

mary615,You didn't get your haircut yet!! I just had mine cut again on saturday. I've wearing a landstrip on top for a couple of weeks and this time she wet shave it. Now, that a whole new world of flattoping let me tell you. I need suntan lotion and it's almost winter. I love it. Hope to see your soon.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hey, susan54! No not yet. I'm telling you, I too "chicken" to have it done, but more power to you, girl! Put up a current photo on your profile so I can see your landstrip (whatever that is). Night, night.


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

mary615, I will post a new picture. Are you going to ask your daughter, the one who cut your hair, on what she thinks about you with a flattop. If she said, go for it you have to it is so much fun. If you have a high hairline at your forehead that is prefect for a flattop it look so much better when you do. Your hair is just like mine thin and I have a high hair line so just go for it. I love your hubs!!!!


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Yeah, susan54, I've asked her opinion; she says I'm too thin on top! So glad you like my Hubs. night, night


LydieRVgirl profile image

LydieRVgirl 5 years ago from Pa in summer sebring fl winter

Mary615, I am with all of the other women I say go for it get the flattop haircut you only live once. If you get a flattop and show a picture and don't Like it. I will shave mine off bald and post a picture of it. Go for it!!

Is that a new picture of you,if so you look very good.

I love your writings


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hi there, LydieRVgirl! Oh, my, would you really shave your head, and post the photo???? I'm just not that brave! I keep mine short because the days of rolling, teasing, etc. are long gone. I like your hair very much.

Thanks for the compliment. This was taken about a year ago. Folks do tell me I look pretty good for an old broad! I'm a recycled Mom. I adopted three of my Grandchildren when they were very young, and that has helped keep me going strong. I'm thankful for health and energy.

Thanks for the nice compliment on my writing, too. That means so much. Have a wonderful day!


LydieRVgirl profile image

LydieRVgirl 5 years ago from Pa in summer sebring fl winter

Mary615,VOTE UP!!!What brave and strong women you are to have adopted your grandchilderen. What a class act!

Yes, I would! It is only hair every day it grows back. My hair is shorter now than my profile picture. It's about 1/16" side and back and 1/2" or so on top and very square. You can see my skin all over but that's the best part of the haircut people thinks it's part of the cut when actually My hair is super thin on top, so much so I should just shave it bald. I think the flattop is more edgy and fun, and youthful. It is funny that Susan got a landing (it's a military term for a shaved strip in the middle of the flattop men who a balding or military men get it so the can keep the flattop and not shave bald) My husband said if my hair gets to thin I should get a landstrip on top myself. You know what is great about buzz haircuts it's fun and don't hurt anyone. I love all of your hubs.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Wow! Thanks SO much for the lovely compliments. I see you're from Sebring, I live in Stuart (Bet you never heard of it). See you again, soon, I hope.


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 5 years ago from Hemet, Ca

Mary - this was an absolutley wonderful hub and review. I am definitely going to have to check this book out. I have a feeling that she and I have some very similar thoughts when it comes to what makes a barber cranky. I enjoyed barbering, and since I moved, I miss it terribly and only cut currently for family and friends. Military haircuts are by far my favorites.

Oh yeah - and the comments are seriously fun throughout this hubs. I have a feeling these girls are going to get you. I think you would look beautiful with a flat top. And if all else fails - the hair will grow back.

Anyway - great hub!!! Absoltulely loved it - vote up and all around!


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

So nice to have met you here in Hubland! My daughters love barbering, but it's hard on the body, they say. The one daughter got busy raising a family, the others still cut hair. One owns her own shop. See you again, soon. Thanks for the vote UP, etc.!


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

Mary615, Looks like a few people few you would look in a flattop. There must be something to it. Thanks


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hi, susan54, I'm just not ready for it, yet. That's not to say I'm not still "thinking" about it. Goodnight, Mary


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 5 years ago from Hemet, Ca

Yeah - barbering is definitely hard. When I was doing it, there were days when I would do almost 30 haircuts, washes and massages. And then to top it off, I was on my feet for 12 hours and I would eat a quick lunch because we were so busy. My choice. Work and get paid - eat lunch - and well not get paid. On average I usually did 20 plus haircuts a day. I can feel it in my wrist and my shoulders. It is a tough job but someone has to do it! :)


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Yeah, barbergirl28, one of the gal barbers in my daughter's shop just had to have surgery on her shoulder. She'll have weeks of physical therapy. She doesn't know when she'll be able to cut hair again. Sad. Goodnight,Mary


kellymom1970 profile image

kellymom1970 5 years ago

Mary615, Here is a picture of a new flattop for you to view.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Wow! That is gorgeous! I love it. You have a beautiful face to go with it, too! Love your new profile photo of this!


