Book Review: The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Introduction

Imagine a world without the warmth of the sun, where no plant life grows. The world around you is covered in soot or ash and more falls upon you instead of rain, snow, or hail. Imagine a world without jobs, supermarkets, or a centralized government in which to enforce its laws upon you…Imagine a world where once all living things thrived and bloomed with the breath of life are now all but dead and forgotten and in order to breathe you must rely on the use of gas-masks. Imagine a world scarce of clean water, plentiful food and most of all, hope…Such is the world of Cormac McCarthy’s depiction of our future: The Road.

Author Cormac McCarthy
Author Cormac McCarthy

Synopsis

Although it is not made clear by McCarthy in his novel as to what caused the sun to be completely blotted-out by the many layers of ash; one can only guess the atrocity that occurred in the time before this post-apocalyptic story begins. A dreary desperate landscape is in the forefront of a nameless father and son depicted in this stark Pulitzer Prize-winning novel (2007) that the author refers to as simply, “the man” and “the boy.” However, what is certain is that both must persevere through many hardships and obstacles along their quest to find solace in the distant coastal lands southward.

The means in which to push further and further along their journey certainly justifies the ends, as the prize is very much real, at least to the “man.” The “boy” is selfless in his desire to help others whereas his father is reluctant to do the likewise, due to his unflappable resolve to survive long enough to reach their ultimate destination. When seeing others in desperate need of food or water, the boy urges his father to help—only to receive a harsh reply. This in itself is the novel's central conflict and a recurring theme but not overtly so. The father argues to his son that their needs are paramount in comparison to the needs of others and that charity is not an option.

Having realized that he cannot survive another winter at their camp, the “man” decides that their only hope of survival is by heading south and finding people such as themselves who don’t share in the senseless violence or cannibalism of the masses. Every morning the father wakes up coughing up blood, yet refuses to voice to his son that he is indeed dying. Armed with only a revolver with two bullets, it provides the only assurance the two have of protecting themselves against the dangerous "others," albeit suicide if necessary.

Like many adventure stories, The Road has its share antagonists and protagonists. The protagonists are the “man” and the “boy,” who are indeed “carrying the fire” and are perhaps the key to civilization whereas the antagonists are the roving bandits and cannibals who prey on the weak and defenseless and so are desperate to take from them virtually everything. For the most part, there are far more outlaws than “fire-carriers” throughout the entirety of the story. Those who are on the move (the minority) are migratory, so in essence, those who seek the warmer climates are inherently good whereas those who choose to remain stagnant while stationed at their camps are not.

"Each the other's world entire"

Over the years, I’ve come across several stories depicting a father and a son, but nothing quite as engrossing or unique as The Road. In comparing other stories in which the main characters are father and son, Fathers and Sons, a short story by Ernest Hemingway and Danny, Champion of the World by Roald Dahl quickly come to mind. In either story, therein lies a strong albeit impervious bond between each; an uncompromising love shared by both that is the impetus of each one’s resolve to prevail no matter the challenges that lie ahead. One of the exquisite qualities of McCarthy's novel is the undeniable realism depicted in the leaves of his Pulitzer Prize winning work. The novel itself speaks volumes of the Dystopian Society we are heading into if we are not careful. Much can be said about the human condition, especially when it is pushed to its very limits and is as ravenous as a starved wolf or is as loving as "the man" who'd rather kill himself than watch his son die in front of his eyes, as the two of them indeed are in the words of McCarthy, "each the other's world entire."

On Cormac McCarthy

Cormac McCarthy is hailed as sharing writing styles with the likes a William Faulkner, who is one of my favorite authors of all time. Coincidentally, the two shared the same editor in Albert Erskine. One of his recent more recent novels, No Country for Old Men was adapted as a film of the same name in 2007 which won four Academy Awards including Best Picture. Another one of McCarthy's novels, All the Pretty Horses (1992), which won a National Book Award was also made into a movie. His novel, Blood Meridian (1985) was among Time Magazine's poll of 100 Best English-language books published between 1923 and 2005. If you have yet to read The Road, I highly suggest you do so before watching the movie. As a word of caution, please do not visit the Wikipedia site for The Road if you are indeed planning to do so, as it is filled with spoilers!

