The 12/59 Shuttle from Yesterday to Today - A Book Review

William Holland, author of The 12/59 Shutlle from Yesterday to Today
William Holland, author of The 12/59 Shutlle from Yesterday to Today | Source
My (autographed) copy of Bill's book
My (autographed) copy of Bill's book | Source

My Rating of Bill's Novel

5 stars for The 12/59 Shuttle from Yesterday to Today

Have you ever been so moved by an experience that you had to sit down immediately and write about it?

I just finished Billybuc’s novel, “The 12/59 Shuttle from Yesterday to Today” and I am so compelled. It is so captivating I read the book in a total of 7 hours, over the course of 2 days. My friends, you do not know the magnitude of Bill’s talent until you read his book.

I refrain from exposing my emotions as I read the last few pages for fear of giving away the ending. Therefore, I will offer you my overall review of "The 12/59 Shuttle from Yesterday to Today".

Ready? Here goes….

From page one, the reader is captivated and loses all sense of time. (Just ask my cats. They were yelling for din-din long before I was ready to put the book down!) Before I get further into the review, I’d like to thank Bill for publishing the book in a font we, who are legally considered senior citizens, can read without getting an eye-strain headache!

Another point I’d like to make is to pay heed to the very generous tips Bill has been offering us writers. I respected his opinion long before I read his book, but now that I have, I’m telling you folks, he offers us expert advice. And for free! Once you read his book, you’ll know what I mean and hopefully, you’ll listen to what he has to say.

K. I think all the disclaimers are out of the way, so I’ll get back to the point.

As I said, the reader is captivated from the first page. Those of you who know Bill will recognize many parallels to his real life as you get to know the characters; which gives us an advantage over other readers. The characters of The 12/59 Shuttle are colorful to say the least.

Not far into the book (or maybe so, I got so lost into the book that time wasn’t a factor!) you discover the reason behind the photo on the cover. It’s the reader’s proverbial “aha” moment, which propels you to continue turning the pages.

I’ll give you an ever-so-minute hint of what to expect: if you love the otherworldly, this book is a must-read. I won’t give away the plot or the story line. However, this phenomenal work of literary art sparks every emotion but anger. You will
find yourself chuckling out loud throughout the entire novel and mesmerized at the same time.

One of the things I found most endearing, as I read Bill’s book, is the teller of the tale often goes off on tangents (something I do all the time, so I related whole-heartedly), but always winds himself back to the point.

As I’ve already stated, the book invokes many emotions from the reader. It also includes issues to which we can relate in today’s time and the future. I won’t embellish on that; you’ll just have to read the book. There are also other subtle revelations that come to life. Read the book and you will find them.

To be honest, readers, this is the best book I’ve read in a long time. My favorite author is Dean Koontz and I haven’t read his new publications or any other book since I began writing for a living. I know you’re supposed to read more when you write, but I haven’t quite found the juxtaposition.

Uh-oh! I got side-tracked, but those of you who know me, know I do that quite often. This is another reason I love this book so much and to be honest, without the lead character’s idiosyncratic propensity to wander, the story would not have the relationship with the reader that it does. Trust me.

The final point I want to make is this: buy Bill’s book. You will not be disappointed, I promise you! It pleases me so to call this amazing author my friend and actually to say I know him. I’ve spoken to him. He’s amazing!

The characters in The 12/59 Shuttle from Yesterday to Today will become a part of you as I’m sure they are a part of Bill.

But you won’t really know until you read his book, “The 12/59 Shuttle from Yesterday to Today”. Read it and add it to your library. Save a shelf for his up and coming works. Bill Holland well deserves being one of your favorite authors, whose books you buy just because he is who he is and he entertains your mind.

I can’t say enough about this book. Buy it, read it and see for yourself!



Peace,

Bravewarrior




Shauna L Bowling

Copyright ©April, 2013

All Rights Reserved

Photos Used With the Permission of Bill Holland

This is deceiving. Read the book to know why I've chosen this video.

More by this Author


Comments 38 comments

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA

LOL...the video and song choice is a classic!

Thank God I was the first to comment...it is only appropriate that I am since this review brought tears to my eyes.

Sha, this was a work of love, and I am so appreciative of you for loving it too. I got to know the characters very well and I honestly love them all. They are now my friends and a constant reminder that we all can accomplish something of this magnitude if we want it badly enough.

I gave a portion of three years of my life to this book, and I am proud of it, but still, it helps so much to have someone else love it as you have.

Thank you my dear friend. You have given me a gift and I will always be appreciative.

love,

bill


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Bill, you have often spoken to us regarding finding our voice as writers. I have a feeling this is only one of yours. You are an inspiration and my personal mentor. I applaud you for opening yourself up to other aspiring authors.