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

Mary615,I just posted my first hub come check it out. Thanks


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

Mary615,By reading your hub, You are one active talented women. You must by ready to blow your families minds by getting a Flattop haircut for the holiday season. I thinking about coloring my flattop bright red!


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

As soon as you color your hair RED, be sure and take a photo and use it on your profile, susan54!


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

Mary615, I am going tomorrow before noon if you get a flattop!


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

Mary615, I am going today to go red, and shorter on top. I hope your ready for your flattop,you did say if I go red you will get one for the holidays right. I will post a picture I can't wait to see a picture of your flattop.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hey, susan54,go for it! I'm still not getting a flattop, at least not now! Hope your hair turns out to your liking!


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

Mary615, Well I did it! I just got back about 1 hours ago. What do you think.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Yea! Looks fantastic! Turned out really nice..I like!


5 years ago

Voted up.

Interesting review about a book that is different.

So Ms Mary615 are you still considering a flattop one day? Do you like the way it looks?


5 years ago

Voted up.

Interesting review about a book that is different.

So Ms Mary615 are you still considering a flattop one day? Do you like the way it looks?


5 years ago

(oops, sorry, posted twice.)


LydieRVgirl profile image

LydieRVgirl 5 years ago from Pa in summer sebring fl winter

Mary615, I just up dated my profile picture. What do you thinks.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hi, LydieRVgirl! You are so beautiful, you could shave your head, and still look great! I love it!


LydieRVgirl profile image

LydieRVgirl 5 years ago from Pa in summer sebring fl winter

Mary615, I see a few of older women shaving their eyebrows off and then drawing them on. What do you think about me dong that. Good idea or a bad one. Thanks


5 years ago

I guess permanent make up — which I suppose includes painting over shaved eyebrows — and the flattop have this in common: it's all about low maintenance.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

LydieRVgirl: I wouldn't do that if I were you! You asked, I have to tell you.....


5 years ago

mary615: Well, I guess different people have their various impressions. I guess in some ways it can be Voguish, like the Vogue covers showing models with really arched eyebrows which are likely artificial, but would be regarded as an art form. (Two cents'.)


kellymom1970 profile image

kellymom1970 5 years ago

Mary615, Just here to say hello.

Lydie, I do have a couple of female clients that shve there eyebrows. You can just pluck them thin and draw on that.Thank you


kellymom1970 profile image

kellymom1970 5 years ago

Mary615, I just oiled up the clippers. Are ready for your flattop yet. I gave a women in her 40's a bowlcut today, about 1/2" above her ears all the way around her head. I shave all the hair below the line with no guard on my clippers very cool. I am think about doing a story on it with picture. Thank You.


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

You're so cute! Got your clippers all ready for me, huh??? I think you should do a Hub on that haircut! See you later.....


susan54 profile image

susan54 5 years ago

mary615, Here is a picture of my horseshoe flattop. I had the past summer for the heatwave. This the landing strip I was telling about it get shave bald on top and on the side and back. The only hair left on top looks like a horseshoe,that's how it gets its name.Military men wear it this way a lot good thing my huuby ia an ex-Marine he wears one also.Lol thanks


mary615 profile image

mary615 5 years ago from Florida Author

Hey, susan54, that is a pretty neat haircut you got there. You and your hubby are a pair now, huh?? Bet you need a trim every week or so....


kellymom1970 profile image

kellymom1970 4 years ago

Mary615, HI my friend. I have been very crazy with the holidays good thing is the barbershop is doing great, with the hoiday cut and all. As, you know my mom and I both wear flattops well I took her for her check up last week and we had around 20 female nurses and doctors telling how great we looked and how low maintenance, our haircuts must be. I gave out around 7 of my cards and I already gave one of the nurses a flattop the next day she about 30 or so. She had a long bob cut now her hair is more like Susan54's hair but very dark almost black She loves it so much, she looks great on her. Lots of women going short this year. HAPPY HOLIDAYS my friend.


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Good Morning, kellymom1970, SO nice to hear from you. You won't believe this, but I as thinking of you and Susan54 just the other day, and wondering how you were! I think it's great that nurses would choose a flattop, takes much less time to get ready for work. You sound like a real "go getter", I'll bet you have a very successful business, I can just tell how your personality would come through. I hope you and yours (especailly your Mom) have a wonderful holiday season. Keep in touch, OK?


susan54 profile image

susan54 4 years ago

Mary615,HELLO my hub friend. HAPPY HOIDAYS to you and your family. You were thinking of Kelly and me or thinking of getting a flattop haircut! The funny thing is I was thinking of you the other day also. I was at the mall shopping when I saw, a lady with a flattop shaved like mine, she said to me nice haircut and we both laught. She said she is 79 years old but she look 65!(I thought Mary would so good with this cut)What a spring chicken she was,she loves her flattop, I think she looked hip with it. I thought you would have a flattop of your own by now,with all of those barbers you have. Come try one it will grow back.