The Road The Motion Picture

All the while reading Cormac McCarthy's The Road, it was very easy for me to picture the entire novel as a motion picture (it sounds much better than movie, doesn't it?). So, with that being said, I expect this movie to be nothing less than spectacular, as it is one of the best books I've read in a long time. I'm planning to go and see the movie on opening day.  Director John Hillcoat has assembled an all-star cast for his movie and here is a brief introduction to each of them:

Actor Viggo Mortensen
Actor Viggo Mortensen
Actor Kodi Smit-McPhee
Actor Kodi Smit-McPhee
Actor Robert Duvall
Actor Robert Duvall
Actor Guy Pearce
Actor Guy Pearce
Actress Charlize Theron
Actress Charlize Theron

Viggo Mortensen

His most notable and perhaps famous role was Aragorn in Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Ring Trilogy. When learning that Viggo Mortensen was indeed playing “the man” in the movie, The Road, I was immediately happy to hear of it, as the role is indeed serious, which suits him perfectly. In the movie, G.I. Jane, he played Master Chief John Urgayle, and in my opinion, stole the show. He was also nominated for an Academy Award for Best Actor in his role as Russian gangster in David Cronenberg’s Eastern Promises and won Best Performance by an Actor from the British Independent Film Awards.

Kodi Smit-McPhee

Australian-born actor Kodi Smit-McPhee is following in the footsteps of his father Andy McPhee and is on the fast-track to Hollywood stardom after having won the American Film Institute's Best Young Actor Award in his role in the film, Romulus, My Father (2007) alongside actor Eric Bana. He also appeared in the Australian telemovie, The King and the American television series Monarch Cove and Nightmares and Dreamscapes: From the Stories of Stephen King in an episode titled Umney's Last Case. Kodi plays the role of "the boy" in the movie.

Robert Duvall

One of Hollywood's best actors, Robert Duvall plays the "old man" in The Road. Having been nominated for Best Supporting Actor in 1971 in Francis Ford Coppola's masterpiece, The Godfather in his role as Tom Hagan and again in 1979 in another Francis Ford Coppola masterpiece, Apocalypse Now as the unsound Lieutenant Bill Kilgore. But of his many awards, his winning the Academy Award for Best Actor for his role as Mac Sledge in the movie Tender Mercies (1983) tops the list.

Guy Pearce

Being that he is in two of some of my favorite movies of all time: L.A. Confidential (1997) and Memento (2000), finding out that he'll be playing in the movie could quite make him a three-time personal favorite actor on mine if all goes well. If you haven't yet seen these two Guy Pearce movies, I highly recommend them, as they are ground-breaking in terms of movie making (most notably Memento). I'm not exactly sure what role he will in fact play in the movie, The Road, but I do have a hunch as to what it'll be (and so don't want to spoil it). But whichever role he does play, I'm sure that he'll do a great job in doing so.

Charlize Theron

As one of my favorite actresses, she is one of the few actresses in my opinion, that can really light up the screen and not to mention act, winning an Academy Award for Best Actress in her portrayal as Aileen Wuornos, a serial killer in the movie Monster (2003) thus making her the first (South) African to do so. Her brave role as Josey Aimes in North Country (2005) also garnered her many other nominations, including a Golden Globe Award for Best Actress and a BAFTA Award for an Actress in a Leading Role. Although not much of her role as "the wife" in McCarthy's novel was made at the least bit lengthy, her character's role in Hillcoat's movie will be however.

