Should We or Should We Not Review.

The Beginning.

Inspiration

I would like to thank a few people whose encouragement has made me more determined to continue with my writing. Writing for me is a way of life, a passionate habit, not just a hobby. Those of you who know me will understand what I mean, I will not give up my dream to be a published writer, even if it means that I have to go back to school and study again.

Website Examiner, Wayne Brown, Willstar, b. Malin, No-Clue, this is written with you in mind. I thank all of my hub pages readers, whom I have taken on a roller coaster ride since I have written here. Each and everyone of you are very precious to me. Thank you for following no matter were I lead, nonsense or not.

I have always enjoyed writing even from an early age. Every situation that has occurred in my life has been written about at some time or another. No matter what catastrophe or calamity I experienced, I would sit and dissect it through writing.

Writing helped me to make sense of my own inhibitions or my ability to see an other's point of view. It carried me on a journey of love and laughter, sorrow and anger. It has helped me to become the person that I am today. Certainly not perfect, but in many ways happy with myself.

Every day we meet people who inspire us for one reason or another. People that we share our lives with, friends and companions for whom we are also an inspiration. Normal every day people who mean so much to so many. Not Politicians, or Royalty or pop stars and actors, but just the normal Joe Blogs on the street. You and I, warts and all, we have the choice to inspire others.

I had lulled my self into a false sense of security for some time now. My life nudged along nicely, a few ripples on the way and a few earthquakes, but on the whole, life was bearable. I do not say good, because I have an enquiring mind which will not allow me to accept things as they are. So to some extent I am my own worst enemy.

Having received some beautiful inspiring, encouraging comments from other Hubbers I decided to ask Website Examiner to review some of my work. Well dear friends, I asked for honesty, which I thought I had been getting, but not the brutal honesty I was to receive. Website Examiner's review didn't just make me stop and think. It made me want to run for cover.

Ahh Annette I Knew Her Well

I waited with anticipation for the copy of the review to appear in Novelty Reviews by Website Examiner, and then the e:mail arrived. Novelty Reviews has pleasure in telling you that your review is now ready to read. My fingers could not access this hub quick enough. I was feeling elated and waited to be wowed with compliments. I wanted to swing from the lamp shade and shout at Gordon "See I told you I could write", but then I started to read, and my bottom hit the seat with a very big bump indeed.

I read the review several times, each time sinking further into depression. I walked around the room and sat down and read it again. I took a stroll around the garden whilst Gordon read the review, all the time arguing with myself "what have you done"?

What I did was the best decision I had made in a long time. The review suddenly made me sit up and catch myself on. I wanted honesty, and I got more honesty than I was prepared for.

Although brutal in places, I read the review again. Really it wasn't that bad. It didn't blow me up as a fantastic writer, it didn't promise me a career in lights, but it told me honestly that I had a chance of becoming a writer if I paid more attention to the craft. It didn't say I was a fantastic person, or claim that I was the best thing to happen to hub pages since sliced bread (excuse me Wayne for borrowing your title), but it said I had failings and relied upon people to evoke my emotions. It said I had a heart, and inferred that I was a little fragile with my own emotions. All of which is so true.

Now I have taken off the rose tinted glasses. I have looked at my ability to write, and yes, I'm not too bad, not the bottom of the class and have room for improvement. I have a learning bench from which I can score. I can improve, I have the willpower to make the Website Examiner and fellow hubber's proud to know me. And I will survive.

I have made a journey that I was least impressed with and turned it into something I am proud of, and with the help of Website Examiner, I will turn my writing around.

If you are prepared to take the criticism, and not just the adoration (hopefully sincere), then step forward to the light. Open your eyes and move on.

Website Examiner you have done me the biggest favour imaginable, and from the bottom of my heart, I thank you so much.

More by this Author


Comments 29 comments

Mrs. J. B. profile image

Mrs. J. B. 5 years ago from Southern California

I am back Netts,, Love the new picture!!!!


