The Five Major Pieces to the Life Puzzle, A Guide to Personal Success - A Book Review

My autographed copy of The Five Major Pieces to the Life Puzzle
My autographed copy of The Five Major Pieces to the Life Puzzle | Source

Personal Success and Happiness

Where do you turn when you're looking for a change in your life? This book was written to inspire people who are ready to transform their lives from where they are to where they want to be.

Jim Rohn rose from a life of obscurity on an Idaho farm to become a self-made millionaire in his early thirties. He is widely regarded as "one of the most influential thinkers of our time". His concise book, The Five Major Pieces to the Life Puzzle, is a Guide to Personal Success which can open the doors of opportunity to those willing to become serious students of life. In this book, he details the path we need to follow to achieve greater results than we have achieved in the past.

He has delivered presentations to 6,000 audiences and over 5,000,000 people, in which, he has shared "extraordinary insights to ordinary principles". With unique style, he captures the imagination with clues to deciphering the mysteries of life.

He tells us that most people decide to make a change for one of two reasons: either they are inspired to achieve more or they are desperate to improve their situations. When you stand alone in the self improvement section of the bookstore, where will you turn? Here you'll find a valuable voice of reason.

Mr. Jim Rohn, who passed away in 2009, was the inspiration for many of the nationally known professional speakers popular today. His concepts have inspired people like the Co-author of the Chicken Soup for the Soul series, Mark Victor Hansen, who says Mr. Rohn has "style, substance, charisma, relevance, charm, and what he says makes a difference." His words had a lifelong impact on Anthony (Tony) Robbins who believes Jim Rohn's philosophy can "enhance the quality of life for anyone who exposes themselves to it."

"Most homes valued over $250,000 have a library. That should tell us something." (Oops, I misspelled grateful.)
"Most homes valued over $250,000 have a library. That should tell us something." (Oops, I misspelled grateful.)

by Mr. Jim Rohn

Have you ever heard of Mr. Jim Rohn?

  • Yes
  • No
  • What?
See results without voting

Success Leaves Clues

Mr. Rohn says success leaves clues. If we wish to be happy, we must learn about happiness. He says "We are wise, indeed...to take counsel from someone who cares." But he also cautions that we must filter those voices which compete for our attention and study representatives of those with something valuable to say.

He advocates studying the fundamentals in life and remarks that there are no new ones - the ones that have proved successful and those who've done well with life's challenges and opportunities are ever present in the pages of history.

The key to finding unique human beings we can admire and respect is to discover those "whose achievements fascinate and inspire us." He advises that we deliberately choose our role models rather than "have them thrust upon us by the influences of the media". If the message is shallow, move on.

When he opens his live seminar, he begins with the statement, "You can get more money, but you can't get more time." His collection of ideas and concepts includes what he hopes that we will find when we reach out to hear a voice of reason.

He reminds us that "sincerity is not a test of truth" since it is possible to be "sincerely wrong". He tells us to listen carefully to the facts and draw our own conclusions. He cautions us to be a student, not a follower - only be a disciple of the Lord's.

He shared a story from ancient history about the day the first Christian Church was formed.

A presentation was given to the multitude gathered that day. He said there were a variety of responses to that presentation: Some that heard, believed - three thousand souls did. He also observed that some were perplexed and stood around either confused or in disbelief. He explained that Jesus didn't go back and try to un-perplex the perplexed. There are always some who are going to be confused.

Mr. Rohn says, "don't get involved in shoulds and shouldn'ts". He who wishes to be ignorant, let him be. You cannot change people, but they can change.

Candle in the Wind - Elton John

How We Think Affects our Behavior

The way we choose to think influences our habits and behavior. "As adults, we examine new information through the filter of our personal philosophy." From this, we either choose to strengthen or reject those ideas, based on what we think is valuable.

To succeed, he advises that we control the process of our thinking and cautions that our erroneous conclusions may block the achievement of our goals.

Our personal beliefs lead us to do with our day whatever we think is valuable. As shared by many others who've achieved success, he suggests that the time of day at which we begin our day has a direct influence on our personal outcome.

