The Pub by Peggy Cole - A Book Review

The Pub is a mystery novel filled with intrigue and deceit. Joe Mitchell correctly sees her job as a teller at the local bank as a dead end. This is made clear to her, when the bank’s male security guard is promoted to head teller. Her fate would be forever altered, when the manager of a local eatery offers her a bookkeeper’s job. This lady's man had more than accounting on his mind.

Joe was hired to keep track of the debits and credits of the workings of the restaurant and lounge. When the manager who hires her disappears, everything changes. Before long each of the staff begins to circle Joe Mitchell. She soon finds herself working day and night, and the quiet of an accounting life, is traded in for fast men, faster women and adrenaline pumping action.

The lunch trade at The Pub caters to the local business clientele, but things heat up in the evenings when the snowbirds go on the prowl, after their days spent with their boats and their sunscreen, in the Florida sunshine. It is not long before Joe is drawn into the nightlife of the dimly lit lounge, with the glittering amber liquors, loneliness and the lust.

Joe finds herself between the rivalries, that soon become heated, as the men indulge in the oldest of battle cries, ‘to the victor, go the spoils.

In Hemingway’s novel, The Old Man and the Sea, once the great fish is brought in and lashed to the side of his small boat, the predators begin to arrive. As the characters in The Pub, are introduced, Joe begins to feel like each and every person involved wants their piece. Hemingway’s character fights with all his strength with an oar, against the predators. Joe also, finds the predators closing in.

The reader is invited to sit back, pour themselves a refreshing drink and observe as each layer of this quick paced, tightly woven work unfolds. Take a full breath as you descend into darkness as the story moves ever lower into the fathomless morass of human nature.

Peggy Cole, in her debut of The Pub, sets her story in the simmering heat of Florida. You are welcomed into the atmosphere and tone of the fast paced, swinging chauvinistic seventies. The loud fashions and freewheeling, free with their hands characters run rampant. Joe Mitchell finds herself in a world of music and magnetism, adultery and avarice, and the icy cold fingers of murder.

Jacket design by Mockingbird Books.

I am aware of three people that edited Peg's manuscript. I looked at it, and I think Peg's brother went over it and here, also on Hubpages, Maria Jordan gave it her time and usual keen eye.

If anyone would like to help out with promotion of Peg's mystery the pic.twitter address is a picture of her cover as seen here. And the shortened URL on the 'Buy it here' link can also be used on Twitter.

pic.twitter.com/tmMlUzyyH6

Peg Cole
Peg Cole | Source

More by this Author


Comments 46 comments

always exploring profile image

always exploring 8 months ago from Southern Illinois

Hi Mike, an excellent review of Peg's book, ' The Pub. ' Your cover adds to the mystery inside. The fact that the events occur in the seventies makes it more interesting, since those were the good old days I remember looking back at the most. Have a great weekend...


fpherj48 profile image

fpherj48 8 months ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

Mike....Such a fabulous review! You present Peg's book in such a tempting way, how can anyone resist getting their hands on it? You've convinced me .

I know Peg is a really talented writer and I'm seriously into "murder mystery." So, thanks to both you & Peg. I'll not waste another minute! Paula


Becky Katz profile image

Becky Katz 8 months ago from Hereford, AZ

Awesome, Peg got it published. I am going to have to run by and get it for another read.


MartieCoetser profile image

MartieCoetser 8 months ago from South Africa

This is an excellent review of The Pub by Peggy Cole. It sounds like a novel one will not be able to put down until the very last page has been read.

Peg, I wish you the best of luck with this debut of yours.

Thank you, Mck!


marcoujor profile image

marcoujor 8 months ago from Jeffersonville PA

If I didn't already love Peggy Cole's breakout mystery, I surely would be heading to Amazon to purchase after reading this compelling and well-crafted review. Excellent, dear Mike.

TGIF and have a great weekend. Hugs, Maria


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Ruby – Peg worked very hard to get her manuscript ready for publication. She has every right to be very proud of her accomplishment.

Hello Paula, Peg is a talented writer. We can all be proud to have her work here at Hubpages and now a finished work available from Amazon.

Hello Becky. Peg did a wonderful job with her manuscript. She put many hours into checking it, to get things right. It takes a great deal of energy to be an author these days.

Hello Martie – Writing a novel is such a solitary pursuit and Peg made it through the gauntlet to the finish line. She is an excellent writer and very adept at telling a story. We all wish her much success.

