"Heaven is for Real" ~ Book Review


For anyone who has ever wondered about Heaven... if it really exists, who you might expect to see there, and what its like, this book will be a fascinating read. "Heaven is for Real" is a true story about a four year old boy, Colton Burpo, who had a ruptured appendix and several evergency surgeries, during which he was acutely ill and near death. The doctors were not certain he would live.

After his recovery and return home to his family, he began making some startling statements to his parents about things he saw, heard, and did while he was in "heaven". This story is told through the voice of his father, Todd Burpo, a Christian pastor, who tries to analyze his son's revelations and make sense of it all.

I found this book to be an easy, compelling read that gave "Heaven" a new face in my mind, one that needs to shared with a hurting world. I recommend this book as a personal must read for anyone even remotely curious about "Heaven", and a book which is worthy of passing on!

This portrait of Jesus, painted by a very young visionary named Akiane Kramarik, is the one Colton  picked out of hundreds of pictures, as the one that looks the most like Jesus whom he saw while in "Heaven"
This portrait of Jesus, painted by a very young visionary named Akiane Kramarik, is the one Colton picked out of hundreds of pictures, as the one that looks the most like Jesus whom he saw while in "Heaven" | Source
This is a picture of Colton, as a young teenager.
This is a picture of Colton, as a young teenager. | Source

More by this Author

Comments 18 comments

WillStarr profile image

WillStarr 5 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

Nice review. I'd like to read this one!

preacherdon profile image

preacherdon 5 years ago from Arkansas

Thanks for the review. I've seen the book advetized on TBN.I may check it out.

tnderhrt23 5 years ago

Thanks, WillStarr. This is my first book review. My son gave me this book to read and it is well worth the time. Let me know if you choose to read it. I would be interested in your take on it.

tnderhrt23 5 years ago

Preacherdon, this is a very interesting true story that sure convinced me. Todd Burpo is a pastor, himself, and it is a compelling read, especially in this age and time.

always exploring profile image

always exploring 5 years ago from Southern Illinois

I want to read this Marsha. Thank you for the review. Where did you find the book?

tnderhrt23 profile image

tnderhrt23 5 years ago Author

Hi Ruby, My son ordered his copy from Amazon.com. That is where I pulled the picture of the book from so I know they have it. It is a great read. Let me know if you read it, I am interested in what you think! Hugs!

BL Tween profile image

BL Tween 5 years ago

Heaven is Real and God is Real! Amen

MysteriousOne profile image

MysteriousOne 5 years ago

I am definitely going to read this!!! Thanks for sharing!

Haircudda 5 years ago

I read this book tenderheart and you reviewed it wonderfully. The matter of fact description from the eyes of a young innocent child was inpiring to read. I also enjoyed how he validated the young painter whose family were atheist yet she paints pictures of heaven that are so vivid. I believe she started painting when she was four. She awed me when I saw her story as well and Colton verifies that her insights are the closest he has seen to accurately portraying Jesus. Thumbs up for this read... I would also recommend this for young children to read as it is simply stated.

nighthag profile image

nighthag 5 years ago from Australia

Sounds like a heartwarming read I will have to check it out, thanks for the review :)

tnderhrt23 profile image

tnderhrt23 5 years ago Author

Thank you, MO. I am anxious to know what you think!

tnderhrt23 profile image

tnderhrt23 5 years ago Author

Haircudda, I so appreciate your feedback! This is a book that touched me deeply and it was on my heart to write this review to share its message.Thank you!

tnderhrt23 profile image

tnderhrt23 5 years ago Author

nighthag, thank you. If you read it, let me know. I would be interested in what you think!

anglnwu profile image

anglnwu 5 years ago

I've read this book and highly recommend it. Even though I'm a Christian, heaven didn't sound like a whole lot of fun until I read this book. I recently saw an interview with Colton on our local news station--so amazing. Rated up.

tnderhrt23 5 years ago

anglnwu, thank you. I am a Christian also, and this book definitely gave "heaven" a new face, for me, so much so that I felt the need to share it. I appreciate your read and comment!

carriethomson profile image

carriethomson 5 years ago from United Kingdom

hi this seems to be interesting!! I do believe in heaven maybe it is there i am not sure but definitely intrigued by the review and definitely going to read the book!!

thanx for the review

tnderhrt23 5 years ago

Thank you, carrithomson! It is definitely a worthwhile read that moved me, and I am happy to share that.

Juliek958 profile image

Juliek958 4 years ago from Norman, Oklahoma

The painting of Jesus that you used is by a then 8 year old by the name of Akiane Kramarik. She has had visions since she was around that same age that Colton was when he experienced Heaven. She is obviously a prodigy and beyond talented...a true gift. The amazing thing to me is she painted this from a vision she had of Jesus. Colton picked this out of 100's of photos he was shown of what Jesus supposedly looks like and said that this was him. Akiane is now 16 and still painting. Both Colton and Akiane have messages for us adults and I hope we are all listening.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article