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

Gail, good morning my dear friend. Your comment today means so much. I have looked back at my previous writing and can see a different style altogether now, but at times it has taken guts and plenty of hankies to get me further. Your support is worth a million. Thank you hunnie.


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 5 years ago from South Carolina

I came here through your latest hub about Wayne Brown and am glad I did so today because reading both hubs on the same day highlights how far you've come and "grown in a professional sense" since you made your initial decision to have your work reviewed by Website Examiner. Kudos to you for gracefully accepting criticism and using it to take your writing to another level and get published.


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

Leelee, nothing can be so bad that you can not tell a friend, get those fingers on the keypad and let's sort this out between us.


Mrs. J. B. profile image

Mrs. J. B. 5 years ago from Southern California

Netts: Let's just kick some ass... We both need to relieve frustration... I want to tell you what is going on but I am afraid to write it.... That bad???? YES!!!


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

Good morning Leelee, we have a beautiful day in Ireland today, I wish I didn't have to work but needs must.I am trying so hard with my dream of a writing career at the moment and seem to spend every available hour fighting Gordon for the computer. This is beginning to consume my life. I know you are encouraging me to submit my work, but I wouldn't know where to start. But I promise, I will look into it sometime in the future. x I did read your review, and as someone who cares about you was initially upset by part of it. I went away and left it for a day or so and then re-read the review. He likes you, he only leaves advice that he thinks is appropriate to the hub. I forgot when reading my review initially that he doesn't know me, except for what I portray in my writing. I think your review is good and honest bearing in mind he doesn't know you either. A good base to move on from, be positive.


Mrs. J. B. profile image

Mrs. J. B. 5 years ago from Southern California

HMMMM Netts: I got an e-mail saying someone commented and HUH.... Love you Netts


Mrs. J. B. profile image

Mrs. J. B. 5 years ago from Southern California

Netts: Everyone loves your writing techniques, your stories, how you bring out the emotion... SUBMIT YOUR WORKS... Hello Gordon? Gordon Call me!!!


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

JAILTALK nice to meet you, wow riding in oregon, now that is a beautiful thought. Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving me such a lovely comment. x


JAILTALK profile image

JAILTALK 5 years ago from Oregon

It looks like we have two things in common. Horses and hanging around positive people. I live in Oregon, if you ever want to go riding together, as you know, it is good therapy as writing is too, and I would love to go with you!


Mrs. J. B. profile image

Mrs. J. B. 5 years ago from Southern California

Did you say HIM??? OOPS!! I thought it was a her...


Mrs. J. B. profile image

Mrs. J. B. 5 years ago from Southern California

Netts: BUZZ BUZZ BUZZ submit your work..... Did you read my review????


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

ahh Peg, thank you my friend for your lovely comment. I can only do my best, I love to write and I write from the heart with as much honesty as I can. The review was written by website examiner under his other title Novelty Reviews, it is there for anyone to read and comment on. I was probably a little over sensitive of his critique, but It has helped me to put things into perspective. I don't regret it and it has made me want to prove him wrong. x


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

attemptedhumour, thank you once again for all your wonderful support. I totally agree that we do not know our other hubbers well, but I just wish that everyone was like Willstar and yourself, you leave a message when you are encouraging, and if you have nothing to say, you don't. God Bless.


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

Leelee thank you darling, you are my rock and have been since I joined hub pages. You are so much fun to have around and always a great encouragement. x


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 5 years ago from Dallas, Texas

Thebluestar, you have a rare gift for expression that other writers lack. You tell a story that others want to hear. There are plenty of folks that can help with spelling and things but the talent comes from within you. Try not to let the critics shape your world. I'm not in on the situation about your review or who these people are. I hope you will not let someone derail your wonderful talent.