Hello mar. Peg deserves a long vacation after completing The Pub and getting it onto Amazon. Now, we will all wait patiently for her next novel, or mystery or ?


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 8 months ago from Dallas, Texas

Mike, first let me thank you for this great review of The Pub. You made it sound so interesting I think I'll read it! I must tell you that I love the cover design you made, and thank you for your expert eyes that caught many of my typos. Between Maria, John (my brother) and your fresh eyes, you each improved the text and helped me find timeline inconsistencies and more.

To any of you who remember the story from chapters on Hub Pages, thank you for your encouragement and readership. If it weren't for you, I might never have finished the story.

Ruby, you were among the first readers, always sending positive vibes in the comment section. Thank you. I love the seventies, too.

Paula, I hope you will enjoy reading the book and thanks so much for being a murder mystery fan. Me, too!

Becky, hi, I hope you can stop by and pick up your copy. You were among the first readers to see it go live way back when. Hope you and yours are well.

Martie, thank you so much for all your encouragement. I really appreciated the time you took reading the chapters when they came out. Your words were always uplifting.

Maria, my darling editor, foreword writer and friend, I hope you truly know how much I appreciate you.

Mike, again, thank you for all the hard work and for this excellent review.


billybuc profile image

billybuc 8 months ago from Olympia, WA

Thanks for the review, Mike. I'm always looking for a good mystery, so I'll definitely put this on my wish list.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Peg - You are welcome.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Bill. Thanks for the visit. Peg put a great deal of effort into her manuscript and it shows.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 8 months ago from Dallas, Texas

Oh, Mike, I gotta say, I love this bit..."It is not long before Joe is drawn into the nightlife of the dimly lit lounge, with the glittering amber liquors, loneliness and the lust." Good use of alliteration. I think. Maybe the other one.


suzettenaples 8 months ago

Great review Mike and I love the cover. Another cover well done! Peg's novel sounds scrumptious!


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Thanks Peg. I try.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hi suzettenaples. Thank you. Peg climbed the mountain of getting her manuscript ready. I decorated, which is the easy part.


vocalcoach profile image

vocalcoach 8 months ago from Nashville Tn.

Mike

What a marvelous review of Peg's book! This will be in it's place on my bookshelf soon along with my other books by my favorite Hub Pages authors.

Hugs,

Audrey


Faith Reaper profile image

Faith Reaper 8 months ago from southern USA

I know whatever Peg writes is always phenomenal, but after reading your superb review, which in and of itself is exhilarating, how can anyone not resist the mystery!

I must get my hands on this one.

I love your design of the cover. What we have here is a double dose of brilliance.

Here's to much success with your book, dear Peg, and thank you again, Mike

Blessings always


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Audrey - Good to see you. Peg accomplished a great task getting The Pub ready for publication. We can all be proud that another Hubpage writer has reached a new level in their writing journey. You certainly will enjoy reading her story.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Theresa. The Pub is a feast. Peg is a phenomenal writer, you are so right. From cooking recipes to family achievements to local photography she covers the spectrum. So glad to hear that you are adding this to your collection. Don't forget to give an Amazon review!

The cover was fun to put together. Big fonts to shout the accomplishment!!!

Have a relaxing weekend.


AudreyHowitt profile image

AudreyHowitt 8 months ago from California

What a great review--Peg is so gifted!


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Audrey - Peg is gifted! Good to see you.


Jodah profile image

Jodah 8 months ago from Queensland Australia

A very nice review of Peg's book "The Pub", Mike. Great cover design too, and you make the story sound exciting. Well done to Peg.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 8 months ago from Dallas, Texas

Thank you to each of you for your kind remarks about the book and on Mike's great cover: Billybuc, Suzettenaples, Vocalcoach, Faith, Audrey and Jodah. I appreciate you. It's good to see you guys here. Like old times.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Good morning John. Thanks for stopping by. It is not everyday when one of us publishes a book. Congratulations go out to Peg.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Good morning Peg. Happy Sunday.


Genna East profile image

Genna East 8 months ago from Massachusetts, USA

Congratulations to Peg for her brilliant write and mystery story. I so look forward to reading this. Mike, your words serve this wonderful writer, well. :-)


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 7 months ago from Dallas, Texas

Hi Genna East. So good to see you, and thanks for the brilliant comment.