He teaches that everything affects everything else, even in the small activities we perform on a daily basis.

The picture of a man of common sense, humility and wisdom, Mr. Jim Rohn, from his book.
The picture of a man of common sense, humility and wisdom, Mr. Jim Rohn, from his book.

Notes and Quotes

"Don't send your ducks to eagle school."
"Don't send your ducks to eagle school."

Seeds and Soil

His seeds of wisdom need "the soil of your own imagination and creativity, the water of your faith, and the intensity of your activity if they are to bear fruit."

The law of sowing and reaping is inherent in his teachings. He reminds us that "ten years from now we will all be somewhere, the question is where?"

Jim Rohn says that it isn't about motivation. He tells his audiences, "If you have an idiot, and you motivate him, then you've got a motivated idiot." Mr. Rohn claims that it is about education, activity, and making measurable progress in reasonable time.

"The name of the game is results". .."The final result of your life will be determined by whether you made too many errors in judgment, repeated every day or whether you dedicated your life to a few simple disciplines, practiced every day." What are these disciplines? He explains these clearly in everyday words that are easy to understand sharing the undeniable principle that if we fail to plant in the spring, we cannot complain about the harvest in the fall.

Anybody Can - Mr. Jim Rohn

Listening to the Right Voices

Many voices compete for our attention. He tells us that when we allow ourselves "to succumb to the voice of the dark side of life" our negativity becomes stronger. He asks the difficult questions of us and encourages us to do the "essential things that success and happiness demands". What are these things?

He urges us to turn off the television and pick up a book in order to take a step in the right direction. He cautions that "we must not allow ourselves to believe that we can have all that we want to have and become all that we wish to be without making any changes..." He tells us that "everything is within our reach if we will read the books"...and "practice the disciplines" to wage a "vigorous battle against neglect".

Even in business, companies turn to outside sources, consultants, hired to help the executives determine if the company is on track. We are wise to take counsel from "someone who cares", to bring us a fresh perspective.

Four Life Lessons - Jim Rohn

How To Use a Journal

From each of the examples and stories shared in this 121 page book, we can find something of value. It is easy to read, but as Mr. Rohn points out, it's also easy not to read, a key point.

Life lessons presented in The Five Major Pieces to the Life Puzzle, tell us that if we seek a better life, we must become better persons as well as monitor what we feed our mind. We must study the clues left by those who've gone before us - stories of both failure and success; we must keep track of our progress in a journal. We must not rest with education alone; we must take action to reap a harvest worthy of our efforts.

"Someone once said, 'When you are born you enter the world crying while everyone else is rejoicing and when you die, hopefully, you have lived such a life that everyone will be crying while you are rejoicing'. Jim Rohn lived such a life."

You can learn more about the man from his website.

© 2014 Peg Cole

More by this Author


Comments 43 comments

billybuc profile image

billybuc 2 years ago from Olympia, WA

Thanks for the review, Peg. I'm always looking for a good book to read.


heidithorne profile image

heidithorne 2 years ago from Chicago Area

One of my fave Jim Rohn quotes is "Don't send your ducks to eagle school." Such a powerful philosophy for effective management.

Thanks for sharing the review on Rohn's amazing work!


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 2 years ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

Hello Peg. What a nice review you have produced here. Hopefully many young readers will stop by and learn the path that you have marked for them to this source of knowledge. I think I will pick up a copy for my youngest. She has time.


Frank Atanacio profile image

Frank Atanacio 2 years ago from Shelton

the review is thorough, and concise.. this book seems useful too many of the younger generations or even the older folks who are restarting life.. a very good job you have here and the review did hit its mark head on :) Frank


MsDora profile image

MsDora 2 years ago from The Caribbean

Thank you for sharing these motivational insights from Jim Rohn and his book. Practical and wise. A very good book review.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Billybuc. Thanks so much for the visit and for reading this review of Mr. Rohn's book.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Heidithorne, I'm so glad you know of Mr. Rohn and his valuable teachings. He had a world of knowledge at his fingertips, gathered over a lifetime of serious study. It would be so interesting to take a peek into his journals. Thanks for the amazing comment.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hello Mckbirdbks. Mike, I'm hopeful that young readers and mature readers alike will discover the helpful advice that Mr. Rohn so willingly shared for over forty years. Once I met him and heard him speak, I was never the same. It turned my life around. I hope your daughter will find some benefit in his words. Some do and some don't.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Frank, That's really a great comment. Thank you. I certainly appreciate your visit and your remarks about the review and hope that this will inspire others to pick up and read the book. I feel certain it's available in the library for those who can't purchase it.