I cannot begin to tell you how much I love your novel. I have grown to love you, have told you my deepest and darkest secrets and lean on you when I need the strength you offer ever so freely.

I am most honored to call you my friend. I am most honored to have an autographed copy of your first novel. I know that when you become famous (or Senator of the Green Party) that you will remember me because that's just the way you are!

I love you higher than a star (up until now that was reserved for my dad, but you've crawled into my heart)

Sha


klidstone1970 profile image

klidstone1970 3 years ago from Niagara Region, Canada

Shauna,

What a lovely review. Bill is very lucky to have someone like you in his corner and how can he go wrong with that! It is heartwarming to see people stick together and support each other. Well done for your hub and to Bill for such an accomplishment!

Kim


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Kim, I only write the truth (when I'm not writing fiction, that is!) Buy his book and follow him. One day you'll be able to say, "I knew him when he was just starting out". Bill's the best!


DJ Anderson 3 years ago

Thanks, Shauna.

What a wonderful book review!

My order is in, my copy will be here in a few days.

I am a slow reader, but can hardly wait to read the book.

Bill had gained the respect and admiration of many hubbers.

I think he brings out the best in us struggling writers.

He is a friend to all and makes time for each new found friend.

Beware!! Bill is out to change the world...one kind act at a time.

All he asks is that we "pay it forward."

Thank you, Bill.

DJ.


Suzie HQ profile image

Suzie HQ 3 years ago from Dublin, Ireland

Hi Shauna,

Congratulations on a wonderful review of this book by my dear friend. It is on the top of my list to read and know without a shred of doubt it will be AWESOME. Your review was glowing and no wonder this talented man is exceptional. Look forward to the read and well done for sharing this experience which I know gave you and Bill a WOW moment or 10!

Voted Up and all clicks, shares and pinned!


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

DJ, you are so right about Bill. I'm tickled you're buying his book. You'll see so much of him in the lead character. And, what a surprise ending!

Awesome, Suzie! I hope Bill sells a gazillion books!


Thundermama profile image

Thundermama 3 years ago from Canada

Wonderful review and a reminder to me to go check it out. billybuc has been a constant supporter of some many of us on here that he deserves our support for this creative endeavor, and I love a good read. I plan on checking it out soon.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Please do, Thundermama. I'm serious when I say it's one of the best books I've read. Bill is truly talented.


marcoujor profile image

marcoujor 3 years ago from Jeffersonville PA

What a fun, meaty and enticing review of a book I was already planning to buy...Your endorsement is the virtual icing on the cake, dear Sha!

Congratulations to Bill and bravo to you for this awesome recommendation. Voted UP and UABI. Love, Maria


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Thank you, Maria. You'll love it!!


Anna Haven profile image

Anna Haven 3 years ago from Scotland

An excellent review, you gave nothing away, but made it sound unmissable.

I am already sold on his talent through the constant, exacting standard of his hubs. A very talented but modest man.

I will be buying and reading, your review was really helpful in highlighting the book. Thankyou :)


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Anna, I pleased my review hit the mark. My intent was to give nothing away at all, but to entice. I'm sure Bill will be pleased you are buying his book. Once you read it, you'll want to share!

Oh, just wait until you read the book! Modest???? Hmmmm....


Sparklea profile image

Sparklea 3 years ago from Upstate New York

Brave Warrior, GREAT REVIEW!

I, too, ordered and read Billy's book, and I sent him a personal review.

I DO know why you played the Deliah video! But I will keep quiet :) Also, there were a few laugh out loud moments! Very unique and a great read.

It is wonderful you gave kudos to Billy Buc...we, as writers, love encouragement from others.

Voted UP and USEFUL. Blessings, Sparklea :)


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Sparklea, Bill is so supportive of us, I had to give back. It's the least I can do for all he does for me. He's a great friend and a phenominal writer.

P.S. Bill was tickled by the song choice also!


Kathryn Stratford profile image

Kathryn Stratford 3 years ago from Manchester, Connecticut

This is a great review! I bought his book a while ago, right after I got my tax return (before I got my job, even), because I was curious. I'm glad I did, too. It was such a pleasant book, with many valuable lessons. The characters are so lovingly quirky, and things in the story remind me of Bill's life. I came close to writing a review on it, but wasn't sure I could give it the justice it deserves. You did a great job, without giving anything away.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Kathryn, that was exactly my intent! I want to bring readers to experience Bill's book without giving away the depth of it. I am serious when I say it's the one of best books I've read. And to think we know him! Now I know how Dean Koontz's and Stephen King's friends feel. It's pretty awesome to be on the start of a great, isn't it?


