Five Books To Read If You Liked Da Vinci Code

The World of Religious Mystery!

Da Vinci Code made headlines for its controversial and intriguing plot-line worldwide. Dan Brown's main lead, Robert Langdon is a famed symbologist and Sophie Neveu, a police cryptologist, land up in a chase to find the truth about the murder of Louvre's Curator who is also Neveu's grandfather. The search for the murderer unravels some deep dark secrets of the life of Christ. This fictional work delves into religious history and conspiracy and is an ideal read for history/religion/conspiracy/mystery fans..

I am an avid reader and I thoroughly enjoy reading books of religious/mystery/thriller genre. If you loved reading Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown, then here are five other books that I've read that you might enjoy getting your hands on.

Copyrighted:Amazon.com
Copyrighted:Amazon.com

The Last Cato by Maltide Asensi

The Last Cato is a thriller featuring an ancient brotherhood known as the Stauroflakes whose members vowed to be the protectors of the Holy Cross. The death of an Ethiopian man covered with strange tattoos brings together Dr.Ottaviia Salina, a nun who is also a paleographer at the Vatican Archives, an Egyptian archaeologist - Farag Boswell and Kaspar Glauser-Roist, Pope's Swiss Guard.

Salina, Boswell and Roist embark on a journey to solve the murder of the Ethiopian man and recover ancient relics that are being stolen from churches across the world. Their journey takes a new turn when they discover that Dante's Divine Comedy gives clues to reach their destination because Dante was a member of the ancient society of Stauroflakes.

Asensi takes her readers on a round-the-world trip that might sometimes seem far-fetched but if you're the one with an open imagination, you will enjoy this religious/historical thriller.

Authors in Pictures

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Dan Brown, Copyright:gawker.comMatilde Asensi, Copyright:KenSP-photobucketJames Rollins, Copyright:FantasybookcritiqueKathleen McGowan, Copyright:Amazon.comJavier Sierra, Copyright:y desperteJim Hougan and Carolyn Hougan [John Case is a pseudonymn for this writing team], Copyright:goodreads
Dan Brown, Copyright:gawker.com
Dan Brown, Copyright:gawker.com
Matilde Asensi, Copyright:KenSP-photobucket
Matilde Asensi, Copyright:KenSP-photobucket
James Rollins, Copyright:Fantasybookcritique
James Rollins, Copyright:Fantasybookcritique
Kathleen McGowan, Copyright:Amazon.com
Kathleen McGowan, Copyright:Amazon.com
Javier Sierra, Copyright:y desperte
Javier Sierra, Copyright:y desperte
Jim Hougan and Carolyn Hougan [John Case is a pseudonymn for this writing team], Copyright:goodreads
Jim Hougan and Carolyn Hougan [John Case is a pseudonymn for this writing team], Copyright:goodreads
Copyrighted:Amazon.com
Copyrighted:Amazon.com

Map of Bones by James Rollins

The bones of Three Magi are stolen after a massacre of church goers in Cologne, Germany by a band of men dressed in monk robes. To solve this horrendous crime, Rachel Verona, an investigator of Rome's carabinieri, and U.S. Sigma Force officer, Grayson Pierce are called forth in Italy.

Verona and Pierce entangle themselves in a maze of dangerous trails that lead them to a deadly secret with the power to change the world forever. The clue to this secret is the "Map of Bones" that travels through the ancient Seven Wonders of the World.

This fast-paced thriller is a globe-trotting adventure filled with suspense and history lessons apt for religious/history buffs.

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Copyrighted:Amazon.comCopyrighted:Amazon.com
Copyrighted:Amazon.com
Copyrighted:Amazon.com
Copyrighted:Amazon.com
Copyrighted:Amazon.com

Voice Your Opinion

What's your favorite Dan Brown book?

  • Angels and Demons! Its the best.
  • Da Vinci Code.
  • Neither
  • I like all his books
  • The Deception Point was a great read
See results without voting

The Magdalene Line by Kathleen McGowan

Maureen Paschal is an American journalist who has just began research for her new book on Mary Magdalene. During the course of her research, she is haunted by biblical dreams and visions that compel her to embark upon a journey to regions of France and Jerusalem.

Paschal is convinced that her hallucinations will help her uncover resources that will change her life and she is not alone in this belief. She is assisted in this exploration by her cousin, Father Peter Healy and new friends she makes in the French Pyrenees.

McGowan presents an alternative view to the history of Christianity and Christ and even though you might have read books or theories on Jesus' personal life and the Magdalene controversy, what is different about The Expected One is that its written from a woman's point of view and yet it covers both sides of the story on the life of Jesus.

Copyrighted:Amazon.com
Copyrighted:Amazon.com

The Secret Supper by Javier Sierra

This book is a translation from its Spanish publication by Alberto Manguel. Set in the 15th Century A.D., the plot revolves around a papal inquisition conducted by Father Agostino Leyre. Leyre is sent to the refectory of Santa Maria delle Grazie to identify if there are any hidden messages in the painting of Cenacolo, also known as The Secret Supper. This mission is commissioned because of a secret letter sent to the papal office by the "Soothsayer" who claimed that the painting will prove Leonardo Da Vinci's heresy.

The book does start slow but is a fun read for art and religious history fans. Sierra's work is a simple read with enough mystery to keep you guessing. This one's a fascinating read.

Copyrighted:Amazon.com
Copyrighted:Amazon.com

The Genesis Code by John Case

Joe Lassiter's sister and nephew are murdered in an arson, but they are not alone. A series of fires are killing mothers and sons around the globe. The question is why? So, Lassiter, who is also the owner of a high-tech investigation firm, takes it upon himself to find the murder.

The investigation leads Lassiter to a common ground the murdered mothers shared before the birth of their sons: a fertility clinic in Italy. The hunt for the murder turns into a chase where Lassiter is himself being hunted by an elite religious order of Italy.

This thriller gave me goose bumps. It allows the reader to follow the chase at a comfortable pace yet puts you on the edge of your seat throughout the story. Interesting plot and despite being a fictional work, it has a remarkable end that leaves the reader wondering, "What if this is true???"

Share Your Book Suggestions & Comments: 6 comments

Enigmatic Me profile image

Enigmatic Me 7 years ago from East Coast Canada

I agree with "The Last Cato", The Secret Supper I haven't finished yet.

As for other Authors... you HAVE to check out David Hewson... always art... not always religion... always a good read!


R.  6 years ago

You should take a look at "The rightous men."

Amazing.


kay hebbourn profile image

kay hebbourn 6 years ago from The Lake District, England

Thanks for that, good read and very interesting, K


earthbound1974 profile image

earthbound1974 5 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

Awesome hub with equally awesome books. I can't wait to read 'Angels and Demons' by Dan Brown. I've never seen the film yet.

Anyways. thanks for sharing!


steveago profile image

steveago 4 years ago

Great post. As soon as I began reading I immediately thought of John Case and his book The Genesis Code. It was a pleasure seeing that you added it to your list. The Dan Brown books were all incredible. My favorite still being Davinci Code. Thanks for sharing.


Mike Nolan profile image

Mike Nolan 17 months ago from Sarasota, FL

I worked at a bookstore when DaVinci Code (known to us as "The book that won't go away") was hot. I was amazed by the sheer amount of copycat books released within the next year.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    More by this Author

    • Quotes and Sayings of Rumi
      13

      Jalaluddin Rumi Sufi Dervish A painting of Rumi Rumi in thoughts! Jalalaluddin Muhammad Rumi, commonly known as Rumi, was a 13th Century mystic in Persia. A lawyer by profession, Rumi was a mystic at heart. As a...


    Click to Rate This Article
    working