The Seasons Of Our Lives: A Review

There’s so much order everywhere around us, if only we stop and take the time to be aware of it. The seasons come and go, without fail, year after year. Of course, man tries and disrupts this at times with his interference but by and large, the seasons are predictable, with a few hiccups to bring back balance when man creates an imbalance.

I was reading an e-book the other day and what began as a cursory ‘Let’s see what this is all about’ attitude, suddenly, what I read, I found gripping. Here was this author who was trying to see whether our lives had seasons too and if so, how long each season lasted.


George Pan Kouloukis is Greek and he’s an attorney-at-law, a barrister who provides his legal services to leading Greek corporations. This book is a far cry from his legal profession. They are his observations after painstaking research into a number of famous people’s lives from the past as well as the present and the conclusions he arrives at as well as the questions he raises at the end could just be very pertinent for our lives. His e-book is available free on the internet and the reason he has done this is so that as many people as possible can make use of these findings and apply it to their own lives.

The Seasons Of Our Lives by George Pan Kouloukis is a free ebook that is available for download here:


http://www.georgekouloukis.com/seasons_of_our_lives.html

The author was curious as to why people went through phases of ups and downs in their lives and that led him to do extensive research into the lives of famous people in order to try and find a common pattern. He also spoke to regular, everyday people so he could draw parallels. What he extrapolated from all this research was astounding. He saw a pattern that seemed to run through all these lives – a pattern that seemed to echo through every ordinary person’s life as well, even his own. What George Pan Kouloukis wanted to do was to get as much material as possible so he wasn’t swayed in any way. He wanted to draw objective conclusions from as many examples as possible.

So what did he come up with? He found that in all the cases, there was a peak and a trough. There were 16 to 17 years which constituted a good season and 16 to 17 years that were a bad season. The strange thing is, people were divided into two. While the period remained the same, one group went through a good season the same time that the rest went through a bad season. The season that has just gone by is the period between 1990 and 2007. The one we are in right now will run roughly from 2007 to 2024.


Source

The author has an impressive list of life histories which he has drawn from. From Beethoven and Verdi to Picasso and Rodin. From Queen Elizabeth I and King Henry VIII to Winston Churchill and Mikhail Gorbachev. From Elizabeth Taylor and Aristotle Onassis to Maria Callas and more.

What he does leave us with is how to use this knowledge. Not all good seasons are full of sunny days just as not all bad seasons are full of dark days. However, the general trend during these 16-17 year periods reflects a positive season or a negative season. If we are aware of which period we are in, it just makes us more prepared, he feels and we can take steps to mitigate or enhance our circumstances. Bad seasons, he feels, are not meant for us to hibernate and hide away from the world. With the right effort, we can deal with and maybe even reverse certain situations.

He also feels that if we are attuned to these seasons, we as a race could become a lot more philosophical. We’ll learn to be more peaceful, he feels, because we know that our time and turn will come too – no bad season will last forever. No good season will either, so that makes us a lot more realistic and tolerant.


Other Cycles

Everything around us has its ups and downs, a balance if you will. What goes up must needs come down. For every action, there must needs be an equal and opposite reaction. So are the seasons of our lives simply following the laws of Nature? A time to receive and a time to give? A time to take and a time when things are taken from us?


Source

Right through ancient history, man has been fascinated by the cycles of time and one of the most popular ones used was the Metonic lunar cycle which ran for 18.6 years. The Jewish calendar uses this cycle which was named after the ancient Athenian astronomer Meton. There’s a large stone in Knowth, Ireland that illustrates this.


(Click here for information on the Neolothic Calendarstone in Knowth)

The civilization that grew around Stonehenge, too, is supposed to have followed this cycle. The ancient Zoroastrian astrology on the other hand, followed the 32-year personal calendar. How did these ancient people figure out the various cycles without the modern technology that we have?

Closer to us in time, we have the Homer Hoyt/Fred Harrison 18 year cycle when it comes to real estate in the USA. One can find parallel cycles in the stock market ebb and flow in most countries.

So what does that leave us with? Questions? Is all of this just co-incidence or is there a very clear pattern that is at play? Just supposing there is, are we prepared? Should we just accept what the fates dish out or will this knowledge empower us to handle our lives better?


