Is Bubblews a Scam? An Honest Review of Bubblews

This was an honest Bubblews Review, looking at: "Is Bubblews a scam, or is Bubblews a good site to write for?" based on my real-life experiences of the last three months, where I have been writing "successfully". You might note that the word successfully is emphasised - and that's because there are many measures of success.

For the purposes of this review, my definition of success is: to be well received, to have many connections and to have a significant income.

UPDATE: Bubblews closed down. I hadn't been active on Bubblews during its final months, once they dropped the payrates it wasn't worth my while. This happens with a lot of sites. I got in early and made some good money right at a time when I needed it.... the waste of time I spent investing in the future of the company and its longevity does bite though.

Bubblews Closed Down

This was a genuine review of Bubblews and I did get paid a considerable sum from them. Although it was fast/fairly easy cash it was all time-consuming and then they changed the payment rates and the gravy train stopped rolling.

I did get a fast cash injection just when I needed it most though. But Bubblews closed down and is gone.

What is Bubblews?

Bubblews is a site where you are paid for writing. The articles can be very short (just 400 characters long). You can include images and even some links; links must not be referral links.

Bubblews pays you on a revenue share basis for your posts. Payment is made for each view, each "like" and each comment. The rate of pay is approximately $0.01 per event. Just 1000 views therefore yields at least $10.

You can redeem your money once you reach just $25, which many writers are managing every day. I managed to get up to redeeming every 2 days when the number of times Bubblws had not paid me grew too large for me to overlook or ignore.

I know if the site had been fair and managed correctly I could have achieved $25+ per day.

Is Bubblews a scam? No, but that doesn't mean you will be paid.

Bubblews Review
Bubblews Review | Source

How Did I Find Bubblews?

I first found out about Bubblews here on Hubpages, when somebody was asking about it - so I joined, and wrote up a comparison between Hubpages and Bubblews. You can read that article from the link to your right -->

Having joined and with traffic diminishing here on Hubpages I needed some instant cash so headed off to Bubblews to make that income.

Bubblews Rules:

At first the Rules seem easy to understand and apply, but hidden behind these rules are the hidden rules, the unwritten rules and their interpretation of the rules - which are only discovered when people have broken the rules - people are then referred back to the rules of Bubblews, which don't contain the rule that's broken.

Bubblews decide how their Rules are to be interpreted. Their interpretation is not based always on the law, common sense, or the way that other sites and legal bodies might interpret them - and, the final rule is .... they make up the rules, they decide and what they say goes. And when what they say goes, users suddenly find their entire accounts deleted.

Voice your opinion, or post your payment issues and commenters will say maybe you broke the rules. But, if you've not broken the rules then this leaves you more frustrated.

Bubblews Has Not Paid Me:

One thing you will notice is that if people complain they haven't been paid, or that their accounts have been deleted, others are telling them they must have broken the rules.l While this can be true for a lot, there are a suspiciously high number of "good writers" whose accounts are simply not paid out and mysteriously are deleted.

Having been deleted, these posters' posts and all their comments, no longer exist, so it's hard to track down "evidence" and instances of these. But there are far too many to ignore.

My Account at Bubblews Has Not Been Deleted:

At the time of writing, my account at Bubblews has not been deleted. It still exists, none of my posts have been deleted.

I have simply not been paid by Bubblews on an unacceptably high number of occasions.

Is Bubblews a scam?

No, but it is a HUGE disappointment, a tyrannical regime, that fails to give members a voice when their legitimate requests for payment go unanswered.

Bubblews is not a scam - but I feel scammed. I've put the work in, I've written, they didn't pay. Bubblews did not pay me and did not say why.

If it feels like a scam ....... treat it like one.

Be Informed:

I joined Bubblews knowing that people had payment issues. I thought I understood the Rules and kept to them. I could see "rule breakers" and consider myself a very law-abiding writer. I don't want to break any rules; in my opinion I didn't.

