Book Review: How the Grinch Stole Christmas

My niece Erica, age 6, with cake on her face no less...

What are YOU looking at?!
What are YOU looking at?!

Saving My Neice From Dr. Seuss Deprivation

Just recently, I bought my seven-year-old niece Erica three Dr. Seuss books for her birthday—Yertle the Turtle, The Sneetches and Other Stories, and How the Grinch Stole Christmas—after having learned that her parents didn’t take the liberty (and don't mean the Jeep Liberty, mind you) to buy them for her. To me, a child without any books (namely Dr. Seuss books) is like a refrigerator without any milk. It’s just not right and yes, it’s THAT important. I can’t imagine my childhood without Dr. Seuss and for any child to be deprived of his work is a crime that should be punishable by death. Okay, so maybe that’s a bit extreme…Caning is more like it.

Having written a hub on Seuss’ The Sneetches, I’ve decided to write a one on How the Grinch Stole Christmas as it was fitting to, aside from the fact that it really is one of my favorite Seuss books. One of HubPages’ best writers, relache, also wrote a fantastic hub on How the Grinch Stole Christmas. I suggest you have a look as I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

The Story of How the Grinch Stole Christmas

Atop Mount Crumpit just north of north of Whoville, there lives a green cat-like cave-dweller simply known as, “The Grinch” whose only companion is a tiny dog named Max. From there, the Grinch could hear the noisy (which some would argue was pleasant, bah!) Christmas festivities and merriment created by the Whos of Whoville, who enjoyed more than anything else, the Christmas season. But the Grinch did not like this one bit as he was envious of their merry-making, gift-giving, and carol-singing and due to fact that his heart was after all two-sizes too small, he was determined to ruin the Whos of Whoville’s Christmas once and for all (for the record, I made that up).

So with a sled and along with his dog Max (who he poorly dresses up as a reindeer) the Grinch races down the steep, 3,000-foot slope of MountCrumpit with Whoville in his cross-hairs. While there, he burglarizes each and every Who’s home of presents, decorations, and trimmings; he takes with him every single morsel—with the exception of a speck that was even too small for a mouse—with the intention of “preventing Christmas from coming” to Whoville. However, despite all his efforts to undermine the Whos’s joyous hullabaloo; Christmas comes any-who, as the Whos of Whoville join hands and sing to welcome-in Christmas that year. The Grinch then reaches an epiphany: That Christmas is not about presents, or decorations, or trimmings, rather it’s about being together in spite of any and all short-comings and in that instant, his heart grows to be three-sizes larger or has a “change of heart” and so returns all the presents, decorations, and trimming back to the Whos who welcome him into their community and Whoville with open arms.

The Moral of the Story

Now let’s ask ourselves: What is Christmas? Is it about getting into heaps of debt that we’ll never be able to crawl out from under? Is it about have mounds of food that will mostly be thrown away due to over-planning? Is it about fighting long lines and red tape and camping out in front of Best Buy on the eve of Black Friday just to get the lowest possible price for latest flat-panel LCD TV? Woe is you if you spend BEYOND your means on the people that you love; if those people really do love you, they wouldn’t want to see you go into debt or have to operate in the “Red” just so they can enjoy their new toy or apparel you’ve given them. Several people I know have fallen victim to such poor decision making—and we would be all the wiser to learn from them, as their intentions were good, they should not have spent beyond their means for any of us.

In my opinion, Seuss’ message to all of us is that Christmas isn’t about any of these things. Instead, Christmas is about spending time with those that you truly love and care for. The Whos of Whoville are certainly testament to this theory. Although the Grinch did take from them all their material possessions, such as their Christmas trees, food, and presents; the Whos of Whoville continued to celebrate Christmas in spite of the void created by the Grinch and so enjoyed themselves merrily through song. And as witness to this miracle, the Grinch himself changed his view of Christmas (One could say that he had indeed a “change of heart” as it tripled in size). More than fifty years since it was first published, it continues to sell widely throughout the world, especially during the Christmas season. It is for this reason that I believe “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” is a timeless classic and will be for generations to come. By far, it’s not only one Dr. Seuss' best books--it's one of the best books ever written in the spirit of Christmas.

