Crippled America, How To Make America Great Again - Book Review

By U.S. Navy photo by Mass Communication Specialist 3rd Class David Danals [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
By U.S. Navy photo by Mass Communication Specialist 3rd Class David Danals [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

What About the Man?

Some say he's brash. Others criticize his hair. Beyond the outspoken nature of this presidential hopeful, the man has a record of success in business that bears a closer look. He identifies the issues that are facing our nation in today's volatile world of continuous war on terrorism, the need for a return of good paying jobs, the need to improve our infrastructure and to improve our educational standards. He addresses the issues in a frank, and sometimes offensive, manner.

Many criticize his proposed plans for improving our nation. Some judge him for his harsh words and direct way of speaking his mind. But there are things to be gleaned from his ideas as presented in the book, Crippled America - How to Make America Great Again.

Donald J. Trump

Gage Skidmore [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Gage Skidmore [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Crippled America, How to Make America Great Again. Mr. Trump selected this stern photo of himself for the cover for a reason.
Crippled America, How to Make America Great Again. Mr. Trump selected this stern photo of himself for the cover for a reason.

About The Author

Right from the start, you have to admit, the man speaks his mind. In fact, he is one of the most outspoken of the potential candidates, Republican and Democrat. He's not afraid to be politically incorrect. He excels at this. Perhaps it's his best attribute. It certainly distinguishes him from the other candidates.

Known as a celebrity from fourteen seasons on his show, "The Apprentice", "one of the most successful reality series ever on NBC," his season finale had the highest ratings on television, after the Superbowl, with twenty-eight million viewers.

Many people recognize the billionaire from his extremely profitable real estate ventures, his best selling books, including The Art of the Deal, and the impressive list of interviews, write-ups and awards he has received including the "Green Space" Award, Hotel and Real Estate Visionary of the Century, from the Historical Society and a host of other awards attesting to his philanthropic nature and economic success.

Trump Place, New York

Looking west from 11th Avenue and 64th Street, Riverside South, NYC
Looking west from 11th Avenue and 64th Street, Riverside South, NYC | Source

What Do You Think of Donald Trump?

  • Like his ideas, not his delivery
  • Like him, think he's what this country needs
  • Support his run for the Presidency
  • Can't stand him or his ideas
  • Undecided
See results without voting

Love and Hate

Face it, you either love the guy or you hate him. But that doesn't impinge on his ideas to turn this country around. For many, the slowly creeping demise of what we remember as the American ideal: top notch education and schools; the best built cars; a manufacturing giant in multiple industries; jobs and employment opportunities; in fact, a land of endless opportunity is now, saddled with increasing debt, budget deficits, and ongoing wars that seem to be unwinnable. Countless lives have been ruined by the terrorism that has infiltrated our country, with increasing concerns on our financial credit rating along with the unrestricted immigration of people whose needs drain our resources without adding to the coffers.

Trump International Tower, Chicago, Under Construction

The Trump International Hotel and Tower under construction in Chicago, IL. By User:JeremyA (Own work) [CC BY-SA 2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons,  © Jeremy Atherton, 2006
The Trump International Hotel and Tower under construction in Chicago, IL. By User:JeremyA (Own work) [CC BY-SA 2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons, © Jeremy Atherton, 2006

He's Too Rich

There's an old joke about the best way to make a million dollars. The answer: Start with ten million. Donald Trump admits to receiving a loan of a million dollars from his hard working mentor and father, Fred. But unlike many who win the lottery and end up in debt, this entrepreneur used his skills to turn that million dollars into an empire of over ten billion dollars. How did he do that? He explains this in his books and it involves hard work, a subject he understands.

Not only is he successful financially in real estate, he also amassed a fortune in book sales and he shares those secrets. To those who say he's too rich, check the net worth of our current President 2, Mrs. Obama 3 and the other candidates. 4

One Minute of Visual Beauty - Trump Tower, Chicago

Have You Stayed at the Trump's?

Have you ever stayed at a Trump facility or used his golf courses?

  • Yes
  • No
  • I wasn't aware he had any real estate.
See results without voting
Fred and Mary Trump at Donald's graduation from NY Military Academy
Fred and Mary Trump at Donald's graduation from NY Military Academy | Source

What Does He Propose as Solutions?

Trump says, this country "needs someone with common sense and business acumen, someone who can truly lead America back to what has made us great in the past." How does he plan to do that?

He proposes a tax plan that "gives the middle class and those with lower incomes a chance to keep more of what they earn."