What I've always loved about Hubpages is how they wouldn't delete an account, they'd just unpublish a post and you'd know what you'd done wrong and have the opportunity to fix it. Bubblews simply does not pay you.

I then started uncovering the hidden rules of Bubblews. I then published knowledge of these hidden rules and interpretations of the rules and evidence of the interpretation of the rules.

As it stands, I've been writing for Bubblews for 3 months and have, to date, had 5 payments not made. When Bubblews do not pay you all you get is a silence. You have no idea if there was a system error, if you broke an arbitrary rule, or anything. You simply don't get paid.

Without knowing why you didn't get paid it's tough to work out how to move forward. There are support emails to contact - but when they don't respond either, you're back to square one.

IF - and that is IF, not when - you break a rule it puts your whole payment in jeopardy. One of my posts took off and made $125 in just 24 hours. It was legitimate, it broke no rules, the traffic was genuine organic search engine traffic and social media traffic..... it's not been paid. That was the first non-payment, at the end of August. I am still waiting for it.

Bubblews Support:

Bubblews Support mechanisms have always been inefficient. Very inefficient.

On 21 October 2013 they created three new email addresses - one of which was to address unpaid amounts; I duly wrote off to the email address, listing my five unpaid Bubblews payments - they emailed back saying to wait 86 hours - after 86 hours I'd heard nothing. It's now 100 hours on.

If you try to create a post saying you haven't been paid, the Rules can be bent as they decide you are defaming or slandering the site - the truth is never defamation or slander.

So you're stuck.

Some posters are quite smug saying "read Support posts every day" - to read both support pages and the profile messages, where some questions are half answered (then soon deleted), it would take a lot of time - PLUS - it doesn't yield any real answers.

Support do not make the rules clear, or which rule people broke - there's nothing to learn from. The language used by support is quite threatening, over-using the word Violation..... it makes you feel violated. And, when I've seen them telling people they violated the Rules, they've never said which rule, or how that was interpreted to cause a violation in their eyes.

Is Bubblews a Scam?

A scam is where they set out to deliberately deceive you - so Bubblews is not a scam per se.

However, if the end result is that you feel cheated, robbed and ignored, then certainly you will have the feelings of being scammed. I feel scammed, but Bubblews is not a scam.

They are a badly organised outfit, with inconsistent policies, inadequate support procedures, zero transparency and arbitrary rule changes.

You enter into an agreement with Bubblews that you will write, they will pay. If you write and they don't pay ... and you cannot reach them to find out why, disagree, negotiate, discover which rule they think was broken (so you can edit the post), whether a site is a scam or not it's the same outcome: Unhappy writers, who feel scammed.

How Much Did Bubblews Pay Me?

Bubblews did pay me at first; my first non payment from Bubblews came after one post was (legitimately) popularI. In total I was actually paid for just over half of my payment requests.

My first payment was mid-August. My first non-payment was the 4th payment two weeks later. I was then paid for the 5th-11th payment requests, but the 12th was a non payment. No payment, no communication, no idea why.

At the time of writing, my payments are:

  • TOTAL CLAIMED: $778.43
  • TOTAL RECEIVED/CLEARED to date: $438.97
  • TOTAL in Clearing: $58.51 (#22, #24) - it takes up to 10 days for payment to complete

So, you can see, I've been paid $438.97 - which is not insignificant. But, the bottom line is I should have been paid more and wasn't.

  • 56.4% Paid
  • 7.5% Clearing
  • 36.1% NOT Paid

Bubblews Payments Update September 2014

It's now some time further on. After the early payments that weren't paid, all subsequent payments from Bubblews have been processed in a timely manner - no chasing required.

I took several months off, during which time I still redeemed about$150 in residual income and, as of September 2014 I've made $2500 on Bubblews.