The Polar Express

Grinch Toys and Games

You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch: A Photo Gallery

Max, the Grinch's faithful dog and companion

The Grinch dresses up Max in festive apparel

The Grinch took everything...He even took the roast beast

The Grinch reassuring little Cindy Lou Who of his good intentions

The Grinch in action

The Whos celebrating Christmas

A happy ending

More by this Author


Comments 88 comments

Rose West profile image

Rose West 6 years ago from Michigan

A child without books...can't even imagine that :) The Grinch is one of Seuss's best. So classic! I would have liked to meet Dr. Seuss...I wonder what we would talk about.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks for being the first to comment, Rose West! I give away books as gifts about as much as I buy books for myself. I'm glad that you agree with me ;) I wish I wrote this book!


Peter Dickinson profile image

Peter Dickinson 6 years ago from South East Asia

Great hub...brought back happy memories and I imagine was a lot of fun to put together. Thanks Dohn.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you Peter. What's Christmas without the Grinch? I actually like his character a lot...Truth be told, the villains in most stories are much more interesting than the heroes. In this case, the Grinch is both!


Pamela99 profile image

Pamela99 6 years ago from United States

dohn, Great hub. Dr. Suess wrote so many wonderful books and you used this classic very well to emphasize what is really important at Christmas. More books, and reading time together with your children is so much better that all the TV children watch these days. My 3 boys grew up with lots of books.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Pamela99. Yes, I've been anticipating on writing this hub for about 2 months now. Being that we're so close to Christmas, I thought it due time that publish this hub. All of Seuss' books teaches such valuable lessons. One of the most difficult things that I had to learn as a child was finding a balance between all of my activities. I've always found joy in reading. You're boys were lucky ;) My public library WAS my library! Thanks again.


Tatjana-Mihaela profile image

Tatjana-Mihaela 6 years ago from Zadar, CROATIA

Hehe, Grinch is very interesting creature. Never heard about him before reading this Hub.

Thank for teaching me something new.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Really? He's my best friend :D Like singer Billy Joel said, "I rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints!" Thanks, Tatjana-Mihaela. I'm pretty sure that there are Croatian translations for Dr. Seuss, no? I'm glad you liked it.


keira7 profile image

keira7 6 years ago

Hi my dear friend, its good to see that not only you are one of the best writer in HP. But you are also a brilliant oncle. You certainly gived the best present to your niece in both ways. Suess, and love for reading, wich she will developp even more. Great hub my dear friend. Thanks for sharing. Bless you and your family.:) Your niece, look so adorable. She is really a pretty girl too.:)


alekhouse profile image

alekhouse 6 years ago from Louisville, Kentucky

Wow! What a terrific review, and I love all the images. What a nice Christmas treat. Thanks


prettydarkhorse profile image

prettydarkhorse 6 years ago from US

nice Dohn and very cute niece too, That is the essence of Christmas indeed, being together and understanding each other inspite of shortcomings, The Grinch have a change of heart,

nice books for children too, and I like that you always give books to children,

have a good day, Maita


pgrundy 6 years ago

What an adorable niece you have! I love Dr. Seuss. My kids still can recite Green Eggs and Ham by heart, and they are all grown up and married now. Great hub dohn. :)


Justine76 6 years ago

Aww man!! My parents did alot wrong, but they did give me books. I could read before I started school. And I had Dr. Suess. I need to go read your sneetches now. (My sister had a mouse named "sneetch" once.) Every Christmas Eve, we go to my oldest daughters grandparents house, and we watch The Grinch, while her Grandmother reads from the book. My husband was given "Oh, the places you'll go" for a graduation present. I love Dr. Suess even now as an adult!!


Leop profile image

Leop 6 years ago

This is one of my classics, just love it. Well written review. I have to agree with your personal opinion on what we have gotten ourselves into when it comes to holidays. Christmas in my house is about family getting together and enjoying, not with lots of food and not with gives. Even now, we don't buy presents at all.