Scenes from "The Road"

The Road Trailer

More by this Author


Comments 84 comments

Peter Dickinson profile image

Peter Dickinson 6 years ago from South East Asia

You got me hooked. I would like to read it but doubt I will find the time this year. I better wait for the 'motion picture'. Thanks.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you very much for that Peter! If it's any consolation, I read this book in one day! Well, I hope that you do get a chance to read it. You won't be disappointed!


Paradise7 profile image

Paradise7 6 years ago from Upstate New York

Good book review. I read this book and didn't get as much out of it as you did. It was a very dark book, and I don't like to say it, but I thought there was some re-hash there of "A Boy and His Dog", especially with the settings. I must say, though, this author can write. I didn't put the book down until I finished it.


Duchess OBlunt 6 years ago

Paradise, I'm glad you mentioned the dark side of this book. I have not read it, but from Dohn's description I have to agree. I MIGHT watch the movie though. I'm always saddened by this type of work. I know they are excellent, but I just can't seem to make myself pick them up and read them.

Does that make me shallow?


shamelabboush profile image

shamelabboush 6 years ago

Looks like an interesting read and I intend to have a look at the novel not Wikipedia :) I like this genre, thanks dohn121 for the nice review.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Paradise7. I haven't yet read "A Boy and His Dog," but am now very interested in doing so. Cormac McCarthy is certainly one of the best authors writing today. I wonder if you're interested in seeing the movie :D

Although I don't want to give away the ending, this book is mostly dark, but there is a light side to it by its end. I doubt that anyone will categorize it as a "Feel Good" book, but its message is strong and no, I don't think your shallow :) just human :D

Hello, shamela! I was surprised (not to mention indifferent) over the fact that Wikipedia simply just tells the reader the entire plot (like telling us who the killer is in a murder mystery). Please let me know if and when you do read the book as I'm interested to hear what you think.

Thank you again as always for reading me!


Chris Crow profile image

Chris Crow 6 years ago

Great hub. I was wondering whether I should read this book. I really liked the previous movie made out of McCarthy's book and I will definitely see this movie. Also, thanks for the spoiler alert for wikipedia!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, Chris. I'm fast becoming a big fan of McCarthy, as I've also read the entire Border Trilogy. I hope you give his book a try. I'm sure you'll enjoy his prose as I did.


Waren E profile image

Waren E 6 years ago from HAS LEFT THE BUILDING............

I've only seen the preview to that movie,but from what you've stated ,it looks totally awesome now,and I'll have to get the book too,

Thanks for publishing this entertaining hub dohn121!:)

P.S Keeping my fingers crossed for a "video game" of "The Road" as well..LOL LOL!:D


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Wow, Waren. A video game of "The Road" would be intriguing not to mention interesting! I'm happy to hear that you want to read the book now and hope you share with me your take on it just as soon as you do...See you at the movies!

Thank you as always for your comment!


Am I dead, yet? 6 years ago

Dohn, now this I must say will be a definite read. Thanks for turning me on to this book! I would rather read the book prior to the movie--I love to do that so I can compare what is and what isn't like the story. Fantastic hub!


Lily Rose profile image

Lily Rose 6 years ago from East Coast

Great hub, Dohn. Love the pictures. This book sounds fantastic, I'll have to add it to my long list of must-reads. Unfortunately I don't get much time to read these days (except hubs!), so I'll probably see this movie before I ever get to the book. I look forward to it!


rtacterri profile image

rtacterri 6 years ago

Now I will have to get the book. I like to read the book before seeing the movie, though I usually imagine it different than it comes out on screen.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hello, AIDY! That's wonderful news! It really is difficult for me to go and see a movie when I haven't yet read the book. Just as soon as I heard that they were making a Lord of the Rings movie, I went out and read all three books before going to see the movie. Make sure you tell me what you think after wards, as I'm curious to know what you think! Thank you again.

Hi, Lily Rose. I see that you're going to meet half-way on this one, which is fine. I find it difficult too to read as many books these days ever since joining our fantastic community. Maybe after you see the movie, we'll chat about it :D Thank you for reading me!