He commits to "a more powerful military, one prepared and equipped to stand up to any and all of our foes. When we draw a line in the sand, it needs to mean something..."

He plans to fix the healthcare system by "creating competition in the private sector between insurance companies, and by allowing patients to choose the family doctors they want."

He sees the immediate need to "undertake a massive rebuilding of our infrastructure" saying that "too many bridges have become dangerous" with our decaying roads creating lost time and income due to congestion and delays. He says our airports can't begin to compare with those in other nations whose technology and infrastructure has far surpassed our own.

He claims expertise in negotiations that resulted in successful business deals and intends to transmit this experience into better deals in our foreign trade agreements. He says that we lose to Mexico and China in trade and at the border. He talks about turning that around to make deals that profit both sides, including the US.

How will he do it? Mr. Trump says, "I find the people who are the best in the world at what needs to be done, then I hire them to do it, and then I let them do it."

He speaks of how his investments created thousands of jobs and how he can translate that to the unemployed millions in this country who want to return to work.

Trump Tower, Toronto

By Jnn95 (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
By Jnn95 (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

What About Foreign Policies?

Trump identifies why few world powers respect us. He believes that building up our military is essential to be seen as a world leader; a super power as we once were. He says, "The best way not to have to use your military power is to make sure that power is visible." He believes that building airplanes and ships will put thousands of people to work.

He also says that the protection and military forces that we deploy to fight the wars in other countries should come at a price, in particular, when defending oil rich nations like Saudi Arabia which earns between a half a billion and a billion dollars every day. At present, they pay us nothing. He wants that to change.

He wants South Korea to pay us for the 28,500 soldiers who protect their country every day without paying us a cent.

Our cost of defending Iraq was two trillion dollars while they sit on an ocean of oil and contribute nothing to our expense.

"The point is we're spending trillions of dollars to safeguard other countries." He believes they should pay their fair share of the cost and we should have a tangible objective for the outcome before we intervene in a conflict that does not affect us directly or threaten our national interests.

Donald Trump believes that to announce our strategy to our enemies ahead of time is foolhardy. The Iran deal is, in his opinion, the worst deal he has ever seen with the US getting nothing and giving away everything including the release of billions of dollars in sanctions. From a negotiating standpoint, it forced us to give huge concessions and allowed huge loopholes in enforcing anything meaningful.

He discusses China's trade agreement and their global economy and says they need us as much as we need them. He talks about the danger of China devaluing their currency.

Trump Tower Manila, the Philippines

The Donald Has Many Ideas

The book goes into impressive detail about the changes that need to happen to improve our educational system, global warming, gun control, health care reform, tax code reform and much more. His particular advantage is not having to bow down to special interest groups or have ties to them for donations to his campaign since he is self-financed.

He loves our country and is not afraid to say so. There are many reasons people dislike and disrespect Donald Trump. He's made bold statements about immigrants and crime. He's spoken harshly to women reporters. He's made jokes that fall short of being funny when it comes to the appearance or demeanor of other candidates.

Pushing all that aside, his ideas have merit and give hope for a brighter outcome for America, placing emphasis on the real issues of our national security and placing our people first. This book explains how he plans to do that.

Whether he can do these things or not if elected is not in my power to foresee. This is a book review. Comments and opinions are welcomed.

Donald Trump's Speech, Fort Dodge, Iowa 11-12 15

Notes, Sources

  1. Crippled America, How to Make America Great Again, Donald Trump, November 2015, Political Science
  2. The Ten Richest Presidents, Time Business Inc., Economy and Policy
  3. Michelle Obama's Net Worth
  4. Net Worth of Presidential Candidates 2016

© 2015 Peg Cole

More by this Author


Comments 41 comments

mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 10 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

Hello Peg. I want to form a committee to review the selection of books to review :) Hope all is well with you.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Mike, I need to do a book review on your wonderful books. It's long overdue. All is well here. Thanks for stopping by.


marcoujor profile image

marcoujor 10 months ago from Jeffersonville PA

Your reviews are always interesting and well-penned.

I am agog at the net worth statistics you shared...

A year to go...yipee. Love, mar


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hello Marcoujor, It is always wonderful to have you stop in to check things out. I was agog at the statistics, too. Thank you for your great comment.


