jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (19 posts)

Are you a descriptivist or prescriptivist writer. Ignore 1st post.

1. seanorjohn profile image79
    seanorjohnposted 6 years ago

Abide by the rules        or anything goes.

2. ediggity profile image61
    ediggityposted 6 years ago

Yes.

seanorjohnposted 6 years ago in reply to this

Ediggity, thank you for your considered reply. It takes great courage to lay yourself bare in this way. So, your answer is "yes." I have just read through your hubs and I think I know your mind. Your hubs on "extended warranties on cars" and "make money wasting time", give me an insight into how you arrived at this conclusion. Did you study philosophy at University, or are you self taught?

Thank you again for responding. I bet you are the only one brave enough to answer this question.

1. ediggity profile image61
        ediggityposted 6 years ago in reply to this

Exactly.

3. Eaglekiwi profile image73
    Eaglekiwiposted 6 years ago

lol

Psst..Im not sure what my style is ,and I opologise ahead of time ,because Im not even sure what this post is about -but it seemed fun ,and I guess I wanted to listen in and include my 2cents worth smile

1. ediggity profile image61
      ediggityposted 6 years ago in reply to this

I don't either, I just figured I would try to get the ball rolling for him.lol

It's like when Humty Dumpty said to Alice "of course you don't know what I mean, a word can mean anything I want it to mean." That's a desriptivist approach. Anything goes. ( some say democratic - some say chaos)

Alice thought that we should all agree on the meaning. That is a prescriptivist approach. Abide by rules. ( some say elitist - some say sensible.)

1. Eaglekiwi profile image73
          Eaglekiwiposted 6 years ago in reply to this

Ok ,ok gotcha ( she mumbles, unconvincingly) no ,serioulsly I do.