Hello, rtacterri. Thank you so much for reading me and making an effort to read this book. It certainly is a good one and should by no means be missed. Hope to see and hear from you again soon!


Philipo profile image

Philipo 6 years ago from Nigeria

Very nice hub. Wish I can get the book and read. Thanks.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Philipo. I wish you could too...Is it that you can't get access to it? Sorry to hear that.


noelr profile image

noelr 6 years ago from New York

I read the book and Loved it! I immediately passed it on to my brother who devoured it. We can't wait for the movie. Thanks on a great review. Great writing.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you very much, noelr! It's so good to hear that. I really hope that the movie turns out as good as it looks.


Enelle Lamb profile image

Enelle Lamb 6 years ago from Canada's 'California'

What an excellent review! I have been following your hubs for some time now, and I must say your writing is amazing!Thank you for sharing your views with us - I am not drawn to novels or movies of this type (being a happy-ever-after kinda person lol) but I must admit to being very intrigued by this.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank so much for reading me and commenting Enelle. You are certainly a mainstay in the front row of "My Audience." I always try my best to deliver a good hub, no matter the subject matter, because of "fans" like you!

As far as happy ending goes, my novel that I am currently editing and rewriting has one :D I hope to to share it with you as soon as I get it published (I found a literary agent finally). Thank you as always.


juneaukid profile image

juneaukid 6 years ago from Denver, Colorado

A very well written and thorough review not only of the book but also of the film. Thanks for this


cally2 profile image

cally2 6 years ago from Paraparaumu, New Zealand

Very good review. You covered all the points. I'm going to bookmark it and use it as an example to my senior high school kids for when I try to teach them to review next year.


shamelabboush profile image

shamelabboush 6 years ago

Sorry dohn121 for the lae reply. I really know your feelings about Wikipedia :) they kill the romance and the plot. Anyway, yes I am interested in reading it! Do you have a copy that you can send or maybe you can refer a site? Either way, please feel free to e-mail me thru HP. Thanks.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, juneaukid for the comment! I'm highly anticipating the opening. I appreciate your response.

Thank you so much, cally2! I've thought about becoming an educator several times in my life, but then found that I like to write too much (conflict of interest), believe it or not. I just didn't want to be grading papers while writing a novel!

That's absolutely fine, Shamel! I recommend trying Abebooks.com and by the looks of it, Amazon's price looks very reasonable...I hope that helps! Thanks again!


Mark Rollins profile image

Mark Rollins 6 years ago

This book is a unique work of art that completely turns the post-apocalyptic genre on its end. Was a quick read with a lot more heart than what typically comes from books of this venue. Rather than focusing on the setting or cause of the planet-wide disaster, it focused on just a man and his son, who don't even have names. I saw a preview for the movie that gives me hope that they could get it right, but I don't believe they probably won't.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

I totally agree with you Mark. There are very few movies out there that actually does its book version justice--Wise Guy by Nicolas Pileggi, The Godfather, and Fight Club come to mind. But there is an endless amounts of others that don't even come close. Thank you very much for commenting. I really do hope that the movie is at least worth watching. I really didn't like any movie this year so far!


shamelabboush profile image

shamelabboush 6 years ago

Ok dohn121 will do, thanks a lot :)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

You got it, Shamel! I'm always happy to help :D


marcofratelli profile image

marcofratelli 6 years ago from Australia

I agree, the premise of this book is intriguing. I'm curious to find out how it all ends and how the struggle between the boy's wanting to help others and the father's desperation to reach their ultimate destination. I hadn't heard of this book or the movie before, so will be definitely checking them out. Thanks Dohn!


Danerobb profile image

Danerobb 6 years ago from Philippines

A superb review effort, Dohn. You've certainly done your homework. Yet...

