From personal experience, research, both?

Jump to Last Post 1-6 of 6 discussions (13 posts)
  1. Slainia profile image60
    Slainiaposted 13 years ago

I'm looking for some advice here, I guess. When you're writing, say for hubpages, or something else that allows for marketing/amazon etc sales, do you write from personal experience? Theres a topic I have to go find in a bit thats sort of related, I think, but the reason I'm wondering is from a research standpoint, and I can't find the other thread.
    I have an idea for an article or three, on products that I use, but I haven't used them extensively enough to feel I'm an authority, and I can't exactly go out and buy them due to odsp.
    So. Wheres the line between bullshitting your audience, and experimenting and doing reasonable research? I'm new to writing for anything but myself, but I need practice, so...
    Help? input? I feel like such a noob as the saying goes...

1. Marisa Wright profile image86
      Marisa Wrightposted 13 years agoin reply to this

I think that provided you're honest, you can write from your own personal experience.  For instance, I have a Hub about a brand of jeans.  I wrote it a couple of months after buying them, so I can't say how well they'll wear.  But I can disclose I've only had them a short time, and give my opinion.

Slainiaposted 13 years agoin reply to this

I just don't want to come off as if I'm trying to - hmm. Fast-sell people in to buying something. Thanks, Marisa. I think that may be the best approach for me at the moment. smile

2. Cagsil profile image71
    Cagsilposted 13 years ago

Marketing isn't for everyone. Not everyone can do it. Everyone has the potential, but not the ability to tap creative nature needed to make a living at it.