Jodah profile image

Jodah 10 months ago from Queensland Australia

Love him or hate him, you cannot ignore Donald Trump. This was an excellent review of the man and his book. Well done Peg. Thank for sharing.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Thanks, Jodah. I appreciate your kind words and truly believe we must study the potential candidates and their proposals before we make our choices and cast our votes.


drbj profile image

drbj 10 months ago from south Florida

The Donald is a complex and successful businessman and individual. I do not know if he will make a great President but at this point, he seems to be one of the leading choices in both parties. Thanks for this compelling and well-written review of the book, Peg.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Thank you, Drbj, for your keen insight and kind words. Also, for taking time to read this and comment.


Dana Tate profile image

Dana Tate 10 months ago from LOS ANGELES

I never thought much of Donald Trump, however, I must admit reading your article has shown him in a new light. Maybe, just maybe what America needs- is someone who hasn't been "groomed" into politics saying all the right words and making empty promises just to get voted. America is in such bad shape it may need someone who has no other alternative than to see America restored to the great country it once was. Trump may not be the "ideal" candidate but it may be time to think outside of the box.


Genna East profile image

Genna East 10 months ago from Massachusetts, USA

Excellent review, Peg. I'm not a fan of Trump for president, but he certainly makes an impression that is impossible to ignore. And he knows how to use the media to his advantage.


MsDora profile image

MsDora 10 months ago from The Caribbean

The man means well, and it is possible that we will miss out on some of his wisdom if we're busy trying to run him over. Thanks for presenting these views which encourage admiration for who and what he truly is. Excellent article.


Jackie Lynnley profile image

Jackie Lynnley 10 months ago from The Beautiful South

I think what is great about him is that he has kicked this country out of some of its political correctness. He just doesn't care and says what many think and want to say! He isn't my favorite but I am always listening to see what he might say next. lol


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Dana, I'm glad you took the time to read this review and that you see this candidate in a new light. I believe you're right about a new approach to politics as usual. From what I've seen in the past, it's all talk and no action. I hope we will select a candidate this time who is true to his word.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Genna, that is absolutely true. He is one who is impossible to ignore. The media seems to enjoy shining the light on his less than stellar moments. I would certainly not enjoy the scrutiny that he receives. Thank you for dropping in to comment.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi MsDora, I truly appreciate your visit and thoughtful words. I'm hopeful for the upcoming election to present us with a genuine representative of the people who can guide us back to one nation under God.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Jackie, You're right about the effects of political correctness. We've lost the ability to speak our minds for fear of offending someone, somewhere. Thank you so much for visiting and for the straightforward comment. I appreciate you.


moonlake profile image

moonlake 10 months ago from America

Great review. I'm not sure what I think of him, but I do know this country needs help and it needs to be great again.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Thanks for your sentiments, Moonlake. I believe that, too. We need more than talk and promises. We need a path and someone who is determined to bring this country back its jobs and financial stability.


always exploring profile image

always exploring 10 months ago from Southern Illinois

Peg, this is a great review of a man I've disliked, but I must say that I'm looking at him with new eyes. I like what he says about making China and other countries pay their fare share. He is brash and his ego knows no boundaries. I do not like his stance on immigrants. We all came here from someplace, but times have changed. Who ever is elected president must be strong. I just wish Trump would show more heart.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Always exploring, You are not alone with your feelings about this man and I can understand them. He is outspoken and not modest. Perhaps that's what it will take to deal with foreign countries and win at the negotiating table. I like the infrastructure ideas. Our roads and bridges are deplorable. Our gas lines and water mains are a hundred years old. Our trains and rail systems are backward and old technology. Perhaps this can change with a strong person as our Commander in Chief.

I believe in immigration, too. I also think that the people we allow to come here need to bring skills and a willingness to work to contribute to our tax base. My friend's wife with a college degree had to wait two years to immigrate here from China and join her husband. Even so, she followed the rules and made it to the US.


AliciaC profile image

AliciaC 10 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

Thanks for sharing an interesting and informative book review, Peg. I'm not a fan of Donald Trump, to put it mildly, because of his attitude towards immigrants and other groups. That doesn't stop me from appreciating this hub, though!


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Thank you, AliciaC, for stopping in to check it out even knowing you are not a fan. It's important that we are aware of the platform on which all the candidates stand. I appreciate you.


Frank Atanacio profile image

Frank Atanacio 10 months ago from Shelton

Pegcole.. thanks for another view in review of a complex millionaire.. you either love him or hate him.. I agree and I happen to be one who hates and can't trust him.. if elected I feel his brash can send us into world war three and only our sons and daughters will suffer more.. but nonetheless a great review :)


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Thanks for stopping by, Frank. I appreciate your candid remarks and can understand your concerns. It is doubtful we will find the perfect candidate. I'm inclined to vote for someone who will not be business as usual. Too many years have come and gone on empty promises and divisive policies. We need representatives of the people rather than rulers.