It seems that a lot of people have been praising this book, including Oprah, whose show urged me to buy the book some time ago and well, over the course of a year or more I barely managed to read it.

Back in the mid 80s while writing a novella as part of a university creative writing class, I first tackled Faulkner and then McCarthy. My baptism with McCarthy was Suttree, which once again I struggled to finish, and then later on Pretty Horses and The Road, again feeling consistently underwhelmed. WHY?

He is grossly verbose! He takes liberty with himself and his readership by generating far too many pages to convey his message. For me, his self-indulgent bloated style is about falling love with his own wordsmithing, which in turn robs his work of vitality. And McCarthy ought to know better.

How is it that once an author has a movie made of his work that he becomes "mainstream acceptable," and everyone flatly praises what should be looked at through other lenses to assess what is really going on. On what i offer alone, I would say he's grievously overrated! And many other authors say the same things with much less verbiage.

Has anyone here read Terry Goodkind or Robert Jordan? Perhaps many of us stopped reading them also. Why? Their work goes on and on, and seemingly only to keep the reader tapped into an unending storyline that, of course, keeps generating royalties. By way of contrast, George R. Martin with his A Song of Ice and Fire series has apparently found it difficult to sustain his outstanding effort, even though he is often assessed to be the best FF author in the world today (Yes, Steven Erikson).

Unfortunately, McCarthy seems unable to correct his verbose style, and I have tired of it. I won't read anymore of his work. A two hour movie will likely do it justice, but even with an all-star cast, it will be a stretch for them to pull it off. There's just too little to go on. Indeed, the real challenge will be for this cast to dive deeply into themselves to evoke what McCarthy sought to share...


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hello, Marco. It's wonderful to hear that you want to take up reading this novel and am sure that you'll enjoy it, simply for vivid storytelling. Thank you very much for reading me and your consideration to give this book a try. I do hope that you'll share with me your thoughts after having read it.

Thanks, Danerobb for your input on the works of Cormac McCarthy. Under the premise of his verbosity, I will say that this book isn't nearly as wordy as The Crossing and Cities of the Plain, but rather much more concise in its prose and its pacing is much quicker. Having only read the Border Trilogy and The Road, I can only speak on the behalf of four of his works and so can only personally comment on the four. Being that he published The Road in 2006, perhaps one can argue that it took him 73 years to finally get his verbosity corrected? Better late than never, right? So, aside from your views of his previous work, I'll hold firm on the hope that you'll give The Road a try!

Thank you so much for commenting!


magdielqr profile image

magdielqr 6 years ago

Thank you for this informative Hub.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you very much for your comment, magdielqr.


Am I dead, yet? 6 years ago

In response;

I will definitely do so--I too, read the LOTR but I already owned Tolkien's works prior to the making of the film. Believe me when I say I was so stoked!! I was somewhat disappointed with the first because they could have added so much more to the film--then when I heard they extended the next two movies, I literally salivated! I am a fantasy novel fanatic! I tell you, books like these are awesome! That is why I was so excited to read your hub on this one. I mean--imagine the possible reality of this happening--and already happening in some places--even in history. Oh, a completely other topic--I researched Tennessee Williams in reference to your comment on my hub and you know, I have only heard of him once--years ago and I did not know he moved to New Orleans because his family disapproval of his sexual orientation!

Sorry for writing so much, but when I am curious about a topic--even a word I never heard of, I become obsessed with it.