Thanks Dohn, also if get chance take a look at my http://hubpages.com/hub/Frugal-Holidays. It conveys the same message.


Don White 6 years ago

Great Hub. I liked the way you put it together. We can learn much from you. Thanks, Don White


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia

I love this story - and the OLD cartoon. I was disappointed with the Jim Carey movie. Nice hub!


Lady_E profile image

Lady_E 6 years ago from London, UK

Very interesting story. I've made a mental note of the book.

Hope your niece enjoys the books you bought. I'm sure she will, with all the pictures. She looks cute, "Uncle Dohn". :)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

@keira7-Geez...Thank you for that, keira *blushes* That's very kind of you to say so! At my niece's parents' wedding, I had the honor to do the toast, in which I requested that they give me a niece because I didn't have one at the time. Throughout my sister-in-law's pregnancy, she swore that she was going to have a boy but I insisted that she would have a girl. Wouldn't you know it? She had Erica, just as I predicted! Her and I are very close as she inherited my affinity for books. I wish you well to you and yours too :D I hope you enjoy your Christmas. Thank you :)

@alekhouse-Thank you so much for that. I'm happy to have shared this just in time for the holidays. I'm glad that you enjoyed reading it.

@prettydarkhorse-Thanks Maita! Yes, I'm notorious for gifting books! I recently learned that Erica drew on the cover of her "The Giving Tree" book I gave to her and was a little upset with it. However, I did the very same thing when I was her age, so I let it slide :D Can you tell I love her? I appreciate your comment as always, Maita, thank you!

@pgrundy-Yeah, I love her very much :D She never fails to make me laugh whenever I visit her--she's a real clown and a smart one at that. Green Eggs and Ham is a must read/must have as well...I label anyone who doesn't like Seuss as a Communist (just kidding). Thanks so much Pam!

@Justine76-Q: "What do you want for Christmas dohn121?" A:"Let's see...Books, books, and more books." I'm very easy to shop for, lol. I don't ever get tired of watching the Grinch on TV. It's part of the entire Christmas experience. Being with family is crucial during the holiday season. "Oh, The Places You'll Go" is another Seussian book I plan to review very soon. Isn't it awesome? Thanks so much for sharing that, DM!

@Leop-That's great to hear, Leop. My family usually go over to my sister's in-laws for Christmas and it's usually a great time just for our close-knit family, especially for the kids. I can't wait to have kids of my own. I remember a time when everyone had a X-Mas fund geared towards presents of course and so credit cards were not necessary. I'll certainly check out your hub, Leop. Thank you for reading!

@Don White-Thanks for that Don! It seems that I learn more each day by reading other Hubber's Hubs. I learned a bit from you too by the way ;)

@habee-It's my belief that the Grinch comes around every year (heck, I've even worked for a couple of "Grinches" as well, lol) It's always great to pick this book up to enjoy Seuss' story all over again. I haven't see the Jim Carey/Ron Howard version and don't plan to! Chuck Jones rocks! Thanks as always, habee!

@Lady-E-Ha! Yes, that's exactly what she calls me :D She has this thing where she screams and starts running away whenever I see her as she's in fear that I'm going to tickle her :D I hope she read to me when I can't see the words on the pages one day! Yeah, she loves the books and promised me she would defile them with crayons, lol. Thanks, Lady_E!


Dolores Monet profile image

Dolores Monet 6 years ago from East Coast, United States

There is nothing so lovely as to read Dr. Suess to a child. Though mine are grown now, we still talk about his wonderful books, the humor as well as the messages. The Grinch is a perfect story. It has suspense, a message, and shows how a person (if you can call the Grinch a person) can be changed by self-realization


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes! That's exactly why I enjoy this story so much. Reading it again as an adult no only brought back memories, but it taught me new adult-concepts I invariably missed as a kid (or forgot). I'd give truck loads of this book away during the holiday season if I could afford to! Thanks Dolores for the feedback :D What's Christmas without the Grinch?


juneaukid profile image

juneaukid 6 years ago from Denver, Colorado

Thanks, I'll read it out loud to my 7 grandchildren once I get to New York next week. Cheers!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Seven grandchildren? Wow! That's really awesome, juneaukid. You must be very busy this time of year. I sure wish I was back in New York! Thanks for the feedback. I'm sure they'll love it.