B. Leekley profile image

B. Leekley 7 months ago from Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

Good review, that is, it has gotten me interested and considering whether to add this book to my to-read pile.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 7 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello B. Leekley, our fellow hubber has taken the time and energy to put together months of work to get her title ready for publication. We should all be proud of her and learn from her. I am sure you will enjoy her book should you decide to make a purchase.

Thanks for the visit.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 6 months ago from Central Florida

I'm going to have to pick up a copy. When I first heard Peg was writing a murder mystery based in Florida (where we both live) I was intrigued.

I lived in South Florida in the 70's and 80's. Talk about partying! I look forward to reading Peg's book. I'm sure I'll relate to alot of it, with the exception of murder, of course.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 6 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Sha. I enjoyed Peg's book. I enjoyed working with her getting the manuscript through the process. She worked hard, and gathered a team together to comb through her work. The finished product looks polished and mainstream. I think you will enjoy the book, as Peg is a long standing member of our community and the fact you have shared interest in the Florida setting.


annart profile image

annart 6 months ago from SW England

Interesting and intriguing review, Mike, and congratulations on a great cover design.

My 'books to read' pile is high at the moment but I'll be getting round to this one. I love Peggy's writing.

Ann


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 6 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Ann. Peg will be so happy to hear your 'books to read' pile may have a spot opening up for The Pub. All of us readers suffer with the same issues. Two of those are what to read and the second is of course, how to afford all the books we want to read.

Thanks for stopping by to read the review. Peg worked hard on her manuscript, now the rest of us can give her a shout out.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 5 months ago from Dallas, Texas

Hello B. Leekley, Sorry I missed your nice comment for so long. I do hope you'll add The Pub to your list of reading. Thank you for reading Mike's wonderful review.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 5 months ago from Dallas, Texas

Dear Annart, Thank you so much for your kind remarks. I can understand the demand on your time. My nightstand is piled high with books waiting for me to read, too. Mike did create a great cover. I'm delighted with his work and his help in getting this published.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 5 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Peg. What a warm reception the review of your book has received. I hope you have had a some books purchased to let you know it is possible. I appreciate your work and it was a privilege to be of assistance.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 5 months ago from Dallas, Texas

Hello Shauna, It looks like I failed to answer your nice comment about the book. So sorry. No excuses. I hope you will find some memorable passages in The Pub when you do get a copy. Florida is like no place else, ripe with fun and adventure. I still miss it.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 5 months ago from Dallas, Texas

Mike, you are the King of book reviews. I thank you for all your hard work on the cover and in promoting the story. Smiling.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 5 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Thank you Peg. Your project turned out very well. Now, we promote, promote, promote.


snakeslane profile image

snakeslane 5 months ago from Canada

Hello Mike, great cover, great review, 'The Pub' is published! Congratulations Peg! ps Happy Father's Day Mike!


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 5 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Miss V. Great to see you.. Thanks for the well wishes. I hope you are well. Looking forward to reading some more of your writing.


snakeslane profile image

snakeslane 5 months ago from Canada

Thanks Mike, I am still busy scribbling, sorry not to be here lately, I know I've missed so much. You've been writing up a storm! I hear it's hot in your area, hope you're staying cool.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 5 months ago from Dallas, Texas

Hello dear V. Miss seeing you on a regular basis. Loved that you stopped in today.


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 5 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hi snakeslane - I am pleased that you are still writing. It is so important for all of us to 'talk-it-out.' When or if you become ready, be sure to share with all of us.

Yes, it is roasting here. 108 yesterday and again today. Then it is reportedly going to drop. The bad news it is the first day of summer. Can't wait until August.

Hi Peg!


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 5 months ago from Houston, Texas

Your review of Peg's book makes it sound like it would be a page turner for certain. I like a good mystery and Peg is an excellent writer so it is sure to become a best seller. Congrats to Peg and thanks for your review. Will have to put it on my list of books to read. :)


mckbirdbks profile image

mckbirdbks 5 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas Author

Hello Peggy W. Getting a book written and into print is a big undertaking. Our Peg gets a lot of credit for her accomplishment. I am sure you will enjoy reading her story and seeing it on your shelf. Thanks for the visit.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 5 months ago from Dallas, Texas

Thank you, Peggy W, for the kind words and comment here on Mike's review. I really appreciate that you took time to stop by. Thanks again, Mike, for all the promotion and positive reinforcement.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working