Some members are still saying that payments are late, or not appearing - the company say they're getting on top of it. Until it's happened to me again, though, I can't pass comment. One thing I would say is that I do cash out just over the (new) $50 minimum payout threshold - some people are leaving the money in there for a full month and cashing out $250-350 a time. I prefer to run a risk each time on smaller payments, than one huge risk on one big payment.

Why Did I Not Stop Writing for Bubblews Sooner?

When you join a paid for writing website you have to give some trust to them that they will honour the agreement you believed you entered into.

You put a lot of time and effort into getting established; time you don't want to feel you wasted simply by having been a little impatient. You invest many hours/days/weeks into doing everything you need to do to get a following, learn the best ways to promote your writing, etc.

There is also some delay in the payments process, it can take 10 days between making your payment request and actually receiving the money. During this 10 day period it's possible to have also made another 3-5 payment requests. With so many in the pipeline, you've already invested so much of your time, focus and energy that you see the non-payment and just think "It'll turn up" .....

My first none payment was at the end of August 2013, this had grown to five payments, totalling $250, by mid October. That's when I called a halt to it and started looking for alternatives.

Bread Today or Cake Next Week?

At times in our lives we can't wait for cake next week - we need bread today to live. Bubblews gave me a way to try to earn "instant cash" - and, to be fair, it has provided this. But, the deal's soured when you're not paid 100% for all your work.

There comes a time when "bread sometimes today" isn't the deal you need. If you put the work in, solidly, for 2-3 days, expecting $25-35 .... and it doesn't come ... you have to call a halt.

If You Write for Bubblews Have You Been Paid Every Time?

Many of you here also write for Bubblews - have you been paid EVERY time?

  • Yes, but I have made less than 20 payment requests.
  • Yes and I have made 20+ payment requests.
  • No, I have not been paid every time, but I still write.
  • No, I wasn't paid and my account was deleted or I deleted it
  • Other - please leave a comment below
See results without voting

More by this Author

  • Free Online Writing Courses
    48

    Writing well will help you to get on better in every aspect of your life, as well as improve your chances to earn money. Here are some free ways to learn writing.

  • Darlwyne Tragedy 1966
    2

    In 1966 a pleasure boat trip by sea from Mylor in Cornwall to Fowey, turned to tragedy, with all lives lost. An inexperienced captain and a boat that should never have set to sea....

  • Best Selling Products for Market Stalls
    8

    New and existing market traders are always looking to find the best selling products for market stalls, in order to start up as a market trader, increase their existing turnover, or break out into new markets.


Comments 27 comments

LindaSmith1 profile image

LindaSmith1 2 years ago from USA

14 payment requests, received 14 payments


Lori P. profile image

Lori P. 2 years ago from Southern California USA

I signed up for Bubblews even though it sounded too good to be true and after having read all of the negative reviews about it. My very first posts received a lot of hits and I got excited until suddenly, for no reason at all, I could not login. I knew the rules and broke none. My posts were highly informative and not some of those brief "I'm just posting this for money" kind of posts. I was frustrated and disappointed when I got zero response from the support team at Bubblews but thankful that I learned quickly to stop writing for this unstable company.


Sue Bailey profile image

Sue Bailey 2 years ago from South Yorkshire, UK

I am also someone who writes on Bubblews and can honestly say that I have never not been paid within a few days of redeeming. I now make far more there than here which wasn't always the case. Even now when I maybe only write a couple of articles a month, due to other commitments I still earn more than here. It isn't a vast amount because I don't strive to write ten things a day like some people do. I don't think it's a scam I think if you stick to their rules it's an easy way to make a few dollars.


Sue Bailey profile image

Sue Bailey 2 years ago from South Yorkshire, UK

I wasn't saying you had broken the rules. But thank you for pointing out my misdemeanours for all to see. I have no idea why some people get paid without a problem and some don't. I have been fortunate.


earner profile image

earner 2 years ago from United Kingdom Author

I've removed it, that wasn't my intention. I "was just saying", but obviously c0cked that up :)

I was fortunate at first.... and I kept believing the money'd turn up .... not posted there since... still hoping/waiting


Writer Fox profile image

Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

I don't write on Bubblews but there are many Hubbers who do. It seems like you could report them to the BBB or to some other agency, depending on where the company is located. At least you're getting some publicity out so that other writers will know that payment can be problematic.