Thanks again, Dohn =D


Scott.Life 6 years ago

Thank you Dohn, I am going to have to read this book. I watched the movie trailer and I can't wait to see it.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, AIDY. For me, reading The Road awoke in me the reality of what could be in our near future. McCarthy's book gives no date or time as to when this cataclysmic event will happen and so with a host of other things, as he leaves this to be judged by the reader. However in the trailer, they make mention that this event will happen in 10 years for reasons of its own, as I believe that viewers need to know such pertinent things...On the topic of his sexual orientation, I had no clue! I like hearing your comments by the way, AIDY as I like how you write :D

Hi, Scott. I appreciate your reading this and hope that you do read this book as I think you will thoroughly enjoy it. The real story lies between the father and the son and not so much about politics or science fiction (yet its genre is in fact sci-fi). Thank you again Scott.


twalker74 profile image

twalker74 6 years ago from Las Vegas Nevada

dohn121, I am a huge fan of McCarthy and enjoyed your review. I am interested in hearing an in depth analysis of your regarding. I read a lot differently into the book, but I do see where you are headed. There is a tremendous application of minimalism he invokes to reflect the desperate bleak surrounding of the environment. And he does remind me of Hemingway in the respect that he places heavy value on action and intention as well as the perceptions of age and class. Like the Road, this can be seen in "The Short Life of Francis Mortimer" and "A Clean Well Lighted Place." Keep up the good work. You have a fan here.

I unfortunately saw Oprah's interview and it does McCarthy no justice. Blood Meridian is a novel I highly recommend if you are looking to continue reading his work. I feel it is his best work.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hi, twalker74. Thank you very much for not only commenting on my hub but for fanning me. I am a huge fan of Hemingway and I really liked how you made mention of, "The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber" and "A Clean Well Lighted Place" as they are among my favorites and your point is right on.

My next read is Blood Meridian, so I hope we can share some insight on the novel just as soon as I finish it (and stop creating more projects for myself). Thank you so much for visiting me. I'll talk to you soon.


Lgali profile image

Lgali 6 years ago

interesting read and I may read sometime


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Lgali. I really hope that you do.


cosette 6 years ago

*WOW*! i want to read the book now, AND see the movie! all of my favorite actors...and a stunning story. great hub!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Please do, cosette. You won't be dissapointed! That way, just as soon as you get out from watching, "Where the Wild Things Are," you can go right back in and see, "The Road." That's what I'll be doing! Isn't October just a great month? :D Thanks, buddy.


Useful Knowledge 6 years ago

Great book review. I will have to read this book. I will also have to see the movie. Great hub.


hubpageswriter 6 years ago

I'm going to find this book to read. Interesting review and well done..


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

That's wonderful to hear, HPWriter. I know you'll enjoy it and please let me know what you think of it. I can't wait to see in theaters on Friday.


sukhera143 profile image

sukhera143 6 years ago from Home

Amazing.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, sukhera143.


andromida profile image

andromida 6 years ago

Seems like a fascinating movie on the way-I really love to see movies based on novels-it's a short cut way for me to visualize a novel.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, Andromida. I must admit that I didn't read, "No Country For Old Men," but the movie was amazing to say the least. The Cohen Brothers just did a fantastic job. Thanks for reading me!


wavegirl22 profile image

wavegirl22 6 years ago from New York, NY

i love reading your stuff. . no matter what the topic. . you are amazing!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

I love hearing from you wavegirl22! I'm glad that we've met and look forward as always to talking to you.


prettydarkhorse profile image

prettydarkhorse 6 years ago from US

You are a very prolific writer (good reviewer too), No country for old men is very nice. Everyday i read one of your article and as always, I have to say, you do justice in book reviews as well as other stories and features you are writing! Really am proud to be a fan ever since I read the first article of yours.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, thanks so much, prettydarkhorse! You are fast becoming a good friend to me (watch out). I always look forward to hearing what you have to say. I really mean that, thank you.


kartika damon profile image

kartika damon 6 years ago from Fairfield, Iowa

I'm thrilled to have found your hubs - I love books and films and cannot wait to see this movie now. Kartika


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Kartika. The movie was supposed to have been released by now (last Friday to be exact) yet it has yet again been bumped to a later date. I believe it's scheduled for November 20 the last time I checked. Keep your fingers crossed!