FlourishAnyway profile image

FlourishAnyway 2 years ago from USA

The advice he gives registers on so many levels. You have done a marvelous job at conveying his message and encouraging others to read. I'd like to pick up his book.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Ms. Dora. It's nice of you to take the time to drop by and read this book review. Thank you for your kind words. I really appreciate you.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Flourish, Thank you for the marvelous comment. I hope you find the book interesting and valuable. He speaks about things in a way that is interesting, understandable and relevant. Thanks for coming by.


SubRon7 profile image

SubRon7 2 years ago from eastern North Dakota

Very interesting review, Peg, thank you!


Faith Reaper profile image

Faith Reaper 2 years ago from southern USA

Excellent review, Peg. I love that he said to turn off the television and actually read a book! It is so important that we all make changes in our lives if we are unhappy about any aspect of our lives, then the only answer is to change. You have provided wonderful insights here on Mr. Rohn and his book.


Au fait profile image

Au fait 2 years ago from North Texas

Sounds like a very interesting and inspirational book. I don't have a TV and I don't miss it. No time to watch it anyway. I always have plenty of things to choose from that need doing and can't remember the last time I was bored. I love to learn new things and to see what I can create myself that is new. Mr. Rohn seems to have been a man who knew how to make things work. Excellent review!


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi SubRon7. Thank you for the visit and interesting comment. Nice to see you today.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hello, Faith. What you've said is so true. We can't expect things to change around us. It's up to us to change. I'm glad you liked the insights of Mr. Rohn's book. And thank you so much for the excellent comment.


always exploring profile image

always exploring 2 years ago from Southern Illinois

Your last paragraph touched me deeply! I strive to live that way, yet at times it's difficult. What struck me as the most profound truth, " One can be sincerely wrong. " This was a great review of a man i never heard of, but i want to read his book. I am listening to Elton as i type, he is another favorite. Thank you for a most rewarding read....


moneymindit profile image

moneymindit 2 years ago from California

Great hub! I have been a fan of Jim Rohn for a very long time. I have learned a lot of great lessons from this man. In fact, he was the mentor and coach of another favorite coach of mine, Anthony Robbins.

Thanks for posting!

MM


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hello Au fait, I sometimes wish we didn't have a TV as it soaks up so many hours that could be used more productively. Yet, as we are home bodies, it is a source of entertainment. There were a few years when I was single that I didn't own a TV and never missed it at all. But that was before the Internet so I didn't have access to much, in the way of news. I had figured you for a productive person who can entertain yourself quite well.

Thanks so much for the excellent comment and for taking time to drop in.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Always, Ruby dear, I was also touched by that statement which is on Mr. Rohn's memorial page. When I found out he had passed, I was inexplicably sad. We lost a great man who shared so much with others and who changed so many lives.

Sincerely wrong - that is something to think about. Thank you so much for the deeply meaningful comment. I went back to hear Elton again.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Moneymindit. The list of those Mr. Rohn influenced is long and impressive. When I read of all those who showed up for his memorial, I was truly astounded. Many of the nationally known speakers were there.

I, too, enjoy Tony Robbins and attended his seminars when he came to Dallas. He is terrific and so are you for dropping in to comment. Thank you.


marcoujor profile image

marcoujor 2 years ago from Jeffersonville PA

Very well done, Peg. I have long respected and followed the writings of Mr. Rohn.

I would have loved to have heard him speak. I just listened to the second video (excellent) and will be back to check out the first... what charisma and connection in his presentation.