More by this Author


Comments 42 comments

Tatjana-Mihaela profile image

Tatjana-Mihaela 6 years ago from Zadar, CROATIA

Thank you for this beautifuly written article, which itself is so balancing and healing. I will explore GPK´s book for sure, thanks for sharing this link.


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Tatjana - thank you so much for being the first to read! I'm sure you'll enjoy his book.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York

I shall certainly look into this e-book, Shalini! Thank you for a great write up! I guess he doesn't care much about money if he's willing to let his work for free and for all to read. That alone speaks volumes about the kind of person he is (and the kind of person we are). Thanks for the link as well.


shamelabboush profile image

shamelabboush 6 years ago

What an interesting and highly philosphical book? I downloaded it and will read it, thanks Shalini...


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

That's what struck me about him when I read the ebook Dohn - so much painstaking research- all to help us understand our lives better! Thanks for coming by!

Shamel - thanks - do hope you enjoy it as much as I did!


jill of alltrades profile image

jill of alltrades 6 years ago from Philippines

What a beautifully written piece Shalini! I love it and I will certainly check out the ebook!

I have long been interested in the cycles of our life but only on a personal basis. You certainly whet my appetite to learn more through GPK's ebook.

Thank you for sharing!


VioletSun profile image

VioletSun 6 years ago from Oregon/ Name: Marie

I enjoyed your article as these are topics that interest me very much. I will be adding this to my must read list. I need to finish reading two books now, and then I will download his book. He is great in offering it of free. Have bookmarked your hub!


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Jill - now why did I know you would be? :) I'm sure you'll love the patterns that emerge!

VioletSun - yes, I can see that - and I do hope you enjoy the book. I found it fascinating!


dianacharles profile image

dianacharles 6 years ago from India

A very interesting hub Shalini and I have downloaded the book to read it later. I was trying to figure out if I was going through a bad or good season, but haven't been able to. With the current recession I wonder if this a bad season for most people the world over??


Pete Maida profile image

Pete Maida 6 years ago

I guess it is tough if you start with a bad season that runs through your entire childhood. As everyone knows all living things go through their own seasons as we age. We go through spring, summer, fall and winter in turn. We have some control over how long each season lasts based on how well we take care of ourselves.


breakfastpop profile image

breakfastpop 6 years ago

What a magnificent hub.


Feline Prophet profile image

Feline Prophet 6 years ago from India

Each time I think I have a handle on things, along comes another theory that smashes my beliefs to smithereens! Very interesting nevertheless. :)


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Hi Diana - so am i, so am I :) Do hope you enjoy the book!

Pete - thanks for reading. Yes, we do make our own fate - but what he says is interesting and could be a good guide as to how to handle bad times.

Thank you breakfastpop :)

FP - aahhhh - the excitement of life!! :D


Jaspal profile image

Jaspal 6 years ago from New Delhi, India

So very interesting ... I received the ebook from Diana, and was halfway through it - very engrossing, but rather long - and decided to take a break and come across to hubpages. And here I land up on the same subject!!

Wonder if there is an ominous warning in that?

What about the astrologers and their predictions? Wonder if they also work on a similar cycle?


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

I guess he used all those examples to give his theory credence, Jaspal. Ominous or helpful - that is the question!

Most ancient astrologers seemed to have followed some kind of cyclic pattern.

Thanks for coming by :)


James A Watkins profile image

James A Watkins 6 years ago from Chicago

This is a very interesting concept. You wrote about it beautifully. Thank you for provoking me to reflect on the seasons of life.


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Thank you, James - appreciate you coming by!


Cris A profile image

Cris A 6 years ago from Manila, Philippines

Yep I agree with everybody here, this is a very insightful read and one that leads to deeper thoughts and introspection. And perhaps, we as a race are nearing to exploring everything that has been confounding us. Maybe everything, including fate, is laid before us if only we look harder or know where to look in the first place. :D


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Thank you Cris. There's so much we know - and so much more we don't....it's mind boggling, isn't it?