wannabwestern profile image

wannabwestern 6 years ago from The Land of Tractors

Hi Dohn! I'm just wrapping up No Country for Old Men and have The Road on the shelf to read next. Definitely not my normal kind of reading material, despite how much I love the West, but wow he is a great writer. I'm looking forward to reading this book too and seeing the movie. Also, I think Viggo is an intense actor, loved him in his other movies, so this one should be great. Regards.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes! I'm happy to hear that your about to embark on another work of his. I read the Border Trilogy by him and really enjoyed All the Pretty Horses the most. It sounds to me like you're a fan (not to mention a serious bookworm like me, but we already knew this, right?) Thanks for the head's up! I look forward to hearing what you think of it and know that you will enjoy it!


wannabwestern profile image

wannabwestern 6 years ago from The Land of Tractors

I finished The Road and now I can't decide if I will be able to stomach the movie. This book has the most horrific plot.

I think The Man and The Boy are everyman characters and their struggle to remain civilized is the most important theme in the story. I was shocked and deeply moved by the ending and the possibilities suggested by it. After so much hopelessness McCarthy offers only a thin sliver of hope in the end. I think I want to see the movie but I don't want any young people I know to see it.

BTW, Cormac McCarthy deserves all of his accolades. His writing is taut, controlled, and powerful. No Country For Old Men was multi-layered and not the story the reader expects. Oh, to be a writer like him!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

It's great to hear that you finished the book. I really did enjoy it, but the book was very dark and is the essence of apocalyptic. Sure, there is much ambiguity at the its end, but I for one, thought it appropriate. I will go and see the movie, but share the same sentiments as you.

My dream is to one day win a Pulitzer Prize. That would be the best award I could win.


wannabwestern profile image

wannabwestern 6 years ago from The Land of Tractors

That is a beautiful dream and I think you are worthy of it!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

I'm smiling from ear-to-ear right now! It would tough to top such an accomplishment.


wesleycox profile image

wesleycox 6 years ago from Back in Texas, at least until August 2012

I will most definitely read this novel once I return to Texas, and after I finish the book I'll watch the movie. There is no way I'd watch this movie without reading the book first.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, Wes. It's great to hear from you. I hope things are all right where you are. Yes, the movie gets released tomorrow (finally). I've been waiting for it for well-over a year now. It really does look like it's going to do the book some justice.

Thanks, bro. I wish you good luck.


Rose West profile image

Rose West 6 years ago from Michigan

I just saw this book in a bookstore for the first time the other day. It looked interesting, but I put it down as a "someday maybe." You've convinced me that I should read it! Especially when you mentioned William Faulkner.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hello, Rose West. Thanks for the comment. I don't think we'll ever have another writer like Faulkner or Hemingway, but Cormac McCarthy is the best we can do right now. I hope you do read this book soon. I plan to see this movie this weekend as I can't tonight. Please share your thoughts with me on the book if you do read it. I'd like to hear what you think.


Truth From Truth profile image

Truth From Truth 6 years ago from Michigan

Great Review, do you have any more in the near future?


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes, I do! I have a couple that I want to do as it stands. It just involves a bit of research. I do have, primarily several children's book reviews--two of which are on Ezine Articles:

http://ezinearticles.com/?Why-JK-Rowlings-Harry-Po...

http://ezinearticles.com/?id=3106500

In the mean time, I hope that helps. Thanks as always, TFT. I always look forward to your comments.


Rose West profile image

Rose West 6 years ago from Michigan

Thanks so much for the book recommendation - I just finished The Road today. All I can say is Wow ... it was one of the best books I've read this year!

The words felt so raw and rough, yet the story was so overpowering and unforgettable. I loved the style of the book...no wonder it won the Pulitzer! There were some very blunt disturbing images, and I visualize everything so they were pretty disturbing. But I think McCarthy wanted that. Sometimes we need the shock factor.

It's amazing what a human being is capable of doing. I liked how the author brought that out so much...how some people used their abilities for good and others for evil. And how you have the keep the fire going no matter what.