Adept2012 profile image

Adept2012 2 years ago

Thanks earner, this mean one has to think twice before you join bubblew.


Sue Bailey profile image

Sue Bailey 2 years ago from South Yorkshire, UK

Thank you


teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 2 years ago

Thank you for the feedback on the sight. I am on it, but do not have time to write as much as I would like. It will be interesting to see what happens over the next year to this site. Hope you get things settled.


MarleneB profile image

MarleneB 2 years ago from Northern California, USA

Thanks for saving me from disaster. I signed up for Bubblews, but only so that I could read and offer feedback on the articles I read there. I only write for my contracted clients (the real job) and for HubPages (for fun and the community). Apparently, you have to sign up with Bubblews in order to follow someone.


weekend profile image

weekend 2 years ago

You should add, 'No, Bubblews has never paid any of my redemptions and my account still exists' to your poll. That's what happened in my case. Three redemptions dating back to September 9, 2013 and not a cent!


Bill Kasman 2 years ago

I have been paid on time every time by Bubblews - except the first redemption which was due to a silly mistake I made and not something underhanded by Bubblews. I do not post a great deal on Bubblews (on average once a day). An awful lot of bubbles are meaningless drivel and if I were Bubblews I wouldn't pay them either!


earner profile image

earner 2 years ago from United Kingdom Author

Since 1 January 2014 I have now earnt over $700 and been paid on time for each of these. I earnt $400 in February alone - all paid/banked. In March I will make less as I am focussing on other things, I still expect to make $300 in March though, but not through internal traffic/interacting, which takes far too long.

My early non-payments have still not made an appearance and I must get round to chasing them again at some point.


CASE1WORKER profile image

CASE1WORKER 2 years ago from UNITED KINGDOM

I claimed $50 and was paid- I don't really like the site too much- I think it brings out the worst in me- mindless reading and commenting and inter acting. I got quite worked up that I was not reading everything that my connections had written and then I realised that with the statistics I had, neither were they!


kellytruths profile image

kellytruths 2 years ago from Singapore

At this time of my commenting here, my account is not deleted yet. But I think it would be, by tomorrow. Wish I did some research before joining Bubblews!

Eeriely, I had accidentally downloaded a bubbles screen saver. And the next thing I know, I was on bubblews. If it's fated that i am brought there to write and to kick up a fuss on non-payment, may be some divine energies had brought me there!

Any way...here's my story. They had also accused me of breaking the TOU but not the Big 8 TOU on the same day I redeemed for the first time. This is my message to Arvind on Bubblews (read further below). I don't care if I am breaking the TOU if it means this is the only he gets my message (his help support etc did not respond at all).

Will Webbs, one of their board members decided to ignore my complaint on Facebook (I was bullied and also slandered and those members do not even get any warmings!)

Jason ignored me on Twitter (and perhaps blocked me). I know this for sure is because all my facebook (public) shares get automatically tweeted and they don't show on twitter.

Bubblews.watcher ignored my emails. So, this is the post I wrote on Bubblews:

&Arvind Your support did not respond FOR WEEKS as to the question I sent them about my "violation warning" of 15th July, the same day I redeemed for the first time for $128. And now after being offline for 3 days, my bank hub is showing -$4. ??? No emails whatsoever from your side.

Jason and Will Webb also did not respond. NO ONE is responding!

If I do not hear a response in 5 working days, I will be officially removing my posts from here and move them to my personal blog. And I will also allow my Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest network and YOUR advertising networks know this is what happened that is not in my control because of your staff's unresponsiveness to newbie questions sent way before my first redemption *also no news/emails.

How is it that members are held responsible for the TOU you place when they have no answers to them when they ask about it?