Love your notes, especially the way you spelled "grateful"!

Voted UP & UABI... Well done! Love, Maria


AliciaC profile image

AliciaC 2 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

I have never heard of Jim Rohn before. It was interesting to learn about some of his ideas. Thanks for the information, Peg. I'm looking forward to reading more about Jim Rohn's thoughts.


teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 2 years ago

This looks like a great book to read and to pass on to those needing professional development advice. I do agree that one should choose his or her mentors for the best results.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

My friend, Marcoujor, I had a notion that you were a student of Mr. Rohn from your writings about journals and other important clues. My friend Phyllis and I attended a seminar in Dallas in 1995. He impressed me as not only dynamic and wise, but humble and shy - if you can imagine that. When he signed my book he looked at me and made me feel as if I were the only one there, then wished me all the best.

Thanks for the excellent comment and for taking time to view the video. It made me go back and watch it again. Loveu, Peg


Genna East profile image

Genna East 2 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

Excellent review, Peg. I really enjoyed reading this. Contrary to what others may believe, reviews are not easy to write, but you have presented us with something that is interesting and intriguing. This is one book I look forward to reading.

“He urges us to turn off the television and pick up a book in order to take a step in the right direction.” Yes! “His seeds of wisdom need "the soil of your own imagination and creativity, the water of your faith, and the intensity of your activity if they are to bear fruit."” Beautiful!

Well done. :-)


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hello AliciaC. Nice of you to drop by. I'm looking forward to reading your latest Hub of the Day. Congrats on writing another winner.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hello Teaches12345, Glad to see you and thanks for the great comment. Choosing our mentors carefully is truly the key to our outlook on life.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Genna. I hope you're feeling much better. You've been missed.

Thanks for the excellent comment and for the capture of Mr. Rohn's wise words. He really had a way of saying things that were out of the ordinary. I appreciate you coming out to read this review.


aviannovice profile image

aviannovice 2 years ago from Stillwater, OK

These are all the basic principles of life. Sadly, life doesn't come with an owner's manual, and many must be shown how to do this. In order to succeed, one must be a leader and not a follower. Nice review, as these principles will help someone succeed in a business, too.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hello Deb, You're right, life doesn't come with an owner's manual. These basic principles, outlined by Mr. Rohn, are fundamentals that can be useful in our busy lives and our careers. Thanks so much for dropping in and for the great comment.


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 2 years ago from Houston, Texas

Hi Peg,

That sounds like an excellent book and good fundamentals to not only learn but apply in our daily lives. Up, useful and interesting votes. Will also share.


Shyron E Shenko profile image

Shyron E Shenko 2 years ago

I think I need to get this book to add to my library. This is a well written review that makes a person want to not just read it but to own it.

Voted up across the board except funny and shared.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hello Peggy, Nice of you to visit and share. Thank you so much for the excellent comment.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Shyron, Thank you for the really meaningful comment. I hope you will be able to find a copy of this book for your library. I treasure mine which he signed on the last day of the seminar. How I wish I had taken photos.


SheGetsCreative profile image

SheGetsCreative 2 years ago from Seattle, WA

Sounds like you've outlined the very best of Mr. Rohn's book. Adding it to the reading list. Thanks!


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Thanks for checking out this book review, SheGetsCreative.


peachpurple profile image

peachpurple 20 months ago from Home Sweet Home

i have never heard of this book or the author, how long does it take for you to finish it?


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 20 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Jim Rohn was a great speaker and a generous man who shared the secrets of success that he learned in life. The book is small and easy to read in one setting if you are inspired.


Kristen Howe profile image

Kristen Howe 19 months ago from Northeast Ohio

Awesome book review hub Peg. That books sounds like a good read to me on positivity. I might just check it out, when I have some free time. Voted up!


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 19 months ago from Dallas, Texas Author

Hi Kristen, Thank you for reading this review and for the positive, uplifting comment. Mr. Rohn was a great man.


aesta1 profile image

aesta1 8 months ago from Ontario, Canada

This looks like one I'll enjoy. You have introduced this book so well, I am now interested to read it.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working