Green Lotus profile image

Green Lotus 6 years ago from Atlanta, GA

What a terrific, creative review! Christmas is about family and friends, so true. Good old Dr. Seuss knew how to say it to kids of all ages, but it was those cool illustrations that made me a fan.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hello, Green Lotus. Thanks so much for reading this as I had a lot of fun writing this one. I actually thought about writing a hub about The Grinch months ago and now was finally the time to do so. Dr. Seuss is just pure fun to read, no matter if your 8 or 80! Yes, the illustration are so distinct aren't they? Thanks again :)


Truth From Truth profile image

Truth From Truth 6 years ago from Michigan

Nice review Dohn , I just watched the Grinch on TV with my son last weak. I had not seen it in long time, I will have to buy the book for him also. It is enjoyable. Thanks Dohn.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, TFT. Thank you. I never get tired of watching the Grinch on TV, especially when the Grinch song comes on. It never fails to bring a smile to my face :D


Paradise7 profile image

Paradise7 6 years ago from Upstate New York

I loved that story. I'm glad you bought your niece the book. Such a cool hub from a cool guy!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Ha! Thank you, Paradise! My niece loves books just as much as her uncle Dohn :) It must run in the family!


Tammy Lochmann profile image

Tammy Lochmann 6 years ago

So right about Dr Suess...I bought a treasury of his books as soon as I knew I was pregnant LOL...not really but as soon as my son was ready for me to read to him. Have fun reading to your Niece. My daughter loves to write her own stories (she dictates and I write) and then we read them together.


Useful Knowledge 6 years ago

This is a great review. I agree with you. We must find the real meaning and just enjoy the time we have together during the holidays. This is one of my favorite Dr. Suess books as well. This hub really put me in the Christmas spirit.


Journey * profile image

Journey * 6 years ago from USA

Great review. I also like the film re-make, The Grinch.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

@Tammy Lochmann-Thanks, Tammy. You certainly did the right thing--kudos to you for being proactive. Someday, I'll have kids of my own that I can bombard with Seuss books. Yes, I love to spend time with Erica. She's a bit feisty as she takes after her uncle :D Thank you for the feedback!

@Useful Knowledge-Thanks, UK. I thought you'd like this book and not surprisingly, we have the same viewpoints. We never know when each of us will have to say goodbye to one another, so spending time with each other is priceless. Thanks as always!

@Journey*-Thanks, Journey! Yes, Chuck Jones is incredible, isn't he? I enjoy all his work.


apricot profile image

apricot 6 years ago from Italy

I didn't know the first thing about this book but you've got me really interested!! But now I look at the illustrations I'm sure I must have seen the Grinch before. I liked the way you interpreted the message - it sounds quite deep - I particarly liked the non-attachment message which is always nice to find in the West. Funny, I noticed it in the Pixar film 'Up' as well - perhaps it was just me but I felt there was a definite Buddhist theme in it - non attachment, reincarnation, living for the moment. It's nice when you can read so much more into a simple children's book or film! For me, that's what makes it! Nice lessons in life too - only wish I could follow them though! My christmas list this year comprises one thing and that's a packet of cashew nuts (they cost a bomb here) - if any Grinch tries to nab them from me they'll be trouble though!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes, there really is a Buddhist message behind this work! I was thinking about writing a article hub about exactly that, but I then became cynical about its length (I try not to be shy-sty with my hubs). It's amazing how when you lose everything, you find that you didn't need MOST of the things you lost in the first place and that all of the important things come to light. I see that you clearly got the message here. Dr. Seuss was a genius, hands down. He's taught me more about life than some of the brainy literature I've read while in college (and in much less time might I add!).