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Hey! Good to hear from you. I really was thinking of you two yesterday. No, I still don't have a flattop, and I'm telling you I am just not that brave. I admire the ladies who do it, I really do! I hope you and yours have a wonderful Holiday Season. My family will all be together, so it will be a zoo. Keep in touch, Goodnight.


susan54 profile image

susan54 4 years ago

Mary615, you should show the girls our flattops and see what they think about mom/grandma getting a flattop,maybe one of the girl may get one. There will be enough barbers there.LOL thanks


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Hey, susan54, the next time they come over, I'll show them your avatars, and see what they say, OK? They will probably just love your haircuts cause they're pretty progressive (but I'm just not). I promise I'll show them your photos. Goodnight.


Linda1971 profile image

Linda1971 4 years ago

Mary, I did it! I went today to get my flattop trimmed up and I went for it! I told the barber to bald the sides and back. As you can see from my new picture (click it to see it better)it's bald! now my flattop is like Susan54's I was going to wait until summer but I just did it.I told my husband I want him to reshave it bald before my family come over. My family will have a field day with me on Christmas day now,But I don't care I love it, Even if it's cold outside I'm keeping it in a shave flattop. Mary Christmas and Happy new year.


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Hi Linda1971! I can't believe you really did it! Good for you, girl! Hey, as long as you're happy with it, don't pay any attention to what others say. I give you credit. It looks good to me! I hope you and yours have a very Merry Christmas, and a wonderful new year. Good to see you again!


susan54 profile image

susan54 4 years ago

mary,I saw you picture in the pool flattop are great for the pool. Did any of your kids come over yet. Flattops are hot again around here I see. That gray hair of your would look great with one. Come on it will grow back. bye my friend.


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Hey susan54 Does that mean you read my Hub on Dog Health and Safety where I'm in the pool with Baby???? I'm still thinking about the flattop, but don't hold your breath! Merry Christmas, girl!


susan54 profile image

susan54 4 years ago

Mary,So what did the girls think about the flattop. You must be buzz by now,Lol. I hope you had a great time with your family for Christmas.


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Hey there,susan54, NO, I'm not buzzed yet! Yes, it was a great Holiday with my family at Christmas. Hope yours was wonderful., and I hope you have a great 2012. Always good to hear from you, friend.


kellymom1970 profile image

kellymom1970 4 years ago

Mary, Happy new year! I buzz all my neighbors should length hair off in to a military flattop for new years what a change for her at 47. What do you think about her picture. I think she is hot looking! She is a single mom of 3.


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Hi, kellymom1970, good to see you again! That is one brave woman! I do hope you and yours will have a wonderful 2012. Thanks for stopping by.


kellymom1970 profile image

kellymom1970 4 years ago

mary, how have you been I have been crazy at the shop still giving out them flat top to all of the women. I look forward to the summer heat to cut a lot more of them,lol Thanks Kelly


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Well, hello, kellymom1070! So nice to see you! Glad you've been busy lately giving all those flat tops. Hey, don't be a stranger. Goodnight.


Vinaya Ghimire profile image

Vinaya Ghimire 4 years ago from Nepal

I have not read anything from Mara Stewart.

You have reviewed the book very nicely. I hope to read this in near future.


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Hi, Vinaya Ghimire, thanks for reading my book review on what is a barber. This was Mara's first book. It's a fun book to read; hope you will read it. Have a wonderful day.


kellymom1970 profile image

kellymom1970 4 years ago

Hi Mary, hope you are doing well. This has been the best year so far for flat tops I am Cut 1-2 a week on women. I just came from a Christian retreat with 250 women and over 25 of us had flat tops have you seen any in your area? Thanks Kelly.

My pirfile picture is one of the flat top women from the retreat Karen what do you think she look great right.


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Well, hello there, kellymom1970! I was thinking of you just the other day. Your profile photo is great: good looking haircut there. No I can't say I've seen ladies around here with flat tops (me included). Was good to see you again.