Kathryn Stratford profile image

Kathryn Stratford 3 years ago from Manchester, Connecticut

It really is great! I feel honored to know him. I thought he was a great writer before I read the book. But once I read it, it blew my mind! Now I drink up his articles on writing, because he has the talent to back up what he says.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Kathryn, Bill is my mentor. He's always there for me and offers great advice. We are fortunate to have such a great man and writer share his secrets with us. He wants us all to succeed.


CraftytotheCore profile image

CraftytotheCore 3 years ago

I don't know why I have never found this Hub before! Amazing. Thank you for writing this review. Billy is certainly a blessing for all of the writers here.


DJ Anderson 3 years ago

Hi, Crafty,

As a rule, HP does not list my New Hubs, so very few people know

of me. I am very glad that you found my Hub and think it is amazing.

Bill is a blessing to all of us. He keeps giving us great articles, day after day. He works so very hard and just keeps on giving. This world would be a better place if there were more men like Bill.

Thanks again for dropping by.

DJ.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

He certainly is, Crafty. I highly recommend Bill's book. I couldn't put it down!


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

DJ, did you write a review of Bill's book too? You're commenting to Crafty on my page.


DJ Anderson 3 years ago

Sha, it is now official, I have lost my mind. I knew it was bound to

happen at any time.

I cannot believe I did this. I'm a real goner, for sure.

I am so sorry, please forgive me.

I will be sitting in the rocking chair, looking out the window for the rest of the day. Or, maybe, I should put the chair in a corner and sit there.

Please forgive me!!!!

DJ.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

DJ, you're being way too hard on yourself. You have nothing to apologize for. Maybe take your rocking chair outside and enjoy the Fall weather instead!


Happyboomernurse profile image

Happyboomernurse 3 years ago from South Carolina

Hi Shauna,

I too, had the great pleasure of reading William Holland's 12/59 Shuttle From Yesterday to Today and enjoyed it as much as you did. We hubbers, who know William Holland as Billybuc, already know he has a heart as big as his writing talent, but reading his novel gives one an even greater appreciation for his writing skills.

I hope everyone reading this review buys a copy of this highly entertaining book.

Hugs,

Gail


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Gail, I feel the same way. I love Bill to death. Reading his novel gave me a glimpse into a side of him we don't see on HubPages.

I couldn't put it down. Bill's book sparked every emotion we humans possess. What a great read!


marcoujor profile image

marcoujor 2 years ago from Jeffersonville PA

Dear Sha,

It is wonderful to come back to this after seeing Jo Goldsmith's Gold Award Nominees for this month.

It's exciting to think that Bill's second novel will be available any day now...another awesome read for sure.

Have a peaceful Sunday...enjoy some "you" time. Love, Maria


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 2 years ago from Central Florida Author

Maria, I'm so excited for Bill. I was pleased that this article was nominated. Hopefully, it'll bring more sales to Bill's novel and have readers waiting with bated breath for "Resurrecting Tobias".


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

Your enthusiasm for this novel clearly comes through and it seems that I must get a copy just to find out what's going on. I love the fact that you didn't give away the gist of the plot or retell the story like a Reader's Digest condensed version. Thank you, thank you. I'm off to Amazon now.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 2 years ago from Central Florida Author

Peg, I intentionally didn't give away the plot. I'm telling you, if Bill thinks he didn't know what he was doing with this one, I can't wait to read Resurrecting Tobias! I've already received it, but had started another book before it came.

You won't be sorry for buying this book. It was riveting and everything I said in the review. I couldn't put it down!


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

Say, I couldn't find it on Amazon and there wasn't a link here to use. Is it special order only?


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 2 years ago from Central Florida Author

I actually received my copy by winning a fiction writing contest Bill held last year. I'll email him and get back with you.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 2 years ago from Central Florida Author

Peg, Bill's having some issues with Amazon. He asked me to have you email him and he'll send you a copy. Here's his email address: holland1145@yahoo.com


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

Thanks so much. Will do.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 2 years ago from Central Florida Author

You're welcome, Peg. This way you'll get an autographed copy, so when Bill hits the big time you can say, "I knew him when....."!


Nadine May profile image

Nadine May 18 months ago from Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Wow Shauna, what a lovely review. Very inspiring and I will investigate if his books are available on the kindle. I hope so. Bill is very lucky to have someone like you in his corner.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 18 months ago from Central Florida Author

Nadine, I have a paperback copy of this novel. I think it may be available on Kindle as well. I have to be honest: I've read the two novels he's published to date and this is my favorite by far.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working