jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (10 posts)

A Writers Definition ?

1. ahorseback profile image47
    ahorsebackposted 2 years ago

How hard is it to call yourself a writer ,  a poet , or an author ?  Or are we just all bloggers ?

1. Phyllis Doyle profile image93
      Phyllis Doyleposted 2 years ago in reply to this

Definition of an author is one who has originated/created written work.   I create articles, prose, poetry, creative stories. Therefore, I am an author/writer/poet and proud of it.

HubPages is not a blog. The word blogger derived from the word weblog - which was a way to log posts into a journal-like site on the web, sort of like a public diary.  I am a blogger only when I post things on my blog.

2. Cardisa profile image92
      Cardisaposted 2 years ago in reply to this

I have always called myself a writer, since I was a child. I don't consider myself anything else. For me, blogging is just a method I use to publish what I write.

2. psycheskinner profile image81
    psycheskinnerposted 2 years ago

If you mean for writing on hub pages that is not a blog, I would call it content writing. I am also an author but not many situations arise where I feel the need to proclaim that to anyone.

1. Kathryn L Hill profile image83
      Kathryn L Hillposted 2 years ago in reply to this

...until you are published you are not an author. Thats all I know.

If you have been published, I would certainly brag about it. Why not?

"blog |bl├Ąg| noun
      a personal website or web page on which an individual records opinions, links to other sites, etc. on a regular basis." D

1. psycheskinner profile image81
        psycheskinnerposted 2 years ago in reply to this