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 4 years ago from Houston, Texas

Learning the history of barber shops was interesting. I did not realize that the early barbers were also dentists and surgeons and that the pole represented bloody rags. I guess in the early days, they were a jack of all trades in addition to serving as confidants and clergy. Barbers and hairdressers could probably all write books from the stories they probably hear on a daily basis. Ha! Votes up and sharing. Good job on your book review, Mary!


mary615 profile image

mary615 4 years ago from Florida Author

Hi Peggy W. Barbers are almost a lost vocation now. They have been replaced by costomologists. It's very hard to even find a barber school now to learn the trade. Men usually like to go to a barber shop, not a beauty shop.

Thanks for reading about the surly barber.

Thanks for the votes and the share. I do appreciate that.


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 3 years ago from Houston, Texas

Hi Mary,

Believe it or not, there is still a barber shop in a shopping area not far from where we live...so they still exist...at least in some places. So many places are becoming unisex these days but I would imagine that some men would still prefer the old fashioned barber shops. Tweeting!


mary615 profile image

mary615 3 years ago from Florida Author

Hi, Peggy W. Thanks for coming back to make a further comment . Yes, a lot of men prefer an old fashioned barber shop. You would never have found Doc in a unisex salon!

Thanks for the Tweet!


tillsontitan profile image

tillsontitan 3 years ago from New York

This is not a book I would have considered reading, that is until I read your wonderful review!

How wonderful to have reviews like this that can lead us to further our knowledge and enjoy it along the way!

Voted up, useful, and very interesting.


mary615 profile image

mary615 3 years ago from Florida Author

Hi tillsontitan (Mary). Thanks so much for reading and commenting on my book review. Since we all have to have haircuts, I just wanted to share this great book written by a wonderful barber.

Thanks for the votes, too. Mary


Beppo 2 years ago

About a year ago I went to a barbershop (yes some exist yet!).

Ad I waited my turn, a young lady with very long hair entered and sat down. A moment later I head her say that she wanted a "wild" haircut !

After I had been cut, I sat down again to see that girl getting cut.

Soon it was her turn.

She sat in the chair and the barber asked her what she wanted.

She didn't really know yet, he said, 'what do you recommand" ?

Helpless the barber looked at the waiting men. pulling up his shoulders.

"Oh, just give her a nice old fashioned boy's haircut" suggested one customer.

Then I put my two cents in and suggested a flattop, that's wild for a girl, I said...

I was surprised that she agreed !

The barbe went to work and scissor cut all the long hair off. I was at least two feet long, probably more.

When he took out the clippers, all men were riveted to the scene. Bet there were some weird thoughts going on !

When the long hair was reduced to a short mop, he took out the clippers and ttarted shavin her head all around, down to the skin !

He put some gue in the top hair and worked it up, until it was standing up all by itself.

I thought it an exciting moment when he stated to buzz the top flat !

Soon he dusted her off and she got up out of the chair. She checked herslf in the mirror; damned if she didn't look very cute, not boyish at all, but very sexy and attractive !

The men applauded her when she left.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

This sounds like a cute and funny book to read, perhaps one to have in the salon waiting room. The artwork on the cover is adorable and sets the tone. My, how I can relate to some of these peeves your daughter has listed. I worked in two barber shops (as a cosmetologist) where they did a lot of old fashioned razor cuts, flat-tops and regular hair cuts. We even had air hoses to blow off the hair clippings from the patron's neck. At the back was a shoe shine man whose patrons sat in an antique barber's chair. You've brought back some good memories with your review. Thanks.


pstraubie48 profile image

pstraubie48 2 years ago from sunny Florida

Hi Mary This sounds like a read I would like because my Daddy went to a barber, the old timey kind, with the red and while pole out front, for all of his years. Recently I got my grandson the old fashioned razor (screw off top, insert blades) as I knew he would use it. Yesterday we got cream for him to use and he is about to give it a try.

Thanks for the share.....I will have to give this a peek if I can find it Angels are on the way to you this morning voted up ++++ and shared g+


mary615 profile image

mary615 2 years ago from Florida Author

Hi, PegCole. I was very proud my barber daughter took the time to write this book and have it published. Her barber shop is an "old fashioned" one, where they do razor cuts, and many flat tops! She doesn't have a shoe shine man, though.

Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Mary


mary615 profile image

mary615 2 years ago from Florida Author

Hi there, pstraubie. Yes, it is a funny, but true book with good advice on how to get a good hair cut.

Her barber shop is an old fashioned one ( we don't many of those left around here). She has the barber pole right out front, too.

Barbering is almost a lost art; even barber schools are hard to locate.

Her book is easy to find on Amazon if you'd like to read it.

Thanks so much for reading, commenting, the votes and the share. I appreciate that so much. Mary

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working