The Mysterious Disappearance of the Eilean Mor Light’s Lighthouse Keepers
Eilean Mor (Gaelic for “Big Island”), is the largest of the islands that are a part of the Flannan Isles off the coast of western Scotland. Because of the many maritime disasters that took place in this area a lighthouse was built on the island in 1895 to help sailors venturing into the area.
In December, 1900 two lighthouse keepers disappeared under mysterious circumstances and were never seen again. There were three lighthouse keepers for this light, as it was very remote. All three keepers were seasoned sailors and one had extensive experience at working in a lighthouse. Their last names were Ducat, Moore and McArthur.
The light keepers worked 14 day shifts. Two men worked the light at all times. One of the keepers was replaced by the third man every seven days.
On December 14th one of the two men on duty at the light was due to end his shift, to be replaced by Moore. However, a huge storm battered the light and island when Moore was scheduled to arrive so his shift takeover was delayed for almost two weeks. On December 15th a ship’s captain sailed by the light and reported that it was dark and not operating. When the horrible storm finally subsided, Moore attempted once again to take his shift at the light. However, when he arrived where the men were supposed to switch places, no one was waiting for him at the appointed dock. This alarmed Moore. He and the sailors who had brought him ran to the lighthouse. They reported seeing that massive destruction had taken place on the island. Once they were inside the lighthouse the two lighthouse keepers who had been stationed there were not to be found. The sailors also noticed that the furnishings looked as though the lighthouse keepers had left in a great hurry, as there were chairs overturned and half-eaten food still on the table.
Although the lighthouse and the island were thoroughly searched, no sign of Ducat or McArthur was ever found. The last entry in the log was written by Ducat on the morning of December 15th and read, “Storm ended, sea calm, God is over all.”
The Fairwin – one of the vessels sent out to investigate why
the lighthouse had gone dark on December 15th – reported seeing a
ghostly longboat on that night, crewed by warriors with faces the color of bone.
The crew also said they saw three men in oilskin rain gear rowing that
boat. This phantom boat had often been
seen by residents in the area. It is
believed to be a Viking ghost ship.
Since the rain gear of Ducat and McArthur was missing when Moore and the
others arrived at the light, the locals assume the unfortunate lighthouse
keepers met up with Viking specters that whisked them away from the island
during the horrible storm that waged again after the lull on December 15th. The truth to the disappearance of Ducat and
McArthur remains one of Scotland’s most enduring mysteries.
More by this Author
Ouija board Ouija (pronounced wee-juh or wee-jee) refers to the belief that one can receive messages during a séance by the use of a Ouija board (also called a talking board or spirit board) and planchette. The...
There has always been a great deal of mystery surrounding the Giza Pyramids. Who made them and why and how were they constructed? Why do they align with the stars in Orion’s Belt? What is the curse that descends...
Near the city of Delingha in China a group of archaeologists from the US discovered a series of pipes that were merged with the mountains not far from Mount Baigong. The scientists were actually searching for dinosaur...