FlourishAnyway profile image

FlourishAnyway 10 months ago from USA

I find him to be an absolute boob, a narcissist and a blow hard but I enjoy the fact that he is in the Presidential race because of the ebtertainment value and because I am a Hillary Clinton supporting Democrat.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Flourish, I appreciate your visit and heartfelt remarks. What a great country we live in where we can voice our beliefs and express our differences. Thank you for dropping in.


aviannovice profile image

aviannovice 10 months ago from Stillwater, OK

It is true, the man knows how to make money, and the best way to do that is to hire those that can do it for you. Sadly, he must either learn etiquette, or not be allowed to speak.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Deb, Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this candidate. We have grown so sensitive to words these days. I remember the saying, "Sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me." Political correctness has taken over the freedom to speak our minds.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 10 months ago from Central Florida

Peg, I think Trump has some great ideas about rebuilding America. I also think a successful businessman, as opposed to a politician, makes sense as one who can lead our country back to the state it once was and then some.

Politicians tear us down. Business moguls are in the business of building. Perhaps it's time we give it a try and see what happens.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hello Bravewarrior, Thanks for coming by, Shauna. We have had years of politicians who promise all kinds of things, until they get into office. Then, it's business as usual with special interests leading the way. I hope this election will provide new leadership and put America back on the right track. It's time we fix our own infrastructure, bring back manufacturing and provide jobs for those who want and need to work.


Faith Reaper profile image

Faith Reaper 10 months ago from southern USA

Hi Peg,

You always write stellar reviews on books. Being I am sick to death of all the PC in this country, that is one thing I do love about The Donald, he is not PC!

He does have plenty of great ideas, and I am glad he is stirring up this election to get the other candidates thinking more about what is truly important in this country.

God bless


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 10 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Faith,

That's the way I feel about him, too. We need something to shake up the standard empty promises and evasive answers from candidates. This guy has certainly done that. Thanks for coming by.


lawrence01 profile image

lawrence01 9 months ago from Hamilton, New Zealand

Peg

I actually like the man! You know exactly where you stand with him and that's what a lot of the 'blue collar' like about him. They may not agree with some of what he says, but they know he's going to 'talk straight'

Colin Powell once said "The world hates America, but when the world wants a cop, whose door do they knock on?"

Enjoyed the review

Lawrence


word55 profile image

word55 9 months ago from Chicago

Hi Peg. I guess I'll toot my horn here. I was instrumental in getting the Trump Towers opened in Chicago a few years ago. I worked diligently as my Fire Chief in the fire department asked me if I need extra help in getting the fire alarm and other safety systems approved on time. As for Trump's candidacy for president he's keeping all the others on their toes. The race will be interesting down the stretch. Great hub here peg.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 9 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hello Lawrence01, Thanks for stopping by and for sharing your thoughts on this. I'm glad we have a variety of newcomers in the upcoming election who represent bold ideas and actually address the issues on the minds of the people. I appreciate your insightful remarks.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 9 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Word55, wow! I would love to see the Trump Towers and check out his other projects. Thank you for your heroic service while in the fire department.

I believe you're right about him keeping the other candidates on their toes. He has brought out conversations about subjects on which Americans have serious concerns. Thanks so much for coming by.


Paul Kuehn profile image

Paul Kuehn 8 months ago from Udorn City, Thailand

Thank you very much for sharing this book review "Crippled America." Now that I know Donald Trump has written this point, I am extremely anxious to read it because based on your review and the video of the Fort Dodge, Iowa, speech, Trump has very good ideas. I especially like Trump's views on political correctness. I am sharing this hub with HP followers and also on Facebook.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 7 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Paul, I appreciate you taking the time to read this review and to comment. Sorry for the delay in my responding to your valuable insight and remarks.


Frank Atanacio profile image

Frank Atanacio 6 months ago from Shelton

Peg cole just came back to read other comments on this book review.. thanks for keeping it going :)


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 6 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Thanks for stopping back in again, Frank.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 3 weeks ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Thank you for your comments regarding the book review, however, this is not the place for political discussion concerning the candidates. If your comment does not pertain to the article or the book review, it will be deleted. I apologize in advance to those who are offended by my moderation. The forums are open to those who wish to express their political opinions.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working