Is it so hard for bubblews support to explain what exactly I was warned for, that is not forthcoming from your side? What sort of violation? No warnings whatsoever for the missing $63 in my bank hub (unredeemed) which is now -$4.

Is this the reason why you had a F rating with the Better Business Burea: www.bbb.org/greater-san-francisco/business-reviews/internet-services/bubblews-in-san-francisco-ca-525234/complaints ?

Bubblews email for reporting violators are very alert except when I added in that question about my 'violation'. This is the one I sent no less than 2 times and I received no usual "Thank you" email from them:

" Please find reports in the format you require.

1. TOU #1

www.bubblews.com/account/270170-mrk0i

is using Chinese model's pics in her posts.

www.139meitu.com/images/h2.jpg

at www.bubblews.com/news/4905203-the-bathroom-situation-can-cause-sudden-death-part-5

at www.bubblews.com/news/4904846-the-bathroom-situation-can-cause-sudden-death

2. TOU #1

www.bubblews.com/account/269074

is using poem and photo belonging to dead poet Stephen Foster as his title shows

at www.bubblews.com/news/4488347-beautiful-dreamer-a-poem-by-stephen-foster

Poem from www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/176672 en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Foster

3. www.bubblews.com/account/27479

is posting Letitbit sites' usernames and passwords via downloads.

www.bubblews.com/news/407681-free-letitbit-premium-key-2013-april-may-2013

These are usernames and passwords of those who paid for Letitbit premium services.

4. TOU #7

www.bubblews.com/account/243911

is using Non-English words like "meningkatkankekebalantubuhsertamenyembuhkanluka" at www.bubblews.com/news/4515753-dragon-fruit

And may I know, what violation did I do, as BubblewsSupport2 had reported on her page? I did not receive that email he/she said was sent. Please clarify as I would not be able to avoid the mistake if I did not know something I did was in violation of the old detailed TOU.

My account is www.bubblews.com/account/228747

Regards "

Silence is the way they support members? I was warned of Bubblews when I posted my 5th post here, but I refused to believe!

I want very much to share what other writing networks are paying and paying honestly here, but I have changed my mind and not about to reveal it here.

Good luck and thank you to everyone who had been a support to me on here (I hope the life-saving shares on here or the money-making post I shared is good). I have made some friends with you on Facebook and very glad my time here is not totally wasted.

My name will be joining the list of ex-bubblers' names on FTC soon if this is not resolved soon and more.


earner profile image

earner 2 years ago from United Kingdom Author

Kellytruths - thanks for your (very) long comment :)

I've not written on Bubblews for a few months as I was focussing on buying a house and moving, which pre-occupied me 24/7 in one form or another .... now I've returned they've had a revamp and the profile's disappeared and it's not so easy to use... have to see how I get on.

I've redeemed $100 in May and in August, having done no writing/commenting at all - and I've nearly $50 in the bank again when I returned this morning.

I'm giving it another go ..... because options to earn online are limited and I need the income.


earner profile image

earner 2 years ago from United Kingdom Author

I've now redeemed $2,500, no non payments for over a year.


Insane Mundane profile image

Insane Mundane 2 years ago from Earth

The passive income is decent at Bubblews if you write a bunch of SE worthy posts besides the typical blurbs. I rarely post or even visit the site and usually cash out every month. I've been there for about 14 months and have successfully redeemed every time except the one time a couple months ago when they had that mega update and server issues. I chalked that one up to charity and went on. If it happens twice, though, that would be different.


PinoyMom profile image

PinoyMom 22 months ago from Philippines

Good to know that you got all your pending payments from them. I'm still waiting for mine. We are lucky to earn from here and there.


earner profile image

earner 22 months ago from United Kingdom Author

PinoyMom - apart from the missing payments from 2013 ($300 or so), which I have been promised will be looked into, I've received every payment still. There was a "blip" last month when the rules changed, but I did get all the payments.

I've almost stopped writing since the rules changed and while I wait to see what happens and if my old payments get paid .... but I do intend to keep returning there.


LovingMyBabies28 profile image

LovingMyBabies28 22 months ago from Fayetteville NC

I have been with Bubblews since May 2013. I have always been paid without any issue at all. When I submitted a payment form which is the new way to get paid there I got a response and was paid fairly quickly. Bubblews in my opinion is not a scam at all.


earner profile image

earner 22 months ago from United Kingdom Author

LovingMyBabies8 - I've been paid up to date, except the original $300 from July-September last year. That $300 is really annoying me!


Singer Vikash profile image

Singer Vikash 21 months ago from Noida, India

I was using bubblews from six months. I had redeemed many a time and had accumulated more than Rs. 75,000.00. They had paid me for some redemptions, only to lure me. And that made me crazy about bubblews, as I wanted more and more. I invested much of my valuable time at bubblews and successfully redeemed 16-18 times, giving almost 4-5 active hours on this fraud site.

After mere few payments, they stopped paying me and increased their payment period from one month period from date of redemption to 90 days. This was again their intentionally played game to keep members devoting their more and more time with a hope that one day all redemptions would be cleared by Bubblews. And this way, I remained attached with this fraud website for more than six months.

When huge amount had been accumulated in my account, many of my redemptions already crossed their revised 90 days payment period, they deleted my account, saying that I had done plagiarism.

In their terms and conditions, they had put innumerable terms and conditions, on the basis of which they can terminate any user's account at any time. This is completely a fraud website, whose single aim is to attract as much traffic as possible for generating revenues from advertisements. They keep playing with the emotions with it's members by posting state-of-art posts to generate false emotions within it's members. Once you have accumulated huge sum due for payment, they would kick you out, giving any X,Y,Z reason. And your entire effort and valuable time you invested here is gone. They won't reply to your any email communication. In other words, you can't communicate with their fraud team at all by any means.

So better, you give your free time in some creative work, instead of falling prey to this FRAUD website, which would eat away much of your time, would play with your emotions and would finally kick you out. Once your account is deleted by them, don't expect for even a single penny from the due amount to you. All is gone. They must be banned in all countries with immediate effect. With my experience, I can say with confidence that one day on the internet, there would be much more complaints than the total number of posts in their database. If individuals won't believe in any sufferer's complaint, they would keep doing this fraud business and they would keep fooling individuals to fulfil their ill intended target.


earner profile image

earner 21 months ago from United Kingdom Author

Singer Vikash - your story is a familiar one - and one the account has been deleted you can't invite people to tell you if they think you broke the rules. Many of the rules are either obscure, or change.

I've not written as much there since [a] they increased the redemption limit to $50 [b] they said it'd be 60 days to redemption after my last redemption (a month ago). This month I've, therefore, only got $13 in my bank to date, whereas I used to be able to get that much in a morning.


PinoyMom profile image

PinoyMom 21 months ago from Philippines

They sent a letter to a Filipino bubbler saying that his earnings from August until December 11, 2014 will no longer be given because fraud was committed by other Filipino members even though he is an honest member and been there supporting Bubblews through thick and thin. I don't think it's fair @ earner


earner profile image

earner 20 months ago from United Kingdom Author

Bubblews is still going - but my redemption for $75 in November has been paid at just $31 in early January.

They changed the rules so you're paid 60 days after redeeming. Many people are now feeling ripped off. I guess it's better to have half the money than none, but even at the full rate Bubblews does not pay a good rate of pay per hour, if you wish to calculate it on that basis.

I will now be posting there just 2-3x a week, instead of the 5-6 posts/day I used to make.


Vivenda profile image

Vivenda 20 months ago from UK (South Coast)

I guess I'm still bubbling on because I'm a glutton for punishment! That, and I'd miss the contacts I've made if I moved on. But then, I can always catch up with those here or on Persona Paper, another site much like Bubblews!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working