I don't think that a packet of cashew nuts is asking for too much. I'd send you some if I could :D I had no idea that they'd be expensive in Italy--I take it that they have to be imported? Yes, the Grinch might take them from you, but then he'll have a change of heart and give them right back :D Thanks, apricot!


Laura du Toit profile image

Laura du Toit 6 years ago from South Africa

One of the best review hubs I've read - about one of the best authors of children's books ever!

Well done - not only was your review good but the visuals are excellent as well!

Let's hope lots of young children get "How the Grinch Stole Christmas" in their stockings this year!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you so much for that, Laura! I had a lot of fun writing this one. I can't help but to smile whenever I see, "How the Grinch Stole Christmas" on TV every year, especially when he slithering around the presents and the straight up a Christmas tree :) I guess it's just that he's so evil, it's funny and that Chuck Jones did a masterful job of directing it.

I agree, I hope that many children receive a copy. Thanks again!


jumpman profile image

jumpman 6 years ago

Nice story!


kirstenblog profile image

kirstenblog 6 years ago from London UK

This is one of many amazing books by Dr Suess! I agree that it is a corner stone of childhood. I started my love affair with reading with some of these spectacular books. You do your niece a great service by introducing her to this and other suess books. One of my favorites is 'oh the places you'll go' and was a gift to me from a teacher who wanted me to know how much she cared for me when I was going to be moving away and I have never forgot it. It was a real special thing for me as it was not just a nice parting gift but a sincere compliment to me as a kid with low self esteem. I would strongly recommend it if you have not read it yet :). From one Dr. Suess fan to another, brilliant hub here!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

@jumpman-Thanks! I'm glad you think so.

@kirstenblog-Yes, I'm very familiar with that story as well. It's actually one of the most successful Seuss books during high school and college graduation in the States (May-June) if not the most sold Seuss book. I'm actually thinking about doing a book review for that one too. You're teacher was certainly a believer in you and so cared for you very much. I had several teachers just like that and so was very fortunate. I still have a few more Seuss books to buy for Christmas as I have (so far) three nephews in addition to her :D Thank you very much for reading this one, kirsten. Seuss is not only a must read, his books are a must have!


askjanbrass profile image

askjanbrass 6 years ago from St. Louis, MO

How the Grinch Stole Christmas is a classic, my kids demand a reading every Christmas!

Great hub, thanks for sharing.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, again. It may be time for me to buy another copy for my own collection as mine is beginning to fall apart (it's over 20 years old, lol). I'm glad you enjoyed reading this!


cosette 6 years ago

wow, what a great (and comprehensive) hub! I adored Dr. Seuss books and bought most of them for my son to enjoy. his favorites were the Sneetches and Bartholomew Cubbins. mine were The Sneetches, Yertle the Turtle, Horton Hears a Who, and The Grinch. this hub made me smile. thank you. and your niece is precious!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Isn't she a cutie pie? Yeah, she's my only niece and so is spoiled like crazy. There seems to be a shortage of girls in our family for some reason, but I think that may change soon :D I like all of the books that you made mention of, cosette. Great choices! Thanks again!


TINA V profile image

TINA V 6 years ago

The collection of Dr. Seuss books is really good. There is a moral value in the stories. My niece also loves it. She's 7 years old. I can share this hub to her. You really have great hubs.

Have a great weekend!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you for the compliment, Tina. What a coincidence that you too have a niece that's seven! I hope that she likes it. Make sure you play the Grinch song for her when you do. I hope you enjoy your weekend as well :D


bat115 profile image

bat115 6 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

well done hub here!


Tumbletree profile image

Tumbletree 6 years ago

No writes children stories like Theodor Geisel. Thanks.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

@bat115-Thank you for the compliment!

@Tumbletree-I absolutely agree. His books continue to sell as if they're new.


SweetiePie profile image

SweetiePie 6 years ago from Southern California, USA

What a perfect classic to review, and just in time for Christmas as well! I always enjoy reading Dr. Seus, and my nephew loved these when he was younger.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, SweetiePie. Yes, I've been meaning to write this review for some time. Nothing beats Dr. Seuss! Great avatar by the way!


Philipo profile image

Philipo 6 years ago from Nigeria

Nice stories. I love children stories. I love christmas and the fun that accompany's it. It is a time of reflection. A time to sit down and take stock.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

I couldn't agree with you more, Phillipo. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. I hope you enjoy your holiday as well.


Am I dead, yet? 6 years ago

Classic, Dohn! The Grinch is a much have--must read to anyone and everyone--all ages! Beautiful hub! Tis the season!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, AIDY. I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I hope that this book flies off the book shelves :D What's Christmas without the Grinch anyhow?


TattoGuy 6 years ago

Loved the last bit about not getting debt and well just enjoying Christmas. Gotta say I loved that hub, you are a genius at writing and for me you are the Santa Claus of Hubpages because you give so much, thanks for another gift my good friend !


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

You're too much, TG! Yeah, I've seen that too many times and it just breaks my heart whenever I hear of someone getting into the Red when spending way beyond their means on presents they really can't afford. That really means a lot to me. Thank you for that buddy! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas (in advance).


beth1966 profile image

beth1966 6 years ago from Michigan

Awesome hub, The Grinch has always been one of my favorites around Christmas time. It really takes me back to when my sister an I were little and I read it to her for the first time. Thank you so much for sharing.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, beth1966! Yes, Christmas wouldn't be Christmas without the Grinch! Every year, I'll watch How the Grinch Stole Christmas and never tire of seeing him slithering around all of the presents and then straight up the Christmas tree, lol. Thank you for reading this!


TattoGuy 6 years ago

Dohn as you know I am banned from posting on the Forum but just read you hit 700 fans, well done mate you truly are in my eyes what Hubpages is all about !!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks for that, BC! Hearing from you is always appreciated, no matter where you are! That means alot, my friend. Thank you.


Arthur Gulumian profile image

Arthur Gulumian 6 years ago from Pasadena, CA

Going back to old school Dohn? Haha I still remember reading that when I was a kid; I was scared as hell I wouldn't get a present lmao. Your niece is the cutest girl ever btw. Great hub.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Arthur? I wonder why you were worried about whether or not you were going to get a present? Thanks for the compliment and I'm sure that Erica thanks you too!


Enelle Lamb profile image

Enelle Lamb 6 years ago from Canada's 'California'

No collection is complete without "The Grinch..." This is a Christmas classic in our house, where we break out the popcorn and snuggle on the couch to watch the Grinch trying to stop Christmas :D Is the best!

Great hub dohn - love reading your stuff.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

My sentiments exactly ;) Somedays, I feel like the Grinch and other days, like Saint Nick! Hopefully, when Christmas arrives, I'll be more like Saint Nick! Thanks again, Enelle. I hope you have a Merry Christmas :D


blondepoet profile image

blondepoet 6 years ago from australia

hey there Dohnny, boy oh boy Dr Seuss is just the greatest, I am a huge fan. If I dont catch u by next week I hope you have a fantastic Xmas, I send my love and kisses.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hi, BP. It's always good to hear from you. Thanks for stopping by to say hello. I hope that everything's well. Here's a heartfelt hug and kiss


sweetie1 profile image

sweetie1 6 years ago from India

Hi dohn,

I never had fortune to read Dr Seuss ever as i dont think his work are available in India and certainly not when i was growing up but seeing your hub i would love to read his work,


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, sweetie1! Dr. Seuss is among the best authors the world has ever known. All his books are a must have for young children (just not all over the world apparently). I hope that you'll someday get a hold of some of his work. You won't be disappointed!


andromida profile image

andromida 6 years ago

I have watched the movie Grinch starred by Jim Carrey,without having the idea of Dr. Seuss.I like the way you presented the moral of the story-"Christmas is about spending time with those that you truly love and care for". Plz say my hello to Erica and Merry Christmas in advance, Dohn.Thank you.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, andromida! It's great to hear that you enjoyed it. I'll be sure to tell Erica :D Thank you for that and I hope that you enjoy your Christmas as well my friend. It's always great to hear from you.


I*n*v*i*c*t*u*s profile image

I*n*v*i*c*t*u*s 6 years ago

Love this hub!! It rocks, just as Dr. Suess! :) The Grinch is a wonderful story and so fun... My son is seven and the first book he could read verbatim was "Hio and Hop" By Suess! Magical talent he had.. Rhyming words stimulate recognition and memory.. Thanks...

Merry Christmas to you, Dohn!! :)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, I*n*v*i*c*t*u*s (man that takes a while to type!) What's Christmas without the Grinch? I've not heard of that book your son has but I'll be sure to look into it, as I still have some Christmas shopping to do ;)

Thanks you for reading this, and Merry Christmas to you and yours!


I*n*v*i*c*t*u*s profile image

I*n*v*i*c*t*u*s 6 years ago

Hey dohn, bit of a brain fart ..lol....it is "Hop and Pop"!! It's a fun read.. enjoy! :)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks invictus ;) I thought the title looked funny :D


Beth100 profile image

Beth100 6 years ago from Canada

Perfect timing! We have almost the complete collection of Dr. Suess, and the pages are wearing out from all the reading by my kids with Green Eggs and Ham leading the race and Fox in Socks following close in behind. What's Christmas without the Grinch? It just wouldn't be the same! You always have such great enthusiasm Dohn -- it picks up my day!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks Beth! Yes, as I've said before, what's Christmas without the Grinch? Reading the Grinch out loud on Christmas day is a tradition. Thanks for the compliment! I hope you have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!


Beth100 profile image

Beth100 6 years ago from Canada

Wishing you a Christmas spent in the company of family and friends. May the New Year bring peace, love and health. Merry hugs Dohn! :)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks Beth :D


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 6 years ago from Houston, Texas

It is wonderful that you have young ones in which to be sharing good books like this. The lessons are good ones and long lasting. Your niece is so cute and lucky to have an uncle like you.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Peggy! No children's library is complete without Dr. Seuss books. It's like a kitchen without salt and pepper in my opinion! Thanks for the compliment!


sunflowerbucky profile image

sunflowerbucky 6 years ago from Small Town, USA

Been toying with the idea of writing a book review so I thought I would look at some examples. I thought you did a great job with this!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, sunflowerbucky! I really do enjoy doing book reviews. It makes it all the better when hearing such great feedback. I hope that you do write some book reviews yourself. Make sure you use the RSS feeds as they do increase internal traffic to your hubs!


daisyjae profile image

daisyjae 6 years ago from Canada

This is a great review! I love the pictures, I'll have to show them to my kids tommorrow. This is one of their favorite books.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you so much for that, daisyjae. I bought this book for my niece for her birthday which is only a few weeks before Christmas. I just hope that she takes good care of it!


G Miah profile image

G Miah 6 years ago from Muslim Nation

Hey Dohn i'm back!

I never really watched or read about the Grinch and after reading your review it certainly is very interesting. The moral of the story is that Christmas is about family and friends showing their love for one another. Christmas is certainly not about material things, but it's not just Christmas people should show their love to family and friends, it's always and not by giving or taking, but by seeing each other more often and catching up with each other aswell.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Great to see you back, G Miah! Yes, definitely. If and when one of our loved ones passes away, we never say things like,"Gee, I'm really glad (my mom, dad, etc) got me this toy!" No, it doesn't work that way. Life is about doing the things we will otherwise regret later on if we don't do them.

I think you told me once that you have a daughter? Well, if you have any children, I highly recommend that you buy this book for them! You won't regret it, buddy. Thank you as always :)


Springboard profile image

Springboard 6 years ago from Wisconsin

Love Dr. Seuss. Love this book. Love the review. I haven't read this in ages and I think it would be fun to go back and have a read. Maybe I'll have to go and find that box I know I've got somewhere that has a few Seuss classics tucked away. I'm certain this one is in there.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Springboard. Yes, it really doesn't get any more timeless than Dr. Seuss when it comes to books. So far, I've got a nice size collection of his books for when I do have kids :D So dust off that book and enjoy! I'm sure it'll bring back some fond memories. Thank you for the great feedback.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working