Cris A profile image

Cris A 6 years ago from Manila, Philippines

Mind boggling indeed and sometimes even scary that I wish I have a less inquisitive mind. But we are what we are - whatever season we might find ourselves in :D


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

I guess finally Cris - it all depends on how we play the cards we are dealt with - I do believe the human spirit can rise up against all the odds before it!


Cris A profile image

Cris A 6 years ago from Manila, Philippines

Oh tell me about it! LOL See I can even manage to not feel as bad when I think about what I went through recently. :D


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Exactly Cris - you always let the sun shine through :)


Randy Behavior profile image

Randy Behavior 6 years ago from Near the Ocean

Thanks for this Shalini. If I'm in a down turn, best to recognize it, learn my lessons and get the hell over it. Well maybe that's up not over. :)


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Maybe, Randy - I'm still trying to figure out which way to play it :)


poetlorraine 6 years ago

This was a thoroughly good read,intereating and informative, and also extremely thought provoking.


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Hi poetlorraine - so glad you liked it - thanks for coming by!


lyla profile image

lyla 6 years ago from India

Shalini..Whew!Am I glad to read this?I always felt that there was a season for everything..but to read about from someone who has done a research is just great!Yes,I have downloaded the ebook and also read it!I am in high spirits, as according to the theory my good season starts now!lol!Hope it starts with adsense approval!lol!


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Thanks lyla - I do hope you enjoy the ebook!


Sally's Trove profile image

Sally's Trove 6 years ago from Southeastern Pennsylvania

"How did these ancient people figure out the various cycles without the modern technology that we have?"

What a provocative question. My gut response is to say that technology has gotten in the way of our listening to our inner selves and using what we hear to make sense of the world around us.

Thankfully, there are people out there like George Pan Kouloukis who remind us that reality is not a finite that can be described merely by the culture and time in which we live.


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Hi ST - I do believe so too!

'...reality is not a finite that can be described merely by the culture and time in which we live' - that's an awesome way of putting it!


EleanorL profile image

EleanorL 6 years ago

This is very true. Thanks.


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Glad you think so Eleanor!


quicksand profile image

quicksand 6 years ago

Hi Shal, it is truly amazing how fortunes fluctuate. Even the pattern of the fluctuations contribute towards generating a teasing kind of suggestion of the existence of a puppeteer who is in total control!

By the way, I was totally amused by the remark made by the Feline Prophetess!!!


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

Are we just puppets on a string? I hope not :)

Thanks for coming by - yes, that name does suit her!


GmaGoldie profile image

GmaGoldie 6 years ago from Madison, Wisconsin

Fascinating. I am ready for my peak. Clear pattern to expect the best and plan for the worst.


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 6 years ago from India Author

The peak is round the corner? How nice! Thanks for reading!


GeorgeKouloukis 3 years ago

Dear Shalini,

I am the author of this book titled The Seasons of Our Lives. First of all I have to thank you very much for your wonderful review of my book; the review is unbelievably correct, and shows a deeply thinking reviewer.

I feel however, that I must also inform you and your friends, that the book is now also available in printed form, paperback, published by Heart Space Publications, an Australian publisher, and is sold all over the world. It can be found among others, at Amazon under the words: The Seasons of Our Lives Kouloukis paperback.

The publisher saw the book at my web site where I have it for free, and they sent me an email saying what a fascinating book I have written, they wanted to publish this. As you know, I have offered the book free on line (and I still have it free) to help as many people as possible to benefit from it. But since a publisher asked me to publish it, I could not refuse.

I think this information may be useful to you and your friends. If you agree, please let me know. I will send you more details.

With many thanks

George Pan Kouloukis

Athens, Greece


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 3 years ago from India Author

Hi George - Congrats! Your book deserves to be read by many more people! I will put up the Amazon link on FB and the book sites.


GeorgeKouloukis 3 years ago

Thanks a lot, Shalini, especially for your kindness to promote the book. My publisher believed in the value of the book and invested a large amount of money on it. I feel he must not become disappointed. So, thank you very much for your help.


GeorgeKouloukis 3 years ago

Dear Shalini,

May my publisher use your review on my book? All or part of it?

Thanks

George


Shalini Kagal profile image

Shalini Kagal 3 years ago from India Author

Yes of course, George - please feel free to us anything you like!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working