These are just my initial thoughts, but I know I'll be thinking about this book for a while :) A powerful book and a powerful book review!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Rose West. It'd be easy for me to just follow up with, "I felt the same way." Yes, the images were disturbing (ever reach Chuck Palahniuk?) but necessary in every which way. A world exhibited by both "the Boy" and "the man" is really not impossible in the near future. How far away are we to a nuclear winter? Afghanistan may have some Russian nuclear warheads for all we know (yikes).

The message in McCarthy's "The Road" is certainly very clear. We do have to keep the fire going, as the survival for the human race hangs in the balance. I also liked the ambiguity of the book's end.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed it. I certainly did. Thanks for the compliment and thanks for sharing your thoughts with me.


Rose West profile image

Rose West 6 years ago from Michigan

I've never read Chuck Palahniuk... hmmm a nuclear winter, it's hard for me to imagine that's possible. But I'll keep an open mind. Nuclear war is a very real threat. I think it's important to note that McCarthy portrayed how imperative it is to survive, not for survival's sake only, but for goodness as well, for something greater than just an individual.

Oh, and I forgot to ask, how did you like the movie?

~Rose


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Geez...I've been meaning to go and watch it, but work got in the way each and every time I had plans to! I will go and see it soon, however, and as soon as I do, you'll be the first one I'll contact, most likely via email! I've been so anxious to go and see it that I didn't even cheat a bit and go to Rotten Tomatoes to check out what the critics said!

Thanks for the heads up!


G Miah profile image

G Miah 6 years ago from Muslim Nation

The book sounds amazing, and after the film came out i thought i'd go watch it, but didn't get enough time. I will have to see it after reading your review on the book. Storyline sounds very interesting, so it's going to be a dvd!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yeah, I'm guilty of not seeing it in the theaters, so now I have no choice but to catch this on DVD. I really hope that you get the chance to read the book! It really is amazing. Glad to see your back in action ;)

P.S. I like the new avatar by the way...Very cool.


kaja_mel profile image

kaja_mel 6 years ago from Saraland, AL

I didn't read the book. I did see the movie. I really enjoyed it. Thanks.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, kaja_mel. I sure do hope that you get the opportunity to do both! You won't be sorry.


habee profile image

habee 6 years ago from Georgia

Wonderful review - thanks!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks Habee! It's great to hear from you and I'm glad you enjoyed this.


AskAshlie3433 profile image

AskAshlie3433 5 years ago from WEST VIRGINIA

Dohn, you are a talent! Just started reading some of your chapters. Not bad. I will say hello and best wishes to you.


MsHollyAnn profile image

MsHollyAnn 5 years ago

Wow, sounds interesting. Never heard of this writer but think I'm going to have to find the book. Trying to get back into reading. Its aweful in a way that the internet has basically took over, nobody goes out anymore, but hey if I hadn't had seen your hub I would have never known.Thank you.


deblipp profile image

deblipp 5 years ago

It's a beautifully-organized review. I think I'll have to be in the mood for a WHOLE lot of bleak before I approach this movie.


htodd profile image

htodd 4 years ago from United States

Well,I watched this movie and it was really nice one ..Thanks a lot


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 4 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

@AskAshlie3433-Thank you very much, Ashlie. I apologize for the extremely late response as I've been meaning to answer a myriad of comments whenever I get the chance. Thanks for the kind words.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 4 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, MsHollyAnn. Yes, I understand the irony completely--Perusing over internet articles about books is definitely commonplace :D I'm just glad that you were able to visit me and comment. I hope you get the chance to read this novel.


Manvi 3 years ago

The Dental Geek The Dental Geek's Top 5 Dental Trade ShowsApr 11, 2012 The official Dental Geek, Lanmark360's Michael McCarthy, cvoers his top 5 most important dental trade shows. What are your thoughts?

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working