Mrs. J. B. profile image

Mrs. J. B. 5 years ago from Southern California

Netts; The pesky fly you can't kill no matter what says submit your works.......


attemptedhumour profile image

attemptedhumour 5 years ago from Australia

Hi Bluestar, the problem with hubpages is that we don't know other hubbers well enough to be really honest with our comments. I attend two local writer's groups where constructive critisism is much easier to dispence when you can explain something face to face. False platitudes help no one, but don't harm either. I would much prefer honesty, as writing for me is purely a hobby. I can fully understand how helpful your review was, but other hubbers may not take the advice so positively. Your reaction to the review would be helpful to many more hubbers if they were prepared for the scrutiny. Great hub, with wise words. Cheers.


Mrs. J. B. profile image

Mrs. J. B. 5 years ago from Southern California

You are a brilliant writer that expresses every human emotion that we all feel. Your stories touch the core of my soul and make me love more all the things around me... Hey girlfriend's a writer and I will want some of your money!!!I wonder though what happened to my review.. Hey you got the e-mail... I did not so you were noticed. CONGRATS bust out the good whiskey and pour us both a shot. CHEERS Nettie....


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

Hi Sharyn, Thank you so much for leaving me a comment. I truly can say that asking for a review has been the highlight of my writing days. It hurt very much at the time, especially as everyone else reviewed by website examiner on Novelty Reviews was quite good. The encouragement and e:mail support I have had since has been incredible. Try it now and see what happens, Good Luck. x


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 5 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA

Wow Blue, I needed to read this. For me, it is always scary to hit the "publish now" button. Yet by the time I put so much effort and editing into a piece, I don't take the time to have anyone else look at it first. I do think maybe I should. I am aware that I am not a great writer but I want to be. I want to learn. I envy a lot of other writers.

Personally I really like your writing. You have a "slant" that intrigues me. I don't leave "fake" comments. If I take the time to leave a comment, I really mean what I have to say. I really hope others are doing the same.

Thank you for this ~ I am going to try to get some very constructive feedback that will help me grow as a writer.

Best wishes to YOU!

Sharyn


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

Ahh Prince, thank you for taking the time to comment on my hub. Your hubs are always brilliant, I don't comment as often as I should because I do not understand American politics, which a large number of hubbers are writing about at the moment. My writing is such a release for me, emotions and just as a hobby (habit).Stay well.


The Frog Prince profile image

The Frog Prince 5 years ago from Arlington, TX

Hi Ya. Nice to see someone has the same "habit" as I do. It allows me to vent quite often or I might slip over the edge.

The Frog


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

Thank you MysteriousOne, for your never ending support. I can always rely on you to send me a nice comment. Thank you it means so much to me. x


MysteriousOne profile image

MysteriousOne 5 years ago

WillStarr is so right about that! Congratulations,bluestar.

Great hub!


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

Hi Bill, lovely comment my dear friend. I know if you leave me a comment it is sincere, because I believe you would not comment at all, if you thought my writing was under par on a particular hub. Your honesty is what I adore about you, I treasure every comment you make. Thank you so very much. x

How are you keeping. I am working on my first fiction piece at the moment, and do you know what? I am enjoying it.


thebluestar profile image

thebluestar 5 years ago from Northern Ireland Author

Oh epi, you darling man, thank you from the bottom of this old heart for your encouraging comment, as ever. You make me smile at every hub you write and every comment you leave me. I know I have said it before, but I wish they could sell whatever prospective you have on life, I would fight to be the first in the queue to buy it. x


WillStarr profile image

WillStarr 5 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

You are now the butterfly, having escaped the cocoon.

Have a great journey!


epigramman profile image

epigramman 5 years ago

...well like I always say to any writer - when you write from the heart the mind will always follow - so just be yourself 'Blue Star' because you are beautiful for whom you are ...... and no one else can ever take that away from you - or from me for that matter (lol) or any other writer here at the Hub - I feel with my writing (style) I am carving out a new niche - one that I like to refer to as an anti-poet (lol) as I am always trying to subvert and deconstruct the genre - needless to say I don't think anyone here or anywhere else writes quite like the epi-man - lol lol - and on that note - that is what makes you unique and a creative anomaly too - you are you and that is a